• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Rise of Milk Powder Prices Over The Years! Sinkies Favourite Word Is "Premium"!!

18402256_10154601007077934_4563004432756519993_o.png

The competition watchdog said that the rising price of formula milk provided the impetus behind its market inquiry, which was conducted between October 2015 and August 2016. The issue of high formula milk costs also came under the spotlight recently and was debated in Parliament on Monday.
Advertisement

The CCS report found that manufacturers spend heavily on research and development as well as marketing in order to make their products appear premium, and build consumer loyalty to their brands.
Manufacturers introduce new ingredients that contribute to attributes desired by parents, the competition watchdog said, adding that such ingredients make promises like improving overall mental function, promoting a healthy intestinal tract and aiding brain and eye development.

The premium image is important to these brands because they compete against other brands and their products based on brand name, nutrition and safety, rather than on price, CCS said.

Such strategies appear to have worked, with premium and specialty formula milk products that now cost about S$60 for a 900g tin making up an estimated 95 per cent of total sales in 2015, according to the CCS report.

Despite the similarity in nutritional standards with other countries, manufacturers often choose to bring premium formulation into Singapore,” CCS said, adding that to further build a “premium image”, some manufacturers import their formula milk products from Europe, Australia and New Zealand because they believe that consumers in Singapore have a preference for products from these places. Formula milk prices were found to be higher in Singapore than in countries like Japan, Indonesia and Australia.

gfx---milk-formula-intl-comparison.png

Anecdotal feedback suggested that some parents perceive more expensive brands as having better quality, CCS said. This could be due to manufacturers’ aggressive marketing and advertising efforts and the inability of parents to accurately assess the price versus quality trade-off.

“Some parents may find it difficult to understand the nutritional content of formula milk, a child’s nutrient requirements and the significance of the additional “premium” ingredient,” the report said, adding that the parents may then rely on price as a quality indicator.

In terms of marketing, manufacturers have devoted more effort to selling their products to hospitals. They provide sponsorship, payment, or both to private hospitals in particular, as private hospitals here are not part of the Baby-friendly Hospital Initiative that prevents such arrangements.

The three public hospitals here that offer maternity services - KK Women's and Children's Hospital, Singapore General Hospital, and National University Hospital - have been certified as part of the scheme.
"Such features of the formula milk market can present significant barriers to entry for new brands or barriers to expansion for existing brands which do not engage in such efforts,” CCS said.

PROBLEMS WITH SELLING CHEAPER MILK

In its inquiry, CCS found that cheaper formula milk may not necessarily enjoy higher sales. CCS cited a supermarket that had worked with a manufacturer to bring in a “value-for-money” formula milk product from an established brand in response to customer feedback on high prices.

“Despite various marketing activities by the manufacturer, sales were weak and the product was discontinued by the manufacturer as it was not commercially viable and the manufacturer could not meet the minimum order quantity from its factories,” the watchdog said.

CCS recommended that the public be educated on the nutritional content of formula milk and the nutritional requirements of infants and young children, and that consumer awareness on the availability of a variety of formula milk, including cheaper products, be increased. It also suggested lower barriers to entry by reviewing parallel importation rules, as well as the sponsorship and payments that manufacturers provide hospitals.

Read more at http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news...k-prices-risen-so-much-over-the-years-8832634

I've ordered my company's marketing department to rebrand all my company's products and services to include the word "premium". It's a fact that with this word can allow me to jack up my prices and yet get more business at the same time. I wish I thought of it sooner.

veron_tay_toapayoh_couple_hawker_abuse_bully_old_man_0.jpg

Furthermore, information retrieved from the website of the tuition centre listed the woman's subject of speciality as premium mathematics, and a large percentage of her students scored 'A's in their PSLE examinations under her tutelage.

http://mothership.sg/2017/05/more-d...centre-row-internet-riled-by-couples-silence/

Jo Teo said her tit milk is the bestest. Her 3 children and hubby Teo Eng Cheong can provide references and testimonial. Once PAPsmearer tiko sample them, I will also write reference, ok?

Singapore 'Milk is milk, however fancy the marketing': Josephine Teo

All brands of formula milk sold in Singapore, regardless of price, "provide enough nutrition for babies to grow healthily", says Minister in the Prime Minister's Office Josephine Teo.

Read more at http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/josephine-teo-on-formila-milk-8844042

nayr69sg

Staff member
Sinkies are kiasu kiasee lah. It is like queues. Long queue must be good. So go queue then complain queue so long.

WTF?

Now expensive premium formula milk must be good. Then complain why the formula milk so expensive.

Same with 69% vote PAP ministars. Then complain why the ministars salaries so high so expensive.

Dumb sinkies

Ralders

Sinkies are kiasu kiasee lah. It is like queues. Long queue must be good. So go queue then complain queue so long.

WTF?

Now expensive premium formula milk must be good. Then complain why the formula milk so expensive.

Same with 69% vote PAP ministars. Then complain why the ministars salaries so high so expensive.

Dumb sinkies
What a loser.....

Jo Teo said her tit milk is the bestest. Her 3 children and hubby Teo Eng Cheong can provide references and testimonial.

How about my testimonial?

I think my wife's breast milk taste better.

They can pay "premium" for milk powder, they can vote for a political party that is "premium" also...They are paying premium for an 'asshole doctor", a holey Cow$8, a "tampon picker", a performing 'seal' that sing...plus many others, which are ordinary & less than ordinary.

So, why grumble & complain...the companies like Abbot etc...take note & their marketing people..too, they can pay ordinary politicians at Premium PRICES, why not milk powder...

Pay..don't complain.....

the tiong market is the 696-lb gorilla among chink distributors in the far east. the hk market is being screwed by tiongs and sg is next. they're already in u.s. in droves to buy up baby formula. buy them in sg and sell them in tiongland reaps a profit. for tiongs still considered cheap to buy in sg.

wen daft sinkies wan 2 pay so much 4 a premium cabinet, y comprain 2 pay 4 premium milk? ...

premium milk muz b top stuff wen u haf 2 pay so much 4 it ...

u can drink ur premium milk, but u cant even drink ur premium cabinet ...

Ah Sai,,,actually things have improve as in Ozland and HK have place purchasing quantity limits on the milk powder. HK cannot bring more than 2 cans over the border and in Oz supermarkets they not allowed to sell more than 2 cans to a customer.

the tiong market is the 696-lb gorilla among chink distributors in the far east. the hk market is being screwed by tiongs and sg is next. they're already in u.s. in droves to buy up baby formula. buy them in sg and sell them in tiongland reaps a profit. for tiongs still considered cheap to buy in sg.

Ah Sai,,,actually things have improve as in Ozland and HK have place purchasing quantity limits on the milk powder. HK cannot bring more than 2 cans over the border and in Oz supermarkets they not allowed to sell more than 2 cans to a customer.

that's why they go to sg and usa mah. very soon u.s. and sg will follow and limit purchases too. tiongs are scums of the earth. spoil own domestic market and now their domestic trouble becums other cuntries' problem.