• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Why cannot let you have all CPF at one go at 55? It's for your own good, really!

EnBloc

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/heartland-casinos

Heartland casinos: Retirees' tales of money lost to jackpot gambling

PUBLISHED 8 HOURS AGO

Kok Xing Hui

It is 1.40pm on a Wednesday but one unit on the fourth floor of Ang Mo Kio Hub is buzzing. Around 60 people mill about or sit in front of machines as electronic jingles fill the room.

There is free instant coffee and tea, and free Wi-Fi. The password: 1818181818. In Mandarin, it sounds like the phrase " easy to prosper", repeated several times.

Welcome to the Scarlet City jackpot room run by NTUC Club, with 40 fruit machines and a mostly retiree clientele. Such rooms were thrown into the spotlight after a check by The Straits Times during the run-up to yesterday's Football Association of Singapore elections found that Tiong Bahru Football Club had a revenue of $36.8 million in one year, with most of it coming from the jackpot machines.

Scarlet City sits in a corner of AMK Hub, next to the cinema and arcade, by the escalators and lifts. There is no loud signboard, only a discreet pair of opaque doors labelled "in" and "out", which open every few minutes as NTUC members enter or exit, giving passers-by a glimpse of punters sitting before flashing, lurid lights.

One retiree, who wanted to be known as Mr Tan, told The Sunday Times: "I've nothing better to do, so I while my time away here." The former cabby, 74, has been visiting Scarlet City almost every day for a decade. Some days, like on Wednesday, he would blow $50. Others, like on Friday, $200 or $300.

Mr Tan had long exhausted his $50,000 savings. He spent his CPF on housing, and now makes do with the $500 he gets from his children each month. Does his heart ache? "I'm used to it, I'm numb," he said.

Money disappears quickly in jackpot rooms.Each pull of the jackpot at this club can cost anywhere from 80 cents to $30. For those who run out of cash, the handy cashier will let you buy credits using your ATM card.

At one machine, this reporter's $10 whittled to $3 in a few minutes. Then, jackpot - as it announced some free games and a 920 credit win, which translated to $18.40 and an overall $11.40 gain.

By then, two retirees had gathered around. "Stop playing and cash out," they urged. The odds are against the punter, they said, so it is best to leave once you make a winning and not be greedy. They claimed to be there only for the free coffee, not the fruit machines which they said had led to the downfall of a few regulars.

"There was a guy wearing a cap, he lost more than $50,000 in three days! Young people like you, it is best not to get addicted to gambling," one of them said.

Such advice and horror stories were a common refrain from the old folk in the room.

Madam Wong, 70, a part-time housekeeper who lives in Serangoon, said one woman told her she had lost her flat to jackpot gambling. But Madam Wong said she has discipline and gambles only "a few times" a month.

"I'll bring only $50 and not my ATM card. By 3pm, I'll leave to buy my groceries at NTUC downstairs," she said, referring to the NTUC FairPrice Xtra supermarket downstairs.

But their sound advice ran counter to the punting in the room. While there were around 60 people on Wednesday afternoon, Friday saw almost 100 and full occupancy of the 40 machines.

Most punters were retirees, with a handful in their 40s and one 21-year-old polytechic student.

In comparison, the jackpot room run by Gombak United Football Club had only one gambler in his 40s when The Sunday Times visited at 4pm on Wednesday.

Such jackpot rooms are way too accessible, said social workers, and the barriers to entrance are low.

Mr Billy Lee, executive director of Blessed Grace Social Services, said the casinos' $100 levy acts as a deterrent, whereas some jackpot clubs offer free membership and others charge just $5 or $10.

Out of the 500 gambling addicts who go to Blessed Grace Social Services for help each year, about 10 per cent are addicted to fruit machines. And most, he said, went to rooms operated by NTUC Club or Safra. Together, the two operate 11 such clubs in heartland areas such as Jurong, Punggol, Tampines, Ang Mo Kio and Choa Chu Kang.

In the financial year that ended March 2014, Safra's fruit machine takings totalled $24 million. In contrast, its gyms barely brought in $3 million in the same year.

NTUC Club declined to comment, but it has been reported it would not be financially viable without the millions from jackpot machines, which help to pay for the rides and other facilities.

In all, Singapore has 84 private lottery clubs as of 2015. In that year, duties collected from fruit machines totalled $213 million.

Mr Lee said the accessibility of these rooms had led to a higher recidivism rate.

He has a success rate of 50 to 60 per cent with reforming gamblers addicted to horse racing, casinos or online betting, but that figure falls to a measly 10 per cent for jackpot addicts.

"It's definitely a problem," he said, adding that these rooms should also charge a $100 levy or be moved to more remote areas.

Dr Thomas Lee, a psychiatrist who works with gambling addicts, said the Government should ensure the jackpot rooms have posters and brochures about problem gambling, and display the National Council on Problem Gambling helpline prominently.

"They should also train jackpot room staff to identify and advise clients who may exhibit problem gambling behaviour," he said.

The pap is the only one making a big fuss about the minimum scheme. Most retiress I know have kept the money in CPF even though they can draw out the whole sum. They did it be it with or without minimum sum scheme.

Bad New Brown

Just come back from Turf Club after making a killings in Penang Race. I realized NCPG set up a counter there discouraging old uncles and aunties from excessive gambling there.

steady bro..all the way.
I had my lunch money from race 3 kiwi maestro $45 place ..yohoo..:biggrin:

batman1

Closed down the 2 casinos at MBS and Sentosa as sinkees don't benefit at all from the 2 casinos.
Only giving false hopes to gamblers.Most of the time,10 out of 10 gamblers came out losing all their money.
Who benefits most from the casinos ? The Govt collects millions monthly from entry levies.
The casino Investors earns millions of income monthly.
Most of the workers/croupiers are Foreigners.
Sinkees are the losers.

Bad New Brown

The Sunday Times today page A12.

It's also reported an auntie landing in a debt $200,000 debt and having to sell her four-room flat motivated her to join the self-exclusion list and stop gambling four years ago .

Manchester United vs Swansea City 7pm evening

Anyone in Livewire now ?

extinguisher

Closed down the 2 casinos at MBS and Sentosa as sinkees don't benefit at all from the 2 casinos.
Only giving false hopes to gamblers.Most of the time,10 out of 10 gamblers came out losing all their money.
Who benefits most from the casinos ? The Govt collects millions monthly from entry levies.
The casino Investors earns millions of income monthly.
Most of the workers/croupiers are Foreigners.
Sinkees are the losers.

The 2 casinos really brings family disasters. The recent Woodlands double murders was a tragedy caused by so called Integrated Resorts.
NCPG has failed to target the true problem gamblers instead go kill the elderly punters.
An Exclusion order will brings more harm to punters and they die faster outside gambling like the football club, casino ship, Genting and etc.
Recently NCPG any o how hantam senior citizens who still have a valid annual levy with immediate Exclusion order.

extinguisher

Recently I went to Live Wire at MBS.
I belonged to the Elderly Citizens just want to go off course horse racing for fun.
I was told to buy an admission ticket with $50 voucher betting in order to get in.
In other words NCPG wants elderly to gamble big, big minimum must carry $50 to go inside Live Wire.
I think football games at Live Wire also must carry minimum $50 to loss than can go in.
NCPG, I salute you for causing punters to suffer more severely.

Bad New Brown

Recently I went to Live Wire at MBS.
I belonged to the Elderly Citizens just want to go off course horse racing for fun.
I was told to buy an admission ticket with $50 voucher betting in order to get in.
In other words NCPG wants elderly to gamble big, big minimum must carry $50 to go inside Live Wire.
I think football games at Live Wire also must carry minimum $50 to loss than can go in.
NCPG, I salute you for causing punters to suffer more severely.

Yes bro, horse racing days at Livewire must scan NRIC too.

Nowaday I seldom go MBS Livewire as it's too small & not many counters open to serve. RWS Livewire alway full house on Sunday afternoon.

Kranji Turf Club is the best and large area to move around. $5 entrance to gallery and $30 entrance to Owner Lounge (more classy and comfortable) :biggrin:

Yes bro, horse racing days at Livewire must scan NRIC too.

Nowaday I seldom go MBS Livewire as it's too small & not many counters open to serve. RWS Livewire alway full house on Sunday afternoon.

Kranji Turf Club is the best and large area to move around. $5 entrance to gallery and $30 entrance to Owner Lounge (more classy and comfortable) :biggrin:

haha yes bro. furthermore got air con and self bet kiosk. end of day go collect lunch money. song song till kanji :biggrin:

Bad New Brown

haha yes bro. furthermore got air con and self bet kiosk. end of day go collect lunch money. song song till kanji :biggrin:

Turf Club Level 1 the oily chicken rice quite nice :p

Store value card at self bet kiosk is very convenient (ATM kiosks available too) and alternatively one can join the Gold Card membership at $650 per calendar year (pro-rated if you join now :biggrin:) with free parking and coffee/tea

Turf Club Level 1 the oily chicken rice quite nice :p

Store value card at self bet kiosk is very convenient (ATM kiosks available too) and alternatively one can join the Gold Card membership at $650 per calendar year (pro-rated if you join now :biggrin:) with free parking and coffee/tea

LOL. the atm topup kiosk can check bet history. usually I place bet I didn't print ticket. when the dark horse run in I quickly run to check history to make sure i enter correctly then wait for money to come in :biggrin:

Bad New Brown

LOL. the atm topup kiosk can check bet history. usually I place bet I didn't print ticket. when the dark horse run in I quickly run to check history to make sure i enter correctly then wait for money to come in :biggrin:

Bro you are a local talent that Singapore ever had :biggrin:

Manchester United 1-1 Swansea City

Bro you are a local talent that Singapore ever had :biggrin:

Manchester United 1-1 Swansea City

bro if you also go casino I recommend 1 type of method. people will again say knn siao. :biggrin:
knowing casino mostly win and have the house edge, so try to find a table that alot of aunties and uncles kpkb baccarat table. bet small and go against them. they might win a bit but later they will all lose one lo:biggrin:
this method is like using the casino fengshui :biggrin:
if they give u hao lam bin just ignore them and act cool. :biggrin: