• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious S'pore property prices to double by 2030: Morgan Stanley. Still don't buy? Huat ah!

EnBloc

http://news.asiaone.com/news/busines...morgan-stanley

Singapore property prices to double by 2030: Morgan Stanley

The protracted downtrend in Singapore's property market is poised to end next year, with home prices set to double by 2030, Morgan Stanley said in a Wednesday note.

In early March, the government scaled back some of the curbs, including lowering the seller's stamp duty and shortening the minimum holding period to avoid it. Morgan Stanley said that was a signal the property market was closer to the bottom, which should improve buyer sentiment.

There were signs buyer sentiment has already picked up: One recent launch, Park Place Residences, sold its entire phase one, initially set at 40 per cent of the 429-unit total before being raised to 50 per cent, within a day. The bank expected sales volume would surge this year, with the increases in transaction volumes to spur prices higher next year.

Supply was also set to decline, the bank noted. From 2014-16, private residential supply added around 20,000 units a year, twice the historical average since 1990, it noted. But in 2017-18, supply levels were set to fall 40 per cent each year, it said. The property market in Singapore can be closely watched for economic and investment implications.

Morgan Stanley noted that around 91 per cent of Singapore's resident households own their homes, with residential property around 45 per cent of total household gross assets last year. Additionally, Asian investors tend to have large allocations to property in their portfolios.

AhNehs

Re: S'pore property prices to double by 2030: Morgan Stanley. Still don't buy? Huat a

who's the Morgan Stanley head in Sgp? trying to decieve peasants?

Re: S'pore property prices to double by 2030: Morgan Stanley. Still don't buy? Huat a

So about 5.5% a year?Zhun boh?

Wunderfool

They didn't mention that in order to achieve that, the government will have to open the gates wide to bring more foreigners in.

AhNehs

They didn't mention that in order to achieve that, the government will have to open the gates wide to bring more foreigners in.

It's the 15% ABSD that kill a lot of foreigner interest in Sinkie property market... I am sure once PAP removes it, it's boom time charlie for every tom dick and harry to snatch a few units...:biggrin:

Wunderfool

It's the 15% ABSD that kill a lot of foreigner interest in Sinkie property market... I am sure once PAP removes it, it's boom time charlie for every tom dick and harry to snatch a few units...:biggrin:

If you compare the prices of properties in Hong Kong and China, Singapore 's property market is still relatively cheap. You have to give some credit to our government for increasing the supply of HDB back in 2010 and also introducing cooling measures to curb property run-away prices. If not, we will be in a much dire situation today, although those who bought private properties early in the game will be smiling.

AhNehs

If you compare the prices of properties in Hong Kong and China, Singapore 's property market is still relatively cheap. You have to give some credit to our government for increasing the supply of HDB back in 2010 and also introducing cooling measures to curb property run-away prices. If not, we will be in a much dire situation today although those who bought private properties early in the game will be smiling.

Yep, agree :biggrin:

Wunderfool

Do you think Park Place Residences is worth paying $1800 psf ? It is even more expensive than J Gateway. The surrounding condos are priced at $1300 psf. What's there in PLQ?

If you compare the prices of properties in Hong Kong and China, Singapore 's property market is still relatively cheap. You have to give some credit to our government for increasing the supply of HDB back in 2010 and also introducing cooling measures to curb property run-away prices. If not, we will be in a much dire situation today, although those who bought private properties early in the game will be smiling.

Yes praise PAP for 40/30 foresight,lucky it only took them 10 years to realise their mistake and implement cooling measures by 2013 in time for 2015.and isn't asbd a bad move?It coincided with the downturn in economy in 2013 and now Singapore is in a permanent ebb slump.

AhNehs

Yes praise PAP for 40/30 foresight,lucky it only took them 10 years to realise their mistake and implement cooling measures by 2013 in time for 2015.and isn't asbd a bad move?It coincided with the downturn in economy in 2013 and now Singapore is in a permanent ebb slump.
I disagree. I think ABSD is good. If not, the whole market from private to HDB gets inflated beyond control. The loophole for foreigners now wanting to buy property in Singapore is to get ABSD waiver under the respective FTA that their country has signed with Sinkapore.

Seee3

Just toying with logic.

Hdb price now is barely affordable. So for house price to double, salary needs also be doubled.

For salary to double and sg to remain competitive, the value of sgd needs to be halved.

If value of sgd is halved, foreign investor will be worried.

PS
Problem is, MS may be right. However, not for the nonsensical reasons they have given. The govt has been throwing hints recently. I think developers have already picked up the hints.

I disagree. I think ABSD is good. If not, the whole market from private to HDB gets inflated beyond control. The loophole for foreigners now wanting to buy property in Singapore is to get ABSD waiver under the respective FTA that their country has signed with Sinkapore.

i rather it went too high and crashed,teach all bloody sinkies a good lesson,now its like drifting in the middle of nowhere not too expensive and not cheap either.stop messing with free market forces,dumbfucks let hdb appreciate so much for 10 years,then when it was obvious the pot was going to overboil,they hastily a turned the heat off.if u wanted to keep prices low should have controlled it in the first place......greedy mofos have no idea what they are doing.