• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious pls give Amos Yee a tiger - bye......bye singapore

A very good fuck you to pap.
The boy is finally free and kudos for getting the last laugh on his oppressors.
The kid is going to do good in America. It's a happy ending that's long time coming. Take care Amos all the best for the future!

Did the judge watch any of infamous Amos videos?....or LHL speeches?? or read LKY famous books to make his decision?..or Amos made him an offer, he could not refuse?:biggrin:

Pls dun insult US judiciary system.
It's nothing like the kangaroo courts in Sg.

More options for the oppressed "lesser mortals" such as Roy.

Don't forget what the PAP did to Amos. They arrested & locked him up, put him in a mental asylum, tried to put him in boys town.
All because he "insulted" a dead person. At least 30% of Sporeans would agree with Amos about the dead person so why should his family be surprised at how unpopular they are ?

AhNehs

amos may be crazy, but the PAP vendetta against people who oppose them is far more disgusting.

nayr69sg

Staff member
More options for the oppressed "lesser mortals" such as Roy.

Don't forget what the PAP did to Amos. They arrested & locked him up, put him in a mental asylum, tried to put him in boys town.
All because he "insulted" a dead person. At least 30% of Sporeans would agree with Amos about the dead person so why should his family be surprised at how unpopular they are ?

Amos should have come to Canada to seek asylum. We would have been way nicer to him and not throw him in jail.

There is something unusual about Amos. Amos is no where near the calibre of Hwa Chong's Tang Liang Hong or SJI's Francis Seow for the things their effort to create great political awareness in Singapore. HHH effectively wrote-off his character by publishing online the recordings of his recent phone call to her. It appears that while he is critical of the current system, he is extremely self-centred. No matter what, hope that he will still bring his mum over and take care of her.

Please lah who is HHH to comment his character? Don't forget she is the one who went against the party that she was working with to run for election for the same seat. That's alot worse than self centered.

shiokalingam

times-amos-yee.jpg

shiokalingam

Samuel B. Cole, Immigration Judge, Chicago Immigration Court

Attorney General Loretta E. Lynch appointed Samuel B. Cole to begin hearing cases in August 2016. Judge Cole earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in 1995 from Rice University and a Juris Doctor in 1998 from the Harvard Law School. From 2003 to July 2016, he served as an assistant U.S. attorney, U.S. Attorney’s Office, Department of Justice, in Chicago. From 1999 through 2003, he served as an associate attorney for McDermott, Will & Emery, in Chicago. Judge Cole is a member of the Illinois State Bar.

U.S. judge grants Singaporean blogger's asylum request

Reuters
By Timothy Mclaughlin
ReutersMarch 25, 2017

By Timothy Mclaughlin

CHICAGO (Reuters) - A U.S. immigration judge in Chicago on Friday granted asylum to a Singaporean blogger, saying he was persecuted for his political opinions in the Southeast Asian city-state.

Amos Yee, 18, who had been jailed twice in Singapore, qualifies as a political refugee, according to a 13-page opinion by the U.S. immigration judge.

Yee is immediately eligible for release after having been held in U.S. immigration detention since Dec. 16, 2016, according to his attorney, Sandra Grossman, who is based in Bethesda, Maryland.

The Singapore Embassy in Washington could not be reached for comment after business hours on Friday evening.

Judge Samuel Cole ruled Yee's prosecution, detention and maltreatment at the hands of the Singapore authorities "constitute(s) persecution on account of Yee's political opinions," and called him a "young political dissident.

"The evidence presented at the hearing demonstrates Singapore's prosecution of Yee was a pretext to silence his political opinions critical of the Singapore government," Cole wrote.

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security had opposed Yee's asylum application, claiming the Singapore government legitimately prosecuted Yee.

Grossman said the judge's decision supported the right of individuals to criticise their government.

"The right to free speech is sacred, even when such speech is considered offensive," she said in an email. "The decision timely underscores the vital need for an independent judiciary in a functioning democracy."

Yee had been held by U.S. authorities since arriving at Chicago's O'Hare International Airport, seeking political asylum. He was initially detained in Illinois, but is now being held at the Dodge County Detention Facility in Juneau, Wisconsin, Grossman said.

Yee has been jailed twice in Singapore for online comments. His trials, which have been closely watched by rights groups and the United Nations, have fuelled the debate in Singapore over censorship, the limits of free speech and political correctness.

In September of last year, Yee pleaded guilty to six charges of deliberately posting comments on the internet - in videos, blog posts and a picture - that were critical of Christianity and Islam. He was sentenced to six weeks in jail.

In 2015, Yee was convicted on charges of harassment and insulting a religious group over comments he made about former premier Lee Kuan Yew and Christians soon after Lee's death. His sentence at the time amounted to four weeks in jail.

(Reporting by Timothy Mclaughlin in Chicago, writing by Ben Klayman in Detroit; editing by Diane Craft)

Pls dun insult US judiciary system.
It's nothing like the kangaroo courts in Sg.

this is not a fair trial,this is a kangaroo court,without hearing what the defendant the honorable Lee Hsien Loong has to say,

i dare say the leader of a country bring much gravitas to the situation.if u twits are so willing to humor and give the time of a day to a clown like Fuckface von klownstick,i dont see why Mr Lee's is any less valid.

US courts are not a kangaroo court?i dunno which cave u just crawled out from but have u seen Saddam hussien's trial?the whole thing was a mockery of a horse trial from start to finish.iv seen countless of cases in america where the police shoot innocent unarmed black civilians and teens and children in the back and acquitted time and time again.

we all seek to aspire to that all human beings are equal in the eyes of the law but thats not the case,cause the eyes of the law are human eyes,urs and mine!!!so until the day we learn to ........the law remains nothing more than the reflection of our prejudices!!!this immigration judge is nothing more than some joke two bit municipality judge that take cares of traffic violations and parking tickets.deliberated in 7 hours??iv seen court cases between a man and a corporation struggle on for 10 years over a windshield wiper!!do the judge even know who amos is?he must have been impressed when amos opened his mouth and spoke a soliloquy of shakespearean hamlet english and lamented his lao bei lao bus about his woes and his eternal crusade against the dark forces that attempt to strike him down and poison his brothers those who champion the constitution of free speech in the free world.the judge must have fell for the good ol american constitution B.S. again.

so until the day we seek the truth,not just for

all of us have been criticising the government for years,i think we all qualify for asylum.

fuck this shit im going to go out and march now and protest

bodycells

Amos should have come to Canada to seek asylum. We would have been way nicer to him and not throw him in jail.

You are a PAP lowlife and a hypocrite who act like you don't like sg. Go fuck yourself.. You voted for Amos that he will not get asylum. Go fuck yourself.

Canada my ass.. You are a sinkie shit who is stuck in sinkieland.

shiokalingam

amos-yee-702x336.png

Amos Yee granted asylum in United States after Judge concluded that he is prosecuted for political opinion.

BY ONLINECITIZEN ON MARCH 25, 2017

Singaporean Blogger Amos Yee has been granted asylum by United States on 24 March after the immigration judge concluded that the Singapore government persecuted Yee on account of his political opinion, and that Yee is deserving of asylum as a matter of discretion.

Yee, who has been in U.S. immigration detention for more than 90 days, since 16 December 2016, is now immediately eligible for release. Yee was earlier detained in December last year when he arrived at Chicago’s O’Hare Airport, declaring as a visitor to the country as he had applied for political asylum in US with the help of a US non-government organisation before he flew over to the country.

In his judgement, Immigration Judge Samuel B. Cole noted that Yee's social media posts in Singapore, though undoubtedly offensive to many, do not create any basis to deny asylum as a matter of discretion. He also noted that Yee has met his burden of showing that he suffered past persecution on account of his political opinion and has a well-founded fear of future perseuction in Singapore.
The U.S. Department of Homeland Security actively opposed Yee's application for asylum, claiming that the Singapore government legitimately prosecuted Yee under laws of general applicability.

Judge Cole disagreed. In his 13-page written decision, Judge Cole stated that "it is clear" that the Singapore government's criminal prosecution of Yee for "wounding religious feelings" and "obscenity" was "just a pretext to silence his opinions." He stated that the political persecution was a criminal prosecution by the Singapore government and was therefore inflicted by the government.

Relying on the substantial evidence that Yee's pro bono counsel submitted to the Court, Judge Cole wrote that the Singapore government controls the mainstream media and "has enacted legislation to constrain" dissent on social media.

The Judge detailed the Singapore government's routine use of sedition laws to arrest and silence online dissidents. Judge Cole concluded that Yee's 2015 arrest and convictions clearly constituted past persecution on account of Yee's political opinion.

Furthermore, Judge Cole argues that Yee's treatment at the hands of the Singapore government rises to the level of persecution. Focusing on his first conviction when Tee was 16 years old, he was arrested at least twice, interrogated, prosecuted, placed on curfew, barred from social media, ordered to take down his social media posts, and finally imprisoned. In total, Yee was incaracerated 55 days between his time in a prison and a mental health facility.

Grossman Law, LLC, The law firm which represented Yee pro bono, applauds Judge Cole's decision as a public pronouncement in its media statement, supporting the right of individuals to criticize their government.

"The right to free speech is sacred, even when such speech is considered offensive. The decision timely underscores the vital need for an independent judiciary in a functioning democracy. It further affirms our country's leadership in defending the basic human right of all people to freely express themselves." wrote Grossman, LLC.

The law firm further states that while the decision is a success, it is startling to consider that Yee, a refugee, was detained longer in the United States than in the country that persecuted him, and strongly decries the use of prolonged detention of asylum seekers as contrary to internationally accepted principles of human rights.

The Department of Homeland Security has 30 days (until 24 April 2017) to file an appeal. If the Government fails to appeal, the decision will become final. In the interim, Grossman Law has contacted the U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) in Chicago to secure Yee's immediate release.
In September 2016, Yee was jailed six weeks and fined $2,000 for eight charges - two for failing to turn up at a police station and six for intending to wound the feelings of Muslims and/or Christians. .

In July 2015, he served a four-week sentence for making remarks that were derogatory and offensive to Christians in an online video, posting an obscene image of late Lee Kuan Yew and Margaret thatcher. He was also initially charged under Protection of Harassment Act where people complained about being harassed for his insults against late Mr Lee.

Annunaki

Next time anyone wants to fuck pap and skip NS don't forget to ask fat fuck SPG KIRSTEN HAN to help you stir shit until you can run road to Ang moh country like anus Yee .

IMG_8627.JPG

... In July 2015, he served a four-week sentence for making remarks that were derogatory and offensive to Christians in an online video, posting an obscene image of late Lee Kuan Yew and Margaret thatcher. He was also initially charged under Protection of Harassment Act where people complained about being harassed for his insults against late Mr Lee.

I was watching the BBC & they did report that Amos was granted political asylum. However I have an issue on how they reported it. Their report gave the impression that Amos made offensive statements about christianity.

They made no mention of LKY :eek: We "lesser mortals" know that the video was really about LKY. This is why I have lost faith in the reporting by the BBC. I understand that they have a studio in Spore & probably wanted to avoid issues with LHL. By practising self censorship they have diluted their credibility.