• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Depressing News Headlines from Today

Kakamora

You must be rich to afford citibank... ha ha ha...had a savings account with them, plus credit card fascilities plus time deposit back then...the only throuble was their branches were limited & ATM even much more limited...I recall having to go Jurong East to make an emergency cash withdrawal from the ATM & it was out of order...

Ya, twenty years ago can bank with Citibank must be quite something :smile:

Nothing to be depressed about.
70% votes for all these

yes agreed,the writing was on the wall 2 general elections ago,but sinkies refuses to wake up and acknowledge it.

its too late now,the train has passed V1 take off speed,theres no turning back.if u abort now it will just be a fiery death for us all.

You must be rich to afford citibank... ha ha ha...had a savings account with them, plus credit card fascilities plus time deposit back then...the only throuble was their branches were limited & ATM even much more limited...I recall having to go Jurong East to make an emergency cash withdrawal from the ATM & it was out of order...

I bought some Citibank mutual funds(unit trust) & they opened an account for me. The credit card wasn't that difficult to qualify for, one only had to have a yearly income of $30k to qualify. When you are working for a MNC a credit cards is mandatory because traveling is required. The company will re-imburse all the travel expenses for the trips.

My active bank account was actually with POSB. Over the years I've had accounts with Standard Charter, HSBC, OCBC, POSB,.... After POSB was taken over by DBS I migrated to Citibank. My needs are simpler now. I only need a bank that can process the cheques I receive from the US.

kryonlight

It's not depressing at all. It's already 4 long years, what's there to be depressed about? You couldn't only be depressed about it until now, could you? The death of Healthway is good news for us. I visited the one at Lorong Ah Soo and it's not cheap at all. They also dispense out inferior medicines from India's Himalaya Drug Company that doesn't really work too well. And they refer you to their own specialist clinics which is more expensive than Raffles Hospital. I hope they die a horrible death. Tuberculosis has always been active in Singapore. It's not eradicated completely. When I was a conscripted medic, I had to inject anti-tuberculosis medicine in the buttocks regularly for a non-uniformed personnel and I didn't get infected at all. Nothing too much to depress about.

Kakamora

It's not depressing at all. It's already 4 long years, what's there to be depressed about? You couldn't only be depressed about it until now, could you? The death of Healthway is good news for us. I visited the one at Lorong Ah Soo and it's not cheap at all. They also dispense out inferior medicines from India's Himalaya Drug Company that doesn't really work too well. And they refer you to their own specialist clinics which is more expensive than Raffles Hospital. I hope they die a horrible death.

BROTHER! This year i went to another healthway branch near my office for stomach pain. Can claim company.

Look what I got.
him.jpg

Crazy doctors at Healthway Medical, this type of medicine can give my grandson.

I bought some Citibank mutual funds(unit trust) & they opened an account for me. The credit card wasn't that difficult to qualify for, one only had to have a yearly income of $30k to qualify. When you are working for a MNC a credit cards is mandatory because traveling is required. The company will re-imburse all the travel expenses for the trips.

My active bank account was actually with POSB. Over the years I've had accounts with Standard Charter, HSBC, OCBC, POSB,.... After POSB was taken over by DBS I migrated to Citibank. My needs are simpler now. I only need a bank that can process the cheques I receive from the US.

US cheque drawn on Singapore or drawn in US of A....that needed to clear through New York or Chicago?...how long does it take to clear a USD cheque these days?....it had been a long time, since I was involved in Outward Remittance..

Kakamora

US cheque drawn on Singapore or drawn in US of A....that needed to clear through New York or Chicago?...how long does it take to clear a USD cheque these days?....it had been a long time, since I was involved in Outward Remittance..

Singapore can clear local USD Cheque - issued by Singapore based banks.
You need to drop the cheque before 12.00 noon, 12.30pm or 1pm depending on the bank
Then money will be available after 4-5pm in next working day.

However many bank neighbourhood branches forget to clear their cheque deposit boxes at 1pm cut-off for USD cheques clearing, so be prepared to wait 2 working days. Eg. conservative estimate - drop before noon (usually 1pm) on Monday, money available latest on Wednesday 5pm (usually Tuesday 5pm)

It's been ages since I've gotten a US cheque. Although my US broker doesn't charge anything for a US cheque, it takes too long for the cheque to clear in Spore. Something like 1 to 2 months. The hq of my broker is in New Jersey, so I assume they go though New York?

I prefer to pay US$25 for the funds to be wired to Spore. It only takes wired funds 2 to 3 days to clear.

no lah, how you guys get so rich. study hard then work hard?

Sometimes it is about timing & not about grades or if you have a degree. I was fortunate that I got a job with various MNCs that paid a decent salary. Not a lot but enough to save & invest.

In the early days the PAP gov't frowned on "lesser mortals" trading in the US market. The only way to do it was if you had a brokerage account with one of the international brokerage companies e.g. prudential bache. You needed $$$ to open a trading account because I was told by my broker that the gov't wanted to limit the numbers.

The PAP tried to funnel money held by Sporeans to "approved" mutual funds(unit trusts) :rolleyes: For example the CPF investment schemes which many Sporeans lost plenty of money. I still have $$$ invested in various lost making unit trusts:mad: Unit trusts are manged investments & it must have created $$$ for the banks.

It is bad enough that the PAP kept local interests low robbing us of a decent return from our bank savings. They also have all these regulations that prevent one from investing internationally.

Thank god for the internet because it gave me the opportunity to invest in the US & Malaysia & make enough $$$ that I don't have to worry about money :smile:

Fake news! We wouldn't be increasing water price, tax and building national wide ERP if the economy is bad. We just had the best GDP quarter, increased tourist and tourist spend.

Yes that's right, 50 million tourists now in Orchard Road camping for June great sinkiland sales, jam pack like sardines no one budging until they get their hands on a $12 dinosaur wallet. Even Mitchell Obama, Jaylo, Elvis presley is there.

no lah, how you guys get so rich. study hard then work hard?

Study, we weren't pressurised to do so, though there was the "marker" to catch up with; for the top 8 in the class, was " no horse run" & the bottom eight, transposed to any schools today, will be star pupils.

It was hard work, being thrifty & at one time, a long time ago..." buy on Monday, sell on Tuesday, collect cheque on Wednesday, clear by Friday..SPEND ON SATURDAY" from S.E.S..... place deposits in FX, in whichever currency is moving & interests rate is moving, go in low, sell high; bought 10gm gold bar, every pay day....& when Gold, went up....somewhere in the 80's...SELL OFF HOARD, 'PAYDAY".

It was study, hard work, old-fashion thriftiness, & opportunities....the last part, 'KILLED" BY PAP...