• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious PAP accepts dubious foreign doctors in polyclinic

Don't forget that if you work in Spore & get ill. You can't just call the company to say you are not going to the office because you are ill. You need a cert from a doctor certifying that you are ill.

This is probably why you many people going to the doctor instead of a DIY cure.

I would look at Apple cider vinegar & honey. I take this mixture to help with my diabetes. However it also helps with coughs & helps one to sleep.

[video=youtube;3c4r22NdkeE]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3c4r22NdkeE[/video]

u are suppose to take pure apple cider vinegar only,the one with honey is fake shit.

I don't know if this is in the Employment Act, which I had not been reading up for years, for I have nothing to do with it, these days. In the past, I didn't bother to read it up too; what we know, traditionally is, if you do not report in that you are not coming in to work for more than 48 hours, automatically, one is considered " FIRED". But if you call in within the time frame, you have to produce excuse, why you didn't turn up for work. One, leave will be deducted & a black mark on your record or emergency leave added on & pay adjusted, bonuses adjusted & other benefits adjusted, or a warning letter issued or "Bye bye , thanks for the memory"...:biggrin:

Aiyah don't turn up to work of course should get fired lah. People can get fired after working so hard until become sick and for doing nothing wrong too you know as long as compensation is paid. You don't know termination no need to give reason?

How did I know? Becos this was exactly what happened to yours truly. Worked so hard to clear shit until become sick but end result is get fired no thanks to a lie by KT Latha. And bin pay kow kow mudlander dogs still want to come and bully me no end. Pui!

nayr69sg

Staff member
Halsey02 next time try going to the pharmacy and ask the pharmacist. Free consult. They can dispense you the common meds you mentioned except antibiotics and Tamiflu. Those need prescriptions.

Trouble is you will find that what the pharmacy charges for the medication will be much higher than what the GP clinic charges for the meds alone. So in the end might come to about the same. Still probably slightly cheaper at pharmacy. But if you need MC still GP better overall deal.

In sinkies land sick leave need MC so end up all to GP. To be honest I doubt you will find any GP who say he love to see these self limiting cough and colds and writing useless prescriptions and MCs. But it is a demand created by employers so GP have to fill that demand.

Don't say lah even orthopaedic surgeons also got to write MC for MC sake.

This MC thing is stupid. No experienced doctor will refuse to write MC. Those young ones might but after their first complaint they will understand and learn. Waste time only. But if no need MC pte GP clinic will all collapse.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Ginfreely I respectfully ask that you do not turn this thread into your usual mudlander slamming threads and end up have nothing to do with the topic being discussed. Thanks in advance.

When other people attack me why you don't respectfully ask them to stop? Why only ask me to stop? I easy to bully while they seem nasty right?

nayr69sg

Staff member
Ginfreely go back and read the thread. No one has mentioned you at all. So no one is attacking you. Your first post however starts the mudlander bashing. Take it easy and try to keep to the topic. Thanks

Excuse me the TS is attacking me in every of his post with his evil signature insinuating and insulting me no end. Not to mention those outright insults in the coalition thread.

Oh in case got idiots don't know. TS is insinuating and insulting me in his signature with EVIL LIES. Not the truth hor. But that's exactly why the TS go round every where to post and creating many threads. So that his LIES get repeated and people think they are truth.

I'm surprised that you can find medication that actually works for the common cold.

My experience is that nothing works. The only thing I find relief in is nose spray to clear the nasal passages in order to get to sleep.

OTC cough mixture does NOT work. Studies have been done that prove this. http://www.nbcnews.com/id/10777506/ns/health-cold_and_flu/t/doctors-discourage-use-cough-medicine/

The only thing that ever worked for me for coughs were Codeine tablets but they also knocked me out.

I have not found anything that works for the common colds, which is one condition, that medical science have not found a cure for. Anything out there or prescribed is to relieve not cure & usually they make you sleep. As for coughs, I rarely have any as in a condition or sickness, what I know are cough mixtures that people uses & cough mixture the docs like to giver, when you visit them for a flu.

As for nose spray, I did not know that, they cause the lining in the nose to get dry, especially if they are alcohol based. There was a time I use to get a nose bleed & suspected all the usual "suspects"; looking at woman ( ha ha ha ) digressing, too heaty, infection etc. Doctor recommended a visit to the ENT specialist & explained to me, the cause of the nose bleed....the nose sprays that can be bought at the ususal places...

Flu...it has so many changing virus, that you get cured from one, you get infected from another new strain...if the basic medication does not work....I head to the doctor.

Halsey02 next time try going to the pharmacy and ask the pharmacist. Free consult. They can dispense you the common meds you mentioned except antibiotics and Tamiflu. Those need prescriptions.

Trouble is you will find that what the pharmacy charges for the medication will be much higher than what the GP clinic charges for the meds alone. So in the end might come to about the same. Still probably slightly cheaper at pharmacy. But if you need MC still GP better overall deal.

In sinkies land sick leave need MC so end up all to GP. To be honest I doubt you will find any GP who say he love to see these self limiting cough and colds and writing useless prescriptions and MCs. But it is a demand created by employers so GP have to fill that demand.

Don't say lah even orthopaedic surgeons also got to write MC for MC sake.

This MC thing is stupid. No experienced doctor will refuse to write MC. Those young ones might but after their first complaint they will understand and learn. Waste time only. But if no need MC pte GP clinic will all collapse.

The pharmacists here, are a bunch of grouchy people...so I rarely asked them, only to enquire about the dosage..

nayr69sg

Staff member
It is how much you are willing to pay, who you are & whom do you know, the usual stuff. For example, a reasonably price family Family Physicians you visit cost you a total of at least $50, a good one, you only need to see the doctor once or twice for a simple flu. Say, doctor prescribed you for a bad sore throat, all you need is paracetamol, amoxycilin, maybe a Dhysidl ( spell right I hope)if you have cough, plus maybe lozenges for local relief. These few items, have patented drugs for them & cheap generic ones. Which one, you think will heal you faster?

The other thing is , if you aren't HSK....you think, you will be up & about, propped up by medications & the best medical care at your disposal, ( NNI), you will not be able to go back to work & your employer, will "gently" ask you to leave..& in some case, " a very sorry" we have to let you go.

250mg Amoxycillin for example....taken over two days as prescribed will heal faster than the cheaper generic say 125mg from you know where, & which can use PIONEER card etc...& you will end up going to the doctor, maybe two or three times to heal your sickness....you won't die, but, it won't heal that fast & the more you visit the faster you finish your "free entitlement" & yo have to pay more...

Most people don't want to know this....

I have not found anything that works for the common colds, which is one condition, that medical science have not found a cure for. Anything out there or prescribed is to relieve not cure & usually they make you sleep. As for coughs, I rarely have any as in a condition or sickness, what I know are cough mixtures that people uses & cough mixture the docs like to giver, when you visit them for a flu.

As for nose spray, I did not know that, they cause the lining in the nose to get dry, especially if they are alcohol based. There was a time I use to get a nose bleed & suspected all the usual "suspects"; looking at woman ( ha ha ha ) digressing, too heaty, infection etc. Doctor recommended a visit to the ENT specialist & explained to me, the cause of the nose bleed....the nose sprays that can be bought at the ususal places...

Flu...it has so many changing virus, that you get cured from one, you get infected from another new strain...if the basic medication does not work....I head to the doctor.

Halsey02. You are contradicting yourself lah. Initially you make it seem like Amoxicillin 250mg vs 125mg is superior for "flu". You even said "Most people don't want to know this...."

Then now you say that there is really no cure for Influenza ( you are correct). What the heck man? Make up your mind.

And lastly, knowing what you know, when you say "Flu...it has so many changing virus, that you get cured from one, you get infected from another new strain...if the basic medication does not work....I head to the doctor." What exactly are you expecting from the GP anyway? Amoxicillin 250mg? If someone is very ill from Influenza, even when they are admitted to the hospital, the treatment is largely supportive only. There is no good treatment for the flu. With most anti-viral drugs you got to take it really early in the disease process to stop the virus from replicating. If you present too late when the virus has replicated so much that the viral load is very high, the use of the anti-viral drug is useless.

Anyway I get the impression that most sinkies see GP as cough and cold , diarrhea doctor. For diabetes and hypertension chronic illness, go polyclinic as medication cheaper. Correct? I also see it that way cos Singapore primary care system is one of the worst in the world.

Over in Canada, family physicians deliver babies, manage chronic pain, give injections for rotator cuff tendonitis, subacromial bursitis, knee steroid or Hyaluronic acid injections, trigger finger, minor surgery for lumps and bumps, acne, eczema, rosacea, liquid nitrogen for plantar warts, seborrheic keratoses, BPH, urinary incontinence, IUD insertion, contraception, hypothyroidism, H Pylori gastritis, migraine, allergic rhinitis, otitis media, otitis externa, pre-natal care, well baby checkups, zoster/shingles, Hepatitis B liver surveillance for liver tumours and viral load, etc (just off my head what I see regularly)

Singapore a lot of these people will not pay the GP to do cos they say GP "rip off" but will go to specialist to do for even higher cost! So naturally GP in Singapore see no point training and learning to do stuff when patients not willing to pay and there is no demand for those services.

Can't blame the GP in Singapore. I was once a GP in Singapore so I know how boring and brainless the work is. Mind you it is not the doctors are brainless. It is the work that patients present to the GP with is brainless. For those more complicated stuff they go specialist.

nayr69sg

Staff member
The pharmacists here, are a bunch of grouchy people...so I rarely asked them, only to enquire about the dosage..

ALL the pharmacists are grouchy? Give them a chance lah. The reason why they are not happy is cos the PSLE school leaver is working in GP clinic doing dispensing and taken over their job. MOH should separate dispensing from consultation. Oh wait.....but cheapskate sinkies will not pay for consult fees alone.

My maid works as a part time doctor in a polyclinic after she finishes her daily chores at home and we split her doctor's salary. When she occasionally gets ill we send her to a regular qualified doctor.

your maid can come and resurrect my cock one of these days... we can do house call or any of the car park

Over in Canada, family physicians deliver babies, manage chronic pain, give injections for rotator cuff tendonitis, subacromial bursitis, knee steroid or Hyaluronic acid injections, trigger finger, minor surgery for lumps and bumps, acne, eczema, rosacea, liquid nitrogen for plantar warts, seborrheic keratoses, BPH, urinary incontinence, IUD insertion, contraception, hypothyroidism, H Pylori gastritis, migraine, allergic rhinitis, otitis media, otitis externa, pre-natal care, well baby checkups, zoster/shingles, Hepatitis B liver surveillance for liver tumours and viral load, etc (just off my head what I see regularly)

Singapore a lot of these people will not pay the GP to do cos they say GP "rip off" but will go to specialist to do for even higher cost! So naturally GP in Singapore see no point training and learning to do stuff when patients not willing to pay and there is no demand for those services.

Can't blame the GP in Singapore. I was once a GP in Singapore so I know how boring and brainless the work is. Mind you it is not the doctors are brainless. It is the work that patients present to the GP with is brainless. For those more complicated stuff they go specialist.

I think generally is not the patients that didn't want the GP to treat them for certain symptoms that may require specialist .
you know when I had corn in my foot, I plead with the GP to help me solve it without having to refer to a podiatrist. But as I mentioned b4, simi lj they also refer. in fact I realised if we have the proper tools I.e. a proper surgical knife we can also file out the corn ourselves. I learnt it when being referred to a podiatrist. sinkie land uni does not provide this course, all the podiatrist I met are mostly from UK, France. why garmen want to prevent sinkie from earning this type of easy good money ?
similarly not all dentist are willing to perform root canal or more complex stuff, all refer to orthodontist.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I think generally is not the patients that didn't want the GP to treat them for certain symptoms that may require specialist .
you know when I had corn in my foot, I plead with the GP to help me solve it without having to refer to a podiatrist. But as I mentioned b4, simi lj they also refer. in fact I realised if we have the proper tools I.e. a proper surgical knife we can also file out the corn ourselves. I learnt it when being referred to a podiatrist. sinkie land uni does not provide this course, all the podiatrist I met are mostly from UK, France. why garmen want to prevent sinkie from earning this type of easy good money ?
similarly not all dentist are willing to perform root canal or more complex stuff, all refer to orthodontist.

The Singapore GP too busy writing MCs and seeing cough and cold lah.

Anyway it takes time to pare the corn then apply liquid nitrogen etc. How much would you pay for 15 minutes of the GPs time? $80? And need to return for repeat treatments weekly for about 4-6 weeks. total cost likely around $400. Would you pay? I doubt cheapskate sinkies would pay a GP to do that. They would rather go to a specialist and pay $600.

nayr69sg

Staff member

Orthodontist do root canal? Weird.

Orthodontists here in Canada deal with over bites, under bites, cross bite, usually to create braces and banding to correct misalignment in the teeth.

Sinkapore health care is crap.

The Singapore GP too busy writing MCs and seeing cough and cold lah.

Anyway it takes time to pare the corn then apply liquid nitrogen etc. How much would you pay for 15 minutes of the GPs time? $80? And need to return for repeat treatments weekly for about 4-6 weeks. total cost likely around $400. Would you pay? I doubt cheapskate sinkies would pay a GP to do that. They would rather go to a specialist and pay $600.

I tried my luck with both family clinic and polyclinic and both can only give salicylic acid and refuse to treat even I'm willing to pay to compensate for the hassle and waiting time.:cool:

Orthodontist do root canal? Weird.

Orthodontists here in Canada deal with over bites, under bites, cross bite, usually to create braces and banding to correct misalignment in the teeth.

Sinkapore health care is crap.

yup. that sums up the reasons for dubious doctors to exist here.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I tried my luck with both family clinic and polyclinic and both can only give salicylic acid and refuse to treat even I'm willing to pay to compensate for the hassle and waiting time.:cool:

Chootchiew, look from it as a business point of view.

There is HUGE HUGE HUGE HUGE HUGE SUPER DUPER HUGE demand for cough and cold and MC in Singapore. HUGE DEMAND!!!!!

So who is going to do that work? Who? Specialist? No lah of course not lah. So GP lah.

To have the liquid nitrogen stored in the clinic requires cost and maintenance. And the demand for that? LOW. So how? You want to pay costs to provide for a service with low demand for what? Let the specialists do it lah. Also seriously most patients not so generous like you (although I doubt your sincerity given the way you talk about how great you are as a DIY doctor) will pay.

Actually for plantar warts you can do it yourself what. Go to pharmacy see if they have this thing called Compound W or similar. You can freeze your own warts. Why pay?

In Canada patient can also buy OTC and treat themselves but come see me is free mah. Govt pay.

As I said it is the system that creates GPs to do little else but cough and cold and MCs.