• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Job Market For PMETs Supposedly Bad In 2016, But Din Tai Fung Still Very Crowded!

The job market last year was the bleakest in years, especially for degree holders, according to employment statistics released by the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) yesterday.

The ministry's Labour Market Report 2016 was consistent with its preliminary data released in January.

There were more layoffs, which have been rising since 2010, with 19,170 last year compared to the 15,580 in 2015.

Professionals, managers, executives and technicians (PMETs) formed three-quarters of all residents made redundant in the fourth quarter of last year, said MOM.

Unemployment also rose, with the annual average unemployment rate last year rising to 2.1 per cent overall, up from 1.9 per cent the year before, making it the highest since 2010.

MOM said the number of degree holders who were long-term unemployed last year - meaning they could not find work for at least 25 weeks - was highest since 2004 at 1 per cent, up from 0.8 per cent in 2015.

BUSINESS
SMEs hope for more short-term relief

Mar 15, 2017
Experts said this trend was not surprising, given Singapore's weak economic situation.

Human resources expert Paul Heng told The New Paper that the high number of unemployed degree holders stemmed from the high number of layoffs.

The founder of NeXT Career Consulting Group added: "With our economy not doing so well and a lot of retrenchments ongoing, it means more people, including degree holders, lost their jobs on a whole.

"This doesn't mean that degree holders are being targeted. It just means more jobs are being dispensed with."

Overall, more residents - 17,000 - were long-term unemployed last year. This represents 0.8 per cent of the resident labour force, up from the 0.6 per cent that had remained constant for the past five years.

National Trades Union Congress (NTUC) assistant secretary-general Patrick Tay noted in a Facebook post that the labour market had softened last year, reflecting economic uncertainty.

"As anticipated, we see more mature PMEs... being affected by this," he said.

"This is consistent with the report stating that workers aged 50 and above and those with degree qualifications were more affected. Those in their 30s were not spared."

HELPING JOBSEEKERS

But he said he was heartened by MOM's announcement last week that the Adapt and Grow programme will be enhanced, and NTUC's latest Pivot initiative to help jobseekers return to the workforce.

Mr Heng said it was vital for workers to continually upscale.

"Employment can be an illusion. You may have a job today but not one tomorrow," he said.

"What's more important is your employability and having the relevant skills, so that in the event something happens, you are still able to find a job."

The ratio of job vacancies to jobseekers fell to 0.77 in December last year.

It was the third quarter of decline, with the number of vacancies falling to a four-year low of 47,600.

But there was a silver lining from MOM's latest report - there was stronger employment growth for locals, with 11,200 more having jobs by the end of 2016, compared to a growth of just 700 in 2015.

http://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore/job-market-2016-was-worst-years

nayr69sg

Staff member
The Citigroup chief executive told the Financial Times that the party would end at some point but there was so much liquidity it would not be disrupted by the turmoil in the US subprime mortgage market.
He denied that Citigroup, one of the biggest providers of finance to private equity deals, was pulling back.
“When the music stops, in terms of liquidity, things will be complicated. But as long as the music is playing, you’ve got to get up and dance. We’re still dancing,” he said in an interview with the FT in Japan.

kryonlight

Din Tai Fung is the truth. MOM is lying. Those "unemployed" PMETs are going for early retirement, and many of them are single and childless. chootchiew is a good example.

ramai

Not just Din Tai Fung, but UberEats and FoodPanda are regularly looking for delivery drivers. :biggrin:

The Citigroup chief executive told the Financial Times that the party would end at some point but there was so much liquidity it would not be disrupted by the turmoil in the US subprime mortgage market.
He denied that Citigroup, one of the biggest providers of finance to private equity deals, was pulling back.
“When the music stops, in terms of liquidity, things will be complicated. But as long as the music is playing, you’ve got to get up and dance. We’re still dancing,” he said in an interview with the FT in Japan.

When I first opened my Citibank account in Spore one had to maintain a minimum of $15,000, otherwise they will hit you with penalty charges. Over the years they lowered this requirement to $2,500 in order to attract more customers.

However a few months ago they increased the minimum you had to maintain going back to $15k. This after they closed the number of branches in the heartlands. So something must be going on with Citibank.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Singapore got nothing to do. So sinkies eat and eat and eat and eat and eat.

All the so called "home grown businesses" are all these cannot make it on world stage eateries.

sinkie standard of eating is low class.

Singapore got nothing to do. So sinkies eat and eat and eat and eat and eat.

All the so called "home grown businesses" are all these cannot make it on world stage eateries.

sinkie standard of eating is low class.

how to be high class when i can only afford a kup of kopi and a kaya toast?

That one I can make at home.

that's the problem with sinkies. everything is so convenient, cheap, concocted and catered to care for sinkies' cradle-to-grave conditioning. so much so that cooking at the cocoon becums a chore. the food court and hawker center are now part of sinkies' collective kitchens. just walk down from a flat and there's makan. kitchen in a hdb flat should shrink to a small corner just enough to accommodate a small fridge, a microwave oven, a sink, and a single-burner range.....like that in a holiday inn express suite.

nayr69sg

Staff member
That's why all these cannot make it overseas eateries can be so successful selling food that can be made at home at cheap cheap prices using cheap cheap labor. Cos sinkie all dunno how to cook.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Sakae Sushi should close down and re-open with new novel concept where you can bring your dog to the sushi bar and call it Sushi Shitzu or Shitzu Sushi. They can also have a bunch of bulldogs and shitzus that you can go pet and play with at the restaurant.