• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Breaking!!!!Hokkien is the language of the working class and the coolie blood runs de

Re: Breaking!!!!Hokkien is the language of the working class and the coolie blood run

Hakka mui, how liang or!....the Min Yu or Hokkien, are much refine..our Hokkien, very " chor lor"..."collie class"..

Min nan yu is the same as our hokkien. Except our hokkien has many Malay words like saboon and pasar etc. You don't know hokkien well don't assume. And what coolie class. Philanthropist Tan Kah kee was hokkien. Any famous philanthropist from you Cantonese?

Re: Breaking!!!!Hokkien is the language of the working class and the coolie blood run

And anybody who studied NTU or have children studying there should thank the Hokkien Huay kuan aka the Hokkiens for donating the land for building the Jurong campus. It's not govt land OK.

Hokkien huay kuan is gone,nothing but a shell of its past.sinkies voted PAP to throw away their culture and heritage.

Min nan yu is the same as our hokkien. Except our hokkien has many Malay words like saboon and pasar etc. You don't know hokkien well don't assume. And what coolie class. Philanthropist Tan Kah kee was hokkien. Any famous philanthropist from you Cantonese?

Tan kah kee was an exception,if u read his biography,majority of sinkies at that time was a underclass of illiterate and unskilled labourers that were largely ignorant of politics and economics of Singapore.it was up to Tan kah kee to save them.

Liquigas

The Hokkiens made a fortune from rubber trade during those early years and it is their way to contribute back to society by taking the lead to build Nantah. The Teochews were the rich merchant class at that time but somehow missed the opportunity to plant rubber trees. And before that, the Hakkas and Cantonese were the ones making alot of money from tin mining. Following the decline of the rubber trade, the Hokkiens continue to prosper and remained a dorminant force in business to this day.

"The idea of establishing a Chinese university was first mooted by Mr Tan Lark Sye on 16 January 1953. On
23 March 1953, the Hokkien Huay Kuan, under Mr Tan's leadership, donated 523 acres of land for the university. Mr Tan himself donated S$5 million. "

http://www.ntu.edu.sg/AboutNTU/CorporateInfo/Pages/OurHistory.aspx

The Chinese university that teaches mandarin.. Fuckiens have no loyalty to their own group

Hokkien huay kuan is gone,nothing but a shell of its past.sinkies voted PAP to throw away their culture and heritage.

They surrender everything to the pappies to protect their own hide.. Typical Kia su Kia see kiam siup die don't want face people

the "ai sio kan mai" is straight to the point, in your face and mo beating around the tush - you can't beat this :p

ha ha ha ha....so you get to the point too, " war kee lan, ni ai mai'...that is touché & can point straight at the 'bush'..no need to beat around..ha ha ha

Fuckiens promoting their 'culture'. More like 'crudeture'...

Hokkien clan group to open new gallery
Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan council member Toh Lam Huat at the Arts and Culture section of the gallery.
Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan council member Toh Lam Huat at the Arts and Culture section of the gallery.PHOTO: SINGAPORE HOKKIEN HUAY KUAN
PUBLISHEDFEB 13, 2017, 5:00 AM SGT
FACEBOOK44TWITTERWHATSAPPEMAIL
Leong Weng KamSenior Writer
It set up one of the earliest Chinese temples here, Thian Hock Keng, in 1840, and founded Singapore's first Chinese school, Chongwen Ge, in 1849.

It still runs six schools, a secondary and five primary schools, as well as a kindergarten today. It also led in the formation of the former Nanyang University in 1955.

The Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan (SHHK) - one of the largest and wealthiest Chinese clan associations here with over 5,000 members - also operates a cultural academy, and has a cultural troupe as well as a professional Chinese dance group to give public performances.

These, and other milestones tracing the history and contributions of the 177-year-old clan association, can now be seen at a glance in a new gallery set up at its Sennett Road headquarters that was the former Chai Chee Secondary School's old premises. SHHK moved its headquarters there in 2014 after 174 years in Telok Ayer Street.

Occupying a 240 sq m area on the ground level, the SHHK Gallery in four sections - Heritage, Education, Arts and Culture and Social Service - features more than 130 photographs and interactive informative touchscreens.

It will be opened officially by Minister for Culture, Community and Youth Grace Fu on Friday.

SHHK secretary-general Sim Bee Hia, 49, said the gallery - which took about six months and $150,000 to set up - would benefit the 2,000 students from its affiliated schools who visit the clan association's premises every year, and members of the public as it would be open to them as well.

"The gallery, with the information all presented in Chinese and English, will enable the young and others to know the history and roots of our clan association which has a long and rich past," she added.

But the gallery's curator, retired Chinese journalist and SHHK council member Toh Lam Huat, 64, said it is "more than telling the clan association's history".

"We also want to show that it is still growing and contributing to the community here, such as the cultural academy it set up in 2014, and its charity foundation which has been giving out scholarships and bursaries to needy students, including those from the other racial groups," he added.

One highlight, said Mr Toh, is a large interactive map of the Fujian province in China showing the 18 districts where the Hokkiens had come from since the early 19th century to become the largest dialect group of Chinese immigrants here till today.

The SHHK Gallery will be open to the public from Saturday during office hours. Admission is free.

A version of this article appeared in the print edition of The Straits Times on February 13, 2017, with the headline 'Hokkien clan group to open new gallery'. Print Edition | Subscribe

Tan kah kee was an exception,if u read his biography,majority of sinkies at that time was a underclass of illiterate and unskilled labourers that were largely ignorant of politics and economics of Singapore.it was up to Tan kah kee to save them.

Of course great men like him are few and far in between. But are you collie class in agreement with Hasley02 dog or are you Cantonese who think you are superior to Hokkiens? Were Hokkiens then the only illiterate and unskilled labourers while Cantonese were not? And if Cantonese were so literate and skilled and superior class to Hokkiens then, why not a single famous philanthropist from them to educate and save others?

Delete Duplicate post as unstable network

The Hokkiens made a fortune from rubber trade during those early years and it is their way to contribute back to society by taking the lead to build Nantah. The Teochews were the rich merchant class at that time but somehow missed the opportunity to plant rubber trees. And before that, the Hakkas and Cantonese were the ones making alot of money from tin mining. Following the decline of the rubber trade, the Hokkiens continue to prosper and remained a dorminant force in business to this day.

Even Teochews who are minority got a Ngee Ann Kong si giving away many bursaries and scholarships to return to society. Isn't it? Excuse me but I can't recall any similar one for Cantonese. So it's not a matter of time of prosperity but your willingness to do philanthropy.

The Chinese university that teaches mandarin.. Fuckiens have no loyalty to their own group

Why cannot know both mandarin and your own dialect? You must think China got so many languages or dialects, how can people communicate with each other if no common language aka mandarin? The common language has to be one of the people language or dialect in this case mandarin. If you insist to speak Cantonese only, aren't you also imposing your own language on others? Why will Hokkiens want to speak your language when you don't want to speak others language?

ha ha ha ha....so you get to the point too, " war kee lan, ni ai mai'...that is touché & can point straight at the 'bush'..no need to beat around..ha ha ha

Diu lei Lou mou chow hai in Cantonese not direct and straight to the point meh?

Why cannot know both mandarin and your own dialect? You must think China got so many languages or dialects, how can people communicate with each other if no common language aka mandarin? The common language has to be one of the people language or dialect in this case mandarin. If you insist to speak Cantonese only, aren't you also imposing your own language on others? Why will Hokkiens want to speak your language when you don't want to speak others language?

Think about it if China don't use mandarin then it will be some other chinese dialect or language. If not, it will end up like India using another country language like English as they failed to impose Hindi on many non-hindi Indians who don't want to use Hindi from what I read before.

Of course great men like him are few and far in between. But are you collie class in agreement with Hasley02 dog or are you Cantonese who think you are superior to Hokkiens? Were Hokkiens then the only illiterate and unskilled labourers while Cantonese were not? And if Cantonese were so literate and skilled and superior class to Hokkiens then, why not a single famous philanthropist from them to educate and save others?

not many cantonese in Singapore throughout history?think the numbers were like 25,000 to 35,000.while fuckeins made up 40 percent of the native population or about 1.04 million today.of course they didnt have much economic or political influence in singapore......unfortunately if only they did,then this fucker LKY wouldnt exist for 40 years and Singapores history might have been different.fuck u fuckeins,im so fucking ashamed of my race.

then again no self respecting Canton would want anything to do with this pathetic country,except maybe Jamban Jah the chink lover.then again even the cantonese that come here are the coolies and low class labourers.most of the cantonese i know in SG work in MBS and restaurants as cooks or chefs.

not many cantonese in Singapore throughout history?think the numbers were like 25,000 to 35,000.while fuckeins made up 40 percent of the native population or about 1.04 million today.of course they didnt have much economic or political influence in singapore......unfortunately if only they did,then this fucker LKY wouldnt exist for 40 years and Singapores history might have been different.fuck u fuckeins,im so fucking ashamed of my race.

then again no self respecting Canton would want anything to do with this pathetic country,except maybe Jamban Jah the chink lover.then again even the cantonese that come here are the coolies and low class labourers.most of the cantonese i know in SG work in MBS and restaurants as cooks or chefs.

According to Wikipedia, "Cantonese is spoken by a little over 15% of Chinese households in Singapore"

"The idea of establishing a Chinese university was first mooted by Mr Tan Lark Sye on 16 January 1953. On
23 March 1953, the Hokkien Huay Kuan, under Mr Tan's leadership, donated 523 acres of land for the university. Mr Tan himself donated S$5 million. "

http://www.ntu.edu.sg/AboutNTU/CorporateInfo/Pages/OurHistory.aspx

Do you all know this Hokkien philanthropist Tan Lark Sye - who personally donated $5m in 1953 to set up Nantah - was stripped of his Spore citizenship and stepped down from the university's leadership and remained stateless until his death in 1972?

http://ifonlysingaporeans.blogspot.my/2012/10/the-nantah-legacy-that-tan-lark-sye.html?m=1
The Nantah legacy that Tan Lark Sye left behind
By Leong Weng Kam, The Straits Times, 28 Oct 2012

The late rubber tycoon Tan Lark Sye, better known as the founder of the former Nanyang University (Nantah), was arguably Singapore's most prominent Chinese community leader in the last century.

That, despite being stripped of Singapore citizenship by the Government soon after the 1963 elections for allegedly playing "stooge to the communists and (attempting to) jeopardise the peace and prosperity of Singapore" by backing about a dozen Nantah graduates who stood as left-wing Barisan Sosialis candidates against the ruling People's Action Party (PAP).

The long-time president of the Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan, who gave generously to charitable and educational causes throughout his life, then stepped down from the university's leadership and remained stateless until his death in 1972, aged 75.

The Chinese-medium university's enrolment declined, due largely to changes in language and education policies from the 1960s. It merged with the University of Singapore to become the National University of Singapore (NUS) in 1980.

A year later, a new English-medium Nanyang Technological Institute opened on Nantah's sprawling campus in Jurong. It became the Nanyang Technological University in 1991.

Today, 40 years after Tan Lark Sye's passing, he is still remembered for his leading role in promoting higher Chinese education and the founding of Nantah in 1953 with the support of the Chinese community, from poor trishaw riders to wealthy businessmen.

Nantah was then the only Chinese-medium university in South- east Asia. It gave Chinese middle school students in Singapore and the region a shot at higher education as they could not go to communist China.

Today, Tan Lark Sye will be remembered at an event combining a public lecture in Chinese, a seminar and the launch of five new Chinese books - three of them on the history of Nantah.

Held at News Centre in Toa Payoh North, the event marks the 40th anniversary of his death and is organised jointly by NTU's Centre for Chinese Language and Culture and the Association of Nanyang University Graduates.

Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam is guest of honour and Harvard's Professor David Wang Der-Wei will deliver the keynote lecture.

NTU Centre for Chinese Language and Culture director Lee Guan Kin, 64, herself a Nantah graduate, said the event comes 14 years after the Tan Lark Sye Professorship in Chinese language and culture was set up by NTU in 1998.

That was seen as public recognition of the man's contributions to the university. The professorship drew donations of nearly $2 million from Chinese community groups and Nantah alumni, enabling the NTU centre to invite up to two Chinese scholars from overseas each year to give lectures and do research with the university staff. The latest recipient is Harvard's Prof Wang.

Dr Lee said of the events to honour Tan Lark Sye: "The man and his contributions to Singapore's education in the past and even to NTU today should be remembered."

Tan Lark Sye's harshest critic was first prime minister Lee Kuan Yew, who said in his book, My Lifelong Challenge - Singapore's Bilingual Journey, launched last November, that Nantah was doomed to fail from the start as the tide of history was against it.

He said Tan Lark Sye was ignorant of the domestic politics in South-east Asia at the time and allowed himself to be used by the communists, which led Nantah to become a hotbed of communist activities in the late 1950s and early 1960s.

Mr Lee also implied that Tan Lark Sye was a hypocrite for sending most of his 11 children to English-medium schools while presenting himself as a fervent advocate of Chinese language and culture and higher Chinese education.

Many Nantah graduates could not agree with Mr Lee's views and said the personal attacks were uncalled for. They felt Tan Lark Sye should be judged on his contributions to the community.

Retired mathematician Teh Hoon Heng, 77, who graduated from Nantah in 1960 and lives in Vancouver, Canada, said in an interview with the Chinese-language daily Lianhe Zaobao earlier this year that he disagreed with Mr Lee because "we look at the issue from different viewpoints".

Professor Teh, who published his memories of Nantah last year, said that politically speaking, Nantah might have been born at the wrong time and so was doomed to fail, but that from the education or academic viewpoint, it was a success.

NTU's Dr Lee pointed out that the great number of Nantah graduates in different fields today - from the arts and education to government and politics - attests to the university's success and their contributions to Singapore over the years.

Association of Nantah Graduates president Chia Ban Seng, 73, said: "Everyone is entitled to his or her views. As a Nantah graduate, I respect Tan Lark Sye because without him there would be no Nantah and I would never have had a university education. Let the historians and academics do their research on him. History is the best judge."

ChineseDog

Good job my fellow Chinese dog. I hate SG and all chinks like me and you cos we chinks are unlikable like SG.