• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious DPM Teo: S'poreans must prepare to face water shortages!! WTF!!

Fucking cheebye Double Penetration Minister Teo is telling us to prepare to face water shortages? What the fuck? We have had no such problems in the last 40 years. Why don't the Minister's party kick out all the 2.5 million FTs, and we will have all the water we need. Unfucking believable. Highest paid ministers in the world tell us to prepare for water shortages. What the fuck are we paying them for? Might as well high cheap cheap Indon Ministers, they will tell us the same thing to. I thought these idiots are paid all the millions $ to make sure we don't have water shortages!!

[h=1]Singapore must be prepared to face water shortages: DPM Teo[/h]
SINGAPORE: Singapore must be prepared psychologically to face water shortages if its reservoirs dry up and when the second water agreement with Malaysia ends in 2061, said DPM Teo Chee Hean on Saturday (Mar 4).
At present, imported water meets half of Singapore’s water needs. But water levels in Johor’s Linggiu Reservoir are falling. There is also the danger of prolonged dry weather, Mr Teo said.
As such, water has been a strategic priority for Singapore.
Speaking to 4,000 people at the launch of the Singapore World Water Day on Saturday morning, Mr Teo said the Government has invested heavily to develop local water sources like expanding water catchment areas and deploying new technologies.
“We have been fortunate over the past few years to benefit from advances in technology – NEWater and membrane-based desalination. These alternative water resources are not dependent on rainfall and have helped to supplement our traditional water resources,” he said.
Singapore has invested about S$430 million per year in water infrastructure since 2000. This will double to S$800 million per year over the next five years.
HOW MUCH DOES WATER COST IN SINGAPORE?
A 330ml bottle of water, which one can get from any supermarket, costs less than S$1. In contrast, that same amount of money will pay for 1,000 bottles of clean water from the tap after the full water price increase of 30 per cent has been phased in over the next two years.
“Our price of water from your tap is comparable to that in major cities. Many of them have large rivers and lakes to draw from. We have none of these natural sources of our own. According to the World Resources Institute, if we just left things to nature, we are the most water-stressed country in the world,” said DPM Teo.
Singapore's efforts to ensure its people have water have shown the country's resilience and determination to survive and thrive, he added.

Maybe johore gahmen dug a hole in linggui river or dam and draining it somewhere. Or singapore taking too much. Much more than linggiu river can replenish itself.cos its been raining anf flooding in johore last month.

PAP's propaganda machine is in full swing.

Spore has been described as the most highly water stressed nation in the world. They are doing stories of areas hit by droughts. Seems that global warming is true. It might be true but why is this coinciding with the news that water prices are going up?

If Spore was a democratic country there would be discussions about the money wasted expanding the infrastructure to handle a population of 10 million.

There is going to be further increases once the carbon tax is introduced. The PAP says the carbon tax will be good for Spore because it will create a better environment :eek:

I wonder what the PAP has been doing all this time:confused: Obviously ruining the environment:rolleyes:

winners

If I were the government, I would just have let everything remain status quo, no new water desalination plants, no new infrastructures, no need to increase water tariffs and let it come a day when there will be insufficient water, leading to water rationing and hardships. Only then will these Loser Sinkies realize that they have done themselves a disservice, which by then, would have already been too late.

I admire the PAP for being extemely proactive in planning for future scenarios.

If only governments in NZ were of the same calibre.

PAP's propaganda machine is in full swing.

Spore has been described as the most highly water stressed nation in the world. They are doing stories of areas hit by droughts. Seems that global warming is true. It might be true but why is this coinciding with the news that water prices are going up?

If Spore was a democratic country there would be discussions about the money wasted expanding the infrastructure to handle a population of 10 million.

There is going to be further increases once the carbon tax is introduced. The PAP says the carbon tax will be good for Spore because it will create a better environment :eek:

I wonder what the PAP has been doing all this time:confused: Obviously ruining the environment:rolleyes:

They are the 'devil' in disguise....how can they be baying, when lusting for money, allowed, every new residential development; least it be a small residences to large condominium to have a swimming pool OR pools, some with jacuzzi?. I have wondered over the last few years, I see, new private homes, each having a swimming pool as part of the development, every small residences of mixed housing, every small one block residences, HAVE A SWIMMING POOL. They allow these to earn money, surely they have a national water planning board right?

Then again, it is lack of foresight or greedy for money?. Now, they increase the tariff by 30%, they paint picture of doom, blame the people for wasting water & even the prostitute press, doing surveys saying that many do not know, how much water they use a montn etc..

The government make money from development charges & all fees & taxes from the usage of water. JUST TO MAKE MORE MONEY..they allow a PROLIFERATION OF SWIMMING POOLS.

The best thing is, stupid SINGAPOREANS....VOTE FOR THEM & ALLOW, TIME & TIME AGAIN TO BE BLAMED, TO BE THREATENED TO BE SHAMED...they ask for it!.

Come next election....they will still vote for PAP...they might as well raise the tariff to 25% in 2017 & 25% in 2018...they will still get voted in & people will soon forget the increases & still use water, like there is no tomorrow & the government agencies will still continue to approve MORE PRIVATE SWIMMING POOLS...JUST PAY!:rolleyes:

Its now politics by fear now that they realised that the public is confused over 30% sudden hike. The dependency on water and its scarcity is second nature to all Singaporeans. So he needs to stop preaching to the choir.

Pritam Singh asked all the right questions in parliament and these guys are stumped. Only now cost figures are coming out in dribs and drabs.

As a DPM, he is allowed to cite recent events and security concerns in Malaysia that has escalated this issue in broad terms without going into details.

Its now politics by fear now that they realised that the public is confused over 30% sudden hike. The dependency on water and its scarcity is second nature to all Singaporeans. So he needs to stop preaching to the choir.

Pritam Singh asked all the right questions in parliament and these guys are stumped. Only now cost figures are coming out in dribs and drabs.

As a DPM, he is allowed to cite recent events and security concerns in Malaysia that has escalated this issue in broad terms without going into details.

He is not preaching to the choir...he is conducting the choir, as the PAP is famous in doing this. It will be the same lyrics, sung in different genres, different type of singers, different type of singing...actually a universal song with an universal lyrics....'SHAME ON YOU, SINGAPOREANS'.

Have you not heard this conducting the choir before?? the preaching is in the songs... not preaching to the choir.

Kuailan

PAP must come out with thousands of Excuses to increase price!!

So that peasants will forget in one month's time because we have short memory!!

PAP must come out with thousands of Excuses to increase price!!

So that peasants will forget in one month's time because we have short memory!!

The singing already had begun, every one of the minon will start singing...why they have to increase water tariff....so that YOUR CHILDREN in the FUTURE WILL HAVE WATER....but they forget the present all die...there is no FUTURE... ha ha ha ha

nkfnkfnkf

But that does not rule out PONDING on our Pee Sai Island right? Why they farted so much about NeWater Sai Chwee 100% Self-Sufficient huh? CB Right?

Debonerman

We will need more than 6.9 million population to get over the water crisis. Please increase the price to 100%. PAP is the best!

Just kick out 2.5 million FTs, and there will be no more water shortage, ever.

winners

I admire the PAP for being extemely proactive in planning for future scenarios.
Yeah, and get fucked by those Loser Sinkies for water tariffs increase. You plan ahead also get fucked. You don't plan when it evolves into a National disaster, you also get fucked. Might as well leave the situation as status quo and when the time comes to die, all fucking hell die together. That's the best way to treat these Loser Sinkies. Reuse their same tricks to agitate them back, just like what happens in this forum.

kkbutterfly

they should allows all citizens to vote in favour of new plant or not.
if voted no..next time don't balme lor.
if voted yes,, pay lor

Bigfuck

We always fuck up so Singaporeans must pay the price. Actually 99% if water goes unused and is flushed away. It is not difficult to recycle and filter the water. Now, it currently goes into the sea. Singaporeans do not have a lack of water. It is the economics of water that is the challenge. But the Lees and his degenerate extended family are too dumb. They only know how to bookkeep which is a disaster for a business.

pmurt

It seems the timing of the water price increase was adhoc. Really bad timing, should have time it during the dry season when the johor reservoir was at its lowest. 三月里的小雨 everyday, the 30% increase make the G looks like blood suckers.