• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious DPM Teo: S'poreans must prepare to face water shortages!! WTF!!

songsongjurong

peasants are made to foot desalination plant for tourism (revenue dont spill down to.heartland folks,it benefit taxman and hotel chains business), foreigner,ripping off sinkies of job, revenue going to again, taxman,landlords, businesses...heartlander are slaves.. rob peter (peasant) to pay paul!!!

Wait a minute,hold thy horses!!What about 6.9 million population??We must reach our target at all cost.forget àbout newater,let sinkies drink seawater instead!!

We always fuck up so Singaporeans must pay the price. Actually 99% if water goes unused and is flushed away. It is not difficult to recycle and filter the water. Now, it currently goes into the sea. Singaporeans do not have a lack of water. It is the economics of water that is the challenge. But the Lees and his degenerate extended family are too dumb. They only know how to bookkeep which is a disaster for a business.

Yeah, Why can't they use grey water to flush the HDB toilets? That would save a lot of water and the system is not that har dto set up. I recall one HDB flat dweller did that to his grey water. Don't see no rain water harvesting on the top of HDB blocks either.

grey water plumbing exists in industrial and warehouse facilities already. some of these facilities only have grey water. potable water needs to be brought in either by vendor or ownself. for residential, need separate plumbing for grey water which means more upgrading projects to make cronies rich with sinkies footing the bill. more good years to cum. huat ah!

We always fuck up so Singaporeans must pay the price. Actually 99% if water goes unused and is flushed away. It is not difficult to recycle and filter the water. Now, it currently goes into the sea. Singaporeans do not have a lack of water. It is the economics of water that is the challenge. But the Lees and his degenerate extended family are too dumb. They only know how to bookkeep which is a disaster for a business.

And why Singapore hasn't gone solar yet?Germany and Australia has already gone balls deep into solar.we call ourselves smart nation and richest nation but we do nothing to wean ourselves off fossil fuels.even the economic incentives are there, singapore electric is one of the most expensive in the world and they haven't raised prices in 16 years.fucking PAP ministers all them sleeping?Do u know once upon a time I turned on the portable Aircon,the electric bill went up to 300 bucks?

I have only one word.......Money.its all about the money money money,forget about the price tag....

And why Singapore hasn't gone solar yet?Germany and Australia has already gone balls deep into solar.we call ourselves smart nation and richest nation but we do nothing to wean ourselves off fossil fuels.even the economic incentives are there, singapore electric is one of the most expensive in the world and they haven't raised prices in 16 years.fucking PAP ministers all them sleeping?Do u know once upon a time I turned on the portable Aircon,the electric bill went up to 300 bucks?

I have only one word.......Money.its all about the money money money,forget about the price tag....

how to go solar for such a small solar footprint? efficiency will not be high for the capital investment unless the footprint extends to the upper floors of hdb flats where parapets and balconies are used. and then you may have falling solar panel debris after years of corrosion and lack of service and maintenance.

In countries that are land constricted like Japan, they have come up with solar panels that float on water,the Japs have turned their reservoirs into solar farms generating enough megawatts to power tens of thousands of homes.the panels also help to reduce evaporation by up to 30 percent,thus helping to conserve the water supply.in america they have carparks with solar panels now in the las Vegas desert.this also doubles as shelter for the cars from the heat.we are not talking about 100% conversion to renewable energy but every little step helps especially in a densely built up city like Singapore which gobbled up energy at a enormous rate.im not sure what commercial solutions there are but there are thin film solar panels on the market with 100 watt to 200 watt ratings,that are about a meter by half a meter and weighs about 2kg,basically it's like a large piece of plastic.5 or 6 of these secured outside our HDB windows can easily generate 5 to 10 kWh a day which is more than sufficient to power our house at least during the night.Singapore is near the equator,we receive a huge amount of sunshine year round,even countries that don't like Germany still goes solar anyway.but most importantly I'm most excited about Elon musks's technology the solar tile.

talk cock lah. sg is only but a small island. reservoirs are too tiny to make a dent with (lack of) footprint. seas around it are full of shipping. the amount of solar energy extracted to serve soixante neuf population of 6.9m will not be optimal to justify the cost and land/sea/footprint use even if all rooftops and parking lots are used. too many tall buildings. parking lots and multistorey garages are in the shadows of commercial and residential blocks. it's a term we call "urban canyon", which is not conducive for solar power. of course, if all vertical glassy windows, balconies, parapets, exterior walls, tree tops are paneled for solar, there's critical mass area worth considering. otherwise it's insignificant to make the cut.

Just pay the money...everything can be done...

grey water plumbing exists in industrial and warehouse facilities already. some of these facilities only have grey water. potable water needs to be brought in either by vendor or ownself. for residential, need separate plumbing for grey water which means more upgrading projects to make cronies rich with sinkies footing the bill. more good years to cum. huat ah!

The plumbing is
simple for a grey water system, especially if its within the whole building. Just gravity fed shower and clothes washer water from the upper units feed down to the lower units, with some filtration system.

talk cock lah. sg is only but a small island. reservoirs are too tiny to make a dent with (lack of) footprint. seas around it are full of shipping. the amount of solar energy extracted to serve soixante neuf population of 6.9m will not be optimal to justify the cost and land/sea/footprint use even if all rooftops and parking lots are used. too many tall buildings. parking lots and multistorey garages are in the shadows of commercial and residential blocks. it's a term we call "urban canyon", which is not conducive for solar power. of course, if all vertical glassy windows, balconies, parapets, exterior walls, tree tops are paneled for solar, there's critical mass area worth considering. otherwise it's insignificant to make the cut.

that is why PAP is already talking about an offshore nuclear power plant.

Rubbish,don't Tok cock,Elon musk said it's not the footprint or landmass that matter,the efficiency of solar panels have exponentially increased in the last fifteen years and prices have fallen drastically,a tiny square piece of land full of solar panels roughly 1/40th the size of the state of Nevada can easily supply the world's entire power and energy needs.its never been about the lack of space.the main problem of solar electricity is the transmission of energy and finding a way to store it and transport it to where it's needed.thats the reason why power plants are preferred because it's fuel or the storage of energy which is natural gas or coal can be easily transported and stored until it's needed,and power stations can be tapped into 24/7 another problem with solar faces,it can only run during the day which means u have to find a way to store the energy for later use.this can only be done thru batteries and battery technology have not made much progress in the past few decades,they are large bulky and expensive in order to store large amounts of electricity that a home needs.Raw materials that have good electrical properties are hard to come by in the natural world.unless they invent some kind of iron Man reactor light reactor.

The plumbing is
simple for a grey water system, especially if its within the whole building. Just gravity fed shower and clothes washer water from the upper units feed down to the lower units, with some filtration system.

Wtf u want to shower with the water that 2 to 23 other families have showered with?I rather purify my body and soul in the waters of Ganges River.using my washing machine water to flush toilet is one thing,anyway why does it matter,isn't like 50% of our water come from recycled newater?Basically our tap water have already been recycled hundreds of times from our sewage and whatnot?We are drinking the same shit and pee water over and over again like the astronauts on Sukoi ISS space station.

Omg shit i just found out the PAP bastards are actually doing it.....although they claim it to be the largest which i seriously doubt cause the japs are way bigger.

Tengeh Reservoir to host world's largest solar panel testbed

SINGAPORE: The world's largest floating solar panel testbed will be operational in Singapore by the end of the year, Environment and Water Resources Minister Masagos Zulkifli said on Tuesday (Oct 25).

Mr Masagos said the pilot test of 10 solar energy - or photovoltaic - systems at Tengeh Reservoir is the largest globally in terms of how much power it can produce and the number of systems being tested. He was speaking at the Joint Opening Ceremony of the 3rd Asia Clean Energy Summit and the 26th Photovoltaic Science and Engineering Conference.

The testbed can produce a maximum one-megawatt of energy, enough to power 250 four-room HDB flats for a year.

The pilot aims to determine what works best for Singapore, and to study the environmental impacts of such technologies on water infrastructure, Mr Masagos explained. "Given our geography, solar photovoltaic systems are a key technology is Singapore's efforts to harness renewable energy.

"Floating photovoltaic systems, those installed over our water bodies, not only help to overcome land constraints, but also have the potential to reduce evaporative losses from our reservoirs," he added.

The efficiency of solar panels can also be improved if they are installed over water as the cooling effect will allow them to yield more energy compared to solar panels that are too hot, the Minister said, adding that authorities will explore a wider deployment of such systems, should this pilot prove to be economically viable and environmentally sustainable.

A control solar panel installation on land is also set up on a nearby roof.

Economic Development Board Executive Director for Cleantech Goh Chee Kiong said that Singapore has been observing the various developments around the world and floating photovoltaics has caught on globally in the last one to two years.

"We are seeing developments in Japan, China, Europe, the Americas as well, Australia and even India. What this means is that it is highly exportable know-how, highly exportable sector that we want to grow and we are seeing that though the strong interest by various companies wanting to participate in the floating photovoltaics testbed in Singapore."

Eight companies are involved in the testbed, including large corporations from countries such as Japan and Italy and local small- and medium-sized enterprises.

"The starting point is that we want them to establish their business hubs in Singapore after which then they will export the know-how from Singapore, from doing the innovation right in Singapore," Mr Goh said.

DELAY DUE TO 'STEEP LEARNING CURVE': PUB

The one-hectare testbed was supposed to be operational by 2013, but national water agency PUB said it now hopes to feed power from the pilot into the national energy grid by end-2016.

PUB Chief Sustainability Officer Tan Nguan Sen attributed the delay to the "steep learning curve" of a new project.

The challenges, he said, included how to design the floating system so that the parts do not get washed away, and how to feed electricity to the substation.

The 10 systems will be monitored for at least six months before two of them will be chosen to be tested on a larger scale in the second phase of the pilot. The first phase of testing will run concurrently for at least three to six years, according to authorities.

PUB previously announced that it will be testing three areas for the solar systems: The rate of evaporation of water in the reservoir, the quality of the reservoir water and the impact of the panels on wildlife as it limits sunlight from entering the water body.

Rubbish,don't Tok cock,Elon musk said it's not the footprint or landmass that matter,the efficiency of solar panels have exponentially increased in the last fifteen years and prices have fallen drastically,a tiny square piece of land full of solar panels roughly 1/40th the size of the state of Nevada can easily supply the world's entire power and energy needs.its never been about the lack of space.the main problem of solar electricity is the transmission of energy and finding a way to store it and transport it to where it's needed.thats the reason why power plants are preferred because it's fuel or the storage of energy which is natural gas or coal can be easily transported and stored until it's needed,and power stations can be tapped into 24/7 another problem with solar faces,it can only run during the day which means u have to find a way to store the energy for later use.this can only be done thru batteries and battery technology have not made much progress in the past few decades,they are large bulky and expensive in order to store large amounts of electricity that a home needs.Raw materials that have good electrical properties are hard to come by in the natural world.unless they invent some kind of iron Man reactor light reactor.

believe elon musk at your own peril after solar city merged with tesla to stave off bankruptcy and laid off 20% of its workforce. they've been calling me night and day to offer me steep discounts on solar panels. they are extremely desperate to remain relevant when natural gas cost for heating trends down. knowing the ongoing cost is not in panels but service agreements and constant upgrades to electrical storage systems (they make up for discounts on panels in less than a year) i told them to fuck off. don't forget when customers go on leasing program, they are signing part of their homes away - the roof becomes their property too! so don't be goondu. moreover, the panels and electrical storage system degrade with time and require replacements. listen to someone who has been there and done that. it's supposed to be perfect for california but it's far from being a satisfactory solution. it's being sold like snake oil with spam calls from competitors every minute during dinner time.

of all organistations, SAF is the most wasteful on water resources. i suggest that they should send their jiak liao bee soldiers to ration their water from the sea to army camps. this is a lso a form of exercise. feasible tio bor...?

taxi drivers for constantly washing their cocks and cars.