• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious NTU Prof: Raise Water Prices By 30% Not Good Enough! Should Raise By 100% !

SINGAPORE: Faced with the news that the price of water will increase by 30 per cent over the next two years, Professor Ng Yew-Kwang is of the opinion that the hike should be even larger, to reflect the cost of water production.

"In my view, it's too little," he told Channel NewsAsia on Friday (Feb 24). "From an overall economy point of view, we can increase it even more.

"I would prefer at least 50 per cent - if not (a) 100 per cent (hike)," said the Nanyang Technological University economics professor.

Prof Ng pointed out that water prices have not been raised since 2000 – nearly two decades ago. He added that it is also costly to produce water - and how much the public pays has to reflect this.

National water agency PUB earlier revealed that the cost of operating the country's water system has more than doubled in that time: It cost half a billion dollars to operate Singapore's water system in 2000, and the amount had gone up to S$1.3 billion by 2015.

The Government also said it would invest more in water infrastructure to meet growing demand and boost Singapore's water resilience, especially in the face of climate change.

Following the hike, Singapore's water prices will be on par with European countries like Germany and Denmark, said Prof Ng.

"If you compare internationally, to other Asian cities like Taipei, Hong Kong and Beijing, Singapore's prices are higher. But if you take into account the income level, then it's not high.

"If you compare it with other European countries, their prices are much higher."

Prof Ng said that in most countries, water prices tend to be too low, rather than too high, as the public thinks water, which is essential to life, should be free.

"If consumers pay less, then the government will have to make up the difference. Then that means the government has to collect taxes from other sources … That has a disincentive effect.

"As long as the price of water is not more than the price of production, increasing the price towards cost of production will increase efficiency by encouraging consumers to save appropriately."

Water prices will be raised in two phases, first in July and again next year.

But Prof Ng said that increasing the price at once, instead of in phases, would be more effective in changing habits.

"If you increase it in two steps, then each step is not very significant," he said. "People don't even notice it and will forget about it soon. But if we have a one-step significant increase, then it has a shock effect.

"If you want to do it in steps, then it should have been increased 10, five years ago. In my view, it's already too late because popularly, water is perceived to have low prices and hence maybe the Government was hesitant to increase the prices to make the public happy.

"But from a purely economic point of view, water prices should have been increased many years ago."

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news...s-100-to-reflect-production-cost/3547674.html

EnBloc

SMEs' business costs largely comprises rental and labour.

100% increase in water prices has very little impact.

The professor is right, unlike the emotional masses who don't go to NUS, NTU or SMU...

just look at how sinkies take water for granted and waste it. sinkies deserve to pay more to understand how valuable it is.

winners

If the water hike is going to be 100%, SAM had better buy more bandwidth for this forum because there will also be a 100% surge in Sinkie losers (both locals and overseas) kpkb in this forum.

MNCs pay subsidised rates for things like water & electricity. If they had to pay the same rates as the "lesser mortals" these businesses would have been long gone. However many are still leaving Spore because of the overall cheaper costs elsewhere .

I was watching this old looking Professor Ng Yew-Kwang on TV recommending higher water costs & he's obviously a PAP supporter. The PAP is already making a large profit from selling water. Since when has the PAP sold anything at a loss:confused:

We are paying for the new water desalination plants that the PAP is building for the expected millions of "new" Sporeans. The increase in prices will have a ripple effect on prices of everything in Spore. I am surprise that this "economist" did not consider the overall impact on ALL these price(water, electricity, food,..etc) increases on Spore.

If he did bring all this up he would probably be fired by his boss :wink:

CoffeeAhSoh

this Prof chap looks mysterious . possibly another one holding multiple passports.

his logic is flawed . his hometown malaysia water is still much cheaper than sgp and

he is paid more than 10 times ( if converted

to RM ringgits ) ntu sgp vis a vis univeriti malaya for the same level

of work :

• Screenshot_2017-02-25-13-49-12_1.jpg
    Screenshot_2017-02-25-13-49-12_1.jpg
    147 KB · Views: 2,047

CoffeeAhSoh

Curious , how Prof Ng going to explain why sgp Petrol prices highest on Planet :biggrin::biggrin:

MNCs pay subsidised rates for things like water & electricity. If they had to pay the same rates as the "lesser mortals" these businesses would have been long gone. However many are still leaving Spore because of the overall cheaper costs elsewhere .

I was watching this old looking Professor Ng Yew-Kwang on TV recommending higher water costs & he's obviously a PAP supporter. The PAP is already making a large profit from selling water. Since when has the PAP sold anything at a loss:confused:

We are paying for the new water desalination plants that the PAP is building for the expected millions of "new" Sporeans. The increase in prices will have a ripple effect on prices of everything in Spore. I am surprise that this "economist" did not consider the overall impact on ALL these price(water, electricity, food,..etc) increases on Spore.

If he did bring all this up he would probably be fired by his boss :wink:

SINGAPORE: Faced with the news that the price of water will increase by 30 per cent over the next two years, Professor Ng Yew-Kwang is of the opinion that the hike should be even larger, to reflect the cost of water production.

"In my view, it's too little," he told Channel NewsAsia on Friday (Feb 24). "From an overall economy point of view, we can increase it even more.

"I would prefer at least 50 per cent - if not (a) 100 per cent (hike)," said the Nanyang Technological University economics professor.

Prof Ng pointed out that water prices have not been raised since 2000 – nearly two decades ago. He added that it is also costly to produce water - and how much the public pays has to reflect this.

National water agency PUB earlier revealed that the cost of operating the country's water system has more than doubled in that time: It cost half a billion dollars to operate Singapore's water system in 2000, and the amount had gone up to S$1.3 billion by 2015.

The Government also said it would invest more in water infrastructure to meet growing demand and boost Singapore's water resilience, especially in the face of climate change.

Following the hike, Singapore's water prices will be on par with European countries like Germany and Denmark, said Prof Ng.

"If you compare internationally, to other Asian cities like Taipei, Hong Kong and Beijing, Singapore's prices are higher. But if you take into account the income level, then it's not high.

"If you compare it with other European countries, their prices are much higher."

borom

There is no longer any excuse for making the same mistake with economic theory. For more than a century, the public has been warned, and the way forward is clear. It’s time to stop wasting our money and recognise the high priests for what they really are: gifted social scientists who excel at producing mathematical explanations of economies, but who fail, like astrologers before them, at prophecy

https://aeon.co/essays/how-economists-rode-maths-to-become-our-era-s-astrologers

Even a secondary school student can tell you that -the price of a goods (in this case water) has to reflect the cost of production-that's what the Prof is saying.
The part he has not addressed is- can you sell it at any price ?-even if the cost is very high?
This happens only in a monopoly or a political system where the seller can force the price on to unhappy consumers,even if its the inefficiency of the producer that is the cause of the high cost!(see HDB, MRT, ect2)
Will the 70% consider choosing a producer/seller that can produce water at a lower cost?
And what's behind the tremendous increase in water consumption-is it the mass import of low quality immigrants?
Why import so many people when you do NOT even have enough water for them-and who is paying the price, the million dollars salaried ministers or the man in the street struggling to pay his HDB loans, high medical cost ect2.,

retrenched

this will make the ah peks v angry becos they cannot see the link btwn this and the pioneer generation goody they got 2 years ago to vote pap.

CoffeeAhSoh

Even a secondary school student can tell you that -the price of a goods (in this case water) has to reflect the cost of production-that's what the Prof is saying.
The part he has not addressed is- can you sell it at any price ?-even if the cost is very high?
This happens only in a monopoly or a political system where the seller can force the price on to unhappy consumers,even if its the inefficiency of the producer that is the cause of the high cost!(see HDB, MRT, ect2)
Will the 70% consider choosing a producer/seller that can produce water at a lower cost?
And what's behind the tremendous increase in water consumption-is it the mass import of low quality immigrants?
Why import so many people when you do even have enough water for them-and who is paying the price, the million dollars salaried ministers or the man in the street struggling to pay his HDB loans, high medical cost ect2.,

good pointers , sir.

if go by supply and demand theory - then we can expect demand to surge in the coming years maybe months..

as to the raising costs of production, more like red herring...unless we are producing Evian type/quality of water...:biggrin:

Why import so many people when you do NOT even have enough water for them-and who is paying the price, the million dollars salaried ministers or the man in the street struggling to pay his HDB loans, high medical cost ect2.,

maybe we can rebrand our newater as Iwater,made with nanoparticulate Apple filters and oxygenated with Io2,people are willing to pay a very high premium for that.

also i believe the ones using up alot of electricity and water are businesses and commercial activities,if u look at electricity prices for industrials and businesses u would be shocked at how cheap it is and how much more expensive household tariffs have to pay,when it is these guys who are guzzling up huge amounts of electric and water,just imagine how many megawatts the MRT trains use,or how much water and electricity the factories use or restaurants and hotels.if government dont keep the price of utilities low for them and have us bear the price do u think these businesses can possibly survive?

More good news !!! PAP supporter recommend 100% increase in water tax !!! Huat Ah !!!!

As a Malaysian this prof is probably going to "balek kampong" to Malaysia, or emigrate to somewhere else in a few years, so he has no problems making all sorts of comments because he's got no stake in Spore.

winners

Still whining on this 30% increase. What can you people do to change the situation? Not tired ah? Next PTC bus fare revision will sure to increase the bus fare as a result of the diesel hike. So? Start to whine again during that time? Sigh......... Real losers with nothing better to do. Sam had already said before: instead of complaining endlessly, Sinkies should instead think of ways to increase their incomes.

can make our salaries on par with European countries too?

Our ministers salaries are already out of this world!....Europeans or any countries, can not even compare....

"Albert Winsemus" must be "rolling in his grave" or " churning in his urn"....to name a "chair" where this "professor"...chairs....:mad:

CoffeeAhSoh

Prof Ng 's ground breaking economics theorem in the making.

Higher the per capita income leads to higher per good and service . :(

Prof Ng 's ground breaking economics theorem in the making.

Higher the per capita income leads to higher per good and service . :(

no wonder singapore strive to be number one.when ur gdp per cap is number one in the world,prices can also be number one.it is like a neverending reinforced feedback loop.the cycle only breaks when bedok reserviour is overcrowded or MBS is overbooked.