• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Sinkieland is so blessed! We have a courageous MP amongst us.

kryonlight

This higher mortal is so courageous he doesn't even have the courage to be honest with his electorate about his disease. He should replace Ng Eng Hen as the defence minister and lead the charge against China to retrieve the terrexes!

MP Charles Chong 'courageous' to stand in Punggol East despite liver condition: Ng Eng Hen

SINGAPORE: Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen on Wednesday (Dec 21) lauded Member of Parliament (MP) Charles Chong for "courage to act on his convictions”, despite being diagnosed with a liver condition about three years ago.

Dr Ng revealed in a Facebook post that when Mr Chong was asked to stand for the People's Action Party in the opposition-held Punggol East Single Member Constituency in the 2015 General Election, “Charles’ response was almost instantaneous – ‘Yes, I‘m ready to fight’,” he said.

“Charles knew that any candidate there must expect a hectic campaign and a tough fight. The rest they say is history. Charles fought hard and won back the constituency,” he added. “How he could do this, with the shadow of a liver transplant over him, I cannot pretend to understand fully except that Charles has guts and the courage to act on his convictions.”

Dr Ng also revealed that Mr Chong was ready to stand in the opposition-held Aljunied Group Representation Constituency if asked.

Mr Chong underwent a liver transplant on Dec 1 and was discharged from hospital last week. His younger son donated part of his liver to him, he said in a statement on Tuesday. He added that the recovery process "has been good" and that he hopes to be given the all-clear by doctors after eight weeks of medical leave.

Said Dr Ng: “The prospect of a liver transplant would have caused any one of us to at least reduce our activities, review our life’s goals but certainly not take on major challenges. Not for Charles Chong.

"I have great respect for Charles Chong, and now you know why.”

If this happen to a middle age Uncle working at any companies he would prolly be sacked as being medically unfit.

What's wrong with our ministers ? From PM to normal MPs everyone is unfit.

You mean Charles Chong is a alcoholic? Makes sense to me. Especially the shrinking of testicles part, and all this time I thought his balls shrinking was from being a PAP MIW.

Causes

Alcoholic liver disease occurs after years of heavy drinking. Over time, scarring and cirrhosis can occur. Cirrhosis is the final phase of alcoholic liver disease.
Alcoholic liver disease does not occur in all heavy drinkers. The chances of getting liver disease go up the longer you have been drinking and more alcohol you consume. You do not have to get drunk for the disease to happen.
The disease seems to be more common in some families. Women may be more likely to have this problem than men.

Symptoms

There may be no symptoms, or symptoms may come on slowly, depending on how well the liver is working. Symptoms tend to be worse after a period of heavy drinking.
Early symptoms include:

• Fatigue and loss of energy
  • Poor appetite and weight loss
  • Nausea or belly pain
  • Small, red spider-like blood vessels on the skin
As liver function worsens, symptoms may include:

• Fluid buildup of the legs (edema) and in the abdomen (ascites)
  • Yellow color in the skin, mucous membranes, or eyes (jaundice)
  • Redness on the palms of the hands
  • In men, impotence, shrinking of the testicles, and breast swelling
  • Easy bruising and abnormal bleeding
  • Confusion or problems thinking
  • Pale or clay-colored stools

Charles chong sacrificed himself in order to test the emperor and unite the middle earth!!!!!!lets give him a hero's sendoff!!!!!

[video=youtube;DBDuvCYplu0]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DBDuvCYplu0[/video]

3_M

It sheer dishonest for him to deliberately hide his medical condition from the voters. This is just like not declaring your health problem during job interview.

Not a very ethical thing to do.

blissquek

dont u think it sounds a bit overly dramatic and sanctimonious?

Your title of the post is misleading...hoping to see a real courageous MP..

The 77 unpatriotic votes in the recent EP bill shows that the scholars, MP are all on leash...certainly to lead our nation to doom.

On the next Presidential election, we need a true Singaporean who will stand up to the test...to carry on the work of
this courageous man, Mr. Ong Teng cheong...otherwise it just prove that there are cracks in our reserve...

Seee3

There was this very senior guy who could volunteer for golden handshake. It was a golden opportunity as he was near retirement age. With his years of service, taking the golden handshake was the obvious choice. However, he chose otherwise. Everyone was surprised till they found out that he has a medical condition that requires frequent medical attention. He did his sum and concluded that he stood to gain more by staying on till retirement.

It sheer dishonest for him to deliberately hide his medical condition from the voters. This is just like not declaring your health problem during job interview.

Not a very ethical thing to do.

he did not hide it. Ng Chee Bye reveal that his condition was already known to the PAP before the GE. But they still went ahead and nominated him.

According to Bargain Hen's FB, they already knew of his pre existing yet decided to use him in GE.

Ng Eng Hen

Like This Page · December 20 ·

<<A Story of Courage>>

I have great respect for Charles Chong and would like to tell you why, even though Charles himself would not have wanted this story told. But it bears telling, not because we are of the same political party, but because in essence the story is about courage and acting on what one believes in, despite uncertainties.

Recently, Charles went through a major operation to receive a new liver. The prospect of a liver transplant would have caused any one of us to at least reduce our activities, review our life’s goals but certainly not take on major challenges. Not for Charles Chong. He had known for some years now that he might need a new liver in the future, based on his doctors’ advice. While he could still be active, he would need close monitoring and reviews.

But when Charles was asked to stand in Punggol East by PM Lee Hsien Loong before the last GE in 2015, Charles’ response was almost instantaneous – Yes, I‘m ready to fight. Charles knew that any candidate there must expect a hectic campaign and a tough fight. The rest they say is history. Charles fought hard and won back the constituency. How he could do this, with the shadow of a liver transplant over him, I cannot pretend to understand fully except that Charles has guts and the courage to act on his convictions.

In fact, this is not known but Charles told me that he would stand at Aljunied, if asked! Almost 15 months after the GE, his doctors decided that a liver transplant was needed and I am so glad that surgery proceeded smoothly and Charles is recovering very well. I spoke to Charles recently and urged him to recover fully before returning to duties. I have great respect for Charles Chong, and now you know why.

3_M

he did not hide it. Ng Chee Bye reveal that his condition was already known to the PAP before the GE. But they still went ahead and nominated him.

Known to pap is one thing but at least the voters should also know who they are voting .

Why should voters shortchanged themselves by voting for someone who wasn't medically fit?

Pap had deliberately put the party interests before voters interests. NEH statement was nothing but an attempt to obfuscate the issue.

Hans168

How come his son can get a cosy with Konrad Ardenauer Foundation??? Obviously papa's connections counts....... either thru union or papig network OTHERwise he will be driving taxi like most PMEs............... No wonder papigs dun care as their bloodlines all sheltered and provided for.
Will CC the MP please state categorically that his son got the job thru his own merits!

Known to pap is one thing but at least the voters should also know who they are voting .

Why should voters shortchanged themselves by voting for someone who wasn't medically fit?

Pap had deliberately put the party interests before voters interests. NEH statement was nothing but an attempt to obfuscate the issue.

Yup, he cost the taxpayer a lot of money. have to pay him while he is in the hospital as well as his first class medical expenses. No work, but still must pay him.

How come his son can get a cosy with Konrad Ardenauer Foundation??? Obviously papa's connections counts....... either thru union or papig network OTHERwise he will be driving taxi like most PMEs............... No wonder papigs dun care as their bloodlines all sheltered and provided for.
Will CC the MP please state categorically that his son got the job thru his own merits!

don;t forget he was the one who defended the asshole Tan Yong Soon and his $15000 Le Cordon Bleu cooking course in Paris. Said that us lesser mortals are jealous of Ah tan.

Donch pray pray ok? Glenn is lumber 2 at Konrad Ardenauer Foundation.

There was this very senior guy who could volunteer for golden handshake. It was a golden opportunity as he was near retirement age. With his years of service, taking the golden handshake was the obvious choice. However, he chose otherwise. Everyone was surprised till they found out that he has a medical condition that requires frequent medical attention. He did his sum and concluded that he stood to gain more by staying on till retirement.

So jialat the old man?His golden handshake not even worth his insurance coverage.my $200 insurance premium can easily take care of any medical emergency I have in the future,if this old man has been saving diligently and investing and paying his bills on time he would be on a beach enjoying his golden handshake now,not clinging on to his miserable job for the sake of healthcare.

bigboss

Siao liao, leh. Many of pappies MP got balls like peanuts. They got elected through the back door of GRC.