• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Singapore workers unhappiest in Southeast Asia: Survey

abcdexyz

SINGAPORE — Workers in Singapore are an unhappy and pessimistic lot.

The Republic has ranked the lowest in job happiness, and workers here are the most pessimistic about their jobs, according to a survey conducted across seven Asian nations.

Furthermore, ratings for job optimism among Singapore workers is expected to drop further in the coming six months.

Among the respondents from Singapore, fresh graduates were found to be the happiest employees in the Singapore workforce, scoring a 5.3 on a 10-point scale.

C-suites — or corporate senior executives — on the other hand, were the most miserable scoring the lowest, at an average of 4.4.

The survey also found that those working in the sciences, hotels and restaurants as well as admin/human resources sectors are found to be the happiest.

Administered by online jobs portal JobStreet.com, the survey was conducted in June this year with a total of 67,764 participants from seven countries – Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Philippines, Vietnam, Indonesia and Hong Kong. There were 3,398 respondents from Singapore.

The Republic scored an average of 5.09 on a 10-point scale for the Job Happiness Index, which measures how happy and satisfied respondents are and will be with their jobs.

The Philippines was first, followed by Indonesia in second, and Thailand in third. Hong Kong, Vietnam, and Malaysia take the fourth, fifth, sixth places respectively.

Respondents ranged from fresh graduates to those in supervisory and managerial positions and top management, and representing various specialisations and industries, said JobStreet.com.

According to the survey, convenient work location, having good colleagues and company reputation are three key factors that affect job happiness.

A lack of training and career development and poor leadership were flagged by respondents here as causes of job unhappiness.

To increase job happiness, Singapore respondents felt that getting a new job (30 per cent), a higher salary (19 per cent), or receiving recognition from the company (9 per cent) would help in increase their job happiness.

The survey also flagged a trend of falling job optimism in the next six months here, with scores dipping 3 per cent to hit 4.93 on a 10-point scale.

On the issue of declining job optimism, the jobs portal recommended employers to “address the factors causing employee dissatisfaction”.

“Good leadership can be manifested by keeping employees informed on company directions, strategies and even challenges that the company may be facing particularly during an economy slowdown like currently,” said Ms Chook Yuh Yng, country manager of JobStreet.com Singapore.

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/singapore-workers-unhappiest-southeast-asia-survey

Asterix

Those who "work" as index futures day traders on own capital @ happiest! HKD 36K profit for day even after taking into account stupid mistake at the end. Without that profit will be HKD 10K more. After 3 consecutive sessions in past two days of small losses I feel relieved that I have not lost my form. Still up HKD 50K for week so far.

dey never ask ah loon n his jingang ...

else dey can get 100% job happiness ...

But these singkies voted for the pap...n now they unhappy? Serves them right

There are a couple of million workers in Spore who can't vote because they are foreigners.
At least these people can "balek kampong" with their CPF after they make enough $.

kryonlight

Why are there still so many foreign talents in sinkieland when they are all so unhappy here? Are they all hypnotized under the potent magic spell of PAP?

blueRad

I won't be surprised. Most sinkies work for survival rather than interest for the job. But the PAP isn't responsible for your happiness.

sinkies are a hopeless lot. wherever they go they will be unhappy. that's because they have been spoilt rotten by the pap. give them everything and still they will kpkb.

Well they should all cheer up because they can look forward to a long and healthy life and as we all know, health is far more important than money and status.

This shows what a good job the PAP is doing in taking care of its citizens. It certainly proves that the adage "you die your business" is a complete fallacy. The PAP is in fact an extremely loving and caring government.

http://www.independent.co.uk/life-s...country-uk-fails-to-make-top-20-a6716281.html

Singapore has been named the world’s healthiest country, according to a list which ranks countries using data from the United Nations, the World Bank and the World Health Organisation.

The Bloomberg rankings gave each country with a population of 1 million or more a health score and a health-risk score.

Each country’s place was calculated by subtracting their risk score from their health score.

The health score is based on factors such as life expectancy from birth and causes of death, while health-risk is based on factors which could impede health such as the proportion of young people who smoke, the number of people with raised cholesterol and the number of immunisations.

Singapore came top with an overall score of 89.45 per cent, Italy ranked second healthiest with 89.07 per cent, and Australia came third with 88.33 per cent.

Israel, in sixth place is the only Middle Eastern country placed in the top 10, while North and South American countries were not present in the top 20.

The UK also failed to reach the top 20, ranking at number 21 with a score of 76.84 per cent, behind Belgium, Ireland and Norway.

At the other end of the scale, the African country of Swaziland was named the least healthiest country in the world, scoring an overall grade of just 0.26 per cent.

African nations dominated the bottom of the list with Lesotho, Democratic Republic of Congo, Chad and Mozambique falling in the bottom 10.

"The data is a useful guide for policy makers, who might look at the practices of higher-scoring countries to improve their own countries’ health scores", according to the World Economic Forum.

The healthiest countries in the world:

1. Singapore
2. Italy
3. Australia
4. Switzerland
5. Japan
6. Israel
7. Spain
8. Netherlands
9. Sweden
10. Germany

The least healthiest countries in the world:

1. Swaziland
2. Lesotho
3. Democratic Republic of Congo
4. Chad
5. Mozambique
6. Burundi
7. Malawi
8. Angola
9. Uganda
10. Cameroon

Well they should all cheer up because they can look forward to a long and healthy life and as we all know, health is far more important than money and status.

This shows what a good job the PAP is doing in taking care of its citizens. It certainly proves that the adage "you die your business" is a complete fallacy.
Boss i'm surprised you believed In the report when this site links people to scams site like wealth academy , ace profits academy :*:

SNTCK

Good morning Chiew
I think you also one of the workers who is not happy with work
So you quit