• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Singapore economy 'in for a tough period': Tharman

abcdexyz

SINGAPORE: The Singapore economy is "in for a tough period that will last for a while", said Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam on Wednesday (Sep 28).

Speaking to reporters at the launch event for the Wong Fong Industries Building, Mr Tharman noted that for 2016, "we've had some growth at the start but the second half will be weaker; in the lower half of the 1 per cent to 2 per cent range".

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news...a-tough-period-tharman/3163496.html?cid=fbcna

Wunderfool

Always the sensible answer. You can't fault him for saying it wrong. But it is actually not comforting words just stating the facts in a humane way.

ckmpd

SINGAPORE: The Singapore economy is "in for a tough period that will last for a while", said Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam on Wednesday (Sep 28).

Speaking to reporters at the launch event for the Wong Fong Industries Building, Mr Tharman noted that for 2016, "we've had some growth at the start but the second half will be weaker; in the lower half of the 1 per cent to 2 per cent range".

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news...a-tough-period-tharman/3163496.html?cid=fbcna

Tharman is saying what we already know and have been saying for at least a year. We dont have to hear from the pap to know that SG is not doing well.

We can see it at the shopping malls which are empty

WujiBo

Should promote him to full prime minister!

Then he got to fix it by himself!

Small things like this don't have to kachiao us!

Bloody hell pay them millions they come and bug us with such boring stuffs?

lifeafter41

Tharman is saying what we already know and have been saying for at least a year. We dont have to hear from the pap to know that SG is not doing well.

Is the property cooling measures going to be lifted anytime soon?

dr.wailing

Totally agree, bro.

If I were a Sinkie, I'd demand to see what concrete steps the highly paid ministars are planning to take to create more jobs for Sinkies and generate more growth.

Always the sensible answer. You can't fault him for saying it wrong. But it is actually not comforting words just stating the facts in a humane way.

in the financial world nobody ever tells the truth,if tharman says we are in for a tough period,hes probably understating the truth.the world is flat and we are about to fall right off the cliff at the edge of the world.

So what is his solution to help sinkies in this foreigner-populated cuntry? Talk is always easy because ministers are all living on economy-proof iron-rice bowl.

WujiBo

Why are you doing homework for him?

Dun give him solutions lah.

He is not going to share his millions with you.

i dun think it is that bad as put out to be, when oil prices recover, it is the first step towards the bright light path, and i am expecting fed to hike rate before x'mas.

by next year, things will start to pick globally and all should be well in a couple to maybe 5 years time.

meantime, we can still chiong ktv and tip the girls generously.:biggrin:

When our economy is going through a tough period, only PAP can lead us through the storm. Stand fast with PAP!

i always stand in rain and shine with pm lee, he will one day know that i am always covering his back when no one else will. nothing but the tooth.:o

ah hah, now we know why he rule himself out of the PM job.
he knows we are doomed....Heng got so stressed that he kenna stroke. PM Lee got so stressed that he fainted.
now, he got so stresed that he lost his hair...which, comparatively, is minor.

So, tell me, anyone with half ounce of brain will know not to take the hotseat...anyway why be seat warmer right?

ckmpd

ah hah, now we know why he rule himself out of the PM job.
he knows we are doomed....Heng got so stressed that he kenna stroke. PM Lee got so stressed that he fainted.
now, he got so stresed that he lost his hair...which, comparatively, is minor.

So, tell me, anyone with half ounce of brain will know not to take the hotseat...anyway why be seat warmer right?

the whole pap cabinet has messed uip SG and no one knows how to unentangle the mess

Wunderfool

The question is not what, but how. How is the government going to get all of us through the tough economic times? Stating the obvious does nothing to fix the problem. What we want to hear is solutons. I will be most surprised if PM Lee will not make an announcement soon on the formation of an economic revitalization taskforce to tackle the economic downtown. That is the least he could do... something that says he is looking into the problem seriously.

kryonlight

Yes! Stand fast with PAP and the 70% daft & humji sinkies. They know best. The rest of us just shut up and enjoy the ride.

melzp

We expect the tough men n women who had demanded high obscene salaries
to propel the economy and NOT let the recession seep in, in the first place.

So much is expected of you since u demanded so much.

No excuse of global this n that. SHAME. as it happened.

In private sector, what would u all do?