• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Underpaid workers & professionals in high cost Singapore

Thick Face Black Heart

It is ironical that many of the problems we face are due to underpaid workers which is basically the symptom of a culture of exploitation by the elite class. Ironical because singapore is a high cost country and others are suffering because of costs.

Nary69sg has two examples which I remember; construction workers and low consultation fees which leads to doctors having to jack up medicine prices to compensate. Obviously migrant workers are the exploited class here.

Why this causes problems for us all is that the govt then tries to recrify the imbalance by importing more cheap foreigners and consequently creating more strain on the social fabric.

So in essence, we have a situation where we overpay landlords and elite class, creating a rent seeking and hence unproductive economy, and at the same time underpaying the working class which keeps them in a state of poverty and gives the govt excuse to import more foreigners because obviously singaporeans cannot survive on such wages.

Low labour cost is the reason why jobs are always being created and businesses expand quickly. Be thankful to the PAP for their foresight and wisdom. :cool:

high prices is to be expected,after all we are a first world economy,go to any first world economy,australia,uk,canada,belgium,france,swissland,finland and u will see similar prices....the only problem is our wages are far below first world standards and we are unable to keep up with the high cost of living and hence unable to attain the swiss standard of living.implement minimum wage and 33 percent taxes like aussieland and we will see greater transferance of wealth from the elite minority to the poor masses and greater equality and standards of living.

the problem is thats not what Singapore and PAP is,we are a ultra right wing capitalist country and 70 percent is unwilling to vote for a different government so we might evolve and adapt and eventually become more like swissland.

also massive amounts of our wealth are being plundered,our CPF and soveriegn wealth funds,instead of the money being used to improve the lives of the citizens,its being diverted to

Satyr

It is ironical that many of the problems we face are due to underpaid workers which is basically the symptom of a culture of exploitation by the elite class. Ironical because singapore is a high cost country and others are suffering because of costs.

Nary69sg has two examples which I remember; construction workers and low consultation fees which leads to doctors having to jack up medicine prices to compensate. Obviously migrant workers are the exploited class here.

Why this causes problems for us all is that the govt then tries to recrify the imbalance by importing more cheap foreigners and consequently creating more strain on the social fabric.

So in essence, we have a situation where we overpay landlords and elite class, creating a rent seeking and hence unproductive economy, and at the same time underpaying the working class which keeps them in a state of poverty and gives the govt excuse to import more foreigners because obviously singaporeans cannot survive on such wages.

This is why the rich get richer at the expense of the poor. The Singapore government takes shortcuts by thinking that if business is healthy all will be fine. Up to a point. We have a seriously inexperienced cabinet with no common sense nor view of history. I never thought the deficiencies in our education system could be felt at that level.

The philosophy of lowly paid workers began with Thai construction workers and the Filipino maids. When they realised that they can go lower with Bangladeshis and Indonesia maids, the smart alecks thought they can slowly move to other cheaper sources. It naturally leaped over to the technical and semi professional grades. Now we have it across the professions.

Look at the Gulf states where GCT went and convinced himself that it works. The locals are outnumbered by 7 to 1 by foreign workers and expats, The difference however is that everyone is clear who is the boss and it is the locals. They run the banks, all the key corporations and you will not hear of a complaint where a local does not have a job. And their banks and companies make very good profits.

One stupid dumbfuck expat white woman in a Gulf state took a photo of a local who double parked his car on an disabled lot and she circulated it on social media and it went viral. She wanted to belittle him. The Govt however deported her and her family for embarrassing the country rather than reporting the case to the authorities. No going to court, no appeal, straight deportation. Its no surprise that Indians who form the largest ethnic foreign labour group have not rioted. The same with the Ang Mos, very compliants, very respectful etc. And who set the tone?

Unfortunately the arabs of UAE and saudi arabia and abu dhabi,are of a different class,background and history and taxidermy from sinkies,the arabs are princes and shiekhs of the black gold and tar sands.there is not a single mongrel or inbred among the arabs.they are all deemed middle class or royalty by birth.on the other hand,sinkies are coolies and farmers,peasants by birth,cheap disposable labour for the ang moh mncs.it is not in sinkies blood to rule but be ruled.

high prices is to be expected,after all we are a first world economy,go to any first world economy,australia,uk,canada,belgium,france,swissland,finland and u will see similar prices....the only problem is our wages are far below first world standards and we are unable to keep up with the high cost of living and hence unable to attain the swiss standard of living.implement minimum wage and 33 percent taxes like aussieland and we will see greater transferance of wealth from the elite minority to the poor masses and greater equality and standards of living.

the problem is thats not what Singapore and PAP is,we are a ultra right wing capitalist country and 70 percent is unwilling to vote for a different government so we might evolve and adapt and eventually become more like swissland.

also massive amounts of our wealth are being plundered,our CPF and soveriegn wealth funds,instead of the money being used to improve the lives of the citizens,its being diverted to

In Ang mor lands. The tax burden is on the middle n working class not the rich hor. The rich have heaps of tax loopholes to exploit. So yr plan will burden the middle class more..

Thats just right wing propaganda,dont worry we will not implement so many loopholes like usa and we will squeeze the richs nipples as hard as possible like the scands.

shittypore

Low labour cost is the reason why jobs are always being created and businesses expand quickly. Be thankful to the PAP for their foresight and wisdom. :cool:

Sure aint low cost building a dustbin for 800k, tis the problem that the Cuntry is facing. Cheap labour for who, the Cronies or for the nation?

dr.wailing

One stupid dumbfuck expat white woman in a Gulf state took a photo of a local who double parked his car on an disabled lot and she circulated it on social media and it went viral. She wanted to belittle him. The Govt however deported her and her family for embarrassing the country rather than reporting the case to the authorities. No going to court, no appeal, straight deportation. Its no surprise that Indians who form the largest ethnic foreign labour group have not rioted. The same with the Ang Mos, very compliants, very respectful etc. And who set the tone?

@ scroobal

Your example is based on multiple implicit assumptions some of which are:

1. The Gulf state's no natural resources and therefore at the mercy of developed countries. On the contrary that country exports oil Which developed country doesn't need oil to fuel economic growth? On the other hand, Sinkieland's no natural resources and it needs to get in the good books of all countries so that it can export goods and services.

2. The government of the Gulf state doesn't follow the tone set by developed nations. Sinkieland needs to toe the line set by first world countries because its survival depends on how much it can export to those countries. Sinkieland can't afford to have economic sanctions slapped on it by the USA and other Western countries.