• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat To get a job, lower your expectations, say recruiters

abcdexyz

At the end of his internship at one of the Big Four accounting firms last year, then-Singapore Management University student Tan Ghim Hwee applied for a full-time position.

The 25-year-old, who graduated in July this year, was due to start work at the firm this month.

Unfortunately, this was not to be.

When he called the firm in June to firm up his start date, he was told that the job offer no longer stood.

"I was shocked, I was told there are no new hires for September," he said.

"Apparently, the management consulting department was downsizing and it had frozen hiring for all associate positions."

Mr Tan is not the only fresh graduate in this predicament.

According to the Ministry of Manpower's Labour Market Report published last Thursday, the unemployment rate for degree holders rose from 3.5 per cent in June 2015 to 4.3 per cent in June this year - the highest since 2009.

This translates to about 25,000 unemployed graduates last June and about 34,000 this June.

Among degree holders, the increase in unemployment rate among those below 30 years old also rose, from 3.8 per cent in March this year to 7.1 per cent in June.

Fresh graduates seem to be among the hardest hit, job experts say.

Ms Chook Yuh Yng, country manager at JobsDB Singapore, told The New Paper: "Job posting for entry-level jobs decreased by 40 per cent from January to August last year as compared to the same period this year."

The figure is based on job openings posted by employers on the site.

"With so many graduates seeking jobs in a shrinking market, there may not be sufficient jobs for everyone," added Ms Chook.

Other recruitment firms like Careerhub Consultants have also seen a decrease in full-time hiring among fresh graduates.

Ms Wong Cheng Yin, 28, senior human resource consultant at Careerhub Consultants, said that placement for fresh graduates fell from 18 per cent last year to about 15 per cent on average for January to August this year.

Why are fresh graduates in this position?

SKILLS

Ms Wong said most fresh graduates who secure a job after graduating tend to have had good internship exposure that helped them gain relevant technical skills.

Miss Amelia Low, 23, a National University of Singapore graduate, felt that this is where she is lacking.

With only one internship experience, she took on a research position to beef up her résumé. (See report below.)

But some graduates realised that their degrees did not equip them with the relevant skill sets for jobs in the workplace.

Mr Alston Lim, a 25-year-old computer science graduate with first-class honours from Nanyang Technological University, said: "I should have equipped myself with more technical skills like coding rather than just banking on my understanding of broad theories.

"To do well in school, students need to be strong in theory. In school, it's really just the big terms we understand and do research on, but theoretical knowledge does not suffice in the workplace."

Mr Lim has sent out more than 40 applications and gone for 10 interviews since January, but has not been successful.

Mr Oswald Yeo, 23, co-founder of graduate recruitment platform Glints, said: "There is a fundamental mismatch between traditional education and the skills needed in the workplace.

"For example, a lot of marketing graduates have broad marketing theory knowledge, but do not have digital marketing skills, which are high in demand now."

He advised young job seekers to clarify expectations with employers at interviews.

"Ask clearly about the job scope and what the job routines are," he said.

Recruiters also said there might be a mismatch of expectations between employers and undergraduates.

"We observed that the views of fresh graduates and employers are often polar opposites," said Ms Chook.

"Fresh graduates indicate salary as one of the key deciding factors in a job offer. They compare an offer to their expected salaries, but employers pick hires who display salary acceptance that are aligned with the company's offering."

MORE IDEALISTIC

Mr Koh Rong Ming, 26, recruitment specialist at Careerhub Consultants, said: "Graduates are often more idealistic in their job searches, making themselves more costly for employers to hire.

"This causes employers to instead pick 
experienced employees who require less training, but have lower or similar salary expectations."

With unemployment rate possibly remaining high among graduates in the near future, recruiters advised young job seekers to lower their expectations.

"Fresh graduates should place long-term career growth ahead of remuneration," said Ms Chook.

"Gain relevant experience first and you'll naturally be armed with better bargaining power."

I should have equipped myself with more technical skills like coding rather than just banking on my understanding of broad theories.

- Mr Alston Lim, a 25-year-old computer science graduate with first-class honours from Nanyang Technological University, who is jobless

NUS scholar on being jobless: "I'm not alone"

The search for the perfect job has been tough for National University of Singapore (NUS) graduate Amelia Low, 23.

The NUS Merit scholar has sent out more than 50 applications since January, gone for 11 interviews, but to no avail.

"I got increasingly worried since graduating in May," said Miss Low, adding: "Some of my friends are in the same situation."

She said: "Applicants with experience are also competing with us fresh graduates for the same jobs, making it even more difficult for us."

The psychology major has taken up a temporary job as a research assistant at NUS.

"I took on this job even though research is something I have not done, but it is still a skill set that can help beef up my resume."

The move to take on a temporary job was suggested by her father, Mr Low Boon Leong, 54, a business development manager.

"The temporary job will keep her going and give her the flexibility to look out for other options," he said.

"As a parent, the only way I can help her is to be supportive and give her the confidence to continue applying for other jobs.

"I told her that if she gets a position she doesn't want, she should let it go because her interest in a job matters the most."

- See more at: http://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore-ne...cial&utm_source=Facebook#link_time=1474713926

dr.wailing

At every GE, your Prime Ministar always exhorts Sinkies to vote PAP because only his political party is able to give Sinkies a bright and secure future.

Now is the time for jobless Sinkies to demand their Chief Natural Aristocrat to make good his promise.

ckmpd

At the end of his internship at one of the Big Four accounting firms last year, then-Singapore Management University student Tan Ghim Hwee applied for a full-time position.

The 25-year-old, who graduated in July this year, was due to start work at the firm this month.

Unfortunately, this was not to be.

When he called the firm in June to firm up his start date, he was told that the job offer no longer stood.

"I was shocked, I was told there are no new hires for September," he said.

"Apparently, the management consulting department was downsizing and it had frozen hiring for all associate positions."

Mr Tan is not the only fresh graduate in this predicament.

According to the Ministry of Manpower's Labour Market Report published last Thursday, the unemployment rate for degree holders rose from 3.5 per cent in June 2015 to 4.3 per cent in June this year - the highest since 2009.

This translates to about 25,000 unemployed graduates last June and about 34,000 this June.

Among degree holders, the increase in unemployment rate among those below 30 years old also rose, from 3.8 per cent in March this year to 7.1 per cent in June.

Fresh graduates seem to be among the hardest hit, job experts say.

Ms Chook Yuh Yng, country manager at JobsDB Singapore, told The New Paper: "Job posting for entry-level jobs decreased by 40 per cent from January to August last year as compared to the same period this year."

The figure is based on job openings posted by employers on the site.

"With so many graduates seeking jobs in a shrinking market, there may not be sufficient jobs for everyone," added Ms Chook.

Other recruitment firms like Careerhub Consultants have also seen a decrease in full-time hiring among fresh graduates.

Ms Wong Cheng Yin, 28, senior human resource consultant at Careerhub Consultants, said that placement for fresh graduates fell from 18 per cent last year to about 15 per cent on average for January to August this year.

Why are fresh graduates in this position?

SKILLS

Ms Wong said most fresh graduates who secure a job after graduating tend to have had good internship exposure that helped them gain relevant technical skills.

Miss Amelia Low, 23, a National University of Singapore graduate, felt that this is where she is lacking.

With only one internship experience, she took on a research position to beef up her résumé. (See report below.)

But some graduates realised that their degrees did not equip them with the relevant skill sets for jobs in the workplace.

Mr Alston Lim, a 25-year-old computer science graduate with first-class honours from Nanyang Technological University, said: "I should have equipped myself with more technical skills like coding rather than just banking on my understanding of broad theories.

"To do well in school, students need to be strong in theory. In school, it's really just the big terms we understand and do research on, but theoretical knowledge does not suffice in the workplace."

Mr Lim has sent out more than 40 applications and gone for 10 interviews since January, but has not been successful.

Mr Oswald Yeo, 23, co-founder of graduate recruitment platform Glints, said: "There is a fundamental mismatch between traditional education and the skills needed in the workplace.

"For example, a lot of marketing graduates have broad marketing theory knowledge, but do not have digital marketing skills, which are high in demand now."

He advised young job seekers to clarify expectations with employers at interviews.

"Ask clearly about the job scope and what the job routines are," he said.

Recruiters also said there might be a mismatch of expectations between employers and undergraduates.

"We observed that the views of fresh graduates and employers are often polar opposites," said Ms Chook.

"Fresh graduates indicate salary as one of the key deciding factors in a job offer. They compare an offer to their expected salaries, but employers pick hires who display salary acceptance that are aligned with the company's offering."

MORE IDEALISTIC

Mr Koh Rong Ming, 26, recruitment specialist at Careerhub Consultants, said: "Graduates are often more idealistic in their job searches, making themselves more costly for employers to hire.

"This causes employers to instead pick 
experienced employees who require less training, but have lower or similar salary expectations."

With unemployment rate possibly remaining high among graduates in the near future, recruiters advised young job seekers to lower their expectations.

"Fresh graduates should place long-term career growth ahead of remuneration," said Ms Chook.

"Gain relevant experience first and you'll naturally be armed with better bargaining power."

I should have equipped myself with more technical skills like coding rather than just banking on my understanding of broad theories.

- Mr Alston Lim, a 25-year-old computer science graduate with first-class honours from Nanyang Technological University, who is jobless

NUS scholar on being jobless: "I'm not alone"

The search for the perfect job has been tough for National University of Singapore (NUS) graduate Amelia Low, 23.

The NUS Merit scholar has sent out more than 50 applications since January, gone for 11 interviews, but to no avail.

"I got increasingly worried since graduating in May," said Miss Low, adding: "Some of my friends are in the same situation."

She said: "Applicants with experience are also competing with us fresh graduates for the same jobs, making it even more difficult for us."

The psychology major has taken up a temporary job as a research assistant at NUS.

"I took on this job even though research is something I have not done, but it is still a skill set that can help beef up my resume."

The move to take on a temporary job was suggested by her father, Mr Low Boon Leong, 54, a business development manager.

"The temporary job will keep her going and give her the flexibility to look out for other options," he said.

"As a parent, the only way I can help her is to be supportive and give her the confidence to continue applying for other jobs.

"I told her that if she gets a position she doesn't want, she should let it go because her interest in a job matters the most."

- See more at: http://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore-ne...cial&utm_source=Facebook#link_time=1474713926

PAP cant create good jobs

notice the trend:
computer science
psychology - which is the arts fac.
the commonality? Dumping ground.

Think businesses are stupid?
And the part about knowing coding? Sorry...Ah Nehs from India can also do coding at fraction of your cost and willing to work longer hours including weekends.

Bigfuck

Those so called jobs created by EDB and under the Lees are not jobs. Those are placeholder units of tax evasion monies. You can hire a cat to be a placeholder.
No real skill required. That being said, Lim shit say is another placeholder to help keep some self proclaimed privileged people to stay digging more wealth for themselves.

kkbutterfly

lower expectation?
wtf.
ask for $1500 loh.
$300 suck by cpf
$150 suck by mrt n bus
$50 telecommunication
$500 food
$50 insurance
$100water/elect bill / clothing
$500 give parent

balance sheet $ZERO
no need buy house no need marry,no need get sick, superman.just pcc

PAP cant create good jobs

PAP is bad for Sporeans
Not only are they unable to create jobs but they are giving whatever jobs to foreigners at the expense of Sporeans.

You have to wonder why Sporeans voted for the PAP:confused:
I still don't understand the stupidity of the 70%:eek:

lower expectation?
wtf.
ask for $1500 loh.
$300 suck by cpf
$150 suck by mrt n bus
$50 telecommunication
$500 food
$50 insurance
$100water/elect bill / clothing
$500 give parent

balance sheet $ZERO
no need buy house no need marry,no need get sick, superman.just pcc

For males there is also reservist obligations.

Pappies have been telling sinkies to lower expectations.
Can't afford fresh meat eat frozen meat.
Can't afford restaurants then eat at hawker centers.
Can't afford car take breakdown Mrt.
Can't afford 5 room flat then stay in 2 room flat.
Pap has a single one for all solution.
Next time they tell you have coolie rice to eat is enough

retrenched

to anyone who is lucky enuff to be in an area of great demand, and who is raking in big bucks while skipping lunch, all these pp are just picky. they will never understand that there are basically only four - security, taxi, property or insurance.

(if you dun have capital/means to start your own biz)

The article is terrible. The entire fault seems to be on those who are seeking employment. Its the role of the government to create jobs and to ensure that nation and the citizen's needs are planned ahead so that people are not placed in a constant state of angst.

There will always be a small minority that are picky jobseekers but not the rest. Secondly everyone knows some of the private universities are hopeless and no decent employer is going to hire their "gradautes". The Govt can step in and control their curriculum and raise their standards. The lecturers are also of poor quality. We are sending our young ones to a place where they are going to waste 3 years of their life.

ckmpd

The article is terrible. The entire fault seems to be on those who are seeking employment. Its the role of the government to create jobs and to ensure that nation and the citizen's needs are planned ahead so that people are not placed in a constant state of angst.

There will always be a small minority that are picky jobseekers but not the rest. Secondly everyone knows some of the private universities are hopeless and no decent employer is going to hire their "gradautes". The Govt can step in and control their curriculum and raise their standards. The lecturers are also of poor quality. We are sending our young ones to a place where they are going to waste 3 years of their life.

To save Singapore, the 69.9% need to wake up and know that job creation is govt's responsibilities. Giving jobs to foreigners is treason.

When the pap fails to create enough jobs, it blames Singaporeans for being choosy.

How much does the pap expect graduates to go lower when NUS graduates get abt $2600 per month after graduation and giving two years to NS? We must not allow the pap to push the blame to Singaporean when it is them who failed us

Sinkies want high pay, work life balance, leave the office at 530pm on the dot. Like that, who will do the bulk of the work?

No wonder towkays like me prefer foreigners. They are cheaper, better and faster. They also willing to do OT.

Wunderfool

Sinkies have to be realistic. Unless the job is highly skilled, don't expect that you can command a high salary when you are just entering the workforce. Work hard to build up your skills and network and when you are there, the world will come looking for you.

think opium trade, 2000% profit margin.

If angmoh are the best race can do it, ALL Nations can do the same targeting USA and British empire 460m people population.

hey do you provide squatter housings for them too?

Sinkies want high pay, work life balance, leave the office at 530pm on the dot. Like that, who will do the bulk of the work?

No wonder towkays like me prefer foreigners. They are cheaper, better and faster. They also willing to do OT.

agree bro,

Get millions dollars salaries and give jobs to FTs?

Sinkies need a Jesus person to start a revolution. Jesus was the 3rd messianic revolutionary leader to try free Judea in his time under the Roman empire.

If Jesus can any Sinkies can also 患乱出英雄

To save Singapore, the 69.9% need to wake up and know that job creation is govt's responsibilities. Giving jobs to foreigners is treason.

When the pap fails to create enough jobs, it blames Singaporeans for being choosy.

How much does the pap expect graduates to go lower when NUS graduates get abt $2600 per month after graduation and giving two years to NS? We must not allow the pap to push the blame to Singaporean when it is them who failed us

The PAP has been telling Sporeans to lower their expectations for decades. You can verify this with your parents.
Now many Sporeans don't have enough CPF because they listened to the PAP.

There is a double standard in Spore. While the "lesser mortal" are told to lower their expectations, the PAP are paying themselves an enormous amount of $$$$$.

What is worst is that Sporeans have tolerated this.