• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Heart Bypass advise needed

nayr69sg

Staff member
There are doctors who practice alternative medicine in Singapore. But they don't treat the average man on the street. Only the rich fellas. Or the friends of the rich fellas.

Some of the treatments are brought in by foreign doctors on their visits as tourists in Singapore. They pass it to the local doctor to administer and they share the spoils.

When you are old and dying, you will try anything. The old man who never believed in god began to take lessons in Catholic Church approach to meditation. It began in the Katong Family Church is quite popular amongst the elite. I suppose when you are ill everything should be considered.

What makes you think that LKY only went for treatment when he was older & dying:confused:

LKY had access to billions$$$, he traveled for free & I remember that he spent plenty of time abroad. When I was much, much younger I already heard stories about him going for treatments to extend his life.

Do you know what sort of treatment?

What makes you think that LKY only went for treatment when he was older & dying:confused:

LKY had access to billions$$$, he traveled for free & I remember that he spent plenty of time abroad. When I was much, much younger I already heard stories about him going for treatments to extend his life.

Johnny333 you are correct. No jail lah. Suspension only. I remember my boss asked me why I was so scared of suspension? He said just go holiday. All your patients will curse MOH say they stupid why suspend good doctor? After suspension come back and continue.

So just make sure don't cause major complications. Cos those things will get sued. Do no harm.

Did you hear about Dr. Susan Lim. She tried to charge a patient $30 million for anti cancer treatment .
I wonder what would happen if a doctor tried to claim that amount from Alberta Health:biggrin:

Aiyah in Singapore doctors kiasi kiasu lah.

Also refer to each other more money mah.

I am not an eye specialist. So frankly I have no idea about what laser treatment etc.

Well here's the thing. What if really glaucoma? Then your dad optic nerve kaput blind. How?

Medicine is not an exact science.

My dad has pco along with glaucoma diagnose on the same day. What I was challenging that doctor was to give dad the laser first, while waiting for the glaucoma appointment. She initially didn't want to do it saying it may not help to clear his vision. .I asked for it and solve his vision blurred problem.
I asked for that laser is not becos I was playing chances game. I know that the blur vision is due to the pco rather than the glaucoma. Why ? Becos Google already stated and the doctor also knows it. The reason I can think of why she made referal instead is she was lazy and want to just refer dad to glaucoma clinic for both. Why would I want my dad to suffer 3 more months of blurred vision ?
After that went for glaucoma appointment to proceed with his glaucoma issue..
This is the example that I was telling you. Not that I reject the doctor claimed that my dad has glaucoma.

Case 3 was even worse. GP diagnosed me wrongly and I return to clinic to find the doctor off duty and new doctor diagnosed me and said ..stomach flu is very similar to food poisoning and didn't want to pull down his morning doctor by.not answering my further questions on the morning diagnoses. To make thing worst I was charged again both medication and consultation costs. When I attempt to tell counter Wtf, she said new visit new charges. I bang the table and left. I did not write to smc to pursue this matter as I was too sick then, later i returned to work and forgot about this. If it happen now that I'm half retires, I make sure the doctor get suspended.

Unrepented

Thanks for the participation in this thread, and the below stated by you seems to be the situation. After some resistance training of the chest, the pain in the left just below the collar bone started, and my friend continue with the exercise for a month, then finally came the recent pain in the same spot and cold sweat (subsequently confirmed a minor heart attack), that's what caused my friend to seek medical advice.

If he ops to go for open heart surgery, it would be a big irreversable leap, he is just concerned if there are more long term negative impact than the positivies that he is not ware of, if he chooses this path. And what to look out for.

He is currently in his mid fourties, and the surgeron commentted that he is young......don't know what the surgeon meant...

Angina is where coronary arteries are blocked. If you stress your heart and increase its oxygen demands, the coronary arteries may not be able to supply the blood flow and hence oxygen to the heart because of the blockage. Increase demand, supply cannot keep up. The heart starts to feel painful (angina) due to this. You stop running or stressing, the demand drops, the supply is enough. The heart muscle recovers. This is what treadmill tests detect.

Unrepented

I think the doctors are too busy with the overcrowding, and such task are given to specialized junior staff in the hospitals, but the quality of knowledge, skills, and time resource is lacking.

............ I think the Doctors in Spore are partially to blame because they are ignorant about what patients should be doing other than taking medications. So they never advise them on proper diet & life styles.

Thanks for the participation in this thread, and the below stated by you seems to be the situation. After some resistance training of the chest, the pain in the left just below the collar bone started, and my friend continue with the exercise for a month, then finally came the recent pain in the same spot and cold sweat (subsequently confirmed a minor heart attack), that's what caused my friend to seek medical advice.

If he ops to go for open heart surgery, it would be a big irreversable leap, he is just concerned if there are more long term negative impact than the positivies that he is not ware of, if he chooses this path. And what to look out for.

He is currently in his mid fourties, and the surgeron commentted that he is young......don't know what the surgeon meant...

Your friend's doctor would have prescribed nitro glycerine pills. At least my cardiologist did. I was suppose to take it when the angina pains grew too much.

I only had to take mine once.

flatearther

Case 3 was even worse. GP diagnosed me wrongly and I return to clinic to find the doctor off duty and new doctor diagnosed me and said ..stomach flu is very similar to food poisoning and didn't want to pull down his morning doctor by.not answering my further questions on the morning diagnoses.
If I were you, I would try my best to be a vegan for as many meals as possible. :o
And also abstain from processed food because it usually contains added artificial sugar, MSG and unhealthy vegetable oils (excluding healthy olive oil, which is much more expensive):

sammyboy.com/showthread.php?228274-Dear-vegans-(although-we-are-in-the-tiny-minority)-you-re-on-the-right-track-but
sammyboy.com/showthread.php?227102-Why-Animal-Protein-Is-Bad
sammyboy.com/showthread.php?226890-quot-Why-Milk-Is-Bad-For-You-And-Your-Bones-quot-by-Vivian-Goldschmidt

By the way, "stomach flu" = "stomach virus" = "stomach bug" = infectious diarrhoea = gastroenteritis:
wikipedia.org/wiki/Gastroenteritis
which can be caused by:
wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_poisioning
i.e. eating food that has been contaminated by certain kinds of bacteria/viruses, but it's not the only cause.

Meat, fish/seafood, processed food (whether they are in cans or not, including even buns with red bean paste in them) have much higher chances of containing bacteria/viruses, which would cause infectious diarrhoea due to "food poisoning".

As the saying goes, "prevention is better than cure":
dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/prevention-is-better-than-cure

Case 3 was even worse. GP diagnosed me wrongly and I return to clinic to find the doctor off duty and new doctor diagnosed me and said ..stomach flu is very similar to food poisoning and didn't want to pull down his morning doctor by.not answering my further questions on the morning diagnoses. To make thing worst I was charged again both medication and consultation costs. .....

In the past we didn't have much experience with the medical professionals of Spore. However as we get older this is changing & many are now finding out that Doctors can be lazy, incompetent, careless, stupid,... & of course good.

My solution is to look else where which is cheaper e.g. Malacca, Thailand,..:smile:

If I were you, I would try my best to be a vegan for as many meals as possible. :o
And also abstain from processed food because it usually contains added artificial sugar, MSG and unhealthy vegetable oils (excluding healthy olive oil, which is much more expensive):

sammyboy.com/showthread.php?228274-Dear-vegans-(although-we-are-in-the-tiny-minority)-you-re-on-the-right-track-but
sammyboy.com/showthread.php?227102-Why-Animal-Protein-Is-Bad
sammyboy.com/showthread.php?226890-quot-Why-Milk-Is-Bad-For-You-And-Your-Bones-quot-by-Vivian-Goldschmidt

By the way, "stomach flu" = "stomach virus" = "stomach bug" = infectious diarrhoea = gastroenteritis:
wikipedia.org/wiki/Gastroenteritis
which can be caused by:
wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_poisioning
i.e. eating food that has been contaminated by certain kinds of bacteria/viruses, but it's not the only cause.

Meat, fish/seafood, processed food (whether they are in cans or not, including even buns with red bean paste in them) have much higher chances of containing bacteria/viruses, which would cause infectious diarrhoea due to "food poisoning".

As the saying goes, "prevention is better than cure":
dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/prevention-is-better-than-cure

Its very hard for me to be a vegan as this will make my life no more meaningful. However I attempted to reduce the amount of food intake to 2X per day instead of conventional 3 to 4. This will directly reduce the processed time :biggrin:

In the past we didn't have much experience with the medical professionals of Spore. However as we get older this is changing & many are now finding out that Doctors can be lazy, incompetent, careless, stupid,... & of course good.

My solution is to look else where which is cheaper e.g. Malacca, Thailand,..:smile:

Yes, careless ones was also part of my case (with apology from the doctor) but no need to elaborate anymore.
There are still quite handful of really professional and good doctors that I have encountered , including FTs doctor in sg :eek
I have never seen any doctor outside of sg till date and wish I don't have to :smile:

Yes, careless ones was also part of my case (with apology from the doctor) but no need to elaborate anymore.
There are still quite handful of really professional and good doctors that I have encountered , including FTs doctor in sg :eek
I have never seen any doctor outside of sg till date and wish I don't have to :smile:

They are also bullies. When my Mother refused their recommendations, the Doctors mentioned that they could override her decision if more than 2 Doctors agreed to do so:mad:

Lol. Bully case was no longer in my memory until you mentioned. I encountered too while I was staying in C ward in old alexandra hospital whereby it look more like a war refugee wards. Apparently some doctors look down on poor sinkie losers.

Not only the doctors but also the Filipino Nurses. I notice that the other older patients were terrified of them. After the abuse at an old folks where 2 Filipinos care givers were filmed abusing an old Sporean we can only Guess at what happens when we are not around.

This is another reason I've opted to seek treatment elsewhere if I ever need need to be hospitalised.

nayr69sg

Staff member
As you can see. Patients in Singapore don't trust their doctors. Always suspicious of them. Second guessing every decision. Zero confidence.

I know why this is so. It is a problem on both sides .

When there is a complete breakdown of trust and confidence with doctors the whole system cannot function properly.

Anyway keep up with the doctor bashing. It reminds me why I left Singapore.

I am a lot happier here in Canada.

Johnny333, it is the govt that asked to abolish the SMA guidelines on fees that gave Susan Lim the legal right to charge anything she wanted. The GOF was deemed uncompetitive. Despite appeals from SMA saying it formed more of a ceiling to fees than a floor they were all rejected. People also accused SMA of wanting to be a cartel and fix prices.

Competition is supposed to be good and bring down prices. So no guidelines. Willing buyer willing seller.

Look at the mess it is in Singapore now.

In Canada you cannot bill $30million simply because there is a set fee schedule for each service provided.