• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat This Is Terrible and Horrible

ckmpd

Scroobal is right leh. Unlikely that class C wards will have such high charge, or that your relative staying a 3 room flat can fail means testing if he is unemployed. Unless you can vouch here that you saw the bill with your own eyes.

No need to insinuate. I have stated the facts. Be diligent and check up with Bright Vision Hospital. Best is you can go visit the hospital at 5, Lor Napiri

The more you know the more you will realise how blatant and uncaring the pap is

kkbutterfly

Good advice. Thanks.

But in this case, what do you advise?

if I were you, I would advise your relative:
withdraw all cash in banks.
refuse all payment.
let him decide if he want to pass on or want treatment. If he want treatment , then of cos you then don't stop him. Afterall still his life and choice.
really sad to hear our country has come to such stage

my colleague's mum kena cancer. Son ask mum if she want continue chemo, she say yes. Son of cos respect her decision. Of cos she still pass on in a horrible stage

ckmpd

if I were you, I would advise your relative:
withdraw all cash in banks.
refuse all payment.
let him decide if he want to pass on or want treatment. If he want treatment , then of cos you then don't stop him. Afterall still his life and choice.
really sad to hear our country has come to such stage

my colleague's mum kena cancer. Son ask mum if she want continue chemo, she say yes. Son of cos respect her decision. Of cos she still pass on in a horrible stage

Thank you for your advice

The issue is why does a pioneer generation Singaporean have to pay $225 per day for his dormitory ward bed? It is just a simple bare bed with no frills. No specialised equipment is used

1 thing to note first is most (but not all) hospitals/medical call center/coubter staff are not trained to give correct answers to certain questions. Medical costs being 1 of them, especially when is related to subsidy, pioneer gen, mediasave , based on my experience with my parents.

ckmpd

1 thing to note first is most (but not all) hospitals/medical call center/coubter staff are not trained to give correct answers to certain questions. Medical costs being 1 of them, especially when is related to subsidy, pioneer gen, mediasave , based on my experience with my parents.

Like that how? If what he was told by the hospital staff is not correct ?

not likely that the staff was wrong

ckmpd

Scroobal is right leh. Unlikely that class C wards will have such high charge, or that your relative staying a 3 room flat can fail means testing if he is unemployed. Unless you can vouch here that you saw the bill with your own eyes.

Bright Vision has altruistic sounding names for the wards..Faith Ward, Compassion Ward...sounds reassuring.

But the ward charges are atrocious!

Like that how? If what he was told by the hospital staff is not correct ?

not likely that the staff was wrong

Unfortunately none of us here can solve this "giving wrong info" problems as I believe those giving advice on medical cost over the counter and phones are just low wages, high turnover positions, that even the management did not bother to give proper trainings or resource knowledge based for them.

I could just call several times, including onsite clinic counters, to get different versions and get an overall estimates. :(

He was the one with terminal cancer, stays in a 3rm HDB flat and is unemployed.

If his cancer is terminal why waste money on treatment. Just ask him to tell the doctor in charge for a morphine prescription. He should then sign the papers to discharge himself from that hospice.

A morphine overdose will stop the heart. Problem solved.

ckmpd

Unfortunately none of us here can solve this "giving wrong info" problems as I believe those giving advice on medical cost over the counter and phones are just low wages, high turnover positions, that even the management did not bother to give proper trainings or resource knowledge based for them.

I could just call several times, including onsite clinic counters, to get different versions and get an overall estimates. :(

I dont think the staff gave wrong information. My relative's case is straightforward and not complicated.

The staff was certain that he has to pay $227 a day for ward charges as they call it Palliative Care.

But it was a simple bed with many other beds and not equipped with any specialised equipment

ckmpd

If his cancer is terminal why waste money on treatment. Just ask him to tell the doctor in charge for a morphine prescription. He should then sign the papers to discharge himself from that hospice.

A morphine overdose will stop the heart. Problem solved.

Going or not going for treatment is his call, not mine. But the facts are:

!. Sick man
2. Poor man
3. Pioneer generation nation builder who is now in need
4. In palliative care
5. No special equipment

Is it right for the pap to charge him $227 a day for a non aircon dormitory style ward bed? Doc's and therapist's fees will be added to ward charges?

bodycells

Every Singaporean has a duty to speak up against tyranny and exploitation. How we go abt doing that depends on our talent, gifting, experience, ability, resources, etc. I know what I can do most effectively. Do you?

I don't really care about sinkies. In fact, i love it when injustice falls upon them. It is their calling due to their stupidity and ball-lessness.

It gives me a life lesson and a real example how dangerous being stupid and ball-less can be. It will lead to your extinction.

I just enjoy being entertained by seeing sinkies suffer. And highlight the cause and effect of their suffering and demise.

ckmpd

I don't really care about sinkies. In fact, i love it when injustice falls upon them. It is their calling due to their stupidity and ball-lessness.

It gives me a life lesson and a real example how dangerous being stupid and ball-less can be. It will lead to your extinction.

I just enjoy being entertained by seeing sinkies suffer. And highlight the cause and effect of their suffering and demise.

Hopefully you have more compassion for those who are poor, aged, sick and they are bullied. They may not be what you said

ckmpd

I sense that you speak out of righteous anger and are frustrated by the 69.9%.You are not angry with the poor and sick

I dont think the staff gave wrong information. My relative's case is straightforward and not complicated.

The staff was certain that he has to pay $227 a day for ward charges as they call it Palliative Care.

But it was a simple bed with many other beds and not equipped with any specialised equipment

Based on your description he's in a Hospice not a Hospital. That's why there is no specialised equipment.

He there to die. All he has to do to save money is to opt to speed up the process as I described.

enterprise2

I was told recently that my pioneer citizen relative has been warded at Bright Vision Hospital at Lorong Napiri, Yio Chu Kang.

He was the one with terminal cancer, stays in a 3rm HDB flat and is unemployed.

I visited him yesterday. The ward is a dormitory ward with many beds but without aircon, like a C Class ward.

He has been told that he has to pay $227 per day for ward charges. Based on means testing implemented by the pap, he will not receive any subsidy and has to pay $227 per day from his savings. This does not include miscellaneous charges, doctors fees and physiotherapist fees. The totally bill to him will easily be $10,000 a month.

This is terrible and horrible!

How can the pap say that an unemployed pioneer citizen staying in a 3rm HDB flat with terminal sickness has to pay about $10,000 a month, without subsidy, to be in C class type ward in a Singapore Hospital.

I am waiting for him to show me the final bill

Can any Medical Social Worker advise and help my aged, sick, poor pioneer Singaporean relative and alleviate his burden?

Thinks it's not $10k per month for every month! Prob the whole cost is &20-30k and spread out over couple of months. If $10k per month can live like king

on the website, the daily rates for pallative care (after government subsidies) is 75 -315.
hence, one likely cause could be, other occupants registered under the same 3room flat could have skewed the household income upwards resulting in lower subsidies.

suggest to appeal to medical social workers.
also, to see your MP to appeal, they will help you to write a letter.

otherwise, seek other hospices but generally i think, demand for pallative care exceeds demand.

ckmpd

Based on your description he's in a Hospice not a Hospital. That's why there is no equipment.

He there to die. All he has to do to save money is to opt to speed up the process as I described.

He is in Bright Vision Hospital, not a hospice

ckmpd

Thinks it's not $10k per month for every month! Prob the whole cost is &20-30k and spread out over couple of months. If $10k per month can live like king

We wont know the exact bill until he receives it. He was told he has to pay $227 per day, and also doc's and other charges. Based on that how much do you think if he stays for a month?