• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious The shocking lack of Whistle Blowers and justice seekers in sinkieland

ckmpd

So nice to be so vague. What are the "problems"? And what kind of policies will "correct" them?

Oh and I guess the answer would be "that we leave to the new government". Haha!

I have said enough abt the problems and dont want to regurgitate what I have said in other threads.

if you dont know SG's problems, then let that rest.

dont try to blame others for being vague when u dont know SG's problems

nayr69sg

Staff member
One of the first things I would suggest Singapore do is to abolish the foreign domestic helper policy.

This will free up position for cleaners and baby sitters. Local ie Singaporeans will have jobs. I would also institute minimum wage.

Enough money is being drained from Singapore to foreign shores by this cheap labor.

Also minimum wage would mean better salaries for trades people. No point hiring foreigner cos you have to pay levy ON TOP of minimum wage. Singaporeans can do trades jobs.

Also will have spin off on home improvement and DIY industries. Eg Home Depot. Hardware stores. IKEA furniture assemblers also have to earn minimum wage or better.

All these raise the cost for the people but in the long run is consistent with other first world nations who have a lower GINI coefficient.

But will the people be happy? No more maid means wash your own car. Or pay $10 per car wash. Wash your own toilets. Mop your own floors. Cook your own food.

Also hawker fare prices should go up as well. $2 chicken rice is ridiculous lah. Michelin star some more. That is way exploitation. Eating out becomes more expensive. People will cook at home more. And they have to cook their own meals.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I have said enough abt the problems and dont want to regurgitate what I have said in other threads.

if you dont know SG's problems, then let that rest.

dont try to blame others for being vague when u dont know SG's problems

Oh I know what Singapore's problems are for sure. That one we hear ad nauseum.

What are the solutions. What changes do you think are feasible and for the better in the long run?

Short term pain long term gain?

Seriously I think all Singaporeans hoping for short term gain long term gain. No sacrifice. Nothing to work harder everything just presented on a plate to them everything perfect. Dream on man.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Everyone out there, it was roughly the same 6 years ago when I came back to this forum. You engage enough, you come up with detailed suggestions and plans for change. Discuss the pros and cons. And all the talk big kpkbers all will disappear or say things like I have said this before "say what?" Oh you never read before so I dowan to repeat.

yeah can repeat all the complaints. all the working solutions cannot repeat hor?

It is the same 6 years later.

Back in 2004 I said similar things. The debates were more interesting though. However in the end people will disappear and keep quiet. Stop engaging. Especially the issue with maids. All those kpkb about foreign talent, then I say do away with biggest group of FT....FDW. All keep quiet disappear. Diam diam. Those who agreed with me, also awakened themselves and realized perhaps migration is the answer.

This is how Singaporeans are. This is what Singapore is made up of . This is why I realized, no point trying to "fight" for this bunch.

Talk to the man of street and you will see it is even lagi worse. The degree of indifference is over the top.

ckmpd

Oh I know what Singapore's problems are for sure. That one we hear ad nauseum.

What are the solutions. What changes do you think are feasible and for the better in the long run?

Short term pain long term gain?

Seriously I think all Singaporeans hoping for short term gain long term gain. No sacrifice. Nothing to work harder everything just presented on a plate to them everything perfect. Dream on man.

No, I go for long term gain.

That's where you missed out on the proposed solutions

Many have said that Singaporeans are the real issue and cause for why the country is in the state it is. I'm on the other end of Canada from where nayr69 is, and I'm just tired of being active in this forum or even thinking about Singapore and Singaporeans in general. The majority of Singaporeans are happy or just do not realize that there are many serious long term issues with the country caused by their apathy and willingness to surrender thinking.

You know, I am thinking about this and its not as easy as you say. The reason is that I would suspect that more then 50% of the singapore work force works directly or indirectly for some govt entity. Due to the pervasiveness of the govt in the economy, the country basically functions on a socialist style set up. The number of people employed by the govt directly (teachers, police, etc), the SAF, various stat boards and GLCs is huge. anyone will tell you that the bureaucracy and govt is very bloated. Just look at how many deputy prime ministers and ministers you have in the PMO. People vote for the PAP to preserve their rice bowls. If Any competent oppo party won the elections, the first order of things would be to trim the red tape and cut the fat. Sinkies are balless, yes, but due to the octopus like reach of the govt in the economy, they know they are also employed directly or indirectly by them. this is part of the PAP plan to hold this sword over their heads. i.e. vote for me or you may not have a job.

I know some teachers that are afraid to say anything anti-PAP in the lunchroom of their school or to their fellow colleagues for fear of not knowing who will report them. The PAP basically shows all these people working for them that if you play ball, you can thrive in the system. All the ex SAF scholar generals walking around is a great example of this. Coupled with the lack of a viable opposition aka PAP Lite known as WP, its safer to vote the PAP when the consequence of voting no is too severe.

I bet that if you did a study of who these 30%-40 oppo voters are, you will find a lot of them do not have any affiliation with any governmental agency and hence have no fear of what will happen to their rice bowl if they do not vote PAP.

Everyone out there, it was roughly the same 6 years ago when I came back to this forum. You engage enough, you come up with detailed suggestions and plans for change. Discuss the pros and cons. And all the talk big kpkbers all will disappear or say things like I have said this before "say what?" Oh you never read before so I dowan to repeat.

yeah can repeat all the complaints. all the working solutions cannot repeat hor?

It is the same 6 years later.

Back in 2004 I said similar things. The debates were more interesting though. However in the end people will disappear and keep quiet. Stop engaging. Especially the issue with maids. All those kpkb about foreign talent, then I say do away with biggest group of FT....FDW. All keep quiet disappear. Diam diam. Those who agreed with me, also awakened themselves and realized perhaps migration is the answer.

This is how Singaporeans are. This is what Singapore is made up of . This is why I realized, no point trying to "fight" for this bunch.

Talk to the man of street and you will see it is even lagi worse. The degree of indifference is over the top.

Again, I will try to explain what I am trying to say to you.

1) U cannot change the govt from this forum nor from all the other alternate forums combined.
2) This is not the purpose of the forum
3) People who read the same thing here 6 years ago are not the same people on here today.
4) People here today constitute a new batch of people who may be unaware of what was said 6 years ago and hence this is all news to them and relevant to them.

You know, I am thinking about this and its not as easy as you say. The reason is that I would suspect that more then 50% of the singapore work force works directly or indirectly for some govt entity.

I've been highlighting this reality many times over in this very forum.

The majority of voting Singaporeans see the status quo as being ultimately beneficial to them in one way or another.

LKY knew this from the very beginning at that is why he created structures that form the foundations of the modern Singapore of today.... Civil service, stat board, GLCs... add up all the employees, relatives and spouses of employees and that already makes up more than 50% of the electorate.

Add to that the fact that 90% of the country lives in HDB estates and there is your 70% support.

People vote for the PAP despite hating everything the party stands for. I should know because I personally know people who do exactly that.

Anyone who is hoping to sell his/her HDB flat to upgrade to private property or a larger HDB apartment would need to take a leap of faith before voting for the opposition because they know full well that if their ward falls into opposition hands they run the risk of the election result affecting their property values adversely.

nayr69sg

Staff member

1) U cannot change the govt from this forum nor from all the other alternate forums combined.
3) People who read the same thing here 6 years ago are not the same people on here today.
4) People here today constitute a new batch of people who may be unaware of what was said 6 years ago and hence this is all news to them and relevant to them.
Yup purpose for this forum and other forums is for idiots to complain kpkb to their hearts content.

I rest my case.

kryonlight

Papsmearer, I suggest that you compile all your significant write-ups into a single PDF document. Give it a name like say "The Ramblings of Papsmearer" or "Sinkie Hard Truths - According to Papsmearer". As you go along you will have versions 2, 3 and 4. Make it available for all sinkies to download for free. Also, start a blog that mirrors and promotes all your write-ups mixed with lots of other interesting innocuous sinkie subjects to act as baits. Since you are so rich, I think you can afford some advertisements on YouTube and other social media to promote your blog. I think you will reach a larger audience rather than confine yourself to this filthy obscure forum. Do it as a gift for all sinkies.

No leh I started here 6 years ago and I am still the same person here. But I realised people here only talk big, complain and ask others to protest against injustice. But ownself don't lift a finger against injustice. So you can forget it these sinkies will become whistle blower. Oh I am not in the same league as these hypocrites. At least I did before more than ten years ago to whistle blow to my ex boss about people eating expensive marketing lunch in charity. But no use lah sinkies boss and colleagues will turn around to say you uncooperative and should just process payment that have been approved.