• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Woman, 85, sues slimming centre over $400k treatment

SNTCK

The family of a diabetic 82-year-old woman, who wanted to lose weight for health reasons, visited a branch of London Weight Management in 2013 after seeing its TV commercial touting a weight-loss trial session for $18.

They were eventually persuaded into signing a nearly $400,000 package with the slimming centre.

The treatments not only failed to improve her health, but they also caused Madam Gan Siew Hong to suffer diarrhoea, a skin rash and pus discharge, she claimed in a lawsuit filed in the High Court seeking compensation of close to $450,000 from the slimming centre.

Madam Gan, now 85, wants a full refund of the more than $400,000 her son paid for weight-loss treatments and products.

She is also seeking damages of about $41,000 for medical fees incurred in treating the alleged adverse effects of the services.

In court documents obtained by The Straits Times, Madam Gan claimed the centre repeatedly pressured her, her son and her husband into signing up for the package.

On July 23, 2013, she, together with her son, Mr Tan Kok Wah, and husband, Mr Tan Ee Leong, went to the centre's Ngee Ann City branch after seeing its commercial.

She said her son and husband had asked for a medical assessment before starting the programme but were assured by the therapist that it was suitable for her.

Apart from diabetes, she has a heart condition, high blood pressure, kidney problems and water retention in her legs.

At the trial session, her son was persuaded to pay $10,914 for an eight-month package. Six days later, while she was going through her third session, her son and husband were "brainwashed" into extending the package to two years for an additional $66,768.

Her son paid a portion using two credit cards, and a therapist accompanied the family home to collect a cheque for the balance.

Two days later, Madam Gan was made to believe that she needed more than two years to see progress, the lawsuit claimed.

A therapist again accompanied the family home, where her son made out two cheques totalling $321,000 for a six-year package.

He also paid $4,662.40 for "detox drinks", which allegedly caused her to suffer diarrhoea, and $3,595.29 for ginger masks to reduce the swelling in her legs. After she was told by a skin doctor that the rash on her abdomen which oozed pus was an allergic reaction to products applied on her skin, she returned to the centre for more treatments. She finally stopped in June 2014.

In its defence, London said it is willing to refund her the unused portion of the package amounting to $43,408.15 out of goodwill.

The centre said Madam Gan's family declared only that she had diabetes and that it is not liable for injuries resulting from non-disclosure of medical history.

The centre also said it had advised her to seek medical advice on the suitability of its treatment and products and told her that successful weight loss depended on a balanced diet and regular exercise.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapo...rce=Facebook&xtor=CS1-10#link_time=1473206985

SNTCK

these beauty centre really have to Fxxk off.

only knows sabo and brainwash people to sign their package without consider the person financial situation.

uvwxyz

In this story I don't know where Madam Gan and her son left their brains while dealing with the Beauty Centre people.

only knows sabo and brainwash people to sign their package without consider the person financial situation.

SNTCK

In this story I don't know where Madam Gan and her son left their brains while dealing with the Beauty Centre people.

hi uncle morning.

go to our share thread to discuss share leh.

ok, oil price recover, how u think in mid to long term. thank you

uvwxyz

hi uncle morning.

go to our share thread to discuss share leh.

ok, oil price recover, how u think in mid to long term. thank you

In the long term oil prices should rise unless the world switches from oil to other forms of energy which I think will not take place in a big way in our lifetime.
As to stocks and shares, sometimes you buy, sometimes you sell but sometimes no move is the best move.
At the moment I am just holding on to what I have and not buying or selling.

bodycells

Let me guess.. That fat fuck eat meat.

The mangina husband and son pay for the fat fuck's stupidity..

Eat meat and being a mangina sinkie loser.. How low can a human gets?

SNTCK

Why so old still have to go slimming centre? Rich and no where to spend is it?

I don't understand why idiots would go to a slimming centre to lose weight. Losing weight is not expensive nor is it some sort of rocket science. You basically have to exercise more and eat less. When your physical output is more than your calorie intake, you will start to lose weight. Most people lose weight simply by jogging, working out or brisk walking.

There's still plenty of slimming spas in Spore & that tells you something about the Sporean woman's mindset. Ehh.. never mind, enough has already been said about it:biggrin:

If you want a cheap effective method of losing weight just look at the experience of how Joe Cross did it. He simply got himself a juicer & went on a juicing fast.

[video=youtube;8o0pSnp0Xs8]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8o0pSnp0Xs8[/video]

SNTCK

Eat lesser can lose some weight.
But while getting old, no eat and just drink water also become fat.

Pinkieslut

Sinke race cannot give up their chow Kwey tiao, nasi lemak, prata, chicken curries, bakchomee. All greasy oily and sweet.

Eat lesser can lose some weight.
But while getting old, no eat and just drink water also become fat.

It has been found that crash diets don't work because the body will slow down it's metabolism to compensate. It is of course very bad to just stop eating & that is why you have to make sure to get enough nutrients into the body. For example juices which are healthy & has low carbs.

For a more detailed explanation of the problems of crash diets just google e.g. http://www.askdrsears.com/topics/fe...program/5-reasons-why-crash-diets-rarely-work

numero uno

agreed . Brainwash old people and use pressure tactics.
Really LOL when they said "..successful weight loss depended on a balanced diet and regular exercise". Then what the fark are they promoting then? what so special about their program to costs $400K? basically it means they admit to selling hot air and bull sh!t.
the family should sue for mental distress and health complications etc and demand compensation.

$400k - should this not be a Police case? Where are pubic servants, grassroots leaders etc when you need them?

shiokalingam

$400k - should this not be a Police case? Where are pubic servants, grassroots leaders etc when you need them?

CSI all those Clowns running the slimming Centre

london2.jpg

London Weight Management's Ngee Ann City branch. PHOTO: BEAUPASS.COM

agreed . Brainwash old people and use pressure tactics.
Really LOL when they said "..successful weight loss depended on a balanced diet and regular exercise". Then what the fark are they promoting then? what so special about their program to costs $400K? basically it means they admit to selling hot air and bull sh!t.
the family should sue for mental distress and health complications etc and demand compensation.

They can believe the PAP "cock & bull story" on investing their CPF...they can believe any con in the world.

borom

Another example of why the 70% voted the way it did and why PRC's/Pinoys/Indian FT's can easily overrun the place.

The family & the woman, either have stupidity in the genes ( which is not a surprised, the PIONEERS voted for the PAP), or too much money to spend ??...

At 80+ & have diabetes & need to reduce weight to control it, she must have seen an Endocrinologist & a dietician right? These are the people, medically be able to guide her, how to loose weight & control diabetes...

Right?