• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat First laksa and chicken rice, it'll be nasi lemak next. Will Sinkies buy into it?

dr.wailing

According to the state-controlled press, The Straits Times, your cabinet ministar, Lim Sia Suay, likened the current CPF policies to servings of laksa and chicken rice.

The toothpick thief, Mr Lim S.S., revealed on Thursday, that there will be modifications to the current CPF policies. He likened it to pushing out a new dish--nasi lemak.

Is your Sinkie gabrament really sincere about helping Sinkies or are the impending CPF policy changes just another nefarious scheme of Chief Natural Aristocrat to delay paying back CPF funds in full to retirees?

wtf?..when I retire, I want all my money...to eat the best..wagyu beef, whether it is high cholesterol or not!, increases my BP or even drive my heart crazy...it is still worth it...I work hard all my life for this savings & I am nearing to the day , " I return the NRIC"....why not?...why would I want variant of nasi lemak? or a $10+ bag by a disable person....I want a TUMI or something like that or even a law lex watch...

Tell that Chinese helicopter toothpick lim to $%$#$$%@#...I want, all my money....

borom

I do not want laksa, chicken rice,nasi lemak or for that matter three free/subsidised meals in a hawker centre, food court or restaurant
-
I WANT ALL MY OWN CPF monies back at 55-then If I want to, I can buy my own annuity or cocktail of insurance (health, hospitalisation, accident, crisis cover, dependent protection) if I want to.
Its not for the PAP to tell me what to do with my money.

Its also not for the PAP to give away public monies as scholarships to foreigners.

i saw in the edmw investment forum theres a new cpf life policy coming out,quite exciting.it could mean the endgame of temasek holdings or gic or it could be biggest fuckup yet to be witnessed by PAP.

Brightkid

CPF Investment, Escalating payout, etc......only have 1(one) message from PAP. Whatever you need, you can only use your own money though they are kept by Govt. Everything is your own money and Govt will never give you free lunches.

You die your own business.

they is coming out with a new CPF life investment scheme,passive investing,expense ratio to be 0.5 percent or less.....still 0.5 percent is a nice chunk since we are talking about tens of billions of funds.not sure which index they are using could be S&P or STI,singapore stock market has lower returns though,average capital gains about 0 to 2 percent p.a. and dividend yields of about 3 to 4 percent,much better than CPF interest though not as good as US stock market.......singapore companies pays out alot of its profits in dividends...more of a income generating play than growth.probably they are using cpf funds to try to boost the STI cause the sg stock market has been underperforming and stagnating the past few years.....so those who own alot of sg blue chips or sg reits will likely huat alot.......they might be trying to create another china bubble,if sinkies sees the stock market rising and goes crazy,we might even see STI going up to 5k or 7k.

wtf?..when I retire, I want all my money...to eat the best..wagyu beef, whether it is high cholesterol or not!, increases my BP or even drive my heart crazy...it is still worth it...I work hard all my life for this savings & I am nearing to the day , " I return the NRIC"....why not?...why would I want variant of nasi lemak? or a $10+ bag by a disable person....I want a TUMI or something like that or even a law lex watch...

Tell that Chinese helicopter toothpick lim to $%$#$$%@#...I want, all my money....

So after you get cheated by some hooker from china or batam, are the sinkie taxypayers supposed to be giving you charity for the rest of your life?

This is just an just an excuse the PAP uses to rip off ALL Sporeans :rolleyes:

How one spends our own money is none of the gov'ts business. However, Temasek is suppose to be a public company & yet it operates behind a veil of secrecy. Even Ho Ching's salary is a secret. If I was an investor I would want to know the performance of Temsaek & the amount that she is receiving. Information that is important for any investor to determine if there is any funny stuff going on.

It seems like Temasek is in trouble. Why are they having difficulty in attracting professional staff like Chip Goofyear:confused:

I make it very clear, even though I may not or even agree with all of the late LKY policies etc...but I would trust him with my CPF money, but not his son.

Who is giving me charity? I am giving the PAP government "charity" the minute I open my eyes each day in myriad indirect taxes that goes to feed their bloated salaries. When I retire, my hard earned money I deem fit to "give" my money to amy "hookers' from any part of the world, rather than the " white hookers" of the day.

My money...no government should shanghaied it.....whether I spend it all in 3 minutes, blew it all at the casinos or f$#%$^ till I drop or die....I die, that is my right to enjoy it....I am a taxpayer too...from the day one work to the day of retirement...that is around 30 years of tax paying, whether direct or indirect.....looking after me...is my entitlement, after all, I "look after" the politicians of the land with my taxes paid.

Back to the point...at retirement....I must be give the choice as an adult to take it all or leave it there & take it out later or in small amount...but not to be dictated by a government that HOLD my money...

:mad:

This is just an just an excuse the PAP uses to rip off ALL Sporeans :rolleyes:

How one spends our own money is none of the gov'ts business. However, Temasek is suppose to be a public company & yet it operates behind a veil of secrecy. Even Ho Ching's salary is a secret. If I was an investor I would want to know the performance of Temsaek & the amount that she is receiving. Information that is important for any investor to determine if there is any funny stuff going on.

It seems like Temasek is in trouble. Why are they having difficulty in attracting professional staff like Chip Goofyear:confused:

although CPF is a major scam,this is why i think CPF is a necessary evil for sinkies,sinkies only have one thing in mind how they want to spend,spend,spend.

although its illogical,cpf is their final resort retirement fund safety net,its a national retirement/pension scheme it should be stretched as long as possible for the span of their lives cause its their last line of defense,but all they can think of is CPF is some sort of reward for reaching a certain age or something to be spend as they see fit.only the most broke and desperate sinkies will think like this,desperate to get the last cookie in the piggy bank,because all their lives they'v only consumed and spent,not even neglect to save even 5 percent of their income.if sinkies saved at least 5 percent of their paycheck,and invested it into a passive index fund for 30 years,even if they made only $2,500 a month,which is saving $125 a month,at the end of 30 years they should have $198k,more than their cpf,just by saving 5 percent of every dollar u earn.how is it some sinkies manage to make it 55 and not even have $50,000 in their savings,investments and networth besides their sad pathetic pigeonhole which luckily appreciated by 400 percent?

just by saving and investing 5 percent of ur income a year u can beat CPF's returns so why are sinkies still broke???? having to depend on a job when they are 50,55,66 for a living???clearly the problem lies not in government policies but in individual responsiblity.......sinkies keep complaining about economic insecurity when the problem lies in their lifestyles and spending habits!!!!!!theres the other end of the spectrum,singapore investors like AK71,who thru sheer hard work and frugality,worked two jobs when he was young and saved 90 percent of his paycheck....working two jobs earning more than 5k and he learnt how to live on less than $600 a month in the 90s,many of his friends thought he was poor,but today he amassed nearly 600k in his cpf ra and sa accounts which he doesnt care for,because hes amassed a even bigger fortune of estimated 3 to 5 million in his stocks/investment portfolio generating more than 200k dividends per year which he doesnt care to spend,because he still lives a frugal life he learnt from his early working days,except that he now lives in a condo.this sinkie learnt how to maximise his earning and growing power and learnt how to minimise his spending and lower the cost and maximise the efficiency of living a frugal and minimalistic life in singapore with the least stress and anxiety,he achieved the ying and yang,the ultimate balance in life,which every individual and business or even country needs to learn.

take singapore for example,singapore is a filthy rich country,our country has one of the highest gdp per cap in the world,our government is focused on growth and gdp,but is our government frugal and thrifty in their spending?has they considered the other side of the equation?no the PAP have forgotten the face of their fathers,during LKY and the goh keng swee era when Singapore learnt to make do with what they have and be as thrifty as possible.those were the happiest times.today's PAP are wastrels and spendthrifts,wasting billions and billions on worthless white elephants and vanity projects,undertaking projects and construction that run into the billions far more than normal estimates might have expected,dumping 14 billion a year into a worthless military,billions and billions wasted in bad investments,instead of saving whereever they can and when they can and using the money to make sinkies lives better,instead they choose to cut corners and make sinkies foot the bill!!!!if u only focus all ur energy on increasing ur money making and earning power,how can u ever reduce stress and anxiety when ur spending and lifestyle increases along with it?u are only spending as much as u make and going nowhere.even if u made $250k a year or 300 billion gdp a year,u will never be happy or free!!!!!

MONEY SETS U FREE!!!thats what people fail to realise,money gives u options and choices and freedom to do what u really want in life......it is ur lifestyle and spending habits that chains u down.Money is not about buying more stuff or owning more things eating good food or living the good life,money is about freedom and choices,Freedom starts with every dollar u make,every paycheck uv earned,every $50 or $100 u make is freedom that u have earned......Money can either buy u beer,cigarettes,$8 starbucks latte,$10 meal at fastfood restaurant or new clothes,new laptop,new iphone or new car,things that u dont need.or Money can buy u freedom and discipline.the freedom to walk away from the job u dont want,to escape bad situations in life,do things u want but could never afford,live the life of ur own choosing in the place of ur choice.

I make it very clear, even though I may not or even agree with all of the late LKY policies etc...but I would trust him with my CPF money, but not his son.

Who is giving me charity? I am giving the PAP government "charity" the minute I open my eyes each day in myriad indirect taxes that goes to feed their bloated salaries. When I retire, my hard earned money I deem fit to "give" my money to amy "hookers' from any part of the world, rather than the " white hookers" of the day.

My money...no government should shanghaied it.....whether I spend it all in 3 minutes, blew it all at the casinos or f$#%$^ till I drop or die....I die, that is my right to enjoy it....I am a taxpayer too...from the day one work to the day of retirement...that is around 30 years of tax paying, whether direct or indirect.....looking after me...is my entitlement, after all, I "look after" the politicians of the land with my taxes paid.

Back to the point...at retirement....I must be give the choice as an adult to take it all or leave it there & take it out later or in small amount...but not to be dictated by a government that HOLD my money...

:mad:

LKY ended up trusting a board of financial advisors with your CPF monies. He was just a chairman. He had other things to do. He did not manage your money directly.

The question I ask is relevant. Should you lose all your CPF money prematurely, would you take full responsibility for your own life then? Find a job, jump off a roof, ect. I don't want my tax dollars to be spent on caring for such idiots for the rest of their unproductive lives. That's why CPF monies need to be managed for sinkies.

LKY ended up trusting a board of financial advisors with your CPF monies. He was just a chairman. He had other things to do. He did not manage your money directly.

The question I ask is relevant. Should you lose all your CPF money prematurely, would you take full responsibility for your own life then? Find a job, jump off a roof, ect. I don't want my tax dollars to be spent on caring for such idiots for the rest of their unproductive lives. That's why CPF monies need to be managed for sinkies.

obviously u are asking the impossible,the fact that they or sinkies are hankering after their mediocre cpf savings already shows how irresponsible and wasteful they are,whats cpf?remember u can withdraw anything above the minimum sum,if u have half a million,u can withdraw 350k,but whose kidding?sinkies are broke.if sinkies cant be trusted with their own salaries their entire lives,u think they can be trusted with their cpfs?

Of course, we are responsible for our actions, as the government should be responsible for theirs & it isn't...my tax money too is spent on morons like you, whom divine providence allowed to exists & roam is really amazing..of course I don't doubt the Almighty..each creation is unique...:rolleyes:

i saw in the edmw investment forum theres a new cpf life policy coming out,quite exciting.it could mean the endgame of temasek holdings or gic or it could be biggest fuckup yet to be witnessed by PAP.

you could have posted it here or at least post the link here you bird brain.

greedy and cunning

no need to go to such extreme as to jump off a roof.
one way is to perform a simple exercise like collecting cardboards , drink cans.
your tax dollars will go directly to the one flipping pratas , shaking hands , cutting ribbons or attending free lunch/dinner.
u no need to worry lah.

What is this new CPF Life Escalating Plan and CPF Lifetime Retirement Investment Scheme (LRIS)?

CPF Lifetime Retirement Investment Scheme

What was kept in suspense is how do we boost the returns of our CPF to increase the sum built up?

Even with this announcement, there was much details NOT revealed.

I suppose there are much evaluation still taking place.

What is revealed is that there is this new Lifetime Retirement Investment Scheme (LRIS).

This will be an alternative to our CPFIS, which we use to invest in CPF approved unit trusts, stocks, insurance endowments and gold.

The objective is to:

Grow the amount
By taking more risks
For people who lacked the know-how
For people who lacked the time
Under LRIS, there will not be an avalanche of unit trusts.

There will be:

A single administrator
Few selected funds
Passively Managed
Investors are discouraged from churning, or frequent switching of investments
As there is 1 administrator the annual expense cost for the investor may be brought down from the traditional 1.5% to 2% down to lower than 0.5%
More advantage than disadvantage

Many Singaporean’s are not clear about passively managed funds. They are also not well versed in what makes the most impact to building wealth with funds.

So they would not understand what is the impact of this plan and how this will be a better option.

It is likely they will implement a portfolio of index funds. These are going to be low-cost passively managed.

4UDKbr4.png

The illustration provided by Straits Times, gave a hint of what are the limited funds provided by the single administrator.

I hope the returns are enticing to you.

The plan is generally good, because to sustain-ably money by buying and holding a portfolio of funds :

You need to keep costs low. Your returns is unpredictable but your cost of 1.5% to 2% for unit trusts is definitely loss to you. And the power of compounding occurs on the costs as well.
Passive is better than one Managed by a manager because it has been proven that it is difficult to beat the benchmark. Even if a fund manager can for 1 year, it is difficult to repeat the result over 10 years. Fund managers have a tough task and many under perform the index (which is what CPF is recommending under this scheme)
You need to hold it for long. But not many can do it because we overestimate our abilities and make stupid behavioral mistakes. Think of these funds as a very long 20-30 year bond. You can earn that 5.3% to 7.4% annual compounded returns, but in the middle of this 20-30 year bond, the value of your holdings will be very volatile, going up and going negative.

tBIWdrj.png

To illustrate #1, at a 7% compounded return, you would turn $10,000 into $76,122 in 30 years. But if your cost is 2%, you will lose $32,903 to costs and only get $43,219 at year 30.

If you are able to keep your costs at 0.75% instead, you will lose only $14,482 and earned $61,640.

The cost compound more drastically over time.

To illustrate that we are really bad in making investment decisions, Dalbar did a study on what the average investor achieve in terms of their unit trust sales, redemption and exchanges in USA.

You will observe that during this 20 year period, almost every asset class did well, but one of the worse performer is us, the average investor.

We are just so bad at managing money that we only take in a fraction of the returns.

It would be better if we meddle less.

My opinion of LRIS

My original concern was that this will stop me from making active contribution to the stocks that I currently held. Turns out that this will be a separate scheme targeting the people who fit the original criteria.

While I like everything about it, the pick up of this will be slow to non-existent.

This is because Singaporeans like capital protection, and when they learn that they are likely to lose money from this, they would be turned off.

That projected higher compounding return will pale against the great capital guarantee return of 4% on the CPF SA.

Despite what they say about wanting higher returns, they want higher returns but also capital guarantee.

In other words, they want a free lunch.

The CPF is already complicated enough and introducing one more side scheme, is not going to help.

People do not believe that they are poor investors, and they believe they can generate better returns through stocks then the puny pathetic returns of funds.

Perhaps we need a 10 year gestation period, where these few selected funds show good compounding returns to convinced people of their benefits.

We also need the CPF to not provide that guarantee 2.5% and 4% in CPF OA and SA, to force people to look for alternative.

What is the bloody use of these?....it is like investing in a award winning, top quality growing fruit tree behind a glass hot house; you can see your "investment" but you can not touch it. When it bear "fruits", the person in charge of growing the tree, will not allow you to eat the 'fruits" or see or touch the "tree"...all you get is when the time for " harvesting" a slot through the glass will open, & each month, you get a tiny portion of the "fruits" you have grown...what happened to the rest?....well!, you cannot see or touch the "tree".

We are in the 21st century, & 51 years ....we still have 70% of the voting population....buy these " craps"...really amazing!..

passive index investing is not only guaranteed to work in the long run,it will beat GIC returns or CPF "returns" by a mile,it will be the endgame killer of GIC.we will be getting returns comparable to Canadian Pension Fund.at 7 percent compounded return rate,ur fund will grow by 700 percent over 30 years......at 8 percent returns it can be as high as 1000 percent.100k will grow to 700k,easily surpassing the 150k minimum sum,not only that it can ensure that even the typical sinkie can enjoy a retirement in comfort and luxury.