• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Water Treaty Malaysia: The tremendous financial costs imposed on S'pore by LKY's ego

numero uno

Re: Water Treaty Malaysia: The tremendous financial costs imposed on S'pore by LKY's

Both agreements pegged the price at 3 sens (RM). Mahathir asked 30 sens, 10 time more. We offered 45 sens, 15 times more plus resolve a raft of outstanding issues including extension. Mahathir refused to link price of water to other issues.

Let me know if you need any other details.
yes you are right. The whole story is this. Mahathir wanted 30 sens but old man wanted alot of conditions attached like trade in railway land etc and package this and that condition till mahathir got fed up and put it on hold. Meanwhile he went to HK, China and shenzhen. In HK he ask the HK garmen how much they paid for the water which like singapore was imported from shenzhen. His jaw drop when the HK and China people told him shenzhen sold the same singapore 3cts per thousand gallons equivalent for a equivalent of RM$8 ie china sold the same volume to its own people in HK for almost 300 times more. and here you are talking about buying from another country. mahathir got so fedup when he realised the real value of water that he ask his guys to stop all negotiations and let all existing treaties run its course and not renew. thats the whole story of how newater came. otehr details too sensitive to talk,

steffychun

Re: Water Treaty Malaysia: The tremendous financial costs imposed on S'pore by LKY's

I thought Gecko wrote the water treaty?

kopirui

What did Malaysia want?

In 1998, They wanted financial loans from singapore to help them out during the Asian crisis. Old fart did not give them the loans but later on, gave large loans totalling $10 billion directly to Indonesia, bypassing the IMF. Immediately, this got Mahathir riled up.

that's a brilliant move by old man.
why?
old man forsee that if the $$ was loaned to Malaysian, DR mat will have the ability to recover very fast and become another competitors of SG.
why old man willing to loan to indo?
he forsee $$ lend to them will not bring them any way out.in fact they will be in bigger debt. when they cant pay up, old man will ask them to sell their grantie and sand as part of repayng back.
when we have lot of sand and grantie, we can reclaim bigger land, build 2 more jurong island,2 more changi and this in term can our to bloom.

dr.wailing

The only way for Singapore to be truly water and energy independent is to develop its' own Thorium Molten Salt Reactor. It's a totally different Nuclear reactor from the current toxic and dangerous PWC Nuclear reactor which resulted in Japan Fukushima incident.

The new nuclear reactor can produce totally safe energy, very little to no toxic waste, super efficient and totally safe as there is no pressurised cooler used, so no danger of explosion or meltdown. Its' by-product can desalinate sea water and produce radioactive isotope for medical use in much more effective cancer treatment.

You really think the President's scholars, PSC scholars, Colombo Plan scholars, SAF scholars hadn't thought about the so-called thorium molten salt reactor?

No offense but you really think you're the first to suggest it when your Prime Ministar himself is a President's Scholar, his brother and sister too and his gabrament is staffed with lots of their ilk and hadn't thought of it??

Breakdown at current prices for the various sources of water:

Johor water under the agreement - 0.2 kilowatt hr at 25.6 cents per KWh = 5.12 cents per cubic m
Newater - 1.0 kilowatt hr at 25.6 cents per KWh = 25.6 cents per cubic m
Desalination water - 3.5 kilowatt hr at 25.6 cents per KWh = 89.6 cents per cubic m

Not added to this cost is:

3 sens per 1000 imperial gallons or 4.546 cubic m for raw water
$billions of dollars to build the newater and desalination plants.

dont b guillible. 25 cts includes 20 cents for the middleman. just look at oil prices, it slump again for 2 weeks, petrol price up when it hit US$50 even when it was way below US$110. now it down by US$10 all tiam tiam pocket money.

dr.wailing

I have posted in the past before how Newater and desalinization will bankrupt us. this is the first time I have seen the proof in the shit times. What kind of idiot leadership would engage in a battle of egos and cost singaporeans 5000-17500 times the price of water. This does not include the capital costs in the billions $ needed to start up the desalinization and newater plants. How much money could have been saved by the economy as a whole if we had just used or renewed the existing water agreements at that time? Now that old fart is dead, we may never know wha transpired. Thanks ah gong for screwing us over. You really were a gong kia.

@ Papsmearer

Please don't take it the wrong way but what's your point in posting this thread?

In the most recent General Elections, 69.9% of Sinkies voted to have PAP (mis)lead them. NEWater wasn't an issue then. Even if it'd been, your Prime Ministar would still garner 69.9% of the votes.

If you don't like to be screwed over and over by Chief Natural Aristocrat, emigrate and give up your Stinkie citizenship. Thousands of ex-Sinkies have gone before you and done it and they're still alive and well. I'm living proof.

dr.wailing

Now that old fart is dead, we may never know wha transpired
Incorrect. Didn't Old Fart say that your current Prime Ministar is the best person to continue the former's legacy? Ask CNA (no, not Channel News Asia but Chief Natural Aristocrat.)

kopirui

yes you are right. The whole story is this. Mahathir wanted 30 sens but old man wanted alot of conditions attached like trade in railway land etc and package this and that condition till mahathir got fed up and put it on hold. Meanwhile he went to HK, China and shenzhen. In HK he ask the HK garmen how much they paid for the water which like singapore was imported from shenzhen. His jaw drop when the HK and China people told him shenzhen sold the same singapore 3cts per thousand gallons equivalent for a equivalent of RM$8 ie china sold the same volume to its own people in HK for almost 300 times more. and here you are talking about buying from another country. mahathir got so fedup when he realised the real value of water that he ask his guys to stop all negotiations and let all existing treaties run its course and not renew. thats the whole story of how newater came. otehr details too sensitive to talk,

if naji want dr mat to vomit blood, he will sell sg water at 3 sen for the next 50 years.

Devil Within

You really think the President's scholars, PSC scholars, Colombo Plan scholars, SAF scholars hadn't thought about the so-called thorium molten salt reactor?

No offense but you really think you're the first to suggest it when your Prime Ministar himself is a President's Scholar, his brother and sister too and his gabrament is staffed with lots of their ilk and hadn't thought of it??

They have already started Nuclear research initiative in NUS. They have targeted to have about 100 nuclear scientist for future nuclear plant in Singapore. I think they have plans to set up research into this TMSR as one of the executive in Flibe-energy company was an ex-SAF airforce guy. Most likely he would have made some connection to present to the gov already.

Interview with Benjamin Soon, Flibe Energy, at ThEC15 in Mumbai
[video=youtube;1uXQbeqiisw]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1uXQbeqiisw[/video]

enterprise2

it's like cutting off one's nose to spite your enemy. Costs is one thing but health is even more important. drinking newater is like drinking piss mixed with shit. you forgot one important aspect. they tried bottling it like mineral water and get NTUC to sell it (the most audacious and idiotic idea from some PUB moron) but no takers. millions of bottles were given out to school children to drink but it failed so miserably that overnight the botlling plant has to close. to save face they dump millions of gallons into reservoir every day and then said the project was a success. what a joke.

U can't drink pure NEWater as the micro filters can't filter everything. So they need to be put back into reservoirs for anything nasty to be diluted.

Yes........
U can't drink pure NEWater as the micro filters can't filter everything. So they need to be put back into reservoirs for anything nasty to be diluted.

enterprise2

U guys don't understand the dynamics of water. SAF doctrine (at least that was what I was told when I was serving) is if Bolehland were to cut off the water, it's a declaration of war.. If we didn't have any alternatives. To avoid putting ourselves in a vulnerable and one choice only scenario, NEWater was created. Now if Bolehland were to cut the water, it may not result in war ...but Najib and his cronies knows he lost any bargaining advantage in the equation.

Devil Within

U guys don't understand the dynamics of water. SAF doctrine (at least that was what I was told when I was serving) is if Bolehland were to cut off the water, it's a declaration of war.. If we didn't have any alternatives. To avoid putting ourselves in a vulnerable and one choice only scenario, NEWater was created. Now if Bolehland were to cut the water, it may not result in war ...but Najib and his cronies knows he lost any bargaining advantage in the equation.

Yes, it was a political move.

They have already started Nuclear research initiative in NUS. They have targeted to have about 100 nuclear scientist for future nuclear plant in Singapore. I think they have plans to set up research into this TMSR as one of the executive in Flibe-energy company was an ex-SAF airforce guy. Most likely he would have made some connection to present to the gov already.

Interview with Benjamin Soon, Flibe Energy, at ThEC15 in Mumbai
[video=youtube;1uXQbeqiisw]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1uXQbeqiisw[/video]

not SG, it's in iskandar

actually it was anwar that threaten to do so and Dr M was in Japan and he has to rush back to stable the situation

Devil Within

not SG, it's in iskandar

What talking you? You think everything must be in Iskandar meh? Fuck Malaysia!

Benjamin Soon is the Chief Business Development Officer in Flibe-energy founded by Kirk F. Sorensen from NASA. Benjamin Soon is a Singaporean. The interview video was from Mumbai lah! They had the Thorium energy forum in India in 2015.

dont b silly, it's iskandar. the cable tunnel already set towards 2nd causeway

the thing is we shouldnt be relying on newater and water distillation for normal peacetime everyday use,sure during wartime our water supply may be cut off but our water consumption levels will also go down and water is rationed,our water usuage will be greatly reduced,for example,people will not be washing their cars or floors during wartime,flushing will be non existent,showers will be eliminated,people will bathe prison style from a bucket and a pail.our reservoirs is sufficient to provide up to 10 percent of our daily water usage of about 30 million gallons.water distillation is sufficient to supply another 10 percent or 30 million gallons a day.newater can also provide up to 30 percent of our water needs.but since newater is a function of our sewage and waste water,i suppose that will go down as well since we waste less water during wartime.so most likely we have to expand on our distillation capacity.but the point is during peacetime we should be utilizing as much water as possible from the cheap imported sources,not relying on these expensive economically ineffective methods of water production and burdening the peasants.

Places like California have been in drought for years. They are now wishing they had built desalination or NeWater plants years ago.

Johor is having drought too. El Nino effect getting more severe in recent years due to climate change. Best to have our own backup plan. If we don't do desalination or NeWater, do you have any other solid ideas for us to diversify our water supplies?

anything high tech or complicated in Singapore will be a pipe dream,it will cost 5 times as much as world average estimates to build like the MCE expressway,there will be massive cost overruns,the budget will be busted by 300 percent.every crony will want a taste of the pie,since due to sinkies and PAP stupidity and lack of know how,we have to hire a whole bunch of overpriced industry experts and outside help to help construct the project,there will be many delays and arguments between the experts and PAP on how to go about constructing the project,when its finally done,costing over 10 billion of taxpayers dollars, PAP will hail it as a miracle,the most expensive miracle of all.the electricity produced will be way too expensive and untenable and tariffs have to be raised to 33 cents/kwh for the next 10 years to recoup costs.