• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat little red dot made it again to yet another WORLD #!

Wi_dows

http://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore-news/singapores-biggest-light-polluter-world

np_20160619_crlight_1298719.jpg

SO BRIGHT: A satellite picture of Singapore (above) taken on March 17.

PHOTOS: ARIFFIN JAMAR, COMPLUTENSE UNIVERSITY OF MADRID
Singapore's the biggest light polluter in the world

S'pore has the most light pollution in the world - so where are our brightest and darkest places?
Jun 19, 2016 6:00am
By CATHERINE ROBERT

Children in Singapore will probably never get to experience the beauty of the Milky Way, thanks to a little-known environmental disturbance - light pollution.

Singapore was named the country with the worst level of light pollution in the world - with a pollution level of 100 per cent - in a recently published Science Advances study.

The study, The New World Atlas of Artificial Night Sky Brightness, said that Singapore's use of artificial light exceeds the level of light pollution tolerable per capita.

"The possibility of seeing the Milky Way from home is precluded to all of Singapore," the study said.

The study's authors, who are from the Light Pollution Science and Technology Institute in northern Italy, based the extent of light pollution primarily on how brightly lit the streets of a country are and the percentage of population exposed to the artificial brightness.

Brightest place should be bukom island. The place looks like daytime or the night F1 at night.
On mainland not sure maybe orchard road?
Darkest place I dunno....who knows pls share I want bring date there

thugnology

yah lah!

Becos the MIW Govt is NIGHT-BLINDED + ACUTE MYOPIC + 吃屎湖眼, they badly needs the most lightings or else they will miss their steps and fall into Jamban, broke their arms.

20160210_ho-ching_st.jpg

babuSingh

The only thing visible from the night sky is the moon and international space station which most sinkies will recognise it as another see tar

kkbutterfly

have you all noticed of late.our whole island is covered with newly built cover walkways.
And this stupid walkway has one light tube per every meter .do we need to have such bright coverwalkway wasting so much electricity?

have you all noticed of late.our whole island is covered with newly built cover walkways.
And this stupid walkway has one light tube per every meter .do we need to have such bright coverwalkway wasting so much electricity?

it is to allow bangla to clearly see ugly sinkie char bor's face and not morest them.

kryonlight

Covered walkways are still okay. But our roads and expressways are way over-lit. The number of lamp posts in sinkieland is staggering, and we are not even considering the light tubes inside the underground expressways.

Singapore brightest lit in the world like a maximum security state penitentiary and we cannot determine if a limping terrorist is inside or outside of its borders.

Brightest place should be bukom island. The place looks like daytime or the night F1 at night.
On mainland not sure maybe orchard road?
Darkest place I dunno....who knows pls share I want bring date there

Darket place is WhoreJinx's cheebye. Here in lies a black hole the likes of which STephen Hawkings has not imagined.

Covered walkways are still okay. But our roads and expressways are way over-lit. The number of lamp posts in sinkieland is staggering, and we are not even considering the light tubes inside the underground expressways.

sinkie expressways are too brightly lit for night driving. it's actually detrimental to the driver. one can tell the big difference between driving on the johor side and crossing into tuas. on the johor side, expressways provide passive reflectors on the ground and make use of reflected light from vehicles' headlamps for lane guidance and road signs (great for vision due to contrast). the moment an sg-bound driver drives into tuas sinkie floodlights cum on and whole portions of asphalt are lit up momentarily blinding the driver until heshe readjust his vision. and then lanes becum non-distinguishable. no wonder sinkies drivers have poor lane discipline.

singoes are a city folk,born and raised in a concrete jungle,we are used to the harsh glow of flourescents and 1000k lumens led lights lighting up the bridges and void decks of our hdb flats,the unwavering columns of streetlamps and highway lamposts of alternating brightness and darkness gives us a sense of comfort that we are near civilisation.sinkies will not go anywhere near places of darkness.even a single flickering flourescent tube or burnt out light bulb spells danger to our tingling sinkie senses of hantus and orang minyak.unlike our malaysian cousins,we are not used to running thru the jungles like packs of jungle monkeys,with only the pale moonlight to guide them and their glistening heightened baboon senses.

that's because crassloot leeders need to set up their $2 companies and get hdb contracts to earn money. more walkways more contracts, more money. this kind of hdb upgrades is big business for pap porlumpars. look at what murali said at the bb elections.

"Mr Murali Pillai, the People's Action Party (PAP) candidate for the Bukit Batok by-election, yesterday unveiled $1.9 million worth of infrastructure plans for a neighbourhood in the single-member constituency if he were to be elected on May 7.

The plans - which include covered walkways, ramps, a jogging track and a three-generational park - come under the Neighbourhood Renewal Programme for the precinct at Blocks 140 to 149, Bukit Batok West Avenue 4, where some 640 of the ward's 12,000 families live."

PAP have determined that the new generation of sinkies are too delicate. a little rain will melt them, Hence the need for the covered walkways.