• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Older workers suffer the most.

Cosmos10

sad it is! my elder brother working for an american MNC was given the pink slip last month. he is 47 this year. and yet he is a pap supporter.

pap has not kept its promises, they are declining depsite given obscene salary, michael and david are good indicators that pap is no more the pap under lky.

Hi bro, you can encourage your brother to attend the upcoming SDP's BB by-election rallies. Coming soon at Bukit Batok from 28 April to 5 May. (More details will be provided soon). It does not matter that he is a PAP supporter now. He can attend the rallies even if he is not staying in Bukit Batok. He may hear and learn something new during the rallies that will help him understand the importance of having good opposition representation in our SG Parliament. The next GE is not too far way, given the way time flies! :smile:

It could have happened to me. But then I set up my own business, and I also set up other income sources such as rental and dividends. If business flops, I also won't go bankrupt. Still got my other income sources. If more sinkies did this, they wouldn't have to end up driving taxis or serving as my security guard.

talk is cheap. show us the evidence!

kukubirdie59

lifeafter41

Hi bro, you can encourage your brother to attend the upcoming SDP's BB by-election rallies. Coming soon at Bukit Batok from 28 April to 5 May. (More details will be provided soon). It does not matter that he is a PAP supporter now. He can attend the rallies even if he is not staying in Bukit Batok. He may hear and learn something new during the rallies that will help him understand the importance of having good opposition representation in our SG Parliament. The next GE is not too far way, given the way time flies! :smile:

Was just having lunch with 3 of my previous company ex colleagues.... Most in their mid 50s, two of them now driving taxi and one of the a property agent.....

One was previously a GM in Thailand when the company had a manufacturing there.....came back here, no job for him, drive taxi. The other was a Operation head, now property agent for the last 5 years.

The last chap a Tooling engineer, now also driving taxi......

I guess it's just a matter of time.......

Was just having lunch with 3 of my previous company ex colleagues.... Most in their mid 50s, two of them now driving taxi and one of the a property agent.....

One was previously a GM in Thailand when the company had a manufacturing there.....came back here, no job for him, drive taxi. The other was a Operation head, now property agent for the last 5 years.

Have we ever given a thought on this , driving taxis thing, not that it is wrong in effect, it is another way of earning an income...but, they are only hirer, that is for a starter....have you ever wondered...if every one is a taxi driver here, ( Stinkperpore is a small place)....every, Thomas, Donald & Harold don't have a job & they become taxi drivers.....Who will be the passengers?

lifeafter41

Have we ever given a thought on this , driving taxis thing, not that it is wrong in effect, it is another way of earning an income...but, they are only hirer, that is for a starter....have you ever wondered...if every one is a taxi driver here, ( Stinkperpore is a small place)....every, Thomas, Donald & Harold don't have a job & they become taxi drivers.....Who will be the passengers?

It reminds me of a similar situation in Macau too

yahoo55

Tooling engineer: "Tolong, please give me my Tooling job back!" :o:biggrin:

If he was selling screws like our moderator instead of being a tooling engineer, he'd be living the high life in Thailand instead of driving a taxi in Sinkieland.

My sources tell me that the screw king works very hard ok................ whereas there are many sinkie taxi drivers who are so free that they spend most of their time gossiping in coffee shops or internet forums. :biggrin:

Tooling engineer: "Tolong, please give me my Tooling job back!" :o:biggrin:

If the Tooling Engineer was a FT...can go back home & attend to the chickens, ducks, goats & buffalo & pigs etc....& still have an income, wait for the next "sunshine" in Singapore....will get employed here first..but Stinkeprorenas will have to " tolong, tolong"...give me a job!! I recall in the past, we do not have a lot of people who specialises in certain skills,way, way , way back I knew a couple of Injection Mould Specialists from Hong Kong that we do not have here & a Japanese Precision Glass polisher, ( psst not the apple polishers, we have here) for examples....that was why, we needed such people...who are non-core. But the MIW....let in all the 'dogs'....that killed off the 'core' , Killed all PMET across all industries...:p

That is why...the tooling engineer...have to beg "tolong, tolong"....but whom did the engineer voted for? Time to "REPENT"..:rolleyes:

It reminds me of a similar situation in Macau too

In Macau, the foreigner is taken by a taxi driven by a local to the casino where he has his cards served and wallets emptied by a local and then later to a sauna where he has his body serviced and balls emptied by a foreigner. Maybe one day SG will be like this too. :biggrin:

yahoo55

In the recent past, Sinkieland was the land of property agents. Now, Sinkieland is the land of taxi drivers and insurance agents .....

Sinkieland is the land of taxi drivers, insurance agents, financial advisors, credit card promoters and charity salespeople. :biggrin:

Every time I come of a MRT Station I bump into many of those Charity Salesperson, Charity is big business....what to do!...our government are financial advisors, insurance agents, Card promoters & charity salespeople also....their business is big time...can you match?...ha ha ha ha

Hi Kraft, I am sorry to hear that. Maybe he can join you in oz too.
Hope that he has good savings to tide him over during unemployment.

I know how it feels, our company recently had an R excercise this month.
Morale is low.....the younger engineers are leaving......

Got a feeling this is not the end of the R exercise........
But......life has to go on....

Many people are aware of this unofficial retirement age in Spore. When you hit your 40's you better get ready to be replaced by someone younger & cheaper.

Frankly papigs knew this and related problems, They just turned blind eye in blind pursuit of increasing GDP via population size by bringing in shiploads of f trashes at complete expense of sgian - you die your biz, as WP oso cannot help you BUT we need to help ourselves as we need to be paid millions in salaries and perks till hell freezes over.
Remember Jobs Bank?? Took so long to implement and promises a cure BUT never did as it is nothing more than an oasis in the Sahara desert. A big bullshit giving sgian painful false hopes as their e2i and WDA which is there not to help sgian but to put them on wild goose chase as it is now known that in 2015 there were only 100 jobs available and most of them gone to PRs or f trashes brought in PAP to screw sgian,
PAP was aware of hollowing out singaporean cores across the economy but chose not to do anything about it. If they were truly not aware of the core erosion, are they fit to govern?? Why are there a lot more f trashes in finance and banking industries than there are sgian? Who allowed this trend to go north to Mumbai?
DisGraceFu summed up recent debate regarding measures to be taken by govt to turn the curve around but added that sgian must to their part to make it happen... what fucking statement is that?? Heads you win, tails we lose??? PAP fucked it up & PAP shall fix them esp when they are paid so much to do all the right things and papigs have access to all the buttons and levers of powers. Dun ever make such stupid statement like that...... it is plain dis graceful & to govern like that any fool can do, even Harban Singh - bless his bayee soul

my this elder bro. is a very hardworking and smart guy. he studied in catholic high and hwa chong all the way until NTU, graduated with EEE, was a senior project manager in his last position. he emphasize on upgrading thru studying for ACCA while working, had many valuable certs but yet was given the boot. EQ wise, he is a quiet guy, not much socializing, he and me are the opposite. he can be a MP if he wants to, no vices, no smoke, no drink, no gamble.

i feel sad for him although we seldom talk. PAP is the ultimate culprit, lim swee say and his gang ought to be executed by firing squad. useless bum only know how to talk cock sing song.:oIo:

yahoo55

my this elder bro. is a very hardworking and smart guy. he studied in catholic high and hwa chong all the way until NTU, graduated with EEE, was a senior project manager in his last position. he emphasize on upgrading thru studying for ACCA while working, had many valuable certs but yet was given the boot. EQ wise, he is a quiet guy, not much socializing, he and me are the opposite. he can be a MP if he wants to, no vices, no smoke, no drink, no gamble.

i feel sad for him although we seldom talk. PAP is the ultimate culprit, lim swee say and his gang ought to be executed by firing squad. useless bum only know how to talk cock sing song.:oIo:

So after getting retrenched and all that, will your elder bro still support and vote for PAP?

You had 3 ex-colleagues. Most are in their mid-50s....why not just say 'two'?

The one who is driving a taxi is a loser. The one who is a property agent has a chance to make it big if he can talk well. If he is lamenting about his previous fixed pay PMET job, then he probably isn't doing well in his sales either. He could switch lines to try his hand at security work.

That sound like a colleague I used to work with, for many years. He has a bagful of Certificates aka Upgrading, he was a believer in that, way before the shitty Skills Future today...what did those bagful of ? do for him....he gets plenty of rejection after he was retrenched from a managerial position in a Financial Institution....last heard, working as a door to door salesman...

He was not the only one I know on the 'wagon trail' of upgrading in qualifications , accreditation etc....whatever...I know many, whose doors get slammed in their faces..for (1) They are Singaporeans (2) Too qualified (3) We "prefer females", (4) "you are too old"...

Like your brother...many of these I know have few vices...... what's the use of all these upgrading etc..when, doors get slammed in your faces?? the excuses is "for we can get plenty of Foreigners out there" just one of the excuses ....can one not get Xenophobic over this...when your belly is hungry!:mad:

on the contrary, i see sinkie uncles everyday having a good time taking pics of their meals at kopitiams in hdb estates.

image.jpg

i will continue to provide irrefutable photographic proof of how older sinkies enjoy their lives in sg. i will walk the ground and give you a first-hand reporting experience. :biggrin: