• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Preparing for the economic downturn

Dear Mr. Tan
An economic downturn looks quite likely, especially in Singapore. We are affected by a weak global economy and weakness in China, but we also have our domestic factors to make the problem worse, especially in the property and new car sales.

What should ordinary people do to cope with the likely recession and increase in unemployment?

From an individual perspective, it is time to reduce spending and to increase savings. If you lose your job, you have some savings to tide over the difficult time.

From a social perspective, this "increase saving" will cause further problems to a weak economy. If too many people cut down on their spending, the economic will weaken further. The businesses that depend on consumer spending will be badly affected. Many will have to close down. This will cause a spiral effect.

A government can help to cushion off the impact by reducing interest rate to help the businesses to survive. The low interest rate may encourage the ordinary people to increase their spending, but this is not likely to happen due to the uncertainty in the economy.

Interest rate is very low in Singapore now. A further reduction in interest rate will not help to reduce the business cost.

I guess that it will be more difficult to manage the economic downturn in Singapore. It might help if the government decides to give a monthly cash allowance to workers who are retrenched during the downturn. It is an unemployment benefit, but it should be considered for the short term.

http://tankinlian.blogspot.sg/2015/11/preparing-for-economic-downturn.html

lifeafter41

Dear Mr. Tan
An economic downturn looks quite likely, especially in Singapore. We are affected by a weak global economy and weakness in China, but we also have our domestic factors to make the problem worse, especially in the property and new car sales.

What should ordinary people do to cope with the likely recession and increase in unemployment?

From an individual perspective, it is time to reduce spending and to increase savings. If you lose your job, you have some savings to tide over the difficult time.

From a social perspective, this "increase saving" will cause further problems to a weak economy. If too many people cut down on their spending, the economic will weaken further. The businesses that depend on consumer spending will be badly affected. Many will have to close down. This will cause a spiral effect.

A government can help to cushion off the impact by reducing interest rate to help the businesses to survive. The low interest rate may encourage the ordinary people to increase their spending, but this is not likely to happen due to the uncertainty in the economy.

Interest rate is very low in Singapore now. A further reduction in interest rate will not help to reduce the business cost.

I guess that it will be more difficult to manage the economic downturn in Singapore. It might help if the government decides to give a monthly cash allowance to workers who are retrenched during the downturn. It is an unemployment benefit, but it should be considered for the short term.

http://tankinlian.blogspot.sg/2015/11/preparing-for-economic-downturn.html

I believe what he meant was when one is employed, its better to save for a rainy day......
If you lose your job, it will be too late to reduce spending and increase saving..... as there will be none, only drawdown.

Unemployment benefits is taboo in Singapore, the very mention of it will make grave turn......

i hope seven year economic downturn,that should flush out as many rats in the system as possible.china and europe economic collapse,singapore will long zhong altogether huat ah!!

If everybody is saving, who is spending? The best cure for an economic downturn is optimism! Stay positive. :smile:

spending is a fool's game,spending only leads to more debt,and once u accumulated a monsterous amount of debt,ur economy resumes its stale course and decline like japan.

I do most of my spending outside of Spore.
Why should I pay more $ for the high rentals in Spore. No sympathy for many of the business owners who are probably among the 70%.

yahoo55

Well, the positive thing when nobody is spending is things like cars and property could become cheaper. How's that for optimism :smile:

looks like many things in singapore is falling,the casino industry is falling thanks to lesser number of high rollers from a weakening china,the tourism industry has been falling for the last 4 years,singapore too boring and overcrowded i guess,shipping and container having a hard time,keppel facing economic woes thanks to collapsed oil prices,major banks declaring downsizing and job losses,consumers cannot stop spending otherwise economy will weaken even further,looks like importing rich people and billionaires doesnt help us,one thing goes wrong and everything starts going wrong,anything that can go wrong will go wrong eventually like murphy's law.looks like LHL's cannot escape the grave he dug for himself anylonger.i will be laughing if singapore goes on a 10 year economic malaise like Japan.

yahoo55

I do most of my spending outside of Spore.
Why should I pay more $ for the high rentals in Spore. No sympathy for many of the business owners who are probably among the 70%.

The company I work for has already setup subsidiary companies in Thailand and Malaysia since last year, and hired some local staff. We are gradually moving to where our main customers and markets are, it's more productive and cheaper. Singapore is an expensive place.

Bro. Now start saving got use meh? During good times people just keep spending and borrowing. Now save for few months help meh?

i wonder those who are staying in HDB and driving merz or BMW, how they survive?