• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Head of Ren Ci Hospital arrested

You may like to consider doing what i do.

Every month i set aside a sum of money. When I see needy people, I am likely give to them.

Of course, it is not tax deductible. But it is worth it because the money goes 100% to the needy.
Interesting method. I agree with it, rather than giving to charities or organizations and don't even know who gets the money or what happens to the money.
But may I ask how you ascertain whether someone is needy, how much do you give to each person and do you give only to locals or foreigners as well?

kakowi

Interesting method. I agree with it, rather than giving to charities or organizations and don't even know who gets the money or what happens to the money.
But may I ask how you ascertain whether someone is needy, how much do you give to each person and do you give only to locals or foreigners as well?

The only formula i have is that everyone has the capacity to discern the real from the false. Even if you are cheated by a good pretender, at least you will not be continually cheated.

To me, it does not matter if it is local or foreigner, only if the need is there. Sometimes some people you know of cannot pay their medical bills, or you know of certain circumstances in their life. In those circumstances you see the need not the race.

As to how much you should give, it all depends on your living standards. You need to take care of yourself, family and parents first. Give what you can afford.

I came to this because i no longer trust charity or religious organizations.

But this is my way.

You should come up with something you are comfortable with and are proud of doing.

44mm

Donate in foods is better than cash. For me i just do this way becos i feel aleast they get to eat and drink it. Rather you dun know where the $$$ goes to...

Microsoft

Ren Ci head Venerable Ming Yi charged with 10 counts

By Elena Chong

THE long-time head of Ren Ci Hospital was charged in court on Tuesday with 10 counts, including forgery, misappropriation of funds and conspiracy to give false information to the Commissioner of Charities.

Goh Kah Heng alias Shi Ming Yi, 46, was charged, along with his personal assistant Raymond Yeung Chi Hang, 33, who faces two counts, and Phua Seow Hwa, 47, who faces one charge.

Phua is a manager of Ren Ci Hospital and Medicare Centre's technical resource centre.

A fourth man, Pang Leong Chuan, 27, was charged with having obscene videos and films without valid certificates at Cornwall Gardens, where the monastery staff live, and his Tampines home in February.

Last November, the Health Ministry appointed accountancy firm Ernst & Young to conduct a three-month inquiry into 'some possible irregularities in certain financial transactions' at Ren Ci.

As a result of the probe, Ren Ci lost the right to grant its supporters tax exemption for donations.

Goh, the abbot of Fu Hai Ch'an Monastery and several temples in Malaysia and Hongkong, has since stepped down from all his positions.

He allegedly committed forgery by asking a staff to add false information into a Ren Ci management committee meeting minute in 2001.

Four charges under the Charities Act state that he gave misleading or false information to the Commissioner of Charities between 1998 and last year.

He is also accused of misappropriating $350,000 of Ren Ci's funds in 2004 and last year.

He allegedly conspired with Yeung to falsify a paper belonging to Ren Ci by stating that a $50,000 loan was made by Ren Ci to Mandala Buddhist Cultural Centre in 2004.

The two are said to have schemed to provide false information to the Commissioner over the delivery of two statues worth $16,000 to Mandala early this year.

Goh allegedly conspired with Phua to provide false information to the Commissioner, stating in a letter signed by one Patrick Tay that $300,000 out of a $600,000 purported donation to the hospital was a friendly loan to Goh.

All four have lawyers to represent them. Goh is out on $200,000 bail while Yeung is released on $80,000 bail.

All the cases have been fixed for pre-trial hearings.

HUH?? Wat tat "obscene videos and films without valid certificates at Cornwall Gardens where the monastery staff live" thing...:eek::confused::biggrin:

t123

wow monk also lidat. so how? i guess the temptation of $ was too great for him as well

maybe he at night also private room at TianAnMen leh, practising karmasutra. This fucker no need to fine him or jail term. Make him eat meat.

Shi Jin

maybe he at night also private room at TianAnMen leh, practising karmasutra. This **** no need to fine him or jail term. Make him eat meat.

Aiyoh who is to say he has not been doing so? :biggrin: But let's not get carried away it's the staff and it did not say that the staff were all monks right? So let's just wait for more details. :smile:

Big Sexy

if weige cannot work then try using Power 1 Walnut.. sure song song until go heaven..:biggrin::biggrin:

2008-56.jpg

say until lidat, haizzzz my doctor say even viagra also can not help me liao:eek: keke:biggrin:

Well, as far as donations go, once the money is out of my hand, it doesn't belong to me anymore, and so I'm not going to care about how it's used. If one is so concerned, one ought to have checked out the organisation or simply not donate.

Microsoft

say until lidat, haizzzz my doctor say even viagra also can not help me liao:eek: keke:biggrin:

U can consider silicon implant... but warn u 1st... permanent hard 1 u noe...:p

when i read the story i also think this VERY interesting.

supposed to be monks, right?

:mad:

Article say monk close fiend found with the porn clip... sori 4 the typo it friend :biggrin:

U r rite shouldn't monk close friend be pretty pure too?? :confused::biggrin:

Hope they dun arm kang the donation n go kio kway...:mad: Lots of donor ain't rich....:(

Suxer

Like that how to trust those charity organisation? 1st NKF now even monk oso do it. Guess TCS will have a hard time doing the charity show again.

Microsoft

Like that how to trust those charity organisation? 1st NKF now even monk oso do it. Guess TCS will have a hard time doing the charity show again.

Agree... and at the end of day... those who need aid suffer the most....:(:(

Boss_555

10 Charges against Ming Yi
# Defrauding the charity
# Helping to falsify accounts
# Forgery
# Giving false information
# Sum involved: $300,000
By Chong Chee Kin
FLAMBOYANT MONK: Ming Yi leaving court yesterday after being charged. Two other men were named as his co-conspirators and charged yesterday too. -- ST PHOTO: AZIZ HUSSIN
BUDDHIST monk Ming Yi, the flamboyant chief of the Ren Ci Hospital and Medicare Centre, was accused yesterday of several offences concerning its financial affairs.

The 46-year-old, whose real name is Goh Kah Heng, was charged with defrauding the charity, forgery and helping to falsify its accounts, all offences under the Penal Code.

He was also accused of forging documents to cheat auditors and giving false information to the Commissioner of Charities, both before and after a probe was initiated last November by the Ministry of Health (MOH), which is in charge of medical charities. These are breaches of the Charities Act and Penal Code.

The sums involved totalled about $300,000. Ming Yi faces up to a year's jail for providing false information to the Commissioner, and up to seven years' jail for forgery.

Accompanied by a few friends and a team of three lawyers headed by Senior Counsel Andre Yeap, the saffron-robed monk had the 10 charges read to him in English in a district court.

Ren Ci is the second large charity involved in court proceedings following the National Kidney Foundation (NKF) scandal that ended with its former chief T.T. Durai going to jail.

Like the NKF, Ren Ci ran big annual fund-raising shows which reaped millions of dollars in donations, and the highlight every year was a stunt performed by Ming Yi.

In the wake of the probe, Ren Ci, which runs a hospital for the chronically ill, lost its right to promise its donors tax exemptions.

Yesterday, a solemn Ming Yi found himself accused of fiddling with the charity's accounts by re-classifying personal loans he took from it.

He is said to have moved those loans to the Mandala Buddhist Cultural Centre, a business he had a share in, or categorised them as part of advances given to him to invest on behalf of Ren Ci.

He is also accused of trying to cover his tracks by showing investigators fake documents to back his claims.

He is said to have conspired with two others to produce the false documents to mislead the Commissioner of Charities.

Raymond Yeung Chi Hang, 33, Ming Yi's former personal executive, and David Phua Seow Hwa, 47, a manager at Ren Ci, were named as his co-conspirators and charged yesterday too.

Other charges relate to a $50,000 loan Ming Yi allegedly made to Yeung while he was Ren Ci's chief executive, and a $300,000 donation. Court documents accuse him of dishonestly misappropriating these sums.

The MOH said in a statement yesterday that the Commissioner of Charities had suspended Ming Yi from his office as the charity's chief executive officer and executive positions in five other charities including Foo Hai Ch'an Monastery where he was abbot.

But Ren Ci said Ming Yi had resigned voluntarily.

He was freed on bail of $200,000 and is due back in court on Aug 4.

Boss_555

A FOURTH man charged yesterday appeared to have nothing to do with the financial affairs of Ren Ci Hospital.

Pang Leong Chuan, 27, was charged with having 138 obscene and uncertified films.

He used to be the former personal assistant of monk Ming Yi, and was caught with most of the illegal films in an upscale apartment where the monk sometimes stayed.

Ming Yi is one of five listed owners of the apartment in The Cornwall, a condominium off Holland Road. Checks showed that the other owners included the Foo Hai Ch'an Monastery, where Ming Yi was the abbot.

Monastery staff were said to live in the fourth-floor unit, valued at about $2 million. Pang is believed to have lived there too.

Commercial Affairs Department officers confiscated 95 films at the apartment on Feb18, and another 43 from Pang's listed address in Tampines.

A resident said three men, including Ming Yi, lived there. Others said they had seen him returning at night in a car with two men.

Pang, a university student, was the monk's personal executive for more than a year.

No one was at his Tampines flat when The Straits Times checked yesterday. He is believed to have lived with his mother, though he was seldom home.

He faces six charges - four for possessing obscene films and two for having films uncertified for screening - and may be fined and jailed if found guilty.

He has engaged a lawyer.

Microsoft

On deeper tot... Ren Ci oso did provide aids to many no so well off folks...

Unfortunately, our society wasn't so forgiving... Do gd 4 ur entire life and all it take is a mistake to bring u down... A sad fact we had to accept...:(

So.... since the world is lidat... When will wong cant sing "retire"? :biggrin:

Maybe can consider teaming up with Yan can cook in showbiz? :p