• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Season Pass for ferry services to Batam @ only $180/month

..... pay a visit to any kueh lapi factory-houses (you order, they prepare in the morning, and you can bring home boxes of kueh lapi in the afternoon),

If you are health conscious watch out. The Kuah Lapis may be made using cheaper margarine instead of the more expensive but healthier butter. Margarine is a trans fat

Unrepented

Depends which part you go. Harbor bay area under one Chinese boss taking care of both black and white, one of the safe place.

If take cab, try to look out for those with sticker on back that states where they belong to, e.g. Harbor bay, batam center. etc. But still no guarantee. Got cases, people arrive at sekupang at night, take taxi, taxi driver drive them to ulu place and rob them.

There is an area btw harbor bay and Nagoya, the village of thieves and ex convicts.

After Baraelang, recently four kenna chop and rob when they were ridding bike at night, somewhere between the sixth bridge and third bridge. So don't go too far and return to city early.... If you go visit the Viet refugee camp.

Frankly, batam nothing interesting.... even the indon says so. Batam is a complicated place, even indon Chinese working in batam, still want their family to stay Tanjong Pinang. Tanjong pinang is a better place to visit, imo.

is JB safer than Batam?
any business class hotel in Batam?

business class hotel, i mean like Amara hotel standard (no need to be too posh) in Batam>

If you are health conscious watch out. The Kuah Lapis may be made using cheaper margarine instead of the more expensive but healthier butter. Margarine is a trans fat

yeah, they use margarine, although one ingredient stands out as wholesomely delicious - free running organic chicken all over batam laying brown eggs with golden or deep yellow yolk. the yolk is shiok. and free range chicken are everywhere, including brothels.

Unrepented

If you want safe and cheap, 9 days hotel opposite swiss hotel in harbor bay, even the police stay there. Walking distance to ferry terminal. opposite super OG supermarket. 2 minutes from the row of seafood res.

only the bed sheets are not very desirable....:biggrin: Owner from the indon island with the best durians in indo.

Thank you for the info.
I will look around. I had unpleasant experience in the cheap hotel. I saw the bedsheet and they are dirty and stains, not sure if it is sperm stain :(

my main concern is still safety and cleaniless of hotel.
otherwise I think batam is very shiok,
very cheap tzer char and cheap beers correct?

i like tzer char and cheap beers.
can have tzer char from 7pm and have beers till 12am .

Unrepented

suggest you buy one way sg batam. then go indon provision shops to buy batam fast tickets, at almost half price at about IDR125k for one way, cant remember the two way price though....:(

Cheep, cheep,... cheep.

The exchange rate is currently SIN$1=9,500 rupiah

For breakfast I had roti prata for $1.26, teh tarik for $1.05. For dinner I had ikan bakar( barbecued pomfret ), rice, ice lemon tea for under $9.00, had rice & a small pate of chap chye for $2.42. At the bakery I bought an ambon cake 18X19cm for only $8.63

Massage for 1 hour only costs $5.26. Hair cut for $2.63

Batam is cheaper than JB & is also less crowded.

Unrepented

Sorry bro, I cant recall the name, I usually don't remember the name of the places.:( I just tell my driver what I want to do, he bring me there....I became lazy:(

I think its jodoh, opposite the famous satay stall Jawa Asing at the illegal open air night casino.

Are you referring to the Jodoh area:confused:

Unrepented

Sound u out...in JKT...one posh hotel top floor got bar cum jiak ku z with many many grils in bikini....let you rest and relag, drink together, then choose and take away....my friend tell me one:o u want u go hunt...:biggrin:

In any job requiring interaction with customers, there are different degrees of professionalism involved. In Batam many of the girls are fresh from the kampongs & have no idea on how to behave compared to the girls from Jakarta which are more polished.

suggest you buy one way sg batam. then go indon provision shops to buy batam fast tickets, at almost half price at about IDR125k for one way, cant remember the two way price though....:(

In the old days I would buy those discounted vouchers until they were discontinued. It was way back before Harbourfront was renovated & extended into an expensive mall.

Haven't visited a provision store for a long time will go see go see what they are offering. While I was at Nagoya Hill I saw some kind of promo at the Wavemaster office. However Wavemaster now does not offer ferries services to Harbour Bay. They only go to Batam Centre. I think there was some dispute between the bosses of Wavemaster & Harbour Bay

All these cheaper prices are only available at the Indo side. The PAP are only interested in pushing costs up in Spore.:(

Sound u out...in JKT...one posh hotel top floor got bar cum jiak ku z with many many grils in bikini....let you rest and relag, drink together, then choose and take away....my friend tell me one:o u want u go hunt...:biggrin:

Not many people know that Jakarta has a very active scene:smile: Even during lunch time you will see how busy the massage places :biggrin:
Some of these "massage" places are very luxurious with personnel from Russia, China,... The only limitation is that you need $$$.

Another problem with Jakarta is that you have to know where some of these places are. I have read the book "Jarkarta Undercover" by Moammar Emka, unfortunately the author has to hide the info about where these places are, otherwise they would be closed down:smile:

Unfortunately I'm now older & more interested in looking for a retirement home in LOS:o.

ai yah! c'mon lah! sinkies so rich, like that also want to save a few bucks?

Everyone wants a bargain. Even LKY wanted to save some $ when he bought Nassim Jade.:wink:

For years I have used the same hotel because the owner gave me a special discount. It's not much but I have also gotten to know many of the hotel staff so I am more comfortable staying at the same hotel.

If you add up all those little savings you will find that it adds up. Don't forget that as Sporeans we are already paying $10 more than Indonesians for the ferry services. Whatever $ you save can be better used on food & entertainment

Everyone wants a bargain. Even LKY wanted to save some $ when he bought Nassim Jade.:wink:

For years I have used the same hotel because the owner gave me a special discount. It's not much but I have also gotten to know many of the hotel staff so I am more comfortable staying at the same hotel.

If you add up all those little savings you will find that it adds up. Don't forget that as Sporeans we are already paying $10 more than Indonesians for the ferry services. Whatever $ you save can be better used on food & entertainment

sinkies are conditioned to be nickel and dime conscious. penny wise pound foolish. i typically tip the mee pok server at the jalan tua kong kopitiam an extra dollar, but he is so paiseh he asks cook to give me two extra prawns. i told him balls will do. in that regard, it's a good and gracious attribute.

Don't spoil our market lah ...we sinkees don't tip lah. Already, noodles so expensive ...then they want tip ...how, how?????

japs already spoiled the market. for every shot raw, they would tip twice the asking rate. luckily cunt tao's in batam not influenced by jap big tippers. otherwise, you have to fake a jap accent to get laid.

Batam, we don't care lah. Sinkapore ...cannot tip, okay. Don't spoil our market. This is not America, we are a poor first world country.

in sg outside of food courts, kopitiams and hawker centers, you are stiffed with a 10% "service" charge. already. too late.

SgGoneWrong

I agree. Even in Australia I rather hang out with chinks. Sinkies are so fucking stingy that go out and eat every cent also counts. Can get change from others but don't expect them to even pay 10c more for you. Sinkies are rich but mostly penny pinchers. Chinks are rich and spending habits reflect that too.

Tipping is not about spoiling market but rewarding good service.
You said it many sinkies are poor folks making a living doing low income mundane jobs...give a bit to reward