• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sporns Cannot Even Afford Hawker Food!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Sizzle goes out of Western food stalls
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><TR>About 130 stalls have shut down as price-conscious diners switch to cheaper local fare </TR><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Jessica Lim
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
ST_IMAGES_11344937.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

Ms Tan Poh Shiang, 40, owner of The Grill in a Balestier Road coffee shop, now serves 70 plates daily - down from 120 plates six months ago. 'Customers compare prices with the rice stall next door,' she said. -- ST PHOTO: LIM WUI LIANG
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->THAT quirk of Singapore coffee shops, the Western food stall, is languishing.
About 130, or 10 per cent of such stalls here, have already shut down, squeezed out of business, said Mr Hong Poh Hin, vice-chairman of the Foochow Coffee Restaurant and Bar Merchants Association.
He estimated that 1,300 out of the estimated 2,000 coffee shops and hawker centres here have at least one Western food stall.
A Straits Times check with 25 stalls here illustrated the situation: Among those still open, business has fallen by up to half in the last six months; five of them have closed down in the last one year.
Mr Hong said the going is tough for Western food stalls because they are up against fast-food chains.
These stalls are probably also competing against one another, with chains like Botak Jones and Astons Express putting a squeeze on the stand-alone stalls.
A third source of pressure is cost: Within a coffee shop or hawker centre, a diner looking to save money will likely go for local fare, since a Western food meal invariably costs more.
A chicken chop, for example, costs about $5, and a tenderloin steak, up to $15; on the high end, a 300g piece of prime rib eye at the Botak Jones chain of heartland outlets can set one back by $51.50.
Other hawker centre fare - chicken rice, mee goreng or a meal of Malay style dishes with rice - seldom costs more than $3.50.
Even the bigger boys among Western food stalls are feeling the slump: Eight-outlet-strong Astons Express has seen business fall 15 per cent in the last six months. Botak Jones, which gets about 800 customers at each of its 11 outlets daily, has seen its business shrink similarly over the same period.
Botak Jones founder Bernie Utchenik said: 'We see much fewer new faces. When times are bad, people identify us as being more expensive because we sell steak. They stop coming even though many of our items are below $10.'
The picture is worse at the stand-alone stalls. Business has dipped 40 per cent in the last six months at Lucky Western Food in Crawford Lane. It now serves only about 60 plates daily.
At The Grill in a Balestier Road coffee shop, Ms Tan Poh Shiang, 40, serves 70 plates daily, down from 120 six months ago. She said: 'My regulars used to come three times a week. Now, it's twice at the most. Customers compare prices with the rice stall next door and go there instead.'
But even that neighbouring rice stall is making slightly less nowadays. Though charging an average of $2.50 a meal, business has still fallen by 20 per cent, said its owner. The drink stall, however, is still getting a steady flow of customers, said stall assistant Zhang Ser Leong, 60.
Western food stalls began popping up 20 years ago - many set up by former hotel or restaurant chefs - but really took off in the last five years, said Singapore Polytechnic retail-management lecturer Sarah Lim. Few such stalls are likely to enter the fray this year. Those looking to open a food stall will likely sell cheaper food, since consumers are spending less.
Housewife Daisy Tan, 50, said: 'When I see a Western food stall, I compare prices and feel it is painful to pay so much when I can get a meal more cheaply.'
Western food fan Tan Choon Kiang, 46, now gets his fix only once a week, down from thrice. The salesman, whose salary has come down by $500 to $1,500, said he can 'save quite a lot' by having rice with a selection of dishes instead.
But taxi driver Richard Sia is staying loyal to Lucky Western Food, which he visits twice a week for the pork chop. He said: 'I won't give it up so easily. I would rather buy fewer clothes instead.'
Such loyalty is 'encouraging', but 'insufficient to sustain a business', said Mr George Kua, the 52-year-old owner of a Western food stall in Ghim Moh who will close his business at year's end. He said: 'We are barely breaking even now and it is not even worth the effort any more.'
[email protected] Additional reporting by Alessa Pang

yalar ... western food r usu mor xpensif dan others ...

me seldom eat ...

moreover, usu eat oredi still feel hungry ... :eek:

funglung

HOW TO AFFORD ANYTHING AFTER BASTARD LKY SUCK AND STOLE 400-500++ BILLIONS FROM YOU INTO HIS TEMASICK AND GIC?

GO ALL OUT TO KICK ALL THOSE BASTARDS OUT

ALL OF THEM

DO NOT WAIT UNTIL ELECTION TIME
THE TIME TO ACT IS NOW!

TALK TO YOUR FRIENDS AND YOUR RELATIVES.

SUPPORT OPPOSITION PARTIES WITH YOUR TIME AND MONEY AND STAND BY THEM AND WITH THEM.

THEY SPEAK FOR YOU AND TRY TO SPEAK FOR YOU.

NOT LKY AND HIS BASTARDS IN WHITE WHO ONLY WANT YOUR MONEY AND TO FUCK YOU.

IF NOT FOR YOURSELF, THEN FOR THE FUTURE OF YOUR CHILDREN

THERE WILL NOT BE AN OBAMA AS PRESIDENT OF USA IF THE CIVIL RIGHTS MOVEMENT THERE WAS INTIMIDATED BY BEATINGS AND LYNCHINGS IN THE PAST.

THE TOBBLING OF LKY WILL NOT BE EASY, AND CAN BE BLOODY AS WELL.
THEY WILL NOT GIVE UP THE BILLIONS THAT THEY SUCKED FROM YOU AND CAN CONTINUE TO SCREW FROM YOU NOW AND IN FUTURE.

ONLY YOU HAVE THE POWER TO SAY 'NO MORE OF THAT' AND THROW EVERYONE OF THOSE BASTARDS OUT

Sinkies must organise themselves

Show that they got balls and can stand up to LKY intimidation.

Big money at stake.

Already 400++ billions got sucked and bled by LKY into his Temasick and GIC

EVEN IF NO ELECTIONS, SINKIES MUST SPEAK WITH ALL THEIR FRIENDS AND ALL THEY KNOW

STAND UP TO THAT BASTARD LKY AND PAP BLOODSUCKERS

STAND WITH ALL THOSE THAT FIGHT BASTARD LKY

OR STAND UP YOURSELF IN YOUR CONSTITUENCY

DONT BE BULLIED BY THAT FUCKING COWARD LKY USING HIS CORRUPT KANGAROO COURTS AND ALL THAT HE CAN, AND WILL THROW AT YOU

Sideswipe

Turn vegetarian lah.. cheaper..

vegetarian mixed rice cost the same as those mixed rice stalls

anyway, do you eat organic foods?

some vegetarians only eat organic vegetables and fruits and organic foods are more expensive than the normal stuffs.

funglung

should go temple and eat free mah.
No need spend a single cent.

:d :o :d

kick out that bastard stinking lee kuan yew and his cockroaches in white.

Get back all those billions he stole

sinkies can eat suckling pig and sharkfin soup everyday

lky can then rot in jail where he belong the last 40 years.

Hoi

wake up your idea

lee kuan yew lost and lost dunno how many billions in temasick and gic

even more billions he threw away to his dogs and cockroaches so they can take french cooking lessons

lky need more billions from sinkies who voted for him and from those who voided their votes

even if you vote against him, no difference.

Collective punishment as sinkies did not try hard enough to kick out that vampire bastard lky

so expect everything in singapore to go up and up

bastard lky need your $$$$$

funglung

Let all the hawkers and foodcourt die out then they wake up their idea !

WAKE UP YOUR IDEA

IT IS THE VOTING OF LKY AND HIS VULTURES IN WHITE INTO POWER THAT LEAD TO ALL THE HIGH PRICES

HAWKERS AND FOOD COURTS HAD TO PAY THOSE SKY HIGH PRICES THAT LKY DEMANDED OF THEM TO DO BUSINESS

LEE KUAN YEW LOST AND LOST DUNNO HOW MANY BILLIONS IN TEMASICK AND GIC

EVEN MORE BILLIONS HE THREW AWAY TO HIS DOGS AND COCKROACHES SO THEY CAN TAKE FRENCH COOKING LESSONS

LKY NEED MORE BILLIONS FROM SINKIES WHO VOTED FOR HIM AND FROM THOSE WHO VOIDED THEIR VOTES

EVEN IF YOU VOTE AGAINST HIM, NO DIFFERENCE.

COLLECTIVE PUNISHMENT AS SINKIES DID NOT TRY HARD ENOUGH TO KICK OUT THAT VAMPIRE BASTARD LKY

SO EXPECT EVERYTHING IN SINGAPORE TO GO UP AND UP

BASTARD LKY NEED YOUR $$$$$

HE SCREW YOU AND DEMAND THAT YOU THANK HIM FOR HIS FUCKING 'SUBISIDIESD BULLSHIT' AND 'AFFORDABLE' CON-TALK.

ALL OF THEM

THE TIME TO ACT IS NOW!

TALK TO YOUR FRIENDS AND YOUR RELATIVES.

SUPPORT OPPOSITION PARTIES WITH YOUR TIME AND MONEY AND STAND BY THEM AND WITH THEM.

THEY SPEAK FOR YOU AND TRY TO SPEAK FOR YOU.

NOT LKY AND HIS BASTARDS IN WHITE WHO ONLY WANT YOUR MONEY AND TO FUCK YOU.

IF NOT FOR YOURSELF, THEN FOR THE FUTURE OF YOUR CHILDREN

THERE WILL NOT BE AN OBAMA AS PRESIDENT OF USA IF THE CIVIL RIGHTS MOVEMENT THERE WAS INTIMIDATED BY BEATINGS AND LYNCHINGS IN THE PAST.

THE TOBBLING OF LKY WILL NOT BE EASY, AND CAN BE BLOODY AS WELL.
THEY WILL NOT GIVE UP THE BILLIONS THAT THEY SUCKED FROM YOU AND CAN CONTINUE TO SCREW FROM YOU NOW AND IN FUTURE.

ONLY YOU HAVE THE POWER TO SAY 'NO MORE OF THAT' AND THROW EVERYONE OF THOSE BASTARDS OUT

Big money at stake.

Already 400-500++ billions got sucked and bled by LKY into his Temasick and GIC.
HOW MANY OTHER BILLIONS GOT SUCKED AND USED BY THEM IN GLC WHERE THEIR FAMILY MEMBERS AND MINISTERS AND BASTARDS IN WHITE ARE CHAIRMAN AND CEOS?

EVEN IF NO ELECTIONS, SINKIES MUST SPEAK WITH ALL THEIR FRIENDS AND ALL THEY KNOW

OR STAND UP YOURSELF IN YOUR CONSTITUENCY

DONT BE BULLIED BY THAT FUCKING COWARD LKY USING HIS CORRUPT KANGAROO COURTS AND ALL THAT HE CAN, AND WILL THROW AT YOU

You will fear them only if you allow yourself to fear them.

Just because THEY want you to fear them, must you fear those fucking bastards?

THEY ONLY CAN RULE YOU , AND BLED YOU , THROUGH FEAR AND INTIMIDATION.

SINKIES,

FIND YOUR BALLS AND STAND UP TO THEM.
THEY WILL THEN FEAR YOU.

AND YOU REGAIN YOUR MONEY AND YOUR FUTURE AND YOUR CHILDREN FUTURE.

DO NOT LET OUR MONEY GO TO FUND PAP DOGS FRENCH COOKING LESSONS

DO NOT DIE IN OLD FOLK HOMES IN JB.

FIND YOUR BALLS AND STAND UP TO THEM

Like someone has said, Can't afford chicken eat fish lor. :biggrin:

You get free fish, by fishing...off the GREAT LONGKANGS...in every park corridors in SINgapore...

but fish is even more expensive than chicken...do you ever buy from the produce market??:p

Watchman

Singaporeans are forever cheapskate they will rather eat cheap food and have complications later and die early than spend more for quality food !

jacobsgoh

HOW TO AFFORD ANYTHING AFTER BASTARD LKY SUCK AND STOLE 400-500++ BILLIONS FROM YOU INTO HIS TEMASICK AND GIC?

ALL OF THEM

THE TIME TO ACT IS NOW!

[Be a true Leeaporean; stage protests but if you think dogs are coming, quickly pretend that you are not there.

zinuet

the problem is western food is not only more expensive but takes also longer time to prepare.

lets say lunch time, typically you have about 2 hours to capture the lunch time crowd. so those who can maximize the selling within these 2 hours will be able to make it. top of the list are the chap chye peng, everything is ready, just serve. next one the list are the noodles, you wait 2 to 3 mins for a bowl of noodles. the last are are the western food stalls, you wait 15 to 20 mins. wa lao eh, how to catch the lunch time crowd if you are so slow???

kaipoh

poor singkies! taking lunch also need to rush, why can't you call up the japanese chef to prepare a manual and wait for you?

SotongMee

Give thanks to the kind souls who sponsored and prepared such free meals.

Many lowly paid foreign workers are getting free meals at temple by the lorry loads daily.

Also see increase in the rich vegan towkays who parked their mercedes outside the temple for a nice free vegie meals these days.

May all those who benefited from the free lunches will get rich one day and
repay their kindness they have received by giving free meals to
those hungry and needy.

With compassion in giving like this, this country and this world then got hope.

Should go temple and eat free mah.
No need spend a single cent.

:biggrin: :o :biggrin: