• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Goh Choon Phong - The man who is destroying SIA

the entire singapore organistion and doctrine is based around making money,what misplaced passion are u talking about?PAP has only one passion.... how can i make more money and how do i make it fast?it doesnt matter how....HDB is a for profit organisation,LTA is a for profit organisation,NLB is a for profit organisation,NEA is a profit based organistion,NTUC is a for profit organisation,MOM is a profit oriented organisation....if PAP could make more money charging you for the air you breathe they would.....ffs even during the haze of 2013 they were charging their own citizens $10 for facemasks.

The short answer is misplaced passion.

The passion now is all about getting rich and retiring to a comfy position as an MP. I believe many of the scholars started out with plenty of idealism and passion to take on the world. But as the years roll by, it became obvious that the fewer mistakes you make and the less you try to change the status quo, the further you are likely to advance in your career. The whole scholarship system itself is an emphasis on not making mistakes, otherwise there will not be any need for a scholarship system.

We all know what happens to people who never try to challenge the status quo or make mistakes, they all end up living a life of mediocrity. That is the direction SG is heading.

he's a skolar ...

he has imperfections ..

sinkies haf 2 learn 2 b less demanding ...

Dark Knight

He is a book smart chap with certs from MIT but not street smart from social university.

Even the whole bunch of cronies from the board of directors are no better.
They stay put there not because they are good in the aviation/airline industry.

The one point I would pick is that SIA has always been run by the Board of Directors. The quality of the Board has deteriorated. Stephen is the other axis of the labour equation for the Government of Singapore. He has no time for this. This Taiwanese turned Singaporeans has banking interest in Taiwan. The rest of board are people that are not suitable for the Airline except provide feedback of service. What is Christina Ong, Lucien etc doing there.

Its a sad demise.

he's a skolar ...

he has imperfections ..

sinkies haf 2 learn 2 b less demanding ...

There are many scholars who didnt make it in the non-private sector. Even President scholars. Nothing surprising. Some retire as a director of a dept within a ministry. If CMI in government service, no chance can make it in private sector.

aurvandil

Jackson Tai of DBS fame is there too.

The one point I would pick is that SIA has always been run by the Board of Directors. The quality of the Board has deteriorated. Stephen is the other axis of the labour equation for the Government of Singapore. He has no time for this. This Taiwanese turned Singaporeans has banking interest in Taiwan. The rest of board are people that are not suitable for the Airline except provide feedback of service. What is Christina Ong, Lucien etc doing there.

Its a sad demise.

This fucktard joined SIA in 1990....
That means he already OJT for almost 25 years and they grooming him for quarter of a century and yet he CMI....dunno what to say.
That also dun mean his predecessors good....they were lucky then the business was less competitive.

Dark Knight

Unfortunately as tax payers we are "subsidizing all these GLCS:mad:

If we took out the Sillypore gahbrament from the "GLCs equation", we will be shock to realize that many posts were created unnecessarily.
These bunch of cronies are there because it's a GLC. All those posts were in fact redundant and they have been wasting tons of tax payers $$$.

Semaj2357

this listless chap wants to portray himself as a strong, silent type with an unassuming character.
what we have here is a dour looking fellow in need of persona with lots of eq that heading a leading airline requires.
with less than sterling results and an even lesser optimism in terms of sq's long term projections, what he brings to the table cannot beat an lovely, delectable piece of bak chang with 2 chestnuts and a slice of fatty pork within :p

... cannot beat an lovely, delectable piece of bak chang with 2 chestnuts and a slice of fatty pork within :p
wen reading reach dat part ...

tot was a luvly, delectable 2 bak changs wif 2 chestnuts ...

n realised it was different wen reached a slice of fatty pork ... :o

Semaj2357

wen reading reach dat part ...

tot was a luvly, delectable 2 bak changs wif 2 chestnuts ...

n realised it was different wen reached a slice of fatty pork ... :o

ok, for you can always replace the fatty pork with one lap-cheong then :cool:

SIA has always taken their CEO from ground up. They actually have a very good development programme. Scholars have no place in SIA. They all start from the same level and rotated frequently. The Airline industry is quite complex and low margin with high volatility.

I am also surprised that despite his years, he appears uncertain. He was actually elevated above more senior and seasoned peers. The market was surprised by his nomination to the role.

There was one attempt to parachute an SAF chief of Staff, scholar into the leadership team so that he can be included as a potential. Failed miserably. Eventually landed in Temasek. His Air Force background also did not help.

This fucktard joined SIA in 1990....
That means he already OJT for almost 25 years and they grooming him for quarter of a century and yet he CMI....dunno what to say.
That also dun mean his predecessors good....they were lucky then the business was less competitive.

Satyr

SIA has always taken their CEO from ground up. They actually have a very good development programme. Scholars have no place in SIA. They all start from the same level and rotated frequently. The Airline industry is quite complex and low margin with high volatility.

I am also surprised that despite his years, he appears uncertain. He was actually elevated above more senior and seasoned peers. The market was surprised by his nomination to the role.

There was one attempt to parachute an SAF chief of Staff, scholar into the leadership team so that he can be included as a potential. Failed miserably. Eventually landed in Temasek. His Air Force background also did not help.

So Temasek is the final resort of CMI scholars ?

aurvandil

Is it written somewhere in their terms of employment that those who "fail miserably" will be given alternative employment somewhere else in the PAP empire?

For ordinary Singaporeans, failing miserably usually means getting fired.

Thick Face Black Heart

Is it written somewhere in their terms of employment that those who "fail miserably" will be given alternative employment somewhere else in the PAP empire?

For ordinary Singaporeans, failing miserably usually means getting fired.

That is the difference between elite crony of PAP and ordinary sinkies.

That's why I say inequity is Singapore's major economic problem

Actually no. It's rare. Not sure about this guy. He had problems controlling his wife and was removed as Chief of. Defence and sent to DIS. I don't he is with Temasek now.

QUOTE=Satyr;1950488]So Temasek is the final resort of CMI scholars ?[/QUOTE]