• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore to Delay Infrastructure Work to Limit Influx of Foreigners

gatehousethetinkertailor

"Singapore is delaying the construction of roughly 2 billion Singapore dollars ($1.6 billion) of infrastructure projects to limit demand for migrant labor and assuage simmering anger over immigration.

The move is part of government efforts to slow Singapore’s intake of foreigners–particularly low-skilled workers widely employed in the construction sector–to a more “sustainable” level, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong told Parliament on Wednesday.

The government, we are a significant part of the construction business,” Mr. Lee said. “And we ask ourselves, which government projects need to be built, and which government projects can be deferred.”

Authorities will still go “full steam ahead” on key developments such as public housing and transportation links, “but there are other projects that can wait one or two years,” he said.

Projects to be delayed include new government offices, an extension to the Gardens by the Bay horticultural complex, and a new science center. This would reduce Singapore’s demand for construction workers by 20,000-30,000 people, Mr. Lee said.

Singapore, a tiny island city-state of 5.4 million people, has used liberal immigration policies to fuel economic growth and offset a low birthrate–its population has swelled by 34% since the turn of the millennium.

About 1.3 million foreigners work here, including nearly 1 million unskilled laborers who take up menial jobs usually shunned by citizens. Roughly 319,000 of them are construction workers.

Amid worries that an economic model premised on population growth isn’t sustainable, the government has curbed inflows of foreigners over the past three to four years, hoping to assuage voters disgruntled by stagnant low-end wages, rising living costs and strains on infrastructure–problems many citizens blame on high levels of immigration.

Social fissures have emerged between citizens and the large foreign work force. Thousands of people attended public protests against the government’s immigration policies in the past year, and anti-immigration sentiment flared after several hundred South Asian migrant workers rioted in December in Singapore’s worst outburst of public violence in more than 40 years.

Since the riot, the government has announced steps to curb the construction sector’s reliance on low-skilled migrant workers, such as imposing higher levies on their hiring.

Officials have also pledged steps to ensure that Singaporeans get a fair shot at professional positions, in response to complaints that they have been crowded out of certain sectors by foreigners."

http://blogs.wsj.com/searealtime/20...structure-work-to-limit-influx-of-foreigners/

In a similarly titled article but different press outlet:

"Singapore said Wednesday it would defer about S$2 billion worth of government infrastructure projects to slow the intake of migrant labourers amid public concern over immigration in the city-state.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong told parliament the move was part of measures to limit the inflow of foreign workers to "a level which is sustainable and which we can physically accommodate in Singapore in the long term".

Lee said the government would continue "full steam ahead" with building more public housing and improving transport infrastructure, but would hold off on less critical projects for one or two years.

The long-ruling People's Action Party has tightened migrant inflows since suffering its worst showing in a 2011 general election, in which the large foreigner presence was a big issue.

"The private sector, they make their decisions," Lee said.

But "the government, we are a significant part of the construction business, and we ask ourselves which government projects need to be built (and) which projects can be deferred," he said.

"We can spread out the demand for construction workers, and then you will be able to manage the total number of construction workers in Singapore."

Lee said among the projects to be deferred are an extension of the Gardens by the Bay botanical complex and a new science centre.

The deferred projects would reduce the number of foreign workers needed by about 20,000 to 30,000, he said.

Lee said the government would also monitor the inflow of foreign professional workers to ensure that Singaporeans get a fair chance at jobs in some fields.

Singapore's low birth rate prompted the government to grant an average of 18,500 new citizenships every year between 2008 to 2012 – helping the population surge by 30 per cent since 2004 to 5.4 million last year.

Out of a foreign population of 1.55 million, about 700,000 are mainly Asian work-permit holders employed in construction, marine industries and other sectors shunned by Singaporeans. Some 200,000 others work as domestic helpers.

Singaporeans have accused foreigners of competing with them for jobs, housing, schools, medical care and space on public transport.

Some have also complained that the rapid influx in previous years is eroding national identity."

http://features.insing.com/feature/singapore-defers-public-works-to-slow/id-f2433101/

Convenient to point to construction workers as the cause of angst amongst local whereas in reality it is those Singaporeans in PMET and service industry positions that have been displaced by the private sector "village resettlements" in Singapore approach.

unnamed2.jpg

kingrant

The govt is now going to teach Sinkies a lesson and get even with the population by choking off infrastructural projects, some of which are meant for Sinkies.

It will make more sense to cull the pop of 500,000 Indians who came here over the last decade. They are not your construction ah nehs, but middle class Indians working in IT projects such as the DBS data centre, Citibank, SBI, Stanchart, HSBC etc. If out of this 500,000, half are family nucleus, and each of them will likely have hired a foreign maid since they are so lazy at housework. That being the case, we can also cull up to 200,000 or so foreign workers as maids.

Imagine we knock off this number of 500K +200K, we will have more leibensraum, more playground space, more classroom space, more jobs for locals.

Wtf! If not for us kpkb, they actually intend to build new govt offices! I remember during GKS's time, old buildings are recycled for public sector use. How much of the crush problem is due to the PAP gov just creating unnecessary work and excuses for more foreign workers. Now we know!

kingrant

I imagine the PM is finally taking up Mr Low Thia Kiang's advice to cut back and manage the numbers of foreign workers better.

I last looked at the TV and news just in that they are also finally raising the min wage levels of workers!

Who says LTK and the WP are not doing a good job? They have exceeded our expectations without being confrontational. So the lion in parliament finally backs down to the raccoon. Or the slaps have done the sleeping driver a heck lot of fucking good.

Shunned by Singaporean!

---Out of a foreign population of 1.55 million, about 700,000 are mainly Asian work-permit holders employed in construction, marine industries and other sectors shunned by Singaporeans. Some 200,000 others work as domestic helpers.---

How many times they have to make the same lies over again?

Stop using cheap foreign workers in construction industry that Singaporeans cannot compete on low wages. Bloody Indians Ah Nehs can live on the low wages but their money become bigger when they return home. Whereas Singaporeans cannot live on low wage expensive Singapore.

When government are project owners but cannot afford standard 1st world construction wages for the local citizens then don't build anything.

Leave it to the private sector investors and stop be a project owner and a government at the same time. Don't bs the people and lie that Singaporeans shunned construction works.

What type of construction projects are they building, white elephants?

LKY= government= project owners= main contractors, how can he be all-in-one?

Please pay OZ labour wages of $35- $47/hr (exclude loadings) and see Singaporeans will take up construction jobs or not?

Furthermore, PAP want to brag defense and Singapore military strength but pay low wages to NSFs, another abuse by government.

1. Abuse construction sectors;

2. Abuse NSF - young boy as cheap laobours;

3. Abuse CPF@55.

4. Fixed oppositions;

5. All main constractors and sub constractors must join PA to porlumpar to PAP to get contracts - worst abuse.

What else have they not abuse?

"Singapore is delaying the construction of roughly 2 billion Singapore dollars ($1.6 billion) of infrastructure projects to limit demand for migrant labor and assuage simmering anger over immigration.

The move is part of government efforts to slow Singapore’s intake of foreigners–particularly low-skilled workers widely employed in the construction sector–to a more “sustainable” level, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong told Parliament on Wednesday.

“The government, we are a significant part of the construction business,” Mr. Lee said. “And we ask ourselves, which government projects need to be built, and which government projects can be deferred.”

Authorities will still go “full steam ahead” on key developments such as public housing and transportation links, “but there are other projects that can wait one or two years,” he said.

Projects to be delayed include new government offices, an extension to the Gardens by the Bay horticultural complex, and a new science center. This would reduce Singapore’s demand for construction workers by 20,000-30,000 people, Mr. Lee said.

Singapore, a tiny island city-state of 5.4 million people, has used liberal immigration policies to fuel economic growth and offset a low birthrate–its population has swelled by 34% since the turn of the millennium.

About 1.3 million foreigners work here, including nearly 1 million unskilled laborers who take up menial jobs usually shunned by citizens. Roughly 319,000 of them are construction workers.

Amid worries that an economic model premised on population growth isn’t sustainable, the government has curbed inflows of foreigners over the past three to four years, hoping to assuage voters disgruntled by stagnant low-end wages, rising living costs and strains on infrastructure–problems many citizens blame on high levels of immigration.

Social fissures have emerged between citizens and the large foreign work force. Thousands of people attended public protests against the government’s immigration policies in the past year, and anti-immigration sentiment flared after several hundred South Asian migrant workers rioted in December in Singapore’s worst outburst of public violence in more than 40 years.

Since the riot, the government has announced steps to curb the construction sector’s reliance on low-skilled migrant workers, such as imposing higher levies on their hiring.

Officials have also pledged steps to ensure that Singaporeans get a fair shot at professional positions, in response to complaints that they have been crowded out of certain sectors by foreigners."

http://blogs.wsj.com/searealtime/20...structure-work-to-limit-influx-of-foreigners/

In a similarly titled article but different press outlet:

"Singapore said Wednesday it would defer about S$2 billion worth of government infrastructure projects to slow the intake of migrant labourers amid public concern over immigration in the city-state.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong told parliament the move was part of measures to limit the inflow of foreign workers to "a level which is sustainable and which we can physically accommodate in Singapore in the long term".

Lee said the government would continue "full steam ahead" with building more public housing and improving transport infrastructure, but would hold off on less critical projects for one or two years.

The long-ruling People's Action Party has tightened migrant inflows since suffering its worst showing in a 2011 general election, in which the large foreigner presence was a big issue.

"The private sector, they make their decisions," Lee said.

But "the government, we are a significant part of the construction business, and we ask ourselves which government projects need to be built (and) which projects can be deferred," he said.

"We can spread out the demand for construction workers, and then you will be able to manage the total number of construction workers in Singapore."

Lee said among the projects to be deferred are an extension of the Gardens by the Bay botanical complex and a new science centre.

The deferred projects would reduce the number of foreign workers needed by about 20,000 to 30,000, he said.

Lee said the government would also monitor the inflow of foreign professional workers to ensure that Singaporeans get a fair chance at jobs in some fields.

Singapore's low birth rate prompted the government to grant an average of 18,500 new citizenships every year between 2008 to 2012 – helping the population surge by 30 per cent since 2004 to 5.4 million last year.

Out of a foreign population of 1.55 million, about 700,000 are mainly Asian work-permit holders employed in construction, marine industries and other sectors shunned by Singaporeans. Some 200,000 others work as domestic helpers.

Singaporeans have accused foreigners of competing with them for jobs, housing, schools, medical care and space on public transport.

Some have also complained that the rapid influx in previous years is eroding national identity."

http://features.insing.com/feature/singapore-defers-public-works-to-slow/id-f2433101/

Convenient to point to construction workers as the cause of angst amongst local whereas in reality it is those Singaporeans in PMET and service industry positions that have bee displaced by the private sector "village resettlements" in Singapore approach.

JHolmesJr

The workers don't bother me one bit.....its the fucken explosion of mid level execs come here from donno where that get on my tits.

Please stop them from coming on a tourist visa and hawking their resumes around.

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
What did they compare to 2004 numbers? The open door policy started in the 90s during GCT. They are using a higher base to make it look like a lower increase. Original population is only 3+ million on a downward trend. From that to 5.4million, how can be 34% only?

The foreign population number keeps changing. Previously, it was 2.3 million. Now, it is 1.5 million.
Is this a case of 800k foreigners became naturalized sinkees? 800k votes for the PAP?

I have also been saying its the PMET category is the problem not the construction workers and maid and low level jobs,,,PAP is doing a shit job and hope the people sees through his garbage,,,,

The govt is now going to teach Sinkies a lesson and get even with the population by choking off infrastructural projects, some of which are meant for Sinkies.

It will make more sense to cull the pop of 500,000 Indians who came here over the last decade. They are not your construction ah nehs, but middle class Indians working in IT projects such as the DBS data centre, Citibank, SBI, Stanchart, HSBC etc. If out of this 500,000, half are family nucleus, and each of them will likely have hired a foreign maid since they are so lazy at housework. That being the case, we can also cull up to 200,000 or so foreign workers as maids.

Imagine we knock off this number of 500K +200K, we will have more leibensraum, more playground space, more classroom space, more jobs for locals.

Wtf! If not for us kpkb, they actually intend to build new govt offices! I remember during GKS's time, old buildings are recycled for public sector use. How much of the crush problem is due to the PAP gov just creating unnecessary work and excuses for more foreign workers. Now we know!

I have also been saying its the PMET category is the problem not the construction workers and maid and low level jobs,,,PAP is doing a shit job and hope the people sees through his garbage,,,,

This is diverting attention. E.g. CNY my aunt asked me "when you getting married", I replied "your son's gf very pretty hor"

Wahaha.... Pap loyalists kenna screw again. Less maids mean must pay more for maids. Less FWs mean higher hdb cost and TC fee as less cleaners. While their own jobs continue to be under threat from the relentless arrival of FTrashs. PAP sibeh hoo....

kingrant

Completely share yr sentiments.

Every time I see one of these and their oversized prams and the whole entourage of their old aged limping folks on Long term visit passes, I feel like kicking their bloody asses.

The WP should grill the govt more on the total numbers who came in under the CECA that Singapore signed with India, and which practically gave away all our jobs and businesses. Mind you, these are definitely your "IT professionals" I dunno how many of such carried fake degrees. Majority of construction workers are from Bangladesh.

The workers don't bother me one bit.....its the fucken explosion of mid level execs come here from donno where that get on my tits.

Please stop them from coming on a tourist visa and hawking their resumes around.

delay infra projects 2 limit influx of 4eigners? ... workers 4 infra projects r construction workers ... dey do ze type of work sinkies wun do ...

so now, tis burgerz telling evry1 dose who had cum in n flooded sinkielan were mainly not construction workers ... dey haf let in ze wrong ppl 2 get the wrong jobs! ... :mad:

GoldenPeriod

This LHL still act blur. No one cares about those bangla temp workers in construction, it is the importation of so-called "professionals" that is destroying the Sinkie worker. Stop it lah, LHL.

Greed

This LHL still act blur. No one cares about those bangla temp workers in construction, it is the importation of so-called "professionals" that is destroying the Sinkie worker. Stop it lah, LHL.

Those PMETs already given up hope, some replaced by cheaper Ft and have to do part-time, contract or are jobless now.

Boliao

At the end of the day, the G wants to proudly announced that they've done what the people ask and cut hundreds of foreigners. So the question is where to cut? Cutting a hundred PMET who earns $4500 or cut a hundred low-skilled worker who earns $450? The choice is easy. Least impact to their income tax and still be able to show big numbers. Best of all, the can punish the average Singaporeans and make them beg the G to open up the gates again.

Typical PAP. Being deliberately obtuse and making the problem worse... possibly seeking revenge too.

It's the classic Problem-Reaction-Solution.

problemreactionsolution.jpg

palden

Wayang party wants zero FT growth. Now who going to build and maintain those infra? You think wayang party will to do? Give stupid suggestions then flip flop when things not turning out well. Let this type of co driver become main driver, car sure crash. Vote in a few more co driver also will crash.

Very true, especially in the finance sector.
Are you sure in finance sector ? I thought is the IT sector ?
PAP does not have a answer to this, besides retraining ? Retrain as what ? go WDA and pay them course fee ? Then these people go uni for fark ?