• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

If you don't hear from me again, it was good while it lasted

Wish me luck.

Calm before the storm: NZ braces for Cyclone Lusi

By Teuila Fuatai, Heather McCracken, Rebecca Quilliam

11:55 AM Friday Mar 14, 2014 The sunrise over Auckland this morning. MetService said first signs of the storm would creep in this evening.

We'll keep you across Lusi as it hits - but we need your help. Send your Lusi-related stories, photos or video here.

Cyclone Lusi will bring gale-force winds, lashings of rain and probably power cuts, MetService and Vector warn.

The storm has already caused devastation in the Pacific, with at least three dead in Vanuatu.

It is forecast to move out of the tropics today and track west of the North Island tomorrow, before crossing the South Island on Sunday, according to the latest MetService forecast.

MetService meteorologist Dan Corbett told Radio New Zealand today would be relatively calm before a "dramatic change" tonight.

"As we work towards the end of the day we start to see the effects, the outer bands, of this large mass of rain moving into the Far North of the country by the afternoon and evening."

"But it's tonight and into Saturday when the beast will really show its fangs and teeth."

Most of the country would need to "batten down the hatches" with heavy and potentially flooding rains, Mr Corbett told RNZ.

Latest MetService warnings for Lusi

Severe weather warnings have been issued for Northland, Auckland, Coromandel Peninsula, Bay of Plenty, Gisborne, Nelson and Marlborough.

Northland should expect 80mm-100mm of rain by tomorrow afternoon, MetService said.

The rain should spread quickly southwards, totalling more than 100mm in Coromandel, Bay of Plenty and Gisborne by Sunday morning.

Easterly gales will accompany the heavy rain, with gusts of 120km/h in Northland, Auckland and Coromandel Peninsula, and 130km/h west of the Kaimai Range.

The watch also covered the possibility of severe easterly gales about the Central Plateau and Nelson tomorrow.

Also in the upper South Island, Marlborough and Nelson look set to receive the most intense rainfall, with up to 170mm accumulating in the Nelson ranges from tomorrow afternoon till noon on Sunday.

A watch was being maintained for areas just west of the main ranges, including the Central Plateau, Ruahine and Richmond Ranges, also the Tasman Mountains, which were likely to see very gusty downslope winds.

Finally, MetService forecasters were keeping a watch for severe northwesterly gales in Wellington on Sunday afternoon and evening, as the remains of Lusi moved across the South Island.

"This will be a significant adverse weather event, affecting large parts of northern and central New Zealand" MetService said.

"The heavy rain is likely to cause slips and surface flooding, and the severe easterly gales could make driving hazardous, lift roofs, and bring down trees and powerlines."

Vector: Be ready for power cuts

Meanwhile, electricity company Vector has warned customers to be prepared for the possibility of outages as a result of the wild weather.

Chief executive Simon Mackenzie said stormy weather could be very unpredictable and have a significant impact on the electricity network.

"We do not expect too many issues but recommend that customers always be prepared for the possibility of an outage during inclement weather."

Vector's field crews had been put on alert and all efforts would be made to respond to any outages as soon as possible. However, crews would only work if it is safe for them to do so, Mr Mackenzie said.

People using medical equipment that relies on electricity should always ensure they were prepared for power disruptions and if there is an immediate health threat, contact their health provider or call 111.

Warning for boaties

Auckland boaties are being warned to secure boats today before expected rough weather arrives this evening.

Strong winds and rough seas are anticipated, which can cause boat moorings to break and result in boat damage and navigation hazards.

Auckland harbourmaster Andrew Hayton said boat owners should check the moorings of boats regularly to ensure they were secure.

"The middle of a gale is not the time to be trying to secure a boat.

"Boats that break free from moorings can cause significant damage to themselves and other vessels."

The Harbourmaster's team often picked up boats adrift during bad weather but in more extreme weather it could be unsafe for patrol vessels and crew to be on the water, he said.

Boat owners are responsible for making sure their boats were secure.

Three dead in Vanuatu

Lusi has already killed at least three people in Vanuatu including a 6-year-old boy trapped in a mudslide, and an elderly man and woman hit by flying debris in two separate incidents, according to Paolo Malatu, Vanuatu humanitarian team national co-ordinator said.

Another six, all women and children from the worst-hit island of Santo, have been declared missing and are thought to have been buried in mudslides.

The number of dead and missing was expected to increase as communications systems were re-established on the island nation, Mr Malatu said.

His wife Jessica, who works at the Melanesian Port Vila Hotel, said locals around the capital had been well prepared. "The winds were very strong, and there was heavy rain."

While the wind had brought down banana trees and caused some flooding at her family home, it could have been worse, Ms Freed said. "Luckily, the [worst] rain and the wind was out at sea."

'Bugger it, we'll give it a go'

A Waikato farming couple will go ahead with their outdoor wedding tomorrow - despite the threat of Tropical Cyclone Lusi bearing down on the region.

About 120 guests are expected at the wedding of Brogan Collins and Dani McLaren on the Ngaruawahia farm of Ms McLaren's parents.

Mr Collins said they had planned to hold the ceremony on a deck, with guests gathered on the lawn, and hold the reception in a marquee. Photos were to be taken on the farm.

"Everything's organised, so we thought, 'Bugger it, we'll give it a go'," he said. "We're just hoping we just catch a little side of it [the cyclone].

"Worst-case scenario, we've got a school hall booked, so if it's too windy for the marquee, we can run back to the school."

The couple, who are farming at Ohaupo, south of Hamilton, have been together for six years and have a 6-month-old daughter. Mr Collins, 21, said they were happy to get rain - they just didn't want it on their wedding day.

"I'm a dairy farmer so I want it, but on the other hand I'm getting married so I don't want it."

He said they were determined to enjoy the day, regardless of the weather. "It's what you make of it."

Weekend events changed due to weather:

• The Cancer Society's Relay for Life in Rotorua on Saturday has been shortened from a 22-hour event to an eight-hour event
• The Auckland West Relay For Life has been cancelled. People can transfer to Auckland North Relay on 29/30th March. For more info go to www.relay.org.nz.
• Panasonic People's Triathlon at Maraetai Beach on Sunday has been postponed until March 30
• Salty Classic fishing competition 2014 cancelled
• Kaurilands Primary School Fun Fair, postponed to March 29
• Auckland's Silo Park cinema screening on Friday, cancelled
• Whangaparaoa Gala postponed until March 22.

* 360 Discovery ferry services cancelled:

- Coromandel: Friday and Saturday
- Tiritiri Matangi from Downtown and Gulf Harbour, Saturday
- passengers should check www.360discovery.co.nz as Sunday service to Tiritiri Matangai may also be cancelled

Events which could be affected:

• Chiefs vs Stormers, Waikato Stadium in Hamilton, Friday
• Hurricanes vs Cheetahs, Westpac Stadium in Wellington, Saturday
• Vodafone Warriors v St. George Illawarra Dragons at Eden Park, Saturday
• Te Houtaewa challenge, 90 Mile Beach, Saturday
• Bayswater Auto Show and Family Fun Day, Bayswater School, Sunday
• Harbourview Sculpture trail, Te Atatu Peninsula, open until March 30
• Final series in the Swim Rotorua Open Water Swim, Lake Okataina, Sunday
• Rotorua Walking Festival, Saturday and Sunday
• Tarawera Ultramarathon, Saturday
• Rotorua's Pasifika Family Fun Day event
• Womad music festival, Taranaki, Friday - Sunday
• Wairarapa Balloon Fiesta, Thursday - Sunday
• Wairarapa Wine Festival on Saturday

Before a storm:

• Develop a household emergency plan. Assemble and maintain your emergency survival items, as well as a portable getaway kit.
• Prepare your property by securing large heavy objects and any item which could become a deadly or damaging missile.
• Keep materials at hand for repairing windows, such as tarpaulins, boards and duct tape.

When a warning is issued and during a storm:

• Stay informed on weather updates. Listen to your local radio stations for advice for your community and situation.
• Put your household emergency plan into action and check your getaway kit.
• Secure, or move indoors, all items that could get blown about in strong winds.
• Close windows, external and internal doors. Pull curtains and drapes over unprotected glass areas.
• If the wind becomes destructive, stay away from doors and windows and shelter inside the house.
• Water supplies can be affected so store drinking water in containers and fill bathtubs and sinks.
• Power cuts are possible in severe weather. Unplug small appliances which may be affected by electrical power surges, and if power is lost, unplug major appliances.
• Bring pets inside. Move stock to shelter. If you have to evacuate, take your pets with you.

After a storm:

• Listen to your local radio stations for the most appropriate advice for your community and situation.
• Check for injuries and help others if you can, especially people who require special assistance.
• Look for and report broken utility lines.
• Contact your local council if your house has been severely damaged.
• If your property or contents are damaged take notes and photographs and contact your insurance company.

Detailed advice is at www.getthru.govt.nz.

By Teuila Fuatai, Heather McCracken, Rebecca Quilliam
- APNZ

Copyright ©2014, APN Holdings NZ Limited

board windows, sandbag doors and garage, hunker down and stock up on bacon and beer. :p

Singaporeans don't know how lucky they are. All they get is a bit of ponding and the occasional delay in MRT services.

Thanks to the PAP, there is hardly a thing to worry about on that beautiful island.

this is what Sam should do if the cyclone is going to blow him into pieces.

1. Shut all doors and windows.

2. keep all light goods items away so they don't fly off and poke his arse or eye balls.

3. tighten or bolted all furniture to the ground.

4. Then for his personal safety he can do this:

I. stand clear of all things in the house.

11. pull down his pant and underwear.

111. Bend down low with his face near his arse

1V. When the cyclone hits him and likely to blow him away, he can kiss his arse good bye.

Singaporeans don't know how lucky they are. All they get is a bit of ponding and the occasional delay in MRT services.

Thanks to the PAP, there is hardly a thing to worry about on that beautiful island.

Walk the talk. Come home.

yeah lah hor. Double taxation available between NZ and Sin. He can opt to pay Singapore tax in NZ?

in this day and age, you can contribute immensely to a country and her people remotely from an armchair, a keyboard, or the comfort and warmth of a diaper. :p

true, the folks in sg who would brave the elements in a major storm on a sunday morning to get to their orchard road destination are pinoy maids. sinkies would still be comfortably snoozing and snoring in their beds. :p

Reddog

You really believe that pap moved the small island of sinkapore to the southern tip of the malay peninsula ?? God help you.

Leongsam what is your plan to protect your sheep and cows?

You really believe that pap moved the small island of sinkapore to the southern tip of the malay peninsula ?? God help you.

LKY chose the Island to take from third world to first in a single generation.

The wind is picking up steadily..... the sky has turned grey and threatening.... pressure has dropped and humidity has increased.

The neighbors are busy boarding up their windows and putting away their outdoor furniture. Sandbags are being filled throughout the neighborhood. Those with diesel generators have just fired them up to make sure they work.

This looks very bad. Because I spend so much time taking care of this forum, I have done no preparation whatsoever. The only measures I have taken have been to present offerings to Nāga.

I can't help feeling that the end is near. :*:

Reminds me of a story where a woman was born in a poor family but became very rich within a short span of few years.

She prostitute herself to the world.

LKY chose the Island to take from third world to first in a single generation.

I was supposed to fly to Thailand for a medical procedure. It may not happen after all. :(