• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Same thing lah, "hack", "planned maintenance", "compromised"

The Singapore Police Force (SPF)'s explanation maintains that a photo is circulating online, showing that the SPF website has been "hacked". The photoshopped image apparently is deemed offensive, and the SPF is asking you not to circulate the photo any further. Somebody had to ask the obvious: If the SPF website was not "hacked" are we to presume that the "inappropriate image" was placed there by the SPF Web Administrator?

The confusion comes about because the Information Development Authority (IDA) is screaming blue in the face: The prime minister's office website was compromised, not hacked! The distinction is crucial to some party's career plans because, as pointed out by IDA's Assistant Chief Executive James Kang, the cross-site scripting vulnerability was not protected by a security patch which had been released earlier. The patch is now being applied across all government websites, an obvious effort to close the barn door after the horse has bolted. Let's hope some $2 company won't be paid $130 million for off-the-shelf software.

To split hairs over "compromise" and "hack" is tantamount to straining at gnats and swallowing camels. In computer security context, a hacker is someone who seeks and exploits weaknesses in a computer system or network - such as inserting script into the Google search bar. Some are even paid big bucks to hone their craft. Within the computing community, the primary meaning of hacker is a complimentary, not pejorative, label for a particularly brilliant programmer or technical expert. For instance Linus Torvalds, the creator of Linux, is admired by many to be a true hacker.

The situation gets worse when political animals play loose and fancy with words. Who can ever forget George Yeo's "an integrated resort is not a casino" blatant lie? Did we have a bus strike or was it absence from work without a medical chit? Did someone give away $4 billion to the IMF, or was it just a "pledge"? Then there are the guys who supposedly complete their national service obligation of bearing arms to defend our real estate by serving in a laboratory and "saving babies' lives" at a hospital. Next they will be telling you Chia Thye Poh's 32 year incarceration was an extended sabbatical to mull over the definition of "communist". A wise man once asked, if you don't say what you mean, how can you mean what you say?

Case in point, S R Nathan was conferred the Order of Temasek for "exemplary" service to the nation at last night's National Day Awards Investiture. Now, is that meant to be a model example of a "Jiak Liao Bee", collecting millions annually for doing nothing productive but "eating up all the rice"?

- http://singaporedesk.blogspot.sg/2013/11/define-hacking.html

gingerlyn

needless to say, it is just propaganda used by MSM to disguise idiot sinkies.

1) Flooding vs ponding

2) Inflation vs core inflation.
Inflation is high and PAP regime used core inflation to cheat sinkies and telling us that eventhough Inflation is high, singapore core inflation is low if you do not buy flats / car etc.
They forget that when COE is high, hawkers who buy commercial vehicles will impose higher food prices and ended up sinkie will pay for higher inflation.

3) website and subpage
when PAP website was hacked by anon, WDA said it was "subpage" that was hacked, not website.

4) hacked and compromised
when website was hacked, PAP would say that it was compromised and not hack.

what is this? if a rapist was cought raping PM Lee daughter, can the rapist say:
It was not rape but he merely deposited his cock in PM LEE Daughter and PM Lee daughter was not damaged but merely compromised?

Brubeck

1) Flooding vs ponding

Inflation is high and PAP regime used core inflation to cheat sinkies and telling us that eventhough Inflation is high, singapore core inflation is low if you do not buy flats / car etc.
They forget that when COE is high, hawkers who buy commercial vehicles will impose higher food prices and ended up sinkie will pay for higher inflation.

3) website and subpage
when PAP website was hacked by anon, WDA said it was "subpage" that was hacked, not website.

what is this? if a rapist was cought raping PM Lee daughter, can the rapist say:
It was not rape but he merely deposited his cock in PM LEE Daughter and PM Lee daughter was not damaged but merely compromised?

These and all the other hyperboles that pappies are fond of using are meant to mask the gross inefficacy of their policies. A good govt is most likely modest with their achievements. But not the pappies.

In addition, they are very good at coining new terms to congratulate themselves.

blackmondy

1) Flooding vs ponding

3) website and subpage

Sinkapore is a uniqueLEE weird country to the extent that even it's English grammar can be uniqueLEE twisted to mitigate any shit the chee-bye pappies are in.

These and all the other hyperboles that pappies are fond of using are meant to mask the gross inefficacy of their policies. A good govt is most likely modest with their achievements. But not the pappies.

In addition, they are very good at coining new terms to congratulate themselves.

You forgot "It was not a u turn it was a rethink".

Poomer

The crap that comes out of out million dollar ministers mouth. You can either view it as silly statements from morons who don't think before they spout off or propaganda bullshit from the bestest.

And when the cat is out of the bag, it will always be 'an honest mistake' or 'taken out of context'.

PAP is the bestest!

gingerlyn

The crap that comes out of out million dollar ministers mouth. You can either view it as silly statements from morons who don't think before they spout off or propaganda bullshit from the bestest.

And when the cat is out of the bag, it will always be 'an honest mistake' or 'taken out of context'.

PAP is the bestest!

The next moment Lee Kuan Yew will issue this statement:
Just like flooding, no amount of engineering can be done to prevent government websites from being hacked.

gingerlyn

Thanks. very informative.
30) "Is it better to take your medicine sooner or stretch it out? Take medicine once or two times? I prefer to make my medicine early..."- PM Lee Hsien Loong
I think this is related to government plan to increase GST from 5% to 7% and PM Lee wanted to increase it immediately.

why similar theory was not applied in Punggo East bi-election when Laura Ong had sex with Michael Palmer so that Laura Ong and Her sister could secure higher PA salary and good appraisal by Michael Palmer?

Like that, no head will roll. MINDEF and HOME team can just pat themselves on the back for a job well done then - oh, for doing nothing.

ilovesingapore

Not a single nice word or comment for the superb efficiency of our world class Government and top class Civil Governance. We are The Best managed country in the world.

We should always be grateful to our leaders for making Singapore such a successful and peaceful country.

The hacker is roped in and there should be more leaks from there. We should congratulate our Home Team and our Government for a job well done.

Majulah Singapura!!!