• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Flooding caused by sinkie hawkers - NEA/PUB/Town Council Cleaners not to be blamed

songsongjurong

http://news.asiaone.com/news/soshiok/flooding-popular-food-spot-due-clogged-pipes

20131105_hawker_ST2.jpg

David Ee
The Straits Times
Thursday, Nov 07, 2013
SINGAPORE - Blobs of food waste, eating utensils and even a tray were found clogging sewage pipes, contributing to recent flooding at Marine Parade Central food centre.

The situation at the popular 37-year-old eatery has got so bad that two of the ward's MPs have raised concerns. Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin said in a Facebook post on Sunday that it is "a possible hygiene concern" in need of immediate action.

Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong said in a post the same day that stallholders have not properly disposed of some waste.

Both were briefed on the situation by the National Environment Agency (NEA), national water agency PUB and the Marine Parade Town Council (MPTC) during a visit there on Sunday after recent flooding.

Last Wednesday, heavy rain caused its toilets to overflow, leaving a foul stench as hawkers waded in water 10cm deep.

Stall owners said the centre's drainage has been an issue for several years and is made worse during storms. ESM Goh noted that some waste thrown by hawkers caused oil sludge and silt to accumulate in the drains. He added that the low-lying centre will close for a few weeks early next year as the drainage system is "redesigned and overhauled" - work that "cannot wait" due to problems with flooding and sanitation.

ESM Goh noted that stall owners have twice turned down help from the Hawker Centres Upgrading Programme. "Immediate" work will be carried out to clear the sewage pipes, said Mr Tan.

An MPTC spokesman said it will now flush the sewage system and clean grease traps weekly instead of fortnightly. Kerbs will also be built to keep out flood water while drainage improvement work is planned for next year.

Hawkers told The Straits Times it was unavoidable that the pipes would become clogged.

"All of us use oil. When we wash our plates, where does it go? Into the drain, of course," said a 52-year-old stall owner who did not want to be named. "This centre is 37 years old. It's just like your body - when it gets old, you also get cholesterol."

They pinpointed a small drain next to the centre as the main culprit for the flooding, saying that it overflows within five minutes of heavy rain. "Water then floods the centre from one side to the other," said a 46-year-old hawker known as Ah Teng. "The drain is so small - how is it enough?"

Mr Sunny Goh, 52, uses bamboo poles to keep the drain covers wider ajar and let water in. He said: "Make the drain bigger, then maybe the floods will stop."

[email protected]

Re: Flooding caused by sinkie hawkers - NEA/PUB/Town Council Cleaners not to be blame

Do stall owners have the option of turning down "Upgrades Programes":confused:

Always thought that saying NO is not an option.

Re: Flooding caused by sinkie hawkers - NEA/PUB/Town Council Cleaners not to be blame

We all know perfectly well that all the problems Singapore has are caused by the peasant class. You don't have to give examples. It's a fact of life that everyone is aware of.

Exactly... the sinkie govt that you bunch of loser vote do not respect human opinion. that is what sinkie wants? to be spitted on?

lianbeng

lianbeng says: that's why food prices will go up lah! :biggrin:

wMulew

Dumbfuck opposition supporting retards things they are living in North Korea. In Hawker centres like in HDB flats, upgrading plans need to be voted by the stall holders. They can refuse if they do not want it

Unrepented

Before the MIW is too quick to accuse sinkies for "self infliction"...........

Two elite who earn "million dollars" don't even have half the wisdom of a hawker uncle................:kma:

http://news.asiaone.com/news/soshiok/flooding-popular-food-spot-due-clogged-pipes

20131105_hawker_ST2.jpg

David Ee
The Straits Times
Thursday, Nov 07, 2013

"All of us use oil. When we wash our plates, where does it go? Into the drain, of course," said a 52-year-old stall owner who did not want to be named. "This centre is 37 years old. It's just like your body - when it gets old, you also get cholesterol."

HTOLAS

Well said. I would've upped your points if I could.

This is the same peasant class that have voted in the PAPzis every single election.

We all know perfectly well that all the problems Singapore has are caused by the peasant class. You don't have to give examples. It's a fact of life that everyone is aware of.

I_Hate_Pappies

Last time where got this kind of thing happen? Hint* Nowadays many FWs working in hawker centres.

Who did those marine parade people vote for? Their hero is wooden right? Cant believe there r still assholes who think wooden is independent n was a good pm. Now all of woodens crap is showing.

and when he claimed that theirs was an "exceptional family", the twits bowed their heads and nodded in delusional agreement.............. :(

songsongjurong

upgrading of hawker centres seemed to be cash-cow for town council and its cronies contractor.

staggering the upgrading programme, very much like APPLE does with its iphone features...

so very upgrade event will hit the hawkers in their pocket, likely MIW MO getting back at hawker for under declaring revenue.

they should included pegging top hawker's earning in their salary formula.