• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Old Fart: WP's Chen Show Mao all flash but no bang

Workers’ Party’s Chen Show Mao not so brilliant: Lee Kuan Yew

ynewslogo-071424_075919.png
<cite class="byline vcard" style="font-style: normal; color: rgb(125, 125, 125); font-size: 12px; font-family: Georgia, Times, 'Times New Roman', serif; vertical-align: middle; line-height: 2.2em; display: inline-block !important;">
By Chiu Peace | Yahoo! Newsroom – <abbr title="2013-08-14T15:30:05Z" style="font-size: 12px; line-height: 2.2em; border: 0px;">11 hours ago</abbr>
</cite>
acc9a81d-7b84-4b21-8dd9-57ec4e7546a3_630yahoo_csm.jpg

Singapore’s founding Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew says Member of Parliament (MP) for Aljunied Group Representation Constituency (GRC) Chen Show Mao has not lived up to expectations.

In his new book titled “One Man’s View of the World”, the former minister mentor said that with credentials such as being an international corporate lawyer, The Workers’ Party (WP) MP appeared to be a “talented person” in the 2011 general election.

However, Lee said Chen “has not turned out to be so brilliant.”

“In Parliament, he [Chen] makes good prepared speeches, with a written script, but in the follow-up, he is all over the place. It simply does not gel for him,” said Lee.

He added, “The weight of public expectation of the man, given his rather impressive résumé, has probably added to the disappointment.”

The former prime minister also attributed the 2011 election results – one that the People’s Action Party (PAP) polled an average of 60.1 per cent nationwide and lost six seats, the worst results since Independence in 1965 – to WP chief Low Thia Khiang’s ability to produce Chen as a “solid-looking candidate” to stand in Aljunied GRC, along with party chairman Sylvia Lim and himself.

Lee said WP’s implied message to voters was clear: “We’re putting all our eggs here. Let us have one GRC.”

Another factor that influenced the election results was the unhappiness over the large number of foreigners, added the founding father.

But, repeating sentiments he’s expressed before, he said Singapore needs to take in immigrants and foreign workers because its people have not been reproducing.

Singapore has one of the lowest total fertility rates in the world at 1.29.

Lee added that the government has been moderating the influx to a level that causes less discomfort.

In his book, the former minister mentor also expressed doubts over whether the opposition can live up to expectations and persuade enough good people to join them.

“Can the opposition produce the likes of the younger generation of PAP ministers, never mind the likes of Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong or Deputy Prime Ministers Teo Chee Hean and Tharman Shanmugaratnam?” asked Lee.

He also warned that if Singapore decides to move towards a two-party system, then the people are “destined for mediocrity”.

“The biggest problem with the two-party system is that once it is in place, the best people will choose not to be in politics. Getting elected will be a dicey affair,” he pointed out.

Satyr

At least I have seen CSM asking questions. The contribution of the majority of PAP MPs is close to nil. The real measure of CSM is what he is doing for his constituents. I am sure the PAP wants CSM to stick his neck out so they can chop it.

wMulew

Hard truth

CSM is doing worse than TPL as an MP

What CSM did since 2011
Plagiarize someone else's work on his blog
https://temasektimes.wordpress.com/2012/03/06/chen-show-mao-accused-of-plagiarism-by-netizens/

Exposed as trying to con the public during the budget debate

What Tin Pei Ling did since 2011
In Parliament
1) Care for Elderly
a) “[Our] society has a duty to take care of those who have done so much for Singapore. The question to ask ourselves is: How much is this generation of young Singaporeans willing to give of ourselves, to support the older generation, especially those who came from the founding generation of Singapore citizens?” – Parliamentary speech on 21 October 2011

b) [PublicHouse] - Ms Tin also raised a radical idea regarding basic healthcare for the elderly in her Parliamentary speech. “We now have improved financing policies, but still, we hear cries for more support and I think we can do more. Specifically, just like how Singapore citizen children in government primary schools need not pay for school fees (miscellaneous fees not included), might this House also consider taking the bold step of providing free basic healthcare to elderly Singaporeans in public healthcare settings?”

c) Push for Parental Care Leave - "But apart from putting in place a conducive environment, infrastructure and programmes to support the care for our elderly, the caregivers’ ability to care remains important. We know that family support is probably one of the most preferred channels of care giving that we can give our parents. So with that, would the Government or the Ministry consider mandating or making annual leave provisions to Singaporeans to let them take care of elderly parents when they are ill and, perhaps, would the Government take the lead in such an effort?"http://publichouse.sg/categories/topstory/item/453-macpherson-cares-fund-to-help-elderly

Other issues raised about Education/Youth, Elderly, Women, Families, Employment for Persons with Disabilities, Foreign Affairs, Healthcare, Home Affairs, Housing and Transport can be found here:https://www.facebook.com/notes/tin-pei-ling/in-parliament-questions-asked/470146709693895

For MacPherson
$150,000 Macpherson Care Fund to help low-income elderly residents in MacPherson. [PublicHouse] Ms Tin and a group of young grassroots volunteers in her ward have initiated the MacPherson Cares fund. The fund will disburse up to $300 a year in cash to elderly residents of the ward as reimbursement for their medical bills. MacPherson Cares is to encourage those who require medical care or follow-ups to continue to do so, bypassing the sometimes lengthy period required in applying for national schemes. “In the interim period,” Ms Tin said, “the fund can give them some financial relief and the confidence to continue seeking medical treatment.”

Partnered Willing Hearts to provide free meal service to MacPherson residents who are in need. -https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.418079474900619.84543.190962180945684

"A Glow of Love" - The project saw the volunteers and grls helping to install energy-saving lightbulbs for the units in one of the rental blocks within MacPherson. -https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150996638023120.451007.106592233119

MacPherson Welfare Day 2012, 15 January 2012. Distribution of 'Hong Bao' & provisions to low income elderly. - https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150537552503120.400569.106592233119

Serving the Resident
a) Help resident land a job -https://www.facebook.com/tinpeiling.official/posts/466356893406210

b) Help elderly resident find new rental flat -https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=535815609793671

c) Assisting single mother with 2 young sons -https://www.facebook.com/tinpeiling.official/posts/443426385699261

d) Assisting resident get a job -https://www.facebook.com/tinpeiling.official/posts/424429634265603

e) Assiting a Single father with a young son with job placement and interim financial assistance. -https://www.facebook.com/tinpeiling.official/posts/306500656058502

f) Meet The People Session -https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=437733712935195

Block Visit on 2 evening every week - knowing the residents
1) https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=562912750417290
2) https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=547950788580153
3) https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=433905216651378
4) https://www.facebook.com/tinpeiling.official/posts/436223539752879

Municipal issues
HDB void deck art gallery - called “GRACE” – Getting Residents, Artists & the Community Engaged. The main objectives were to not only make the void deck more vibrant and colorful (a fresh touch to a nostalgic neighbourhood I suppose), but to also provide the space for people to express creativity through art, bring art closer to people and provide the platform for various people to come together. - http://workingwithgrace.wordpress.com/2012/05/04/interview-with-mp-tin-pei-ling/

Lobby and appeal to LTA to construct a new pedestrian crossing in front of Blk 52 and the market at Blk 89 Circuit Rd to provide a safer environment for the edlerly residents. - https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.508504505858115.102874.190962180945684

Personal
1) Aug 2012, Ms Tin face off the bad press head on, turning bad press into good cause. Ms Tin agreed to auctioned off the Kate Spade bag to fund AWARE’s support services such as a crisis help line, befriender services, a legal clinic and counselling. It takes a lot of guts to look back at your darkest moments and laugh it off! Ms Tin shows her keyboard detractors, who think they can hurt her with words, what her guts are made of! - https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=396480493741298

CSM must be a threat to the PAP to warrant so much attacks on him. Even Old Fart has to intervene. They have even assigned one PAP IB to humtum him everyday. Wah lau ...CSM must be good, so good that the PAP has to put full focus on him.

skponggol

Salam 1Singapore !

At least the Hammerrhoid Towkay shares the same view with Harry: Chen Show 毛 has nothing to flash but his 毛….

This Hammerrhoid MP Without Portfolio is the one and only Hammerrhoid MP who is denied by the Towkay of any position or any responsibility inside the Hammerrhoid Party and the Hammerrhoid Town Council…….Unlike or all the Hammerrhoid MPs who hold fanciful CosPlay BDSM titles like Chair’man’, President, Webmaster, Spiderman, etc,etc…..

Barisan PAP-WP: Towards a 1Singapore Parliament !

watchman8

CSM is a corporate lawyer, not a court attorney. He's strength is in formulating legal strategies behind closed doors.

Old fart is very cunning to use his new book to score points.

Boliao

Old fart talking cock. Give him a portfolio lah, we'll see whether he can perform or not. You don't give people a chance to perform and you say they cannot? WTF.

Anytime already lah. I look at old man during NDP and I think it's either this year or the next. We'll know by end of August and usually old people either pass through 7th month or they don't.

escher

CSM must be a threat to the PAP to warrant so much attacks on him. Even Old Fart has to intervene. They have even assigned one PAP IB to humtum him everyday. Wah lau ...CSM must be good, so good that the PAP has to put full focus on him.

Yes!

I feel very much that way too.

Who the fuck is that smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY to decide?

Any rate, smear of shit on sole of shoe is incapable of ever telling the truth.
Therefore the truth is opposite of whatever that smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY want your ears to hear

CSM must be good.
That is underlined by the attacks on CSM from Pappie doggies here

Asterix

It is not because Mister Chen Show Mao is very good though I’m sure he is
For one man alone cannot amount to anything against a well honed machinery
What can the Old Fart himself accomplish if he did it alone back in the 1950s?
Nothing! He would have been slaughtered by the left wing unions and others
Didn’t Old Fart smear Francis Seow when a similar “threat” emerged back then?
What the Old Fart is afraid of is that people like Mister Chen will inspire others
A group of ten to twenty people of ministerial quality is all that is needed
Didn’t this Tan Jay See say this? The other MPs can be Ah Lians and Ah Huats
The civil service is supposed to be impartial anyway, PAP or WP or coalition
With quality people behind him, this Mister Lim here can lecture his Minister
An ex-colleague at Skrine no less, Skrine OK not some kuching kurak small firm
So Drop the Bloody Siege Mentality, you Good for Nothing Scums in White!

[video=youtube;SMuUKiNnSL0]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SMuUKiNnSL0[/video]

http://www.skrine.com/

Indeed CSM can put any pap ministar in his pocket.
Most important he is humble down to earth and with a genuine passion to serve.
LKY is afraid of people who have no reason to be afraid of him.

Old man is getting senile lah.

He has forgotten that his own son needed a senior minister & mentor minister to assist him.:eek:

when the majority rules, only they ve the rights to burn joss sticks. others cannot burn incense papers. in our case, the opp cannot even lit a match :(

blissquek

At least CSM made it in the real world.

....Just a note ..compare to LHL....

Subject: LKY SAID CHEN SHOW MAO IS NOTHING SPECIAL... BUT WHAT ABOUT LHL?

The last gasp of an outgoing despot trying to boost his own son's image and running down one of his possible strong contenders..??

At his age it best to keep his peace and mouth shut..rather than making a fool of himself..!?

LKY SAID CHEN SHOW MAO IS NOTHING SPECIAL... BUT WHAT ABOUT LHL?

7 Aug 2013 - 8:46am

Chen Show Mao vs Lee Hsien Loong

In his latest book, former MM LKY had reportedly given his verdict that Chen Show Mao, despite his impressive credentials, has been nothing special as an MP. Since we are on this topic of post-election performance, I would like to ask MM what he thinks of his son’s LHL, and the other PAP MPs performance too.

Lets start with his son, LHL. And let us do it the most objective way possible – over the last nearly 10 years that LHL had been PM, do you feel that you life has been better or worse? Do you feel more, or less, confident about your future? More importantly, do you feel more, or less confident, that your children will have a better future than you in Singapore?

I believe that unless you are an Elite, most of you will feel less secure and more anxious. And I think the ruling Elites are beginning to realise that (err .. after almost 10 years of LHL’s era) – look at the slew of actions they are now taking to reduce the income gap, etc etc etc. In other words, LHL’s era had been a major negative for Singapore, not just “nothing special”. Maybe, when it comes to his son, former MM LKY cannot be objective?

I mean, lets look at GDP growth. Our compounded GDP growth from the time LHL took office had not been significantly different from the other Asian tiger economies of Taiwan, S. Korea and HK. And to match their performance, we literally had to import boatloads of foreigners and dilute the Singapore core to just 60% -- something none of the other countries had needed to do. That means that LHL had failed, hasn’t he?

And do many objective observers find LHL’s leadership to be inspiring? Do you find him present during major crisis? Or do you find him normally MIA, while letting his Ministers take the heat, until the saga is over? Do Singaporeans find his leadership inspiring? I mean, PM LHL literally cried in the final PAP rally during the Punggol by-election, yet PAP lost by a landslide. In any case, which of PM LHL’s speech in recent years have you (the reader) find memorable? What can you remember about it? Compare that with say, Obama?

Does he have the ability to build a strong team? I mean, LKY assembled a strong team of Lim Kim San, Rajaratnam etc. Does any of the current Ministers impress you? Or are they really just very ordinary technocrats, catapulted into a high level position primarily because they do not hold conflicting views? I mean, if any of them are really strong leaders, we would have seen a clear PM succession by now, won’t we? After all, LHL is fast approaching his 70’s?

In other words, LHL is not a strong leader, and neither is he of the calibre to attract strong leaders or cultivate one. So would former MM LKY also said that his son LKY is “nothing special” ?

And finally, lets not lose sight of Chen SM’s role. He’s just an MP. He’s not a minister, much less a PM. Put it this way – what must an opposition MP do, in order for him to qualify (in former MM LKY’s eyes) to be something special? If he advocates policy (like say, privatisation of public transport, or lower Ministerial pay, or say no the 6.9 million people in 2030), he would have committed sacrilege, won’t he? In fact, even if his idea is good – like privatisation of public transport – the very fact that it came from the opposition means that this idea must now be shot down. In other words, by definition, any person who joins the opposition can never be “special” in former MM LKY’s eyes, correct? Because if he is “special”, by definition, the policy advocated by the PAP is wrong. Which means his son, PM LHL is wrong. How can that be right? Which father will say that his son is wrong? I mean, if you cannot even admit that “Stop at Two” policy in the 70’s is wrong, how can you say that your son PM LHL is wrong?

For that matter, which of the almost 80 PAP MPs does the reader find to be “special”? Does former MM LKY find Tin Pei Ling to be special, now that she is elected? Is Teo Ser Luck, a minister, any special either as an MP or a minister? And some MPs like former Minister Raymond Lim has yet to utter a single word in Parliament since GE2011 – does that mean he’s special or not?

I guess my point is this – when it comes to his own son PM LHL, former MM LKY can never be objective. By definition, if he praises any of the opposition MP or puts down any PAP MP, his son PM LHL gets put down. In other words, buy his latest book to read about his opinion about the outside world … but take his read on local politics with a big pinch of salt. After all, which father does not side with his own son?

Tags:

Contributions

Current Affairs

greenies

I feel the same as yours.
Pappies never attack someone not threatening them.
In history, DN, FS, JBJ, CSJ, ...

greenies

but why many people believe CSJ is the PAP's mole ?

His style (TW head-on fighting) in that time was not appropriate in Sinkie land.
Plus, only media we had in that time made worse on his image.
In fact, he could be a brilliant fighter in parliament to dig out lots of shit there.