• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SIA Leading Steward arrested for smuggling in 1.6kg of Heroin in Sydney

Lee5604

SINGAPORE: A Singapore Airlines (SIA) cabin crew member was arrested last Sunday at Sydney International Airport after he allegedly tried to bring in 1.6kg of heroin.

Nicholas Tan Ngat Liang, 50, was a leading steward who was believed to be on duty during the flight from Singapore to Sydney.

In response to TODAY's queries, a spokesperson from the Australian Federal Police confirmed that a 50-year-old Singaporean was arrested on Sunday and has been charged with "importing a commercial quantity of a border controlled drug, namely heroin". "The man was arrested for attempting to import 1.6kg of heroin into Australia," the spokesperson said.

In Australia, the offence carries a maximum penalty of life imprisonment and/or an A$825,000 fine (S$1.1 million). Tan's case was first mentioned in a New South Wales court on Monday.

Responding to TODAY's queries, SIA spokesman Nicholas Ionides said: "We can confirm that a member of our cabin crew was detained recently in Sydney by the police. As it is a police matter, it would not be appropriate for us to provide further comment."

A spokesperson from Singapore's Ministry of Foreign Affairs said that the ministry has so far not received any request to extend its assistance on the matter.

When this reporter visited Tan's condo in Simei on Friday, a man and a woman who answered the door declined to comment, saying that it was "not the right time".

The Singapore Police Force said that cabin crew members and pilots are "subjected to the same level of checks as departing passengers prior to boarding the aircraft". It added: "The authorities conduct screening on persons and their hand-carry baggage. Checked baggage is also subjected to screening upon check-in at the departure hall."

An SIA flight steward, who wanted to be known only as Mr Lim, said that at Sydney International Airport, random checks - which occur about "50 per cent of the time" - are conducted on cabin crew after their flights touch down.

According to the Australian Federal Police website, there were 332 seizures involving heroin between 2009 and May 31, 2010.

There have been previous reported cases of Singaporeans who were caught in Australia's airports for trying to bring in drugs. In August 2009, a Singaporean man was sentenced to a jail term of 11 years and three months for importing 4.3kg of heroin from Kuala Lumpur. The drug was concealed in food items. - TODAY

That's a fast and easy way to gain residency in Australia :wink:

Wonder if he got into this business resulting from casino losses. Unlikely first time smuggle tiok liak. I notice one can be let off with just a fine for this offence. No mandatory incarceration though 99% of the time, it is masuk.

watchman8

Wonder if he got into this business resulting from casino losses. Unlikely first time smuggle tiok liak. I notice one can be let off with just a fine for this offence. No mandatory incarceration though 99% of the time, it is masuk.
I'm more curious about where he got the drugs from Singapore? Isn't it stupid to route it through Singapore?

Raiders

Yes, unlikely first time. I noticed that Australian immigration is very strict when dealing with Asian passengers. Last 3 times when I was there, insisted on dragging me to do the radiation test. KNN...

I'm more curious about where he got the drugs from Singapore? Isn't it stupid to route it through Singapore?

Good question bro. I have no idea too.

Many drug smugglers and their bosses choose the S'pore route for a simple reason. They believe Customs overseas are more 'relax' when plane with passengers are flying in from S'pore.

In the case reported, I doubt it was a random check. Far more likely through intelligence or tip-off. Almost always the case.

Possibly from colleagues who are fed-up. Anyone recall the case of the SIA and MAS pilots who got caught within weeks of each other for child porn in their PCs.

king_of_abalone

The guy definitely done it before and got away with it. That's why this time he dared to transport 1.6kg.

Yes, unlikely first time. I noticed that Australian immigration is very strict when dealing with Asian passengers. Last 3 times when I was there, insisted on dragging me to do the radiation test. KNN...

You have to blame the Viet bastards for creating trouble in Australia, creating a bad reputation for the rest of us Asians.

king_of_abalone

You have to blame the Viet bastards for creating trouble in Australia, creating a bad reputation for the rest of us Asians.

Please lah. Just because the white Aussie despises you as a gook, you want to put the blame on the Viets?

So now you are blaming Viets for the white Aussie's racism?

I see that the Pinkerton runs deep within your veins.....

Hanged that sinkie... since sinkieland love to hanged people, now is the aussieland turn.

One sinkie die is a better day for the world..

Many drug smugglers and their bosses choose the S'pore route for a simple reason. They believe Customs overseas are more 'relax' when plane with passengers are flying in from S'pore.

In the case reported, I doubt it was a random check. Far more likely through intelligence or tip-off. Almost always the case.

me agree too
oh dear
what is happening to singaporeans
must be some financial debacle somewhere
sad case

tanakow

don't believe too much of this crap that Custom take it easy when you fly in from Singapore. This is just a myth by SPF that they are very good.

When the Custom pulls a passenger for inspection, he does not know where the passenger comes from.

Many drug smugglers and their bosses choose the S'pore route for a simple reason. They believe Customs overseas are more 'relax' when plane with passengers are flying in from Singapore.

kongsimi

so poor thing!!

old lonely and kena life imprisonment in foreign land.

one of the few asian asses in the prison.

kena sodomized by angmo dee dees.

is it really worth it?

pay me a million i also won't do it.

SIA employee charged with trafficking 1.6kg of heroin in Australia
2013-03-24
A 50-year-old Singapore Airlines cabin crew member arrested in Sydney for drug trafficking was charged in an Australian court last week.

That was confirmed by the Australian Federal Police yesterday.

The Singaporean was arrested last Sunday at Sydney International Airport for attempting to import 1.6kg of heroin into the country.

The Australian Federal Police spokesman told The Sunday Times that the cabin crew member has been charged with "importing a commercial quantity of a border-controlled drug, namely heroin".