• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

will you vote for SDP in the next General Election?

• Yes, they speaking out on Burmese issue

Votes: 4 14.8%
  • No, they speaking out on Burmese issue instead of Singaporeans, wtf SDP = Sure Die Party lah

Votes: 18 66.7%
  • Yes, they maintained friendships with OUR ASIAN FRIENDS, say the uncle clown

Votes: 3 11.1%
  • No, they help to protest for the rights of FTs instead of Singaporeans

Votes: 8 29.6%

• Total voters

DannyBoyBoy

Yes, they speaking out on Burmese issue

No, they speaking out on Burmese issue instead of Singaporeans, wtf SDP = Sure Die Party lah

Yes, they maintained friendships with OUR ASIAN FRIENDS, say the uncle clown

No, they help to protest for the rights of foreigners instead of Singaporeans "Jobs for FTs NS for Singaporean " wtf !!!

DannyBoyBoy

Two activists were arrested at around 1 pm outside MOM Building.

2 activists arrested for speaking out on Burmese issue

Written by Ng E-Jay
12 Jan 2009, 1.30pm

Two activists, Seelan Palay and Chong Kai Xiong, were arrested at around 1pm for staging a protest outside the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) Building over the non-renewals of Burmese work permits.

The activists, who were decked in red T-shirts, were holding placards.

The activists were arrested on grounds of trespassing.

More updates will be posted when available.

More Burmese facing expulsion from Singapore

Seelan Palay
Yet another two Burmese nationals working in Singapore have fallen victim to the Government for their support of the pro-democracy movement in their home country.
In the latest development, Singapore’s Manpower Ministry is refusing to renew the work permits of Mr Moe Kyaw Thu, 35 and Mr Win Kyaw, 38, who had both worked here for 11 years each. Moe is a construction supervisor and Win, a technical supervisor.
This drastic turn of events resulted from the two men’s involvement in highlighting human rights abuses by the Burmese military junta following its crackdown of the pro-democracy movement in Rangoon led by monks in September last year.
Moe in particular appealed to MOM reiterating that he has no police record of any kind and he has fully respected the laws of Singapore while working here.
Both men have participated in the activities of the Overseas Burmese Patriots (OBP), an advocacy group formed in Singapore after the military crackdown. The group was involved in organizing and conducting a series of public campaigns in Singapore against the Burmese regime.
One of the activities was when over 40 Burmese, assembled in groups of four, held a peaceful protest along Orchard Road on 20 Nov 07 during the ASEAN Summit in nearby Shangri-la Hotel.
Following the event, the group was accused by the Singapore Government of deliberately breaking local laws. Its members were given a police warning for their participation in the protest. But none of the Burmese activists were ever charged with any unlawful act while pursuing their political objectives.
The hands of the PAP Government first became apparent in September this year when three members of the OBP were expelled when their work permits or residence in Singapore came up for renewal.
Deputy Prime Minister and Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng defended the Government’s action then, stating that the Immigration and Checkpoints Authority “considers this small group to be undesirable persons and rightly decided they should leave.”
In the ongoing saga, despite their employers wanting to retain them, Moe and Win have been ordered to leave Singapore by the end of January 2009.
“If they send me back, my family will suffer greatly. I’d have to spend the rest of my life in prison.” said Moe.
The latest expulsions go against the sympathy and support that Burmese pro-democracy activists receive throughout the world. The inhumane act of the Singapore Government is an indirect endorsement of the murderous Burmese junta.
[email protected]

http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?t=14668

DannyBoyBoy

Re: Two activists were arrested at around 1 pm outside MOM Building.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jw5 View Post
Why don't they protest for the rights of Singaporeans instead of for foreigners?

by uncle clown

What RUBBISH?!

The question is where were YOU when they were protesting for Singaporeans so many times. Where were YOU when they protested and got arrested more than once including Tak Boleh Tahan at Parliament?

They are right and they are good, because not only they had protested for OUR Singaporeans including you JW5, they also maintained friendships with OUR ASIAN FRIENDS.

Fighters in Asia need to network and join forces.

I always insist this.

famiLEE LEEgime are COWARDS to have arrested them. to LEEgime.

DannyBoyBoy

Originally Posted by scroobal
Quote:
You should really step aside if you have no clue what to do, where to go and how to do anything in the fight for a democratic Singapore.

Despite all these years and the amount of attention that you have sought and received, no one knows who you are and your background is really hazy as the day that you took stage.

You continue to hijack events of the opposition, you write nonsense about flowers next to toilets, you cast a shadow of comedy and sillyness on their cause and you sure know how to rain on a parade.
LOL

DannyBoyBoy

But you are the only one that is going to every opposition event, whether invited or not, take centre stage, claim to be fighting the lee clan , day and night etc. No other ctizen makes claims like you.
So what have you achieved so far?

DannyBoyBoy

Quote:
Originally Posted by uncleyap View Post
What RUBBISH?!

The question is where were YOU when they were protesting for Singaporeans so many times. Where were YOU when they protested and got arrested more than once including Tak Boleh Tahan at Parliament?

They are right and they are good, because not only they had protested for OUR Singaporeans including you JW5, they also maintained friendships with OUR ASIAN FRIENDS.

Fighters in Asia need to network and join forces.

I always insist this.

famiLEE LEEgime are COWARDS to have arrested them. to LEEgime.

Originally Posted by scroobal

I don't think you got the pulse of the country or even understand the needs of Singaporeans. Firstly we can't even protest for our own cause. Secondly both the burmese chaps are supervisors. They are no ordinary contract workers. Singaporeans have steadily lost these types of jobs because there is no minimum wage and as long as there is 3rd world country ready to do it, the wages will remain low. Naturally there will be negative sentiments floating around.

At a time of recession, jobs for Singaporeans are paramount.

We all know the PAP are basically tyrannical and elitist. There is no need to convince us of that. Know how to pick your battle.

As the saying goes - charity begins at home.

This is another example why SDP and those associated with it still can't garner support from Singaporeans. Obviously the Burmese cause rings bells in washington and in the NGO world but jobless singaporeans do not.

DannyBoyBoy

Originally Posted by csi88

Quote:

Uncle Yap,
I totally disagreed with you this time. Why are they protesting for FT??? What Burmese issues had to do with Singapore??
When we vote for a particular candidate in the elections,we vote for him or her to represent us.we as fellow SINGAPOREANS we need someone to voice out for us and not foreign issues here. Basically if SDP is capable of winning a seat in the coming elections, then I will reserved my comments here. so in the meantime,if SDP is voicing out for Singaporeans here,then it might change my mind. One tak boleh tahan protest cant speaks much for itself.

siaosdp

chee sucking up obama to hantam sgp
see what a cunning opportunist would do. chee is even sucking up to obama. hmm, wonder how Oba would reply him or ask himself: WHO THE HELL IS THE CHEE??! bye to him! letter ends up picking dog poo.

Dr Chee congratulates President Obama ! (like real!)

Dear President Obama,

An occasion of great moment has come upon America this 20th day of January 2009. It is a day summoned by history to what is good and noble as you are inaugurated President of the United States.

My colleagues and I at the Singapore Democratic Party, extend to you our heartfelt congratulations.

We are especially encouraged by what you said on Human Rights Day in December last year:: “When the United States stands up for human rights, by example at home and by effort abroad, we align ourselves with men and women around the world who struggle for the right to speak their minds, to choose their leaders, and to be treated with dignity and respect.”

Alas here in Asia there are altogether too many men and women who still labour under authoritarian regimes and dictatorships.

Mdm Aung San Suu Kyi and her fellow servants of democracy in Burma continue to languish in dark cells simply for daring to dream of freedom. The military government needs to know that with new leadership in the United States, it cannot be repression-as-usual. Change, urgent change must come to Burma, a country that civility has so cruelly forsaken.

In my country, Singapore, the repression is no less severe -- its ugly form made only less grotesque by an English-speaking regime that cleverly uses terms like the "rule of law" and "good governance" to cover up what is effectively a dictatorship.

How else can you describe a government that prohibits public speech and peaceful assembly, completely controls the media, continues to detain its citizens without trial, and manipulates elections?

My party colleagues and fellow human rights advocates have been arrested and prosecuted for taking part in peaceful protests. In March last year 18 of us stood outside our Parliament and protested against the rising cost of living in Singapore. For that we were dragged away by the police and charged for taking part in an illegal procession and assembly. The trial is on-going.

I face multiple charges for speaking in public and conducting protests. I've already been imprisoned seven times. I've been sued for defamation by government leaders and made a bankrupt. As a result I've been banned from standing for elections and barred from travelling overseas. I've been jailed twice for contempt of court.

But don't get me wrong. I'm not complaining. And neither are my associates. We fight for justice and freedom with gladness in our hearts.

But even as I make this video, the Singapore government is already crafting yet more laws to make it even more difficult for the public to conduct protests.

I understand that the United States' relations with Singapore is one based on pragmatism. We are a strong military ally and valuable trading partner. What I don't understand is how a democratic Singapore that respects the rights of its people, undermines this relationship. In fact, a Singapore that practices the rule of law is very much in the interests of the US, both long-term and short.

It is my sincere hope that your administration's foreign policy will be as enlightened as you. I have every confidence that under the leadership of Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, the US will pay more attention to the human rights abuses of the Singapore government and take positive steps to help Singapore join the Community of Democracies.

Before your entry into politics you were a community organiser and civil rights lawyer. Because of this you understand what it is like to be under the crushing weight of poverty.

In Singapore we have a significant layer of the underclass. Like many, I am sure you are shocked to hear that the poor in Singapore are not a small minority. People living in cardboard boxes, stealing scraps of leftovers in public eating places, and the rummaging through dumpsters for something to sell is not an uncommon sight in Singapore.

The tragedy is they suffer in silence for they have no rights and no avenue speak their pain.

But while they suffer, our Prime Minister pays himself a salary that is six times yours. This income disparity did not come about because of the free-market system. It came about because of deliberate policy-making designed to attract the world's wealth to this country, legitimate or otherwise. This is why Singapore has become a tax haven, one that benefits only the rich and super-rich in this country but leaves much of the rest of society neglected.

Like you I have young children whom I love dearly. Like yours I want mine to grow up in a society that places rights before riches, people before profits, a society that values justice and one that is free as it is strong.

It is my hope that the universality of human rights and your leadership will help make the world a better place for your children and mine.

Again, I want to take this opportunity to congratulate you on this most special of days. The load that you bear is heavy and the responsibility you shoulder immense. But I have no doubt that the confidence that your fellow citizens have placed in you will be fully vindicated.

Under your leadership, I look forward to a world that is freer, more democratic, and more just.

Thank you and God Bless.

Dr Chee always encourage democracy and human rights. USA is the country that hold strong to that and now that same country is having a new president, It is just right that Dr Chee says something.

For sucking up, the PAP MP who regard that pple are lesser mortal is the real suck up to his master as the sinkie master is the real god ( supreme Immortal) to him.

guavatree

chee sucking up obama to hantam sgp
see what a cunning opportunist would do. chee is even sucking up to obama. hmm, wonder how Oba would reply him or ask himself: WHO THE HELL IS THE CHEE??! bye to him! letter ends up picking dog poo.

old fart faggot fake monk PAP dog Bob Sim Kheng Hwee, temple thief, swindler, fraudster, cheat, con-artist, liar, deceiver, all rolled into one!

you stole temple donation money and the chief monk told you to fuck off!

you bashed your 70+ y.o.father until bloody when he threw away your gay porn materials!

you called your mother LAUCHEEBYE when she reprimanded you for doing fuck all at home except prostituting yourself round-the-clock in cyberspace!

you also stole handphones and claimed that handphones waved at you!

you steal other's forum password!

you tried to con a forummer's property

you tried to con the same person to include your name in his will when he discovered that you tried to con his property!

you cursed an old man at his death bed!

you tried to con laukwayboos but you end up only con some free makan!

suteerak1099

at the rate that the cuntry is being run now, i'd definately prefer to remove some of the overpaid monkeys in white, substituting the overpaid monkeys is probably 1 of the most important thing to do....... even if it means sustituting them with easily affordable monkeys.

hankcock

i agree wit suteerak, but my main concern is not whether they are overpaid or are they monkeys, rather i think singapore needs another party to check and balance the PAP, so that we can vote for the PAP for another 50 years. Look at taiwan, bian only ran taiwan for 8 years, and billons of $ missing, LKY ran singapore for 48 looooooong years, only god knows wat happen to singaporeans hard earn $. Today i think singaporeans should stand up not only for themselves but for their children and singapore future, for if it is not you to stand up and fight for your own future WHO WILL? For it is not now that you stand up and fight for your own future THEN WHEN?