• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why is Government going crazy with "good news"??

CPT (NS) BRANDON

1) Construction of 2 new MRT lines

2) Cooling measures for property

3) Increased baby bonus

Do you think they are scared?

Seems like this is playing into WP's hands -- WP's entire message is that more opposition in Parliament will get the Government to do more for the people. By giving out goodies like this, PAP is shooting itself in the foot.

3) Increased baby bonus

Seems like this is playing into WP's hands -- WP's entire message is that more opposition in Parliament will get the Government to do more for the people. By giving out goodies like this, PAP is shooting itself in the foot.

4) Singapore population will go up to 7mil (this crucial information is deliberately omitted)

wwabbit

Exactly what is happening. Before 2011, the PAP would never do this kind of thing. Remember when GST increased right after GE2006?

While it does look like the Government is giving out goodies, you have to notice that they are actually giving out very little. Far less than what the Worker's Party have asked for. And they have been dragging their feet taking a long time to finally give it.

They know that by doing nothing they will lose more votes faster. Sure they may play into Worker's Party's hands, but at least they can slow down the loss, and they aren't giving that much away anyway.

cunnilaubu

of course they are worried. Very worried.
If PAP loses Punggol, it will be their 3rd successive election setbacks (4th if you count PE2011).
It will have serious implications not only for PAP but the PM as well.
No Singapore PM has ever suffered such humiliations before.

I am sure LTK & WP will milk this to its fullest. :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Before election, I give you "goodies"

After election, budget time speech, tharman said Singaporeans need to foot the cost for all these "goodies". Further transport fare hike, school fee hike, childcare fee hike, TC fee hike, utilitiy fee hike, property fee hike. PE voters will be screwed double-hard after BE.

jubilee1919

Singapore will need more MRT lines to cater to the future needs of their projected ideal population of 7 million. Also do not forget the 1.2 billion they are offering to the bus operators to assist them in their expansion.

This thread should explain it clearly...http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?141285-Singapre-Diverting-property-hot-money-into-Malaysia

3) Increased baby bonus

I doubt it has anything to do with WP as this has been in their planning all along. Baby bonuses was proposed last year and more babies will not only be from Singapore-born citizens but also from newly registered citizens. The offer will attract more new citizens and this is a 2-prong strategy to have foreigners migrate and get new pink IC's.

You are definitely way off the mark thinking one BE is going to frighten them. They have done their homework and planning on such matters long before anyone knew it. When something major is about to get approval in Parliament, you can bet your bottom dollar they have all the answers before anyone can even thought of the question.:eek:

jubilee1919

To add, there are there are no goodies!

You all think more MRT lines are for you? No way. Cooling measures to ensure prices of properties are manageable in order businesses will not be put off by high rentals. Babies bonuses are not for Singaporeans only but to attract new citizens to settle and have babies!

Get one thing straight here, the PAP are not pushovers. They have well-thought of plans and they intend to remain in power for a looooooong looooooong time. Get it?

tangugu

You know.

I know.

The 40% know.

Some of the 60% know but act don't know.

The rest of the 60% really don't know (and need help).

... By giving out goodies like this, PAP is shooting itself in the foot.
dun b conned by ze so-called goodies ...

remember wat ah loon n his jin-gang did after 2011 erections ... dey wil continue 2 do so after tis by-erection ...

dey wil take back evryting dey gif out 2 u now in other means n form ... evry cent dey gif out n much mor ...

vote wisely so dat ah loon n his jin-gang do not dare 2 b so bold n daring in fixing peasants ...

Mitsui

4) Singapore population will go up to 7mil (this crucial information is deliberately omitted)

That's right. The lines have to be profitable and more HDBs will be built along those places. Therefore, more FTs needed to fund the project and high profit margin for Pay And Pay.

griffin

3) Increased baby bonus

The things that you had mentioned are going to benefit foreigners and new citizens more than us natives. It is a well-known fact that owing to the high cost of living Sinkies are marrying later and and having babies even much later. However, this is not so with ahneh and ahtiong women who can be seen walking the streets like thyroid stricken hippos. The government measures appear to help these people possibly to please their nations.

Gryphon

The things that you had mentioned are going to benefit foreigners and new citizens more than us natives.

That depends on whether they still have a second passport to fall back on. They can always leave anytime. Selling their properties with huge profit margins. Sinkies are eventually the suckers.

tangugu

No difference from those HDB upgrading gimmicks of the past, which backfired.

The PAP still think voters are naive??

watchman8

3) Increased baby bonus

These are hardly good news. The two new mrt lines are only to be completed in 2030, by then one-third of today's voters are dead or too weak to move around independently. So the announcement of the new mrt lines is only meant to lay in the ground work for population white paper coming next week.

The property cooling measure is double edge sword. It has pissed off quite some people, like property agents and those looking to buy and sell properties. These measures are forced upon govt because of rampant speculation.

The increased baby bonus is merely to keep up with inflation.

jubilee1919

The demand for new homes is not only from Singaporeans. How come there is more demand when there are fewer babies each year? NO, the demand for more homes is not from Singaporeans but mostly by the increasing population of foreign-born residents. Do your sums all of you. If fewer babies are replacing the old, how then can there be a demand for more homes? It should actually be less as population is declining.

We know for a fact that the government is increasing our population, hence the strong demand for more properties. With the influx of new residents, the strain on our infrastructure is very telling. GUESS WHO foots the bill for more transport needs, increasing cost of living and more of everything to meet the needs of a burgeoning population. Yes, we all are paying for them through taxes, increase costs of public services, GST, COE, you name it.

It was not too long ago we were paying $1.50 for a plate of chicken rice, now it is double at $3.00. Has our wages gone up double too? We are paying a heavy price because of our government's policies and their high salaries, including the thousands of highly paid civil servants that can pay thousands of dollars to have their families take up French cooking lessons.:eek: