• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The role of an MP: National AND Local issues!

Rumpole

“Local issues” vs “National issues”, sounds familiar. PAP trying to hoodwink and deceive peasants again about the true role of an MP in a Westminster style democracy. If you believe Pinocchio Teo in the second video, you will walk away with the mistaken belief that an MP’s job is to help constituents get welfare if they need it, make sure the street lamps are working, etc.

No, that is not the MP’s job. That is the Government’s job. Make no mistake about that.

The MP is there to give the civil servants a kick in the butt, through the proper channels of course, if they don’t do it properly in his constituency. The civil servant’s job is to ensure that he respond to the MP’s kick in good time and rectify the problems identified promptly and expeditiously without discrimination between PAP and Opposition wards. Or to put it in another way, the civil servant’s job is really to ensure that in the first place, no MP, PAP or Opposition, will find cause to complain to him about municipal or other governmental services in any part of Singapore.

In the words of the lady MP shown in this first video: “The role of an MP is not just to represent constituents, but to split your time between being in the constituency [local issues] and in Westminster [national issues]. In Westminster, you take part in debates, ask questions of Ministers, help to scrutinise legislation, and vote for legislation or against it if you don’t support it.”

[video=youtube;1iL3F-q1aLA]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1iL3F-q1aLA[/video]

So, Pinocchio Teo, please stop trying to use the State Owned Propaganda Machine to hoodwink peasants. As for the voters of Punggol East, please vote wisely. Put National issues in the foreground when deciding how you will vote and recognise that it is your right to have services funded by taxpayers’ money regardless of which party you voted for in this by-election.

Hint, hint, Friday 18th January 2013, time now is 2.51 pm in Singapore and 6.51 am in London. A certain professor should be where now?

Rumpole of the Bailey

* Rumpole is the main character in a British TV series about an ageing London barrister who defends any and all clients (see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rumpole_of_the_Bailey for more info). The author, who is an NUS law grad living and working abroad, chose this moniker to encourage an interest in legal issues because it does not just affect lawyers and their clients. The everyday layman needs to be informed of his rights and obligations and in the context of the “Little Red Dot” to avoid being talked down to or misled by their highly paid Ministers, including those that don’t have any portfolio, or civil servants with bad attitude and poor knowledge of the laws which they are supposed to be enforcing.

Rumpole

Anyone who is still interested in hearing from Pinnochio, please watch his video here.

[video=youtube;awcnepZugEY]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=awcnepZugEY[/video]

Bigfuck

Oi the screwball ask who are you leh? You wanna answer? Speculation by him is you are Teh. Some other gook say you are WW. You decide who you wanna be.

Rumpole

Oi the screwball ask who are you leh? You wanna answer? Speculation by him is you are Teh. Some other gook say you are WW. You decide who you wanna be.

I wanna be me. Who is WW?

Now is 3.48 pm Singapore time, 7.48 am London time. Somebody else is still in the dock.

6000kmApart

Really,

Town Councillors = local issues (neighbourhood cleanliness, amenities like markets, shopping centres, libraries, schools, resident matters etc)

Member of Parliaments = National issues (Increase of population, public transport, GIC funds, defence, education, cost of living etc)

One is administrative, the other policy making

Both should be democratically elected. Town Councillors should be devoid of political association, they serve all the people under their care be it PAP, WP, SDP etc supporters

PAP made MPs bear both local and national responsibilities is a great scam.

Do you think MPs got so much time a day to fix your toilet bowl and at the same time debate on FT issues? Remember all PAP MPs have other portfolios like directorship and what not?

This is a scam simply because the PAP control every governmental department and bureaucracy including PA, grassroots, media and all which made it hard for opposition parties to compete.

Why is WP more accepted? Because they deal more with local issues, walking the ground and all that. And when it comes to parliament debate on national policies, they are quiet.

SDP and RP more policy-orientated, housing, healthcare, GIC investments, democratic and civil rights - that is why they are still on the sidelines

Bottomline: Majority Sinkies still very much care about bread and butter issues. they cannot see at the macro level why their bread and butter issues are being affected and undermined. like it or not, national issues affect local issues (and vice versa) but on a broad base national issues set the tone for local conditions. Unless majority see this, there won't be much positive change moving forward

yellowarse

Why is WP more accepted? Because they deal more with local issues, walking the ground and all that. And when it comes to parliament debate on national policies, they are quiet.

SDP and RP more policy-orientated, housing, healthcare, GIC investments, democratic and civil rights - that is why they are still on the sidelines

Bottomline: Majority Sinkies still very much care about bread and butter issues. they cannot see at the macro level why their bread and butter issues are being affected and undermined. like it or not, national issues affect local issues (and vice versa) but on a broad base national issues set the tone for local conditions. Unless majority see this, there won't be much positive change moving forward

Well said. Up you later.

ray_of_hope

SDP wants S 377a repealed. It should run on that platform at the next GE.
In any case others will remind voters that that is a key part of SDP's platform.

wwabbit

I think you need to understand that the parliament is pretty much a useless show as long as the PAP holds at least the 67% of the seats. It doesn't matter whether you have a super duper eloquent fiery orator speaker that totally trashes the PAP in the debates, as long as the PAP wields the whip, they will push through any motion they want and vote out any motions they don't like.

How then, can the parties convince the government to do the right thing?

Do you remember what happened immediately after GE2011? Ministers were retired. The ministerial salaries were reviewed, and eventually their salaries were cut by up to 50%. A lot more flats were reviewed. Work permits and permanent residence quotas were tightened. For the first time in a long while, the government actually listened to the people instead of increasing GST right after a GE. How did this happen?

The answer of course, is in Worker's Party winning the Aljunied GRC. This was the first time ever that the PAP learn about fear. To fear the people.

In order to work together for a better Singapore, we need to work together on this. We need the parties to work the ground to win the votes so that the PAP will continue to lose GRCs. On our part we need to help get these parties elected by voting for them. Parliamentary debates? Screw those, they don't do shit.

metalmickey

Do you remember what happened immediately after GE2011? Ministers were retired. The ministerial salaries were reviewed, and eventually their salaries were cut by up to 50%. A lot more flats were reviewed. Work permits and permanent residence quotas were tightened. For the first time in a long while, the government actually listened to the people instead of increasing GST right after a GE. How did this happen?

The answer of course, is in Worker's Party winning the Aljunied GRC. This was the first time ever that the PAP learn about fear. To fear the people.

In order to work together for a better Singapore, we need to work together on this. We need the parties to work the ground to win the votes so that the PAP will continue to lose GRCs. On our part we need to help get these parties elected by voting for them. Parliamentary debates? Screw those, they don't do shit.

True, but what happens in 10, 20 years' time when the government has decided - we're not going to fear losing a supermajority, we've already lost it, I can't keep on giving a shit every day.

Then we'll have to figure out what to do next.

wwabbit

Err.. then they will have to fear about not being able to get their motions to change the constitutions passed.
Then they will need to fear about losing the simple majority.

ray_of_hope

True, but what happens in 10, 20 years' time when the government has decided - we're not going to fear losing a supermajority, we've already lost it, I can't keep on giving a shit every day.

Then we'll have to figure out what to do next.

That is called political evolution, which is a painstaking process. CSJ thought that the PAP could be unseated in the foreseeable future. In his words: "More importantly, we would like to see how opposition parties can work closer together in the interest of unseating the PAP to bring about a democratic system in Singapore." This sure speaks to his state of mind. :biggrin:

metalmickey

Err.. then they will have to fear about not being able to get their motions to change the constitutions passed.
Then they will need to fear about losing the simple majority.

OK, then they'll leave, pack up and won't give a shit. And in their place will be people who may or may not give a shit.

Democracy puts in our hands the power to kick out people. But it doesn't guarantee us that there will be people who give a shit.

Last I heard, George Yeo's enjoying his life and not really missing public service.

metalmickey

That is called political evolution, which is a painstaking process. CSJ thought that the PAP could be unseated in the foreseeable future. In his words: "More importantly, we would like to see how opposition parties can work closer together in the interest of unseating the PAP to bring about a democratic system in Singapore." This sure speaks to his state of mind. :biggrin:

Yeh yeh. Therefore:

Worker's party working hard to win seats in parliament - good.
CSJ exhorting the opposition parties to work together to unseat the PAP - bad.

I think you need to understand that the parliament is pretty much a useless show as long as the PAP holds at least the 67% of the seats. It doesn't matter whether you have a super duper eloquent fiery orator speaker that totally trashes the PAP in the debates, as long as the PAP wields the whip, they will push through any motion they want and vote out any motions they don't like.

How then, can the parties convince the government to do the right thing?

A spurious correlation, just like hem lines and the Dow Jones. Liberals who have lived overseas for a period became conscious of the vast difference in personal freedom between Sporeta and the developed world, suddenly found they were unable to emigrate due to subcontinent types jumping the queue. Conservatives on the other hand became militant with the jobs stolen and salaries depressed with increasing reliance on migrant workforce. The WP is but a placebo in a controlled experiment to register voter discontent with the PAP. That they have done very well, but I think it is time to expect a little more.

Voters of Ponggol East SMC, this is my plea to you. 2016 is not that far off. This coming by-election in 2013, show the WP you are not happy... yada yada teach them a lesson blah blah... black eye... et cetera. Make your vote count!

Cosmos10

Mojito, I agree with you, I wish for the same result too, so that the WP will eat some humble pie and start learning to cooperate with other parties. The last thing I wish is for Singapore to be turned into a "Chinatown" even though I am a Chinese.

Cosmos10

Hi fellow forummers, sorry for posting so many posts all at one go :-) You know I am new, so I am trying to post as much as possible in order to skip the "moderation" stage soon. BTW, how many posts must I post before the forum boss graduate me to the next grade and release my posts from moderation, huh?

steffychun

“Local issues” vs “National issues”, sounds familiar. PAP trying to hoodwink and deceive peasants again about the true role of an MP in a Westminster style democracy. If you believe Pinocchio Teo in the second video, you will walk away with the mistaken belief that an MP’s job is to help constituents get welfare if they need it, make sure the street lamps are working, etc.

No, that is not the MP’s job. That is the Government’s job. Make no mistake about that.

The MP is there to give the civil servants a kick in the butt, through the proper channels of course, if they don’t do it properly in his constituency. The civil servant’s job is to ensure that he respond to the MP’s kick in good time and rectify the problems identified promptly and expeditiously without discrimination between PAP and Opposition wards. Or to put it in another way, the civil servant’s job is really to ensure that in the first place, no MP, PAP or Opposition, will find cause to complain to him about municipal or other governmental services in any part of Singapore.

In the words of the lady MP shown in this first video: “The role of an MP is not just to represent constituents, but to split your time between being in the constituency [local issues] and in Westminster [national issues]. In Westminster, you take part in debates, ask questions of Ministers, help to scrutinise legislation, and vote for legislation or against it if you don’t support it.”

[video=youtube;1iL3F-q1aLA]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1iL3F-q1aLA[/video]

So, Pinocchio Teo, please stop trying to use the State Owned Propaganda Machine to hoodwink peasants. As for the voters of Punggol East, please vote wisely. Put National issues in the foreground when deciding how you will vote and recognise that it is your right to have services funded by taxpayers’ money regardless of which party you voted for in this by-election.

Hint, hint, Friday 18th January 2013, time now is 2.51 pm in Singapore and 6.51 am in London. A certain professor should be where now?

Rumpole of the Bailey

* Rumpole is the main character in a British TV series about an ageing London barrister who defends any and all clients (see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rumpole_of_the_Bailey for more info). The author, who is an NUS law grad living and working abroad, chose this moniker to encourage an interest in legal issues because it does not just affect lawyers and their clients. The everyday layman needs to be informed of his rights and obligations and in the context of the “Little Red Dot” to avoid being talked down to or misled by their highly paid Ministers, including those that don’t have any portfolio, or civil servants with bad attitude and poor knowledge of the laws which they are supposed to be enforcing.

MPs in the UK sit inn select committees covering defence, foreign relations, international development, finance etc. SG MPs sit in committees to say yes sir!

Do you think it is rigth to say vote KJ into parliament to set a higher bar for opposition to deal with national issue like IMF and check balance sheet of TH and GLC and match LHL finance mathematic skills?

Leave toilet bowl leaks to the town Council civil servant to fix and KJ fix the MAS account, a financial keeper of people CPF money.

To do this Singapore needs a mature citizens to understand how to vote with their brains.