• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WP has no balls to talk about SMRT strike…..........or have they also gone on strike?

skponggol

Time to reinstate workers' rights
http://yoursdp.org/news/time_to_reinstate_workers_rights/2012-11-28-5471

National Solidarity Party’s statement on the strike at SMRT
http://nsp.sg/2012/11/28/national-solidarity-partys-statement-on-the-strike-at-smrt/

Other Opposition parties have already spoken up on the SMRT strike. Why is Vichy WP, the self-styled “First World Opposition Party”, continues to AWOL and go on strike just as they have always done so on almost every other major issues.

Instead of being First to respond, Vichy WP has now become Last.

Instead of being a Leader in challenging the PAP regime, Vichy WP has now become a Follower.

Instead of being “First World Opposition Leaders”, Vichy WP has now become Last World “Opposition” Followers.

What a bunch of pathetic eunuchs.

SecurityGUARD

Re: WP has no balls to talk about SMRT strike…..........or have they also gone on str

What is WP? Sorry I not familiar with sg politics.

skponggol

Re: WP has no balls to talk about SMRT strike…..........or have they also gone on str

Lina Chiam: Labour laws & tripartism not working
http://www.spp.org.sg/spp-statement-on-the-recent-smrt-bus-strike/

Vichy WP, where is your stand on the SMRT strike……Every Opposition parties has already made themselves clear on this strike………..Why are we waiting ??? Why so indecisive? Why so scared?

What kind of a “First World Opposition” is this who can never seem to able to decide on anything? Did “魏徵” always have no ball to speak up his mind?

Does any “First World Opposition” need to apply permit from the ruling party before they dare to speak up? Did “魏徵” always ask for “免死令牌” from His Majesty before he dared to talk?

Btw, the people in this country are still waiting for Vichy WP notorious indecision on the Casino issue. Since the last decade, they have been indecisive whether they are for or against the Casino. Even up to this very day, these eunuchs are still unable to make up their mind….Hopefully, people won’t have to wait for another decade before they can decide to whether to say anything about this SMRT strike.

……

Its better if WP dont say a word and continue working the ground to get more votes for the next GE. I will not support WP saying anything about the strike unless it benefits Singaporean workers. The strike is caused by Ah Tiongs, and I dont give a rats ass about what has happen to them.

If WP speaks up for the Ah Tiongs, I will lose confidence as they are fighting for foreigners...true singaporeans do not need another Vincent V that do traitorous things like supporting foreigners instead of locals.

Left Wing Liberal bullshit has no place in SIngapore,,,and it should be kept that way.

And SKPONGOL,,stop KPKB about the WP,,,why dont u attack PAP instead? u are another best weapon the PAP has against Singaporeans

tanwahp

Its better if WP dont say a word and continue working the ground to get more votes for the next GE. I will not support WP saying anything about the strike unless it benefits Singaporean workers. The strike is caused by Ah Tiongs, and I dont give a rats ass about what has happen to them.

If WP speaks up for the Ah Tiongs, I will lose confidence as they are fighting for foreigners...true singaporeans do not need another Vincent V that do traitorous things like supporting foreigners instead of locals.

Left Wing Liberal bullshit has no place in SIngapore,,,and it should be kept that way.

And SKPONGOL,,stop KPKB about the WP,,,why dont u attack PAP instead? u are another best weapon the PAP has against Singaporeans

There are only two ways to take this. To take the side of the government or take the side of the China workers. If you try to be ambiguous, you will still be lumped into either one as the statements get lost in perception. I think WP is doing it right. Even then, I have a feeling that the issue will be discussed in parliament.

It might be early but I sense that support for SDP's and NSP's statements is less enthusiastic as compared with other issues. As 3rd and 4th parties down the line, they need to be careful not to position themselves as merely barking dogs barking on every issue.

WP's weakness is its inability or disregard of perceptions. They might be good at selling their strengths, like activities, ground presence and the large diversity and numbers of members. But there may come a point where people don't care what your good points are, but what your bad points do not serve. Their opponents managed to paint them as "inactive" simply by one tactic - to just keep repeating it. This is obviously intentional and not heartfelt as the pattern of the tactic mirrors the way propaganda is typically used.

I'm not sure why but you notice WP has never addressed the issue of their "quietness", "inactiveness" or any synonym related to these words. Personally, I think WP is the party that raises the most issues. But prolonged drilling of such concepts only serve to damage its shield.

skponggol

So Vichy WP eunuchs choose act blur, keep quiet and ignore the plight of foreign workers simply because they are foreign. Is the xenophobic Vichy WP again trying to attract more teabaggers and skin-heads to join their anti-foreigners’ crusade?

The “Workers” Party is anything but about the workers, so they should change their name to “Singapore First Party” to attract more like-minded Hammerrhoid zombies.

Xenophobic Vichy WP talks about social problems caused by SMRT foreign bus drivers:
1. SMRT foreign bus drivers’ impact on infrastructure, jobs and houses;
2. Would removing SMRT foreign bus drivers back to “Cheena” be a viable solution?

[video=youtube;QozK3hz4O6Y]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QozK3hz4O6Y[/video]
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QozK3hz4O6Y

Since Vichy WP eunuchs share the same aspiration and agenda as Australia First Party….Both should form sister party and together become truly “First World Opposition Parties”.

cleareyes

I find this questioning or WP and the issuing of statements by SDP and NSP comfusing.

Why should any of the political parties in singapore, run by Singaporean, should speak up on matters that concening and for foreginers? Aint they suppose to be taking the side of Singapore, on how such actions by foreginers had created problems and this to not be repeated?

Or has these parties, are now supporting foreginers too??

Imo, WP should question the pertinent ministries on what caused this strike, actions taken to prevent another strike taking place etc. Could this strike be avoided ion the first place?

More importantly, was the course of action taken by the authorities appropriate, timely etc. Is the 2k maximum fine and maximum 12 mths jail term sufficient ? Look at other less serious offences, victimless ones included, and it quite clearly shows the CLTP to deal to strikes is far too lenient.

Maybe the MIW felt no one would dare go on strike in S'pore. Or, our intel agencies would be able to alert them to one even before it took place. Complacent?

watchman8

Imo, WP should question the pertinent ministries on what caused this strike, actions taken to prevent another strike taking place etc. Could this strike be avoided ion the first place?

More importantly, was the course of action taken by the authorities appropriate, timely etc. Is the 2k maximum fine and maximum 12 mths jail term sufficient ? Look at other less serious offences, victimless ones included, and it quite clearly shows the CLTP to deal to strikes is far too lenient.

Maybe the MIW felt no one would dare go on strike in S'pore. Or, our intel agencies would be able to alert them to one even before it took place. Complacent?
That would have potential of appearing as unsympathetic to workers' plight, foreign or local. Better to highlight the dangers of having such a big proportion of FW in Singapore and warning the pap to halt or even reverse the inflow of FW, as otherwise the security of the nation will be compromised. Also to highlight the poor living conditions of FW as indicative of employers poor conduct and lack of concern for welfare of all workers. SMRT is a GLC and should have set better examples.

SgParent

Time to reinstate workers' rights
http://yoursdp.org/news/time_to_reinstate_workers_rights/2012-11-28-5471

National Solidarity Party’s statement on the strike at SMRT
http://nsp.sg/2012/11/28/national-solidarity-partys-statement-on-the-strike-at-smrt/

Other Opposition parties have already spoken up on the SMRT strike. Why is Vichy WP, the self-styled “First World Opposition Party”, continues to AWOL and go on strike just as they have always done so on almost every other major issues.

Instead of being First to respond, Vichy WP has now become Last.

Instead of being a Leader in challenging the PAP regime, Vichy WP has now become a Follower.

Instead of being “First World Opposition Leaders”, Vichy WP has now become Last World “Opposition” Followers.

What a bunch of pathetic eunuchs.

This looks like a purely employment/contractual dispute between employees and employers. What's there to comment about?

And I thought I've seen the same lame question over and over, under different thread. And I'm suspected of spamming for repeating myself above.

SgParent

That would have potential of appearing as unsympathetic to workers' plight, foreign or local. Better to highlight the dangers of having such a big proportion of FW in Singapore and warning the pap to halt or even reverse the inflow of FW, as otherwise the security of the nation will be compromised. Also to highlight the poor living conditions of FW as indicative of employers poor conduct and lack of concern for welfare of all workers. SMRT is a GLC and should have set better examples.

I'm responding to GoldedDragon as well
http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread....hey-also-gone-on-strike&p=1308228#post1308228

I think WP should not spend too much time drilling into this SMRT-PRC drivers dispute, but to use that to question on other issues. Ask them in Parliament instead of releasing press statement, which the fake 40% could then say WP is politicizing everything.

For example, what that nobody-before-GE2011 MOM Ministar TanCJ and his ministry had been, is and will be doing to ensure dormitories are of certain standard. Maybe boy-with-a-girl's-name NEA Ministar Vivian should also be rounded up for question on this as well. How could SMRT dormitory slipped through such checks for so long? Is it because the ex-CEO is the buddy of Pinky's husband? Or the new CED is the buddy of Ministar TanCJ?
SMRT on dorm conditions: We could have done better
http://sg.news.yahoo.com/smrt-on-dorm-conditions--we-could-have-done-better-035351672.html
MOM: Housekeeping conditions of SMRT dormitories below par
http://www.tremeritus.com/2012/11/30/mom-housekeeping-conditions-of-smrt-dormitories-below-par/

Another one is to ask Zorro Lim how joining his Useless Union will make a difference. How his Union go about protecting its member, say on pay package, welfare, etc, etc. Zorro Lim would be wise to act blur and side step, because whatever straight answer he gives will be used against him by the many Union members watching this episode.
NTUC: We will continue to bring FT workers into the union
http://www.tremeritus.com/2012/11/28/ntuc-we-will-continue-to-bring-ft-workers-into-the-union/

===EDIT===
I think both WP workhorse Ah Huat and Ah Singh had asked similar questions (on Casinos workforce ratio, general population-infrastructure, etc, etc) but maybe this time they could be more specific, on the true pink Singaporeans-foreigners(PR, Malaysian included) workforce ratio. Dun give the White Scums the chance to cherry pick. Demand for the past, present and future annual numbers from 1965 to 2065.

deepblue0911

Foreign workers travel half the world to work to improve their livelihood. No one in his right mind will go on strike if the situation has not reached breaking point for them. Of course, no one is above the law and resorting to staging a strike to resolve grievances clearly will not be tolerated by the authorities. Govt surely will come down hard on the troublemakers to set the tone.

Poor living conditions, inequitable compensation, whether real or perceived, just do not reflect well on us, especially when we keep praising ourselves as a first-world nation. That it's SMRT again perhaps is not surprising. Public transportation is not an easy industry. But the frequent train failures and the strike now are indicative of how terrible a state is SMRT in -- nothing seems to be going right for SMRT. Desmond Kuek has the job cut out for him. After neglecting the core functions of a national transporation company, it's time Desmond cleans up its backyard.

Oh, and can the media please just call a strike a strike? We are real laughing stock if we don't even have the courage to be honest with our own problems.