• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Auntie Cleaner at Hawker Centre - I don't eat at hawker centres

If there is one thing her job has taught her, it is to avoid hawker food if she can help it. Mrs Lim is a cleaner at a food centre in the eastern part of Singapore, and she says she cannot abide by the state of cleanliness.

Or lack thereof.

There is hardly enough time to rinse out the cloths they use, which means the same piece of fabric not only wipes off the food scraps from the table and the mess on the trays, it also cleans off bird droppings.

"I've been working as a cleaner for so long, I don't eat at hawker centres any more," says the feisty 65-year-old widow - who has been a cleaner at the hawker centre for the last two years.

Her meals are packed from home.

"Most of the hawkers are always in a rush so the utensils are never washed properly."

"Other times you see bird droppings on tables, it's just not clean enough for me. I'd rather bring food from home to be safe."

To be fair, the cleaners try their best to make sure that their cloths are cleaned as often as possible, but once peak hour hits, they'd rather let the cloth be dirty than get yelled at for being slow.

Mrs Lim has been "disgusted" when customers leave their table in a mess after eating, she confesses.

The former production operator started working as a cleaner four years ago.

For $800 a month, she spends eight hours a day cleaning after customers.

The work, she says, is back-breaking.

Every day, she scrambles from table to table, clearing used plates and trays as quickly as possible.

Occasionally, she has to deal with rude patrons who complain that she is "too slow".

While initially hesitant to tell her story when approached, the slight woman eventually agreed to speak to The New Paper On Sunday "just to share my experience".

"The job is difficult already, I spend my time here pushing a trailer going from table to table separating the plates from the halal and non-halal stores."

Separating dishes takes time.

At her age, that is already a challenge. But to make matters worse, customers litter the entire table with bones and prawn shells.

If someone spills soup on the floor, she is expected to clean it up as well.

What sets her off, however, are impatient customers.

These people, she adds, expect their tables to be clean the moment they arrive at the hawker centre.

"They'll get angry and call me cranky," she says.

Still, she concedes that such scenes are part and parcel of her job.

But could such scenes be a thing of the past?

After all, the National Environment Agency (NEA) and the Singapore Kindness Movement (SKM) launched the National Tray Return Initiative on Nov 11.

The initiative aims to promote the gracious act of returning one's crockery and trays after meals. "I think it is a good idea but I don't think it will work," she says.

"As long as there are cleaners like me around, some people who come here are used to people picking up after them," she sighs.

"Don't get me wrong, I get many polite people who are friendly who will help me to clear their trays when I come over.

"But this doesn't happen very often."

Mrs Lim says her years on the job have taught her how to "work smart".

For example, she is friendly with a group of Bangladeshi workers who work nearby.

"One morning I came to work and there was vomit and beer bottles, which was unbearable," she remembers.

"Luckily the workers were around and helped me to clean the area... a good thing since I don't think I could handle cleaning the mess on my own."

Mr Abdul Rahman Jasman, a cleaner at Geylang Serai Market & Food Centre, agrees that the job can be hard.

"I guess I am lucky working here because the customers who come here seem to be much more friendlier and more considerate," says the 76-year-old.

The former captain of an anchor boat and father of five children aged between 32 to 48-years-old has been working at the food centre since last year, earning $800 each month.

When told of Mrs Lim's predicament, Mr Abdul Rahman could only muster a smile.

He adds: "That's the hardest part of the job, dealing with people."

"But they come and go, I've faced some difficult customers myself but I always tell myself - it's just a job."

Secrets of the trade

1. Try to work as fast as you can - clear tables faster and you're not likely to anger difficult customers in the process.

2. Make friends with the foreign workers in the area - you never know when you're going to need their help.

3. When you need a break, lean on the cart and walk from one end of the hawker centre to the other. People may think you're still working but you're actually having a much needed breather.

Hawker center cleaning auntie says she won't eat there becos damn dirty

I don't eat at hawker centres

20121119.193322_cleaner430.jpg

Zul Othman
The New Paper
Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012

If there is one thing her job has taught her, it is to avoid hawker food if she can help it. Mrs Lim is a cleaner at a food centre in the eastern part of Singapore, and she says she cannot abide by the state of cleanliness.

Or lack thereof.

There is hardly enough time to rinse out the cloths they use, which means the same piece of fabric not only wipes off the food scraps from the table and the mess on the trays, it also cleans off bird droppings.

"I've been working as a cleaner for so long, I don't eat at hawker centres any more," says the feisty 65-year-old widow - who has been a cleaner at the hawker centre for the last two years.

Her meals are packed from home.

"Most of the hawkers are always in a rush so the utensils are never washed properly."

"Other times you see bird droppings on tables, it's just not clean enough for me. I'd rather bring food from home to be safe."

To be fair, the cleaners try their best to make sure that their cloths are cleaned as often as possible, but once peak hour hits, they'd rather let the cloth be dirty than get yelled at for being slow.

Mrs Lim has been "disgusted" when customers leave their table in a mess after eating, she confesses.

The former production operator started working as a cleaner four years ago.

For $800 a month, she spends eight hours a day cleaning after customers.

The work, she says, is back-breaking.

Every day, she scrambles from table to table, clearing used plates and trays as quickly as possible.

Occasionally, she has to deal with rude patrons who complain that she is "too slow".

While initially hesitant to tell her story when approached, the slight woman eventually agreed to speak to The New Paper On Sunday "just to share my experience".

"The job is difficult already, I spend my time here pushing a trailer going from table to table separating the plates from the halal and non-halal stores."

Separating dishes takes time.

At her age, that is already a challenge. But to make matters worse, customers litter the entire table with bones and prawn shells.

If someone spills soup on the floor, she is expected to clean it up as well.

What sets her off, however, are impatient customers.

These people, she adds, expect their tables to be clean the moment they arrive at the hawker centre.

"They'll get angry and call me cranky," she says.

Still, she concedes that such scenes are part and parcel of her job.

But could such scenes be a thing of the past?

After all, the National Environment Agency (NEA) and the Singapore Kindness Movement (SKM) launched the National Tray Return Initiative on Nov 11.

The initiative aims to promote the gracious act of returning one's crockery and trays after meals. "I think it is a good idea but I don't think it will work," she says.

"As long as there are cleaners like me around, some people who come here are used to people picking up after them," she sighs.

"Don't get me wrong, I get many polite people who are friendly who will help me to clear their trays when I come over.

"But this doesn't happen very often."

Mrs Lim says her years on the job have taught her how to "work smart".

For example, she is friendly with a group of Bangladeshi workers who work nearby.

"One morning I came to work and there was vomit and beer bottles, which was unbearable," she remembers.

"Luckily the workers were around and helped me to clean the area... a good thing since I don't think I could handle cleaning the mess on my own."

Mr Abdul Rahman Jasman, a cleaner at Geylang Serai Market & Food Centre, agrees that the job can be hard.

"I guess I am lucky working here because the customers who come here seem to be much more friendlier and more considerate," says the 76-year-old.

The former captain of an anchor boat and father of five children aged between 32 to 48-years-old has been working at the food centre since last year, earning $800 each month.

When told of Mrs Lim's predicament, Mr Abdul Rahman could only muster a smile.

He adds: "That's the hardest part of the job, dealing with people."

"But they come and go, I've faced some difficult customers myself but I always tell myself - it's just a job."

Secrets of the trade

1. Try to work as fast as you can - clear tables faster and you're not likely to anger difficult customers in the process.

2. Make friends with the foreign workers in the area - you never know when you're going to need their help.

3. When you need a break, lean on the cart and walk from one end of the hawker centre to the other. People may think you're still working but you're actually having a much needed breather.

jubilee1919

Re: Hawker center cleaning auntie says she won't eat there becos damn dirty

NEA is not doing a good job at all. In fact they are getting worse under Bala's watch than the "Once in every 50 years" clown.

ray_of_hope

People were worried about too much msg in their food. But from what the auntie said, that should probably be the least of their concerns.

1. :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:
2. i just want to be the first one doing this:
3. mrs lim, what did you last voted for?
4. :cool:

The return your own tray movement is a step in the right direction. Sinkies should stop relying on cheap, no value adding labour for simple tasks.

jubilee1919

The return your own tray movement is a step in the right direction. Sinkies should stop relying on cheap, no value adding labour for simple tasks.

That will not help old aunties and uncles to get a job. They should fine coffeeshops that did nothing about those nuisance birds that scavenge for food. Eating utensils should be centralised and wash with steam to kill the germs. Cleanliness begins with the sellers, not the customers.

Bigfuck

I told every here at least more than 6 months ago. Do a bacteria count test. The floor is cleaner than the table. Sue NEA and their corrupt gang - no different from Nparks. What happened to the Brompton affair?

That will not help old aunties and uncles to get a job. They should fine coffeeshops that did nothing about those nuisance birds that scavenge for food. Eating utensils should be centralised and wash with steam to kill the germs. Cleanliness begins with the sellers, not the customers.

there are actually 2 issues involved here...

one is hygiene of public eating places. I agree more should be done but not necessarily just by the sellers. To cut costs organisations usually introduce self service. Today, customers already help themselves when buying from hawker stalls. Imagine if the stall still has to hire one extra employee to serve food to the customers, how much more cost is incurred?

Similarly, returning bowls, plates and cutlery is another part of the process customers can help themselves to save costs. It would be even better if patrons can do more like wiping tables after they're done.

The second issue here is 70 year old aunties and uncles with crooked backs still working as cleaners. Now that is a disturbing sight. I am tempted to ask them who they voted for in the last elections.

ray_of_hope

The lower income spend much of their time and dollars at hawker centres. Will this now be another concern in their long list of concerns?

Guys, remember the cloth used for cleaning the food tray during national slavery. That one also powder.

one is hygiene of public eating places. I agree more should be done but not necessarily just by the sellers. To cut costs organisations usually introduce self service. Today, customers already help themselves when buying from hawker stalls. Imagine if the stall still has to hire one extra employee to serve food to the customers, how much more cost is incurred?

if the hawkers want to save cost, then do away with centralised washing and collection of utensils. All these centralised washing to utensil collection are $$ pits to many hawkers, specially those hawkers who biz only barely avarage. in a sense, these hawkers with lousy daily turnover are subsiding the hawkers who biz are good as every hawkers pay the same charges to the cleaning company each month.

what wrong with the past when customers just need to order and sit down to wait for the hawker assiatants to serve the food. dont give me crap with extra labour cost as hawkers of todays can have 5-6 persons in a stall yet it self service while 20 years ago, hawker mostly a mom & pop biz where one cook with the other person served and collect utensils after the customer left.

i no longer enjoy hawker food as it already lost the charm of having cheap and nice food. nowadays, it a prc preparing the food that one cannot recongised and charge $4.50 for, have to self service and to add insult to injury, the food is awful. pui..pui...

jubilee1919

there are actually 2 issues involved here...

one is hygiene of public eating places. I agree more should be done but not necessarily just by the sellers. To cut costs organisations usually introduce self service.

The second issue here is 70 year old aunties and uncles with crooked backs still working as cleaners. Now that is a disturbing sight. I am tempted to ask them who they voted for in the last elections.

Everyone seems to be closing their eyes to the exorbitant rentals the hawkers need to pay, especially the government. If the basic problem of high and increasing cost will never be addressed, then forget about hygiene as making a profit is of the highest priority to those operating the outlet and their sub-tenants.

In order to cut cost and get the highest ROI, we, the customers get the short end of the stick. The result is we get sub-standard service, lack of hygiene and higher cost of food. We even get less ingredients, sometimes insufficient for a decent meal. Most chicken rice stalls give less rice, flatten the meat to make it look larger, display false representations of their offerings and stinged on chilies.

Just go into any toilet in a kopitiam and you know what I am talking about. NEA needs a revamp and Bala should take a week's leave and go incognito to see for himself what is the real situation with the food outlets. Talk is cheap.

Thick Face Black Heart

This is a deplorable story. Not just the cleanliness. The over-working of elderly ladies who are paid a pittance. If ever there was a case of exploitation of the weak and vulnerable workers in SG, this surely must be it.

Cleanliness is a separate issue. Most of us have learned to live with extremely poor hawker centre hygiene. Something needs to be done about the system. The ones who are making big bucks are the landlords who increase rents every year or every other year without fail, and who force hawkers to raise prices incessantly. Surely some resource can be allocated to higher standards of cleanliness ranging from washing of utensils to overall cleanliness of the place.

It is not uncommon in SG to eat at a table with bird droppings, poop, and other nasties, and eat with utensils that still has the oil and saliva of the person before you.

jubilee1919

It is not uncommon in SG to eat at a table with bird droppings, poop, and other nasties, and eat with utensils that still has the oil and saliva of the person before you.

I observed many times they have 2 pails to wash a pile of utensils. One with dirty but soapy water which they dump all into and then take them out and put into the clean water to remove the soap. That's it. They did not even bother to dry them but put them into trays for customers to use.

Just recently I went to one kopitiam to order Malay ayam penyet. Next to the stall I was queuing was another Malay stall selling nasi padang. One customer accidentally knock over the container with forks and spoons. One of the assistants there calmly picked them up from the floor and placed it back again without bothering to wash them. Yucks! I left the queue and went over to the Chinese side and ordered something else instead.

these hawkers with lousy daily turnover are subsiding the hawkers who biz are good as every hawkers pay the same charges to the cleaning company each month.

Good point. But centralisation/out-sourcing is also one of tried and tested methods of cost cutting. One can argue that the hawker now only concentrates on cooking, thus increasing efficiency thru task specialisation. Regarding allocation of shared costs, in operations management, time is logged according to entity so that some costs can be allocated. I guess in the case of hawker centers, it is impractical to go down to that level.

what wrong with the past when customers just need to order and sit down to wait for the hawker assiatants to serve the food. dont give me crap with extra labour cost as hawkers of todays can have 5-6 persons in a stall yet it self service while 20 years ago, hawker mostly a mom & pop biz where one cook with the other person served and collect utensils after the customer left.

The only place I see which still employs 5/6 workers are Indian prata stalls. I guess labour (really available from India) is really damn cheap for these businesses.

i no longer enjoy hawker food as it already lost the charm of having cheap and nice food. nowadays, it a prc preparing the food that one cannot recongised and charge $4.50 for, have to self service and to add insult to injury, the food is awful. pui..pui...

There are still some decent hawker stalls around in old estates. The recent one which I discovered is in Bugis, opposite the temple. Can still find old school teochew fishball noodles run by husband and wife teams, hainanese kueh (which I thought was extinct liao), and other stuff. Cheap and honest, good food.

I have almost given up on the kopi shop stalls. Those are mainly run by PRCs.