• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tharman: Inflation does not hit most people, who don't buy cars and houses

Sometime ago, when defending the constructive, nation-building local media against comments that it was pro-government, he said that he tot he didn’t get much favours (my words not his) from the media. Well I laughed at this. I tot it was one of his stand-up routines.

He has a point or at least he did not misrepresented the facts in this instance. Tharman, last week, told us high COE prices doesn’t have an impact on us “lesser mortals” because the vast majority of us don’t buy new cars. Netizens well and truly roughed him up. And this is what our constructive, nation-building BT reported on Monday:

Rising COE premiums put brakes on business

Some firms put expansion plans on hold as lorries and vans become more expensive

Soaring certificate of entitlement (COE) premiums are bearing down on businesses and forcing them to put the brakes on growth.

Since the start of the year, the workhorses of the road – lorries, vans and motorcycles – have become more expensive at a staggering rate, derailing the expansion plans of vehicle-reliant firms.

Category C premiums – which are for goods vehicles and buses – are now pushing $58,000, up 49 per cent from the start of this year. A year ago, the premium was just below $24,000.

Supply chain firm Sin-Freight International had planned to scrap two of its existing lorries to buy two new lorries with more tonnage, but the stratospheric COE premiums have put paid to its plans.

If this isn’t BT telling Tharman off, I don’t know what is?

Next time, Tharman tells us that he will soon have a head of hair, we’d better believe him, rather than put it down to his ambition to be a stand-up comic.

- http://atans1.wordpress.com/2012/05/08/tharman-has-a-point/
(first posted in August 2012)

Leckmichamarsch

Datz innovative but does not hold water as there is a thingie known as multiplier effect........... however I sympathise with the millionaire ministers as they now need to pay more for their limos n bungalows...............

Obviously a career government dog, swakoo beyond hope. Someone tell this fool commercial contracts often have provisions for price increase pegged to CPI. Everything will rise in tandem. If the PAP government don't import more trash, perhaps wages will also keep up this time.

blur sotong

Datz innovative but does not hold water as there is a thingie known as multiplier effect........... however I sympathise with the millionaire ministers as they now need to pay more for their limos n bungalows...............

Bro Leckmichamarsch, the 超级白 ministers are earning millions every year for the 5 years. What is there to sympathise??

For them, COE and bungalows are wet wet water. :mad: :mad:

blur sotong

Obviously a career government dog, swakoo beyond hope. Someone tell this fool commercial contracts often have provisions for price increase pegged to CPI. Everything will rise in tandem. If the PAP government don't import more trash, perhaps wages will also keep up this time.

Bro mojito, that is very true. Few would be able to understand it though. :o

prancku

More than $2M salary paid to him to make such a dense statement, forgetting his economic fundamentals.

Many times such mandarins make these thoughtless remarks (cheap $8 heart bypass ops, $1000 sal can afford to buy a HDB flat, can grow to 6 m pop, foreign workers needed for growth, what happened to high skill & technology, low human capital strategy? etc, ? reflecing their lack of undertanding of the people and country needs.

No wonder Singapore is in such a sinkie hole for the past years.

Huat-Ah

Tharman is still living in IVORY TOWER.....He don't understand the poor people / low income feel

Cruxx

Ivory Tower or not, he was voted Asia's Finance Minister of the Year a couple of weeks back.
Don't pray pray

By those useless free-market fundamentalists at the IMF? Whom Malawi made fools of when they defied their advice and decided to institute heavy government subsidies for fertilisers which tripled corn production within 2 years and decreased child hunger substantially? That organisation that showered Argentina with accolades and held it up as a model economy before it went bust in the late 90s and early 2000s? Where did the IMF glean those impressive economic data of Sinkieland from? From that bastion of accountability and transparency called "the Singapore government". If the statistics of the PAPzis could be trusted, Char_Azn would have grown wings by now. :rolleyes:

Kuailan

PAP gahmen will scres Sinkie with this thing called COE, there's no transparency
today its 71k for small cars tomorrow they will yelled $90k for small cars, you mean
we Sickapoorean are so stupid to paper $90k for a piece of shit worthless toilet paper??

I dont think so! you car salesman asked you to bid $100k to get a car, where the actual value
OMV is only $15k OTR becomes $150K this is the most ridiculous PAP policy, unheard of in the world!!!

PAP gahmen will sucked Sinkies dry for the next 4 years before the erection!!