• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Hypocrite Josephine Teo mocks parents who take PSLE leave

SINGAPORE - To the bank, it was a case of responding to employees' needs and their favourable feedback is proof of that.

To Minister of State (Transport and Finance) Josephine Teo, however, OCBC Bank's new PSLE Leave Scheme is "over-the-top" and feeds into parents' anxiety over how their child performs in the national exam.

Writing on her Facebook page yesterday, Mrs Teo criticised the bank's recent move to allocate leave for its staff to take time off to help their children prepare for the Primary School Leaving Examination (PSLE).

Without naming the bank, Mrs Teo wrote: "The bank may have been well-intentioned ... But they may not have realised that this feeds into fears of parents, and that they are somehow unusual if they don't take leave during their children's PSLE."

She added: "There are many things we hope to see employers doing for their staff. PSLE Leave should NOT be one."

Mrs Teo, whose twin children took the PSLE this year, said she did not think "the default assumption should be that working parents need to take significant time off to help their children prepare for PSLE".

She added: "We are quite mistaken to behave as if PSLE is THE defining moment in a child's development. It does not warrant such special attention compared to other significant moments we parents ought to watch out for."

Under a first-of-its-kind scheme, employees in OCBC Bank and its subsidiaries can carry forward between 10 and 15 days of leave if their child is sitting for the PSLE in the following year.

When asked to respond to Mrs Teo's remarks, OCBC Bank Head of Group Corporate Communications Koh Ching Ching pointed out that the PSLE Leave Scheme is one of two new measures - the other is a scheme under which OCBC staff can take up to three months' sabbatical leave for any reason - that are "part of a slew of work-life balance initiatives" that the bank has introduced over the years.

Ms Koh added: "We have seen more and more employees applying for annual leave to spend time with their children who are taking PSLE or for sabbatical leave to take a break from work."

Since the launch of the new schemes on Sept 25, "the feedback from our employees and industry peers has been very favourable", she said.

Citing her own experience, Mrs Teo said on Facebook that she and her husband did not have to do anything out of the ordinary - apart from cutting down overseas travel near the dates of the exams to give "moral support" - when their children were preparing for the PSLE. (There you are - the cho boh minister whose Freudian slip here shows us the hypocrite that she really is. So, it is okay for her to 'provide moral support' to her kids but it is NOT alright for other parents to provide the same moral support via staying home? The annual leave is the employees' entitlement and how they want to use it is up to them. Offering PSLE leave is an employer's prerogative to have happy employees. And Josephine Teo is from the NTUC too?)

"It has been very clear to us that this is their exam and only they can influence the outcome," she said.
(Comments like these are uncalled for. Her heartless placing of the entire burden on a 12-year old kid is a good indication of her compassion level and the height of the ivory tower she lives in).

Mrs Teo's comments drew strong reactions on the social networking site. Some agreed with her while others pointed out that the root of the problem lies with the pressures of the education system.

Mrs Teo did not respond to TODAY's queries by press time. Nevertheless, Members of Parliament TODAY spoke to felt that she was speaking in a personal capacity as a parent.

Mountbatten MP Lim Biow Chuan, who chairs the Government Parliamentary Committee (GPC) for Education, said: "I will not criticise OCBC as their intentions were good, but I do not think the leave is something that we need as it sends the signal that a caring parent has to take this leave and this in turn adds more pressure on the child."

Chua Chu Kang GRC MP Low Yen Ling, who also sits on the GPC, reiterated that it is "up to the parents to know what will work for their children".

She said: "The move by OCBC is laudable ... I think Mrs Teo is sharing her personal experience and we have to respect that."

- http://www.todayonline.com/Singapore/EDC121025-0000065/Fanning-the-exam-fever?

psle results determine which secondary skool ur kid go 2 1, woh! ...

if psle not important, scrap it la ... haf it 4 wat? ...

ThePlen

many parents take leave to coach their children for PSLE. it is a known fact. i am sure Josephine Teo took leave to give moral support as well. if OCBC decides to make PSLE leave official, let them. if u dont agree, then dont take PSLE leave.

bhoven

many parents take leave to coach their children for PSLE. it is a known fact. i am sure Josephine Teo took leave to give moral support as well. if OCBC decides to make PSLE leave official, let them. if u dont agree, then dont take PSLE leave.

The parents who take leave to coach their children for the PSLE probably do so because they cannot afford tutors ( or one to one tutors ) and so must chip in themselves. They cannot do this without taking leave because after a normal days work they probably come home very
late then have to prepare meals etc leaving very little time except to help with homework. Is this also the case for Josephine Teo? Or has her twins been receiving one to one tutoring so there was no need for either her or her husband to take leave to do last minute coaching. Or is it that they have inherited their parents intelligence? The comment demonstrates the utter failure of the PAP's system of selecting MPs and the lack of empathy of the leaders. Why are the other PAP MPs not taking her to task for her ivory tower comments?

gz0707

I agree with Benjamin who replied with the following. I hate it when people start calling others kiasu when everyone is stuck in the system. who created the system in the first place and where did the stress and problems come from. Just look at the number of kids committing suicide due to exam stress.

Dear Josephine Teo,

OCBC was probably already concerned that a no. of parents were already taking bits of their annual leave to help their PSLE kids. Just because you weren't stressed with your own kids' exams doesn't mean other parents aren't. And if the move encourages parents to spend more time with their children, there is nothing over the top about it.

We should be applauding OCBC's move and not accusing them of playing into parents' fears. If you want to allay parents' fears, look into why the PSLE has been a life and death situation for the last 30 years. You don't have to look far - check out your SAP schools, good schools (although now you are trying to make every school a "good" one), express-stream-only schools and how every year your newspapers make it a point to highlight the highest scoring exam taker.

yinyang

if psle not important, scrap it la ... haf it 4 wat? ...
Irony ...PSLE is a by-product of the system. Doesn't she got anything else better to get her teeth on? Bbj on resident hard-on guy will just do the trick!:p

See...another joe that talk without thinking. She is rich, her kids got tuition for every single subjects.

Most salary workers cannot or maybe afford only tutition for some core subjects, so have to catch up and coach their kids. Like that also kenna suan seow?

KNN, take own leave also cannot.

Bigfuck

She is 3rd rated. NTU grad go run worldclass companies? ROFL. Go read on her losses.

She controls all banks ?
Bank give incentive leave to their employees also not her fucking problem
:rolleyes:

This CUNT is from NTUC mah........if dun open her cb mouth once in a while to wayang.....her white masters might forget about her and that will affect her KPI.....

spotter542

This CUNT is from NTUC mah........if dun open her cb mouth once in a while to wayang.....her white masters might forget about her and that will affect her KPI.....

Affect KPI is a small issue , being replaced by a Pinoy then she will know how it feels :biggrin:

She is always trying to sound clever but ends up making a fool of herself. Comparing her family with that of others is stupid. The point is that even if her twin girls do not do well, her connections in the system will get them into a school of her choice. So, belittling others is not exactly a very sympathetic thing to do for others who are not so fortunate.