• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

General Stuff

thumbsdown

STEALING

Not really new information but a reminder could help.

SCENE 1.
A friend went to the local gym and placed his belongings in the locker.
After the workout and a shower, he came out, saw the locker open, and
thought to himself, 'Funny, I thought I locked the locker...

Hmm, 'He dressed and just flipped the wallet to make sure all was in
order. Everything looked okay - all cards were in place...

A few weeks later his credit card bill came - a whooping bill of
$14,000!

He called the credit card company and started yelling at them,
saying that he did not make the transactions.

Customer care personnel verified that there was no mistake in the
system and asked if his card had been stolen...
'No,' he said, but then took out his wallet, pulled out the credit
card, and yep - you guessed it - a switch had been made. An expired
similar credit card from the same bank was in the wallet.

The thief broke into his locker at the gym and switched cards.

Verdict: The credit card issuer said since he did not report the card
missing earlier, he would have to pay the amount owed to them.

How much did he have to pay for items he did not buy? $9,000!
Why were there no calls made to verify the amount swiped?
Small amounts rarely trigger a 'warning bell' with some credit card
companies. It just so happens that all the small amounts added up to a
big one!
============================
SCENE 2.
A man at a local restaurant paid for his meal with his credit card.

The bill for the meal came, he signed it and the waitress folded
thereceipt and passed the credit card along.

Usually, he would just take it and place it in his wallet or pocket.
Funny enough,though, he actually took a look at the card and, lo and
behold, it
was the expired card of another person.

He called the waitress and she looked perplexed.

She took it back, apologized, and hurried back to the counter under the
watchful eye of the man.

All the waitress did while walking to the counter was wave the wrong
expired card to the counter cashier, and the counter cashier who then
immediately looked down and took out the real card.

No exchange of words --- nothing! She took it and came back to the man
with an apology..
(This scenario actually happened to me at a
local restaurant- Falls Terrace-between the waitress and the front desk
cashier.)

Verdict: Make sure the credit cards in your wallet are yours.

Check the name on the card every time you sign for something and/or the
card is taken away for even a short period of time.

Many people just take back the credit card without even looking at
it, 'assuming' that it has to be theirs.

FOR YOUR OWN SAKE, DEVELOP THE HABIT OF CHECKING YOUR CREDIT CARD EACH
TIME IT IS RETURNED TO YOU AFTER A TRANSACTION!
==========================
SCENE 3:
Yesterday I went into a pizza restaurant to pick up an order that I had
called in.

I paid by using my Visa Check Card which, of course, is linked directly
to my checking Account.

The young man behind the counter took my card, swiped it, then laid it
on the counter as he waited for the approval, which is pretty
standard procedure.

While he waited, he picked up his cell phone and started dialling.

I noticed the phone because it is the same model I have, but nothing
seemed out of the ordinary. Then I heard a click that sounded like my
phone sounds when I take a picture.

He then gave me back my card but kept the phone in his hand as if he
was still pressing buttons.

Meanwhile, I'm thinking: I wonder what he is taking a picture of,
oblivious to what was really going on.

It then dawned on me: the only thing there was my credit card, so now
I'm paying close attention to what he is doing..

He set his phone on the counter, leaving it open.

About five seconds later, I heard the chime that tells you that the
picture has been saved.

Now I'm standing there struggling with the fact that this boy just took
a picture of my credit card.

Yes, he played it off well, because had we not had the same kind of
phone, I probably would never have known what happened.

Needless to say, I immediately cancelled that card as I was walking out
of the pizza parlour.

All I am saying is, be aware of your surroundings at all times.

Whenever you are using your credit card take caution and don't be
careless.

Notice who is standing near you and what they are doing when you use
your card.

Be aware of phones, because many have a camera phone these days.

FORWARD THIS TO AS MANY PEOPLE AS YOU CAN THINK OF. LET'S GET THE WORD
OUT! JUST BE AWARE.
Never let your card out of your sight.....check and check again!

thumbsdown

Cancer causing chemicals found in soy sauce
Below is a newspaper article from the U.K.

Please throw away all Lee Kum Kee, Kimlan, Pearl River, Golden Mountain, Sin-sin, Golden Swan, Jammy Chai, Golden Mark, Tung Chun products from your pantry.

Cancer-causing chemicals found in soy sauce
by SEANPOULTER, Daily Mail

Cancer-causing chemicals have been found in nearly one in four samples of soy sauce and other Chinese flavourings tested by food watchdogs, it was announced yesterday.

In some, the levels massively exceeded international safety limits while others contained traces of a banned toxic substance.

Yesterday officials issued a 'hazard alert' and demanded that supermarket shelves be cleared of the products and that consumers and caterers throw out the offending brands.

The list also includes varieties of oyster sauce, mushroom sauceand a chicken marinade. All are likely to be used in Chinese,Vietnamese or Thai restaurants.

Virtually all the brands involved were imported from Thailand, China, Taiwan and Hong Kong, and sold through specialist Chinese supermarkets. None of those sold by major retailers contained the chemicals.

The Food Standards Agency, which carried out the tests, believes the most likely buyers will be Chinese, Vietnamese, Thai restaurants and families from Eastern and South East Asian backgrounds.

It stressed that occasional users were unlikely to be harmed but there was concern for people consuming high levels of the products.

The samples involved in the survey of 100 products were collected more than five months ago.

Explaining the delay in publishing the findings, the FSA said it had to run a detailed analysis, contact importers and trace the history of consignments. The chemical 3-MCPD is considered so dangerousthat the EU will not allow any more than the tiniest amount in food - just 0.02 mg per kg.

Yet one of the products, sold under the brand name Golden Mountain, contained close to 5,000 times that figure. Just two teaspoons would be equivalent to 20 times the acceptable daily intake recommended for a woman.

The survey also revealed traces of an even more harmful chemical,1,3-DCP, which is banned from all food because it is toxic to genes, as well as carcinogenic.

Some 24 of the 100 samples were positive for 3-MCPD and two thirds of these had traces of 1,3-DCP. The two are thought to create a higher risk of liver cancer.

FSA deputy chairman Suzi Leather said: 'Soy sauce can be produced without these chemicals and we expect swift action from the industry to ensure that the planned EU legal limits are met.' The shops the FSA tested were concentrated in Leeds, Manchester, London and Cambridge. However the brands are likely to be available nationwide and worldwide where the Asian communities are located.

The products carried the brand names: Golden Mountain, King Imperial, Pearl River Bridge, Jammy Chai, Golden Mark, Kimlan, Lee Kum Kee, Tung Chun, Sinsin and Golden Swan.

Some of the makers and importers have claimed that they were the victims of counterfeiters.

Source: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-55023/Cancer-causing-chemicals-soy-sauce.html&lang=en

thumbsdown

Beware of Burundanga Namecards..

What is Malaysia becoming? Yes, this actually happened to my friend last year. A salesman just cooly walked into her office at the Boulevard ( mid valley ) and proceeded to show her what he was selling. Without thinking twice, my friend very naturally stretched out her hand to take whatever he was holding.. Immediately she felt like something zapped her and her speech became slurred. Thankfully, she still had the presence of mind to fling whatever she had taken from the man ( she can't even remember what it was ) at the door, and the man quickly ran off.

Please be careful. Yesterday, I was at the Carrefour carpark after shopping and about to start the car engine. Suddenly, one man appeared holding a name card and asking me to wind down the window to give me the name card. I refused using the sign language but he kept on pestering. I was terrified and quickly started the engine and sped off. Fortunately, I locked the car doors immediately I got in..

Thank you for the warning email I received earlier.
Rgds,
May

Subject: NAME CARDS

Must Read and Please be careful out there !!

A man came over and offered his service as a painter to a female putting gas in her car and left his card. She said no, but accepted his card out of kindness and got in the car. The man then got into a car driven by another gentleman.

As the lady left the service station, she saw the men following her out of the station at the same time.

Almost immediately, she started to feel dizzy and could not catch her breath. She tried to open the window and realized that the odor was on her hand; the same hand which accepted the card from the gentleman at the gas station.

She then noticed the men were immediately behind her and she felt she needed to do something at that moment. She drove into the first driveway and began to honk her horn repeatedly to ask for help.The men drove away but the lady still felt pretty bad for several minutes after she could finally catch her breath.

Apparently, there was a substance on the card that could have seriously injured her.

This drug is called 'BURUNDANGA'and it is used by people who wish to incapacitate a victim in order to steal from or take advantage of them.

This drug is four times more dangerous than the date rape drug and is transferable on simple cards.

So take heed and make sure you don't accept cards at any given time alone or from someone on the streets. This applies to those making house calls and slipping you a card when they offer their services.

aquilonian

There was a one hour interview on CNBC with Warren Buffet, the second
richest man who has donated $31 billion to charity. Here are some very
interesting aspects of his life:

1. He bought his first share at age 11 and he now regrets that he started
too late!
2. He bought a small farm at age 14 with savings from delivering newspapers.

3. He still lives in the same small 3-bedroom house in mid-town Omaha,
which he bought after he got married 50 years ago. He says that he has
everything he needs in that house. His house does not have a wall or a
fence.
4. He drives his own car everywhere and does not have a driver or security
people around him.
5. He never travels by private jet, although he owns the world's largest
private jet company.
6. His company, Berkshire Hathaway, owns 63 companies.
He writes only one letter each year to the CEOs of these companies, giving
them goals for the year. He never holds meetings or calls them on a regular basis.
He has given his CEO's only two rules. Rule number 1: do not lose any
of your share holder's money. Rule number 2: Do not forget rule number 1.
7. He does not socialize with the high society crowd. His past time
after he gets home is to make himself some pop corn and watch Television.

8. Bill Gates, the world's richest man met him for the first time only
years ago. Bill Gates did not think he had anything in common with
Warren Buffet. So he had scheduled his meeting only for half hour. But
when Gates met him, the meeting lasted for ten hours and Bill Gates
became a devotee of Warren Buffet.

9. Warren Buffet does not carry a cell phone, nor has a computer on his
desk.

His advice to young people: "Stay away from credit cards and invest
in yourself and
Remember:
A. Money doesn't create man but it is the man who created money.
B. Live your life as simple as you are.
C. Don't do what others say, just listen them, but do what you feel good.
D. Don't go on brand name; just wear those things in which u feel comfortable.
E. Don't waste your money on unnecessary things; just spend on them who
really in need rather.
F. After all it's your life then why gives chance to others to rule our
life."

thumbsdown

image.jpeg

Sinkies use tissues to chope tables. Thais use slippers to chope places.

thumbsdown

STROKE: Remember The 1st Three Letters... S.T.R.

My friend sent this to me and encouraged me to post it and spread the
word. I agree. If everyone can remember something this simple, we
could save some folks.

STROKE IDENTIFICATION:
During a BBQ, a friend stumbled and took a little fall - she assured
everyone that she was fine and just tripped over a brick because of
her new shoes. (they offered to call ambulance)

They got her cleaned up and got her a new plate of food - while she
appeared a bit shaken up, Ingrid went about enjoying herself the rest
of the evening. Ingrid's husband called later telling everyone that
his wife had been taken to the hospital - (at 6:00pm , Ingrid passed
away.)

She had suffered a stroke at the BBQ. Had they known how to identify
the signs of a stroke, perhaps Ingrid would be with us today.

Some don't die. They end up in a helpless, hopeless condition instead.
It only takes a minute to read this...
STROKE IDENTIFICATION:

A neurologist says that if he can get to a stroke victim within 3
hours he can totally reverse the effects of a stroke...totally. He
said the trick was getting a stroke recognized, diagnosed, and then
getting the patient medically cared for within 3 hours, which is
tough.

RECOGNIZING A STROKE

Remember the "3" steps, STR . Read and Learn!

Sometimes symptoms of a stroke are difficult to identify.
Unfortunately, the lack of awareness spells disaster.

The stroke victim may suffer severe brain damage when people nearby
fail to recognize the symptoms of a stroke.

Now doctors say a bystander can recognize a stroke by asking three
simple questions:

S * Ask the individual to SMILE .

T * = TALK. Ask the person to SPEAK A SIMPLE SENTENCE (Coherently)
(eg "It is sunny out today").

R * Ask him or her to RAISE BOTH ARMS .

If he or she has trouble with ANY ONE of these tasks, call 000
immediately!! and describe the symptoms to the dispatcher.

NOTE : Another 'sign' of a stroke is

1. Ask the person to 'stick' out their tongue.

2. If the tongue is 'crooked', if it goes to one side or the other
that is also an indication of a stroke.

A prominent cardiologist says if everyone who gets this e-mail sends
it to 10 people; you can bet that at least one life will be saved.

..and it could be your own..

• buzzing-undies.jpg
    buzzing-undies.jpg
    29.9 KB · Views: 228

thumbsdown

* Why is it that people say they "slept like a baby" when babies wake
up every two hours?
* If a deaf person has to go to court, is it still called a hearing?
* Why do we press harder on a remote control when we know the batteries
are flat?
* Why do banks charge a fee on "insufficient funds" when they know
there is not enough?
* Why does someone believe you when you say there are four billion
stars, but check when you say the paint is wet?
* Why do they use sterilized needles for death by lethal injection?
* Why doesn't Tarzan have a beard?
* Why does Superman stop bullets with his chest, but ducks when you
throw a revolver at him?
* Why do Kamikaze pilots wear helmets?
* Whose idea was it to put an "S" in the word "lisp"?
* What is the speed of darkness?
* Are there specially reserved parking spaces for "normal" people at
the Special Olympics?
* If the temperature is zero outside today and it's going to be twice
as cold tomorrow, how cold will it be?
* If it's true that we are here to help others, what are the others
doing here?
* Do married people live longer than single ones or does it only seem
longer?
* Do you cry under water?
* How is it that we put man on the moon before we figured out it would
be a good idea to put wheels on luggage?
* Why do people pay to go up tall buildings and then put money in
binoculars to look at things on the ground?
* Who was the first person to look at a cow and say, "I think I'll
squeeze these pink dangly things here, and drink whatever comes out?"
* Who was the first person to say, "See that chicken there... I'm gonna
eat the next thing that comes outta its butt."
* Why do toasters always have a setting so high that could burn the
toast to a horrible crisp, which no decent human being would eat?
* Why is there a light in the fridge and not in the freezer?
* Why do people point to their wrist when asking for the time, but
don't point to their butt when they ask where the bathroom is?
* Why does your Obstetrician, Gynaecologist leave the room when you get
undressed if they are going to look up there anyway?
* Why does Goofy stand erect while Pluto remains on all fours? They're
both dogs!
* Can blind people see their dreams? Do they dream??
* If quizzes are quizzical, what are tests?
* If corn oil is made from corn, and vegetable oil is made from
vegetables, then what is baby oil made from?
* If electricity comes from electrons, does morality come from morons?
* Why do the Alphabet song and Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star have the
same tune?
Stop singing and read on . . . . . .. . . . .

* Do illiterate people get the full effect of Alphabet Soup?
* Did you ever notice that when you blow in a dog's face, he gets mad
at you but when you take him on a car ride, he sticks his head out the
window?
* Does pushing the elevator button more than once make it arrive faster?

sadshishamo

Fatties pay more

Samoa Air has become the world's first airline to implement "pay as you weigh" flights, meaning overweight passengers pay more for their seats.
"This is the fairest way of travelling," chief executive of Samoa Air, Chris Langton, told ABC Radio. "There are no extra fees in terms of excess baggage or anything – it is just a kilo is a kilo is a kilo."

Like many Pacific island nations, Samoa has a serious obesity problem and is often included in the top 10 countries for obesity levels. As such, Mr Langton believes his airline's new payment policy will also help promote health and obesity awareness.
"When you get into the Pacific, standard weight is substantially higher [than south-east Asia]," he said. "That's a health issue in some areas. [This payment system] has raised the awareness of weight."

Under the new system, Samoa Air passengers must type in their weight and the weight of their baggage into the online booking section of the airline's website. The rates vary depending on the distance flown: from $1 per kilogram on the airline's shortest domestic route to about $4.16 per kilogram for travel between Samoa and American Samoa. Passengers are then weighed again on scales at the airport, to check that they weren't fibbing online.
Samoa Air operates BN2A Islander and Cessna 172 aircraft.

Mr Langton said he believed it to be a system of the future, and added that "the standard width and pitch of seats are changing as people are getting a bit bigger, wider and taller than they were 40 to 50 years ago".

He also pointed out that families travelling with small children could end up paying far less with the pay-by-weight scheme.
"A family of maybe two adults and a couple of mid-sized kids ... can travel at considerably less than what they were being charged before," he said.
Public relations and marketing representative for Samoa Tourism, Peter Sereno, said he believed that the policy would also help with safety standards.
"When you're only fitting eight to 12 people in these aircraft and you've got some bigger Samoans getting on, you do need to weigh them and distribute that weight evenly throughout the aircraft, to make sure everyone's safe," he said. "At the end of the day, I don't care who they're weighing or how they're weighing them as long as it's safe."

Norwegian economist Bharat P. Bhatta proposed in a recent journal article that by implementing pay-per-kilo policies, carriers could also recoup the cost of the extra fuel required to carry larger people.

Some airlines in the United States already force obese passengers who cannot fit in a single seat to pay for two seats, but this is the first time a per-kilo rate has been used by an airline.

thumbsdown

I have been living and working in China for more than 14 years. I am different from most Singaporeans who lived in China because I have a strong desire to integrate into the society and understand the different behaviors of PRC Chinese. In other words, I try not to hold any prejudice against them.

I like to explain to fellow Singaporeans why the behavior of PRC Chinese is different from us. It is erroneous to say that China has no criminal laws or judiciary system during Chairman Mao era. There were criminal law and judiciary system but Chairman Mao withheld the implementation of such laws and system during his reign. Chairman Mao is the architect of great famine and society upheaval in the China, infamous for the start of Cultural Revolution and using it as a cloud to bring down his opponents and strengthen its grip on power. Of course, the accusation for the start of Cultural Revolution went to his wife, Jiang Qing or the gang of 4. In reality, it was Mao who supported this political and social mess in China. Most of us have probably heard of Cultural Revolution but the worst political campaign was actually the Great Leap Forward in the 50s that resulted in more than 20 million Chinese to death. So, why did we hear more about the Cultural Revolution? The reasons was because those 20 million Chinese who were starved to death in the 50s were farmers and illiterate peasants who were not able to write it down their experience in words, while Cultural Revolution target the literate people in the society. Interestingly, the farmers who were starved to death thought they had to sacrifice for their country.

What is Cultural Revolution? Many Singaporeans have probably heard of this. I like to explain it shortly here. During Cultural Revolution, you can purge your parents, brothers, sisters and neighbors, teachers. You can accuse them to be counter revolutionaries and put them to jail. If you don’t do that, you will be ostracized in the society and soon you may become a victim of purges. You can organize your own force and go around the neighborhood and bring out your neighbor and shame them in the public. You can ransack your neighbor house, spit on their face and get them to write daily self-criticism. All religions are banned and all religious people are persecuted or executed. During Cultural Revolution, people have fire arms and fight among each other on the streets. The society upheaval in China extended across countryside and cities. People who are educated are the worst victims.

Western and Eastern standard of graciousness, politeness and compassion are frowned upon as undesirable mannerism, etiquette or hypocrites. Hospitals have no medical doctors but are replaced with barefoot doctors because Chairman Mao said anyone can become a medical doctor simply by self reading. Teachers are purged by students and any students can tied up their teachers, spit of their face and get the teachers to write self criticism. Basically, Chairman Mao produced a generation of poor country bumpkins and hooligans after he passed away in 1976. Singaporeans can still remember the PRC immigrants who traveled to Singapore in the early or mid 80s behaved like country bumpkins, outdated fashion, poorly dressed and poor mannerism.

Fast forward to 1983 and after Chairman Deng opened its door to the outside world and introduced “To become Rich is Glorious” to its people. In 1983, there was an incident known as “2 Wang incident” that shocked China. The two Wangs are 2 brothers that went on a shooting spree in Northern China and exhausted the arm forces strength to track them down. China at that time is still a very close door society. In other words, if you live in Clementi, you are not allowed to travel to Bouna Vista without a valid travel permit. The social order in China at that time was maintained by the armed forces with little or no training in forensic science or criminal investigation.

The 2 Wang brothers were the by products of the Cultural Revolution. Young, ignorant, uneducated and rebellious, the brothers had pistols and shoot at people whom they disliked or argued. It took more than ten thousand military personnel and 10 months to hunt down both brothers in China despite a very close door society at that time. By the time, the brothers were hunted down, major crimes erupted in broad daylight in cities like Shanghai and Beijing. The largely uneducated kids or poorly educated kids who admired lawlessness in their teens during Cultural Revolution had grown up. Street fights and broad daylight rapes took place in Beijing and Shanghai cities. China was facing an increasing pressure from these groups of hooligans.

The ineffectiveness of the long search prompted Chairman Deng to start police force, forensic science and criminal investigation in 1984. By 1984, Guangzhou City was the first city to have 110 or an equivalent of Singapore 999 police hotline. Chairman Deng started a nationwide crackdown on all criminal activities known as “Yan Da” in 1984. More than 20 thousand hooligans or hardcore criminals were arrested, executed or put in jail for causing social unrest. Ever since then, “Yan Da” was carried out annually to arrest all criminals and uphold social order. Since then, 110 had spread to other cities in China. Criminal laws and judiciary system were implemented after 80s to serve as a warning to all criminals and uphold social order.

PRC Chinese have very poor appreciation of lawful society because the term “lawful society” only began after 1984. When PRC Chinese got into trouble with the law, they like to look for “guanxi” to solve it. They are also limited lawful or legitimate judiciary system to resolve some issues. The judiciary system in China can be quite vague and lost. As a result of this long term exposure, PRC Chinese behave very differently from Singaporeans. From the poorly dressed country bumpkins in the early 80s to the rich and decadent status now, PRC Chinese are known for their huge appetite for LV, Gucci, Bentleys and Ferraris. No matter how much they pay and clothe themselves with luxury brand or drive the most expensive cars, their behavior, values and mindset is obscenely 3rd world in their eyes of not just Singaporeans.

Most Singaporeans are likely to be disgusted by the behavior of PRC Chinese in Singapore. For example, you may witness spiting, littering or someone cutting your queue shamelessly without a word. You may also witness unprecedented level of “Kiasuness” displayed by PRC Chinese, whether in taking free of charge handouts or going to school. The level of selfishness displayed by PRC Chinese can be quite shocking and put our Singaporean standard of “kiasu” or Kiasi” to nothing.

I speak to many PRC Chinese who litter or exhibit selfish behavior without prejudice and draw upon the following conclusion. It is erroneous to say that only uneducated PRC Chinese litter in the public. All educated and non educated PRC Chinese do litter in the public. My hypothesis analysis is based on years of observation and talking with them. So, what is the reason for PRC Chinese who litter?

Supporting reason for littering among PRC Chinese:

Educated PRC Chinese:
1. I pay tax and someone will remove the trash from the street.
2. I can’t find the trash bin”. The government should have put more trash bin.

Uneducated PRC Chinese:
1. I need to dispose the trash from my hand.
2. The wind will blow the trash into bush and it will be covered up.

Supporting reason for queue cutting among PRC Chinese:

Educated PRC Chinese:
1. I am sorry, I didn’t see you in the line (as if they can’t see you).
2. I was here half an hour ago.

Uneducated PRC Chinese:
1. I am in the hurry. Why is it taking such a long time?

How about the books that write China is a country with thousand years of civilization. Well, I can only say that it is a myth. Probably, they have leaders or authors in the past like LKY who put it down in books like “From 3rd World to First”. In reality, I mixed with the expatriate communities among Japanese, Taiwanese and Koreans, their countries have better social benefits than us Singaporeans.

I wish Singaporeans have a wonderful experience with native PRC Chinese. Be prepared to witness spitting, littering and your line being cut.

Linz in China

thumbsdown

Have Ya Ever Wondered?

If Jimmy cracks corn and no one cares,
why is there a song about him?

Who was the first person to look at a cow and say, "I think I'll
squeeze these dangly things here and drink whatever comes out?"

Who was the first person to see an egg come from a chicken's
butt and think, "I'll bet that would be good to eat?

Why are they called stairs inside but steps outside?

If love is blind, how can we believe in love at first sight?

Why do toasters always have a setting that burns the toast to a
horrible crisp, which no decent human being would eat?

Why does Goofy stand erect while Pluto remains on all fours?
They're both dogs!

What do you call male ballerinas?

Why do they call it 'getting your dog fixed' if afterwards it
doesn't work anymore?

If Wile Coyote had enough money for all the Acme products,
why didn't he just buy dinner?

Where in the nursery rhyme does it say Humpty Dumpty is an egg?

Why does Donald Duck wear a towel when he comes out of the
shower, when he doesn't usually wear any pants?

Did Adam and Eve have navels?

Do one-legged ducks swim in circles?

Whose cruel idea was it for the word 'lisp' to have a 's' in it?

Why do fat chance and slim chance mean the same thing?

And who opened that first 'oyster' and said "My, my, my.
Now doesn't 'this' look yummy!"

hornylee

Top Ten Things Only Women Understand
=====================================

10. Why it's good to have five pairs of black shoes.

9. The difference between cream, ivory and off-white.

8. Crying can be fun.

7. Fat Clothes.

6. A salad, diet drink, and a hot fudge sundae make a balanced
lunch.

5. Why discovering a designer dress on the clearance rack can be
considered a peak life experience.

4. The inaccuracy of every bathroom scale ever made.

3. A good man might be hard to find,
but a good hairdresser is next to impossible.

2. Why a phone call between two women never lasts under ten
minutes.

AND THE NUMBER ONE THING ONLY WOMEN UNDERSTAND:

1. OTHER WOMEN!

thumbsdown

Local tastes tempt China diners away from Golden Arches

Reuters

Monday, Oct 28, 2013

SHANGHAI - Bearing rice burgers and lotus roots, an army of Chinese fast food firms is cooking up a challenge to McDonald's Corp and Yum Brands Inc, tempting cost-conscious diners with healthy, homegrown fare and causing a drag on growth for the US chains in the country's US$174 billion (S$215 billion) fast food market.

McDonald's said last week it was thinking of slowing expansion in China as diners are tempted by local rivals. KFC-parent Yum warned this month economic weakness in China would drag on a recovery in sales dented by a food safety scare at the end of last year.

Meanwhile, local firms such as chicken chain Dicos, Country Style Cooking, and Kung Fu Catering have been nibbling away at the dominance of their US rivals.

"I'm a bit sick of Western fast food. There's too much oil, and you hear things like chickens having six legs," said student Tang Mei, 25, as she dined at Taiwanese-owned fast food outlet Dicos. "Health concerns have really made people worried."

McDonald's and Yum are still the largest fast food chains in China but, despite heavy investment, McDonald's has seen its market share by value stagnate at 2.3 per cent since 2007, according to data from market research firm Euromonitor.

Yum, which held 6.5 per cent last year, is up slightly over the same period, but has seen same-store sales hit after a food scare last year and a local outbreak of avian flu. Yum has 5,600 KFC and Pizza Hut China stores, to McDonald's has 1,800 local outlets.

Brands like Ting Hsin International-owned Dicos, the third largest fast food brand in China, have taken note. The firm, which plans to triple its store count to around 3,700 by 2020, says it aims to "break the traditional Western fast food mould".

While conceived in the image of KFC - its name is a play on"Texas" in Chinese - Dicos now also pushes its Chinese roots.

Its website displays an ornate blue ceramic bowl steaming with traditional herbal tea, while rice cake burgers and soybean milk flank the chain's more traditional nuggets and crispy wings.

"After all, since ancient times rice has been the key staple of the Chinese people," explained Zhuang Weitang, a spokesman for Ting Hsin International, adding the brand was planning to up its drive towards healthier, Chinese-style cooking.

"It's the mix (of traditional chicken) with new, health-focused Chinese specialities that has helped us create a niche in the fiercely-competitive Chinese fast-food market."

Eating the Colonel's lunch

In a slowing economy, many consumers are trading down to cheaper alternatives or simply dining at home, said analysts, which has contributed to the growth rate in the wider fast food market halving over the last 5 years to 8 per cent this year.

Lunch at Dicos costs less than 17 yuan (S$3.50) compared with a similar offering from KFC, which costs 25 yuan, according to Mintel.

"Local establishments generally also do a better job catering to local tastes," said Karla Wang, associate research director at market research firm TNS China. "These familiar 'comfort foods' often go a long way in soothing frazzled consumers during times of uncertainty."

Diners have even started to question international chains' quality, traditionally a strong point after scandals ranging from the use of recycled "gutter oil" for cooking to industrial chemical-laced milk made consumers wary of local products.

But a number of scares over the last year, including reports that some chicken purchased by KFC and McDonald's had been fed excess antibiotics, seems to have altered consumer views. Only one-in-four Chinese thought Western fast food was healthier and better quality than Chinese alternatives, said a recent report from research firm Mintel.

McDonald's and Yum have taken note.

"We address food quality and food safety in all aspects of our communication; most recently, we launched a Moms' Trust campaign... and we will be doing more in this area," said Jessica Lee, a Shanghai-based spokeswoman for McDonald's.

Yum officials were not immediately available for comment.

The company has trimmed its local supply chain and plans to launch a new China quality assurance campaign in November that will feature KFC employees, suppliers and poultry farmers.

"We still have work to do, but we know we are doing the right things to regain consumer trust and we remain confident that our best days for KFC in China are yet to come," Chief Executive David Novak said in an analysts call on Oct. 9.

Home Style

As trust of domestic brands grows, diners are being increasingly drawn to local dishes, perceived as healthier due to a wider variety of ingredients, while there is mounting interest in traditional Chinese food and dining culture.

Last year a documentary called "A Bite of China" aired on local television drawing more than 100 million viewers, making it the most successful documentary in China since the 1990s.

Chinese heritage has become a key selling point.

Kung Fu Catering, which sports an emblem of martial artist Bruce Lee, underscores its local credentials by playing up the natural ingredients for its Chinese-style food against backgrounds of Chinese mountains, wispy clouds and bamboo.

Others such as Country Style Cooking, CNHLS and Gll Wonton, owned by Shanghai Shihao Catering, all offer fast food with a Chinese flavour. Though some way behind Yum and McDonald's in terms of size, all are taking market share from the huge independent sector of single shops and stalls.

Local brands also perform strongly in regions away from the saturated east coast market, catering to local tastes in areas seen as the China's next drivers for growth.

"Country Style Cooking is really strong in western China, while Kung Fu Catering is from Shenzhen and does well with more rice-based Chinese set meals, which fit the trend towards less oily and healthier food," said James Roy, Shanghai-based senior analyst at China Market Research Group.

China's influential netizens also suggest the US firms are struggling to remain the flavour of the month. Chatter about the two brands on China's Twitter-like Weibo fell to an almost two-year low in September, according to analysis by Reuters.

As one microblogger wrote: "I won't choose anything but Chinese fast food. We've got crab meat dumplings to Hunan-style cooking, fragrant Xinjiang breads and lamb kebabs... What do brands like Pizza Hut and McDonald's possibly have to offer?"

thumbsdown

Next year, the month of August will have 5 Fridays, 5 Saturdays and 5 Sundays.

This phenomenon occurs only once every 823 years.

thumbsdown

JAPAN’S FIRST “CUDDLE CAFE” LETS YOU SLEEP WITH A JAPANESE GIRL FOR $80/HR

unnamed.jpg

Sometimes, after a long, stressful day, there’s nothing more comforting than crawling into bed with your significant other and falling asleep in their arms.
But what if you don’t have anyone to cuddle with in the first place? If you’re in Japan, you might think to go to a soapland or some other kind of brothel, but then you’d have to deal with all that sex when you really just want to close your eyes and rest in the warmth of another’s body.

But wait! Before you resign yourself to another lonely night of shedding tears on your Rei Ayanami dakimakura, why not stop by Soineya, Japan’s first “co-sleeping specialty shop,” where customers can pay to sleep in the arms of a beautiful girl—with no strings attached!

Soineya (literally, “sleep together shop”) opened its doors on September 25 in none other than Akihabara, Tokyo’s electronics district, hub of otaku culture and birthplace of other eccentric establishments like maid cafés. Soineya defines itself as a “co-sleeping specialty shop,” which we’re going to denominate “cuddle cafe” because it has a better ring to it.

According to the homepage, Soineya hopes to offer patrons “the simple and ultimate comfort of sleeping together with someone.”

Of course, ultimate comfort comes at a price. Let’s take a look at the Soineya “service menu”:

Admission fee: 3000 yen (US $40)

Standard Course

20 min – 3000 yen ($40)
40 min – 5000 yen ($65, only 3000 yen for first time visitors)
60 min – 6000 yen ($77)
2 hrs – 11000 yen ($142)
3 hrs – 16000 yen ($206)
4 hrs – 20000 yen ($258)
5 hrs – 25000 yen ($322)
6 hrs – 30000 yen ($387)
10 hrs – 50000 yen ($645)
“Shimei-ryo“ (fee to pick the girl you want to sleep with) – 1000 yen ($13) + 500 yen ($6.50) per hour

Optional Course

Customer sleeps in girl’s arm (3 min) – 1000 yen ($13)
Girl pats customer on the back (3 min) – 1000 yen ($13)
Customer pets girl on the head (3 min) – 1000 yen ($13)
Customer and girl stare at each other (1 min) – 1000 yen ($13)
Girl changes clothes (1 time) – 1000 yen ($13)
Girl gives customer foot massage (3 min) – 1000 yen ($13)
Customer gives girl foot massage (3 min) – 2000 yen ($26)
Customer sleeps with head on girl’s lap (3 min) – 1000 yen ($13)
Girl sleeps with head on customer’s lap (3 min) – 2000 yen ($26)
So basically, you’re paying about 6000 yen ($77) an hour to lie in bed with a complete stranger. The website doesn’t specify what customers are and are not permitted to do during the standard course, but it’s probably safe to assume your options are limited to “close your eyes and be quiet.”

Furthermore, Soineya is currently recruiting girls for part-time in-store and “delivery” work. Here’s the job description.

■ Job: Sleeping
■ Location: Akihabara (3 min walk from station)
■ Qualifications: High school age to 30′s
■ Compensation: 3500 yen ($45)/hour
■ Hours: Weekdays 15:00-22:00, Weekend/holidays 12:00-22:00
Anyone interested in applying can do so here.

$45/hr to sleep doesn’t sound like too bad a deal, but those 10-hour day shifts must be rough.

Source: Soineya via Jinsoku

sadshishamo

A PICKY pilot delayed a Pakinstan Internatinal Airlines NewYork bound flight from Allama Iqbal International Airport in Lahore by two and a half hours ... for sandwiches.
PIA flight Pk-711 was scheduled to leave for New York via Manchester at 6:45am (local time) in the morning when flight captain Noushad requested sandwiches for lunch.

Sandwiches were included as part of the in-flight menu on the flight until recently. On November 25 all the sandwiches were replaced with peanuts, chips and biscuits to save costs, and the catering department could only serve the approved revised menu.
When the pilot requested sandwiches the catering staff told him that they were not part of the approved menu, and that the only way to obtain sandwiches would be to place an order with a five-star city hotel - which would take over two hours.
The captain insisted that he needed sandwiches and the catering department contacted the Pakistan International Airlines head office in Karachi to seek further advice on the matter.

Amazingly, management directed the catering team to order the sandwiches as requested.
Once the sandwiches arrived the pilot was allegedly happy and the flight resumed ... over two hours late.

A spokesperson for Pakinstan Internatinal Airlines, Mashhood Tajwar, said that management had taken serious notice of the massive delay and that an investigation into the matter had been ordered.
Here's hoping the pilot enjoyed his lunch!

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Beware of Burundanga Namecards..

What is Malaysia becoming? Yes, this actually happened to my friend last year. A salesman just cooly walked into her office at the Boulevard ( mid valley ) and proceeded to show her what he was selling. Without thinking twice, my friend very naturally stretched out her hand to take whatever he was holding.. Immediately she felt like something zapped her and her speech became slurred. Thankfully, she still had the presence of mind to fling whatever she had taken from the man ( she can't even remember what it was ) at the door, and the man quickly ran off.

So take heed and make sure you don't accept cards at any given time alone or from someone on the streets. This applies to those making house calls and slipping you a card when they offer their services.

This is an urban legend/hoax, already debunked many times.
http://urbanlegends.about.com/od/crime/a/burundanga.htm

thumbsdown

Your Tantrums

It will be awhile before you leave most of your tantrums behind.

Until then, you can expect to deal with outbursts of anger and
frustration on a regular basis.

You can cut down on the frequency of your tantrums by making
sure you get enough sleep and eat well during the day.

It helps to take a nap during the day.

It's probably unrealistic to expect you to sit still for three
square meals a day, so try a variety of foods (yogurt, pizza,
fruit, vegetables, cheese and crackers) throughout the day to
keep hunger pangs at bay.

Remember, when you are hungry and sleep-deprived, it is a
meltdown waiting to happen.

Does this sound like you or someone you know?

It is someone whom my wife and I know.

It is someone very close to us.

It is our two-year-old son, Christian.

I just changed the words of advice that professionals give
parents of toddlers to make it personal for Christian.
I will read it to him as soon as he sits still long enough.

It is amazing how that advice fits adults so well.

Remember, when you are hungry and sleep-deprived,
it is a meltdown waiting to happen.

thumbsdown

5 Reasons You Should Avoid Using Microwaves

If you’re like most Americans, you use your microwave oven on a regular basis. First introduced in 1967 by the Amana Corporation, the microwave has become a North American kitchen staple. Microwave television dinners became all the rage, and you could have a meal ready in just seconds.
Most appliances work by heating from the outside in. Not microwaves.

Microwaves use a magnetron to generate microwaves, a form of electromagnetic radiation. Sound a little worrying? It should be. The magnetrons produce electromagnetic fields and the microwaves produced create something called ‘dielectric heating’. This means that the microwaves will be absorbed by whatever’s put in there. It’s time to take a closer look at the microwave. Check out these 5 reasons you should avoid using microwaves. Some of them may surprise you.

1. They Can Leak Radiation
Here’s something that will help you sleep at night: even if you don’t actively eat food from a microwave, your health still could be at risk. The terrifying truth is that microwaves can actually leak radiation.

Microwaves do have to conform to pretty rigorous safety standards, especially for the newest models, and they’ve come a long way from how they used to be. However, even the newest microwave ovens are not immune to safety concerns. If you’re in the range of a microwave while it is being used, there is going to be some radiation that leaks out– and affects you.

Especially if you’re relatively close to the radius of generated radiation.
It turns out that even a microwave that adheres to safety standards can actually still expose you to radiation– up to 400 milliGauss of it. What does that mean? Well, absorbing 4 milliGauss has been actually linked to developing leukemia. It’s a pretty good reason to ditch it all together.

2. They Turn “Live” Food Into “Dead” Food

You may have heard that food today does not carry the same nutritional bang for your buck that it did fifty and even a hundred years ago. Live food is usually eaten fresh and raw, and this live food carries bio-information as well as antioxidants, vitamins, and other essential nutrients. So what happens when you put this live food into a microwave?

The majority of the good stuff that you want that goes into your body is rendered absolutely useless. The food dies, the nutritional value is gone, and it’s essentially stripped of everything that your body actually wants and needs from food.

A study in The Journal of the Science of Food and Agriculture in November 2003 stated that broccoli that was microwaved with some water actually lost the majority of its antioxidants. How many? 97 percent. Maybe you could chalk it up to the cooking process, but steamed broccoli actually fared better, only losing 11 percent of its antioxidants. Likewise, a minute of microwaving garlic was enough to completely inactivate its cancer-fighting ingredient, allinase.

Microwaving renders much of the nutritional profile of food inert. Even breast milk lost its antibodies and lysozyme activity, and opened the door for potentially pathogenic bacteria to grow. Not only that, but amino acids were converted into biologically inactive elements, and amino acids that have been altered in some cases become poisonous to the kidneys as well as the nervous system. Yikes.

3. They Can Cause Uneven Heating and Hot Spots

Another reason to avoid microwaves? Well, they don’t always heat evenly. Sure, if you make a circle in the center of a plate of food, it’ll heat more evenly. But when it comes to heating liquids, that’s not always the case.

This is a problem for well-meaning mothers who are still microwaving formula or breast milk for their children without knowing the risks and the harm it can cause. Besides altered chemistry, one of the biggest forms of harm that can come from this is uneven heating.

While the liquid may appear uniformly heated, hot spots can occur that can severely burn your baby. They can even cause steam explosions. Yet another reason to turn to other methods for heating up or cooking food… and breast milk.

4. They Release Deadly Chemicals Into Your Food

Not only do microwaves cause the water molecules in food to vibrate very quickly and changes the structure of your food, they also can cause a lovely array of toxins and chemicals to leech out into your food. Sound scary? That’s because it is. Your health can be rapidly compromised from all the toxins that are suddenly appearing in your food. This could come from the plastic packaging you’re microwaving food in, the containers they’re in, or just the clear plastic wrap you’ve got over the top that’s melting into the food.

These toxins could include dioxins (carcinogens), polyethylene terpthalate, benzene, xylene, toluene, bisphenol A(BPA), and more.
Avoid the cancer, fatigue, and other health risks and just skip microwaving in plastic bowls, containers, with plastic wrap, and more. If you must microwave, use microwave-safe glass to avoid all the nasty, body-disrupting chemicals. Yuck!

5. The Numerous Negative Health Effects

Microwaving changes the food and water molecules, making them deformed or even toxic. The microwaving can actually result in wildly negative health effects, and trust us, you don’t want any of them. It reduces hemoglobin levels, even causing anemia.

It can make your HDL go down and your bad cholesterol (LDL) levels go up. It can actually cause the amount of red and white blood cells you have to go down, wrecking your immune system. Incredibly, the de-polarizing and magnetizing of the food you’re microwaving can actually cause you to become dumber, decreasing your intelligence, memory, or focus.

Not only that, you could develop a hormone imbalance and even cancer. Just one more reason to change your lifestyle and ditch the microwave for good.