• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Retirement - If you don't do your sums, it will be a disaster.

Written for the Yanks but just as applicable to sinkies.

Our Ridiculous Approach to Retirement

By TERESA GHILARDUCCI July 21, 2012

I WORK on retirement policy, so friends often want to talk about their own retirement plans and prospects. While I am happy to have these conversations, my friends usually walk away feeling worse — for good reason.

Seventy-five percent of Americans nearing retirement age in 2010 had less than $30,000 in their retirement accounts. The specter of downward mobility in retirement is a looming reality for both middle- and higher-income workers. Almost half of middle-class workers, 49 percent, will be poor or near poor in retirement, living on a food budget of about $5 a day.

In my ad hoc retirement talks, I repeatedly hear about the “guy.” This is a for-profit investment adviser, often described as, “I have this guy who is pretty good, he always calls, doesn’t push me into investments.” When I ask how much the “guy” costs, or if the guy has fiduciary loyalty — to the client, not the firm — or if their investments do better than a standard low-fee benchmark, they inevitably don’t know. After hearing about their magical guy, I ask about their “number.”

To maintain living standards into old age we need roughly 20 times our annual income in financial wealth. If you earn $100,000 at retirement, you need about $2 million beyond what you will receive from Social Security. If you have an income-producing partner and a paid-off house, you need less. This number is startling in light of the stone-cold fact that most people aged 50 to 64 have nothing or next to nothing in retirement accounts and thus will rely solely on Social Security.

Even for those who know their “number” and are prepared for retirement (it happens, rarely), these conversations aren’t easy. At dinner one night, a friend told me how much he has in retirement assets and said he didn’t think he had saved enough. I mentally calculated his mortality, figured he would die sooner than he predicted, and told him cheerfully that he shouldn’t worry. (“Congratulations!”) But dying early is not the basis of a retirement plan.

If we manage to accept that our investments will likely not be enough, we usually enter another fantasy world — that of working longer. After all, people hear that 70 is the new 50, and a recent report from Boston College says that if people work until age 70, they will most likely have enough to retire on. Unfortunately, this ignores the reality that unemployment rates for those over 50 are increasing faster than for any other group and that displaced older workers face a higher risk of long-term unemployment than their younger counterparts. If those workers ever do get re-hired, it’s not without taking at least a 25 percent wage cut.

But the idea is tempting; people say they don’t want to retire and feel useless. Professionals say they can keep going, “maybe do some consulting” or find some other way to generate income well into their late 60s. Others say they can always be Walmart greeters. They rarely admit that many people retire earlier than they want because they are laid off or their spouse becomes sick.

Like the nation’s wealth gap, the longevity gap has also widened. The chance to work into one’s 70s primarily belongs to the most well off. Medical technology has helped extend life, by helping older people survive longer with illnesses and by helping others stay active. The gains in longevity in the last two decades almost all went to people earning more than average. It makes perfect sense for human beings to think each of us is special and can work forever. To admit you can’t, or might not be able to, is hard, and denial and magical thinking are underrated human coping devices in response to helplessness and fear.

So it’s not surprising that denial dominates my dinner conversations, but it is irresponsible for Congress to deny that regardless of how much you throw 401(k) advertising, pension cuts, financial education and tax breaks at Americans, the retirement system simply defies human behavior. Basing a system on people’s voluntarily saving for 40 years and evaluating the relevant information for sound investment choices is like asking the family pet to dance on two legs.

Not yet convinced that failure is baked into the voluntary, self-directed, commercially run retirement plans system? Consider what would have to happen for it to work for you. First, figure out when you and your spouse will be laid off or be too sick to work. Second, figure out when you will die. Third, understand that you need to save 7 percent of every dollar you earn. (Didn’t start doing that when you were 25 and you are 55 now? Just save 30 percent of every dollar.) Fourth, earn at least 3 percent above inflation on your investments, every year. (Easy. Just find the best funds for the lowest price and have them optimally allocated.) Fifth, do not withdraw any funds when you lose your job, have a health problem, get divorced, buy a house or send a kid to college. Sixth, time your retirement account withdrawals so the last cent is spent the day you die.

As we all know, these abilities are not common for our species. The current model for retirement savings, which forces individuals to figure out a plan for their retirement years, whether through a “guy” or by individual decision making, will always fall short. My friends are afraid, and they are not alone. In March, according to the Employee Benefit Research Institute, only 52 percent of Americans expressed confidence that they will be comfortable in retirement. Twenty years ago, that number was close to 75 percent.

I hope that fear can make us all get real. The coming retirement income security crisis is a shared problem; it is not caused by a set of isolated individual behaviors. My plan calls for a way out that would create guaranteed retirement accounts on top of Social Security. These accounts would be required, professionally managed, come with a guaranteed rate of return and pay out annuities. This is a sensible way to get people to prepare for the future. You don’t like mandates? Get real. Just as a voluntary Social Security system would have been a disaster, a voluntary retirement account plan is a disaster.

It is now more than 30 years since the 401(k)/Individual Retirement Account model appeared on the scene. This do-it-yourself pension system has failed. It has failed because it expects individuals without investment expertise to reap the same results as professional investors and money managers. What results would you expect if you were asked to pull your own teeth or do your own electrical wiring?

Although humans may be bad at some behaviors, we are good at others, including coming together and finding common solutions that protect all of us from risk. Surely we can find a way to help people save — adequately and with little risk — for their old age.

Teresa Ghilarducci is a professor of economics at the New School for Social Research.

Sinkies dictionary there is no such word as retirement.
We follow dear emperor's fine example to work till you die.
89 and still going strong!

In Spore it's hard to plan for retirement because the PAP is busy increasing costs on a regular basis:(

How can you fight an organised gang like the PAP:confused: They will shift posts, change regulations, change referees,.....:rolleyes: Just look at rising utility rates, withdrawal age, amount of medishield, etc

My solution will be to move out of Spore & limit my exposure to the PAP's taxes. I expect to enjoy my $$. However If I stay here I will probably end up like the many void deck uncles you see in our heartlands:(

soIsee

I hope that applies to you when your time comes.

On a more serious note, many Sinkie have little to hope for when they reach 55 or even 60. Many have already been hit with the reality that they have nothing to look for, at about 40 and thereafter.

Once the Mini Toons MIWs take their cut of their CPF at 55, many would still need to service their HDB pigeon hole loans. And with a high cost of living, their saving would quickly wither away.

Many have no alternative continuing monthly income, once they are no longer employable and these ppl really hope that their children would look after they essential needs.

But if one were to look back, all these Sinkie deserved to get what they have gotten themselves into.

Cruxx

In Spore it's hard to plan for retirement because the PAP is busy increasing costs on a regular basis:(

How can you fight an organised gang like the PAP:confused: They will shift posts, change regulations, change referees,.....:rolleyes: Just look at rising utility rates, withdrawal age, amount of medishield, etc

My solution will be to move out of Spore & limit my exposure to the PAP's taxes. I expect to enjoy my $$. However If I stay here I will probably end up like the many void deck uncles you see in our heartlands:(

Couldn't agree more. And it's not just about your own dire prospects. Think of your children too. No responsible parent would want to nurture his son/daughter in a sinkiefied environment. :smile:

Kinana

Had the govt not force ppl to save, Singkies would have blown it all on spending and gambling.

On the contrary. It's actually easy to plan for retirement in Singapore because the government is doing an excellent job of generating economic activity.

Casinos, F1, expanding infrastructure and an ever increasing population base all combine to create opportunities for making money which can then be invested and used to fund your retirement.

soIsee

Had the govt not force ppl to save, Singkies would have blown it all on spending and gambling.

You go FUCK else where lah, saving alone even without spending and gambling would not be enough to even handle the Sinkie inflation rate.

Low life like you, carrying balls have no idea 'WHAT IT IS LIKE MAKING TONS OF MONEY so go think about YOUR own retirement instead of posting on this topic, so for you, should it be the 'home for the destitute or IMH!:biggrin:

soIsee

On the contrary. It's actually easy to plan for retirement in Singapore because the government is doing an excellent job of generating economic activity.

Casinos, F1, expanding infrastructure and an ever increasing population base all combine to create opportunities for making money which can then be invested and used to fund your retirement.

I agree with you somewhat but most Sinkie are slaves and do not seriously know 'how and where, in the correct timing , to place their money!

If one were to have the talent to know how to expoilt the opportunites presented, like me, it's like a money making dream come true! LOL

Majority of Sporeans are wage earners & not businessmen. In Spore if you work for a company you have very little time to moonlight. In many companies they can also fire you if they don't like what you are doing in your spare time.

Why moonlight? Moonlighting will get you nowhere fast. It'll generate pocket money at best and it certainly won't change your life.

People have to learn to be passionate about what they believe can work. There are no half measures. I went as far as to quit Singapore in order to take advantage of the opportunities Sinkieland was generating. It was becoming more and more decadent and there is always money to be made when it comes to vices. :p

Force 136

Our parents have lots of children to see them thru retirement.....

We have max 2

If they migrate..... and/or unable to support you, you are farked......

bryanlim1972

"Fifth, do not withdraw any funds when you lose your job, have a health problem, get divorced, buy a house or send a kid to college. Sixth, time your retirement account withdrawals so the last cent is spent the day you die."

Teresa Ghilardducci is clearly another paper general. she has lost touch with reality.

Our parents have lots of children to see them thru retirement.....

We have max 2

You're contradicting conventional wisdom that singaporeans can't afford to have kids.

If more children bring security in old age, why do sinkies have so few?

Why moonlight? Moonlighting will get you nowhere fast. It'll generate pocket money at best and it certainly won't change your life.

People have to learn to be passionate about what they believe can work. There are no half measures. I went as far as to quit Singapore in order to take advantage of the opportunities Sinkieland was generating. It was becoming more and more decadent and there is always money to be made when it comes to vices. :p

Even risk takers have to feed themselves while they wait for their investments to hatch. It may also take a few attempts before they succeed. So one needs a job in Spore.

Not all of us have the drive & business acumen to succeed in business. Fortunately there's more than 1 way to succeed e.g. flipping properties, investing in equities, ... I've succeeded in making $ from investing. Fortunately I don't have to worry about $ because I've invested wisely & have a modest lifestyle. I may not be able to afford a boat but that's ok because I get sea sick:smile:

Even risk takers have to feed themselves while they wait for their investments to hatch. It may also take a few attempts before they succeed. So one needs a job in Spore.

Work hard as an employee for the first 10 years and save as much as possible. Forget cars, smart phones, clubbing, overseas holidays etc. There'll be time and money for that later.

This should enable most to save up enough to go a couple of years without an income. A supportive spouse will help further so potential entrepreneurs should choose wisely before they get hitched. A high maintenance trophy wife will do nothing but dig a deeper hole to fall into. Partners should be assets in life and not liabilities.

BusNo64

for retirement, cashflow is very impt.......2 million can buy a good property and rent it out for income....wat for keep in bank and see it depreciate due to inflation and draw down....abt 10yrs ago when my dad passed away, I told my mom to use his CPF money to buy a freehold condo in the east which cost about only $650k (3+1) to rent it out....now the place is worth more than $1 mil, and she is getting $4k rental income, whiel we are staying in our good old HDB flat...:p

1. aiyoh!
2. although its mind is so damn willing to push on.
3. but its weakening physical being just cannot take the punishment no more!
4. don't worry, it does not live forever!
5. on some fine day, it shall collapse big time.
6. sooner or just a little later!
7. just be patient.