• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

All about cars in Malaysia

crystal_tiong

Re: Reliable mechanic? Mr Satu Malaysia

I tried using Mr Satu Malaysia service yesterday.
Overall , I would say its ok ... perhaps he not so familiar with Korean cars. He broke the air con filters while taking out .
Anyway , u guys has any sun roof specialist to recommend ? Me so sway , sat early morning 5 plus , kenna high rise littering , a bag of curry landed on my sun roof , some food particles stucked in between the opening and closing.
Very smelly leh ....
Mr Satu malaysia cant solve my sun roof prob. But I did my 60k servicing and change wipers with him . Damage is RM513 , reasonable ? Changed engine oil , ATF , buy 2 wipers , wheels alignment and rotations.

congo9

Re: New Causeway toll!

Will it come to pass ?

I don think so. I think a lot of businesses are depending on Singapore's car to boost their business. Once if the raise the toll, the businesses there will suffer like mad.

RM 15.30 just to use the the causeway to nearby town area ? I think it is highly irrational !!!

congo9

Where to find car workshop that offer sound proofing services ?

Re: New Causeway toll!

Increase is 100% but by how much maybe RM5 ~RM10. I dont believe is RM15.

CameraMan

Hi Crystal,

I have never had my car serviced in Malaysia before. However, I did 60k service in Singapore in last Sept and that cost me $312. So, I guess it was a reasonable price that you paid.

Did you have to wait long for the car to be serviced?

Any bro or sis has other mechanics to recommend?

I tried using Mr Satu Malaysia service yesterday.
Overall , I would say its ok ... perhaps he not so familiar with Korean cars. He broke the air con filters while taking out .
Anyway , u guys has any sun roof specialist to recommend ? Me so sway , sat early morning 5 plus , kenna high rise littering , a bag of curry landed on my sun roof , some food particles stucked in between the opening and closing.
Very smelly leh ....
Mr Satu malaysia cant solve my sun roof prob. But I did my 60k servicing and change wipers with him . Damage is RM513 , reasonable ? Changed engine oil , ATF , buy 2 wipers , wheels alignment and rotations.

crystal_tiong

Hi Crystal,

I have never had my car serviced in Malaysia before. However, I did 60k service in Singapore in last Sept and that cost me $312. So, I guess it was a reasonable price that you paid.

Did you have to wait long for the car to be serviced?

Any bro or sis has other mechanics to recommend?

I was e first customer. About 1hr to do all. Subsequently a few cars came n quite packed.

crystal_tiong

What time did you arrive at the mechanics?

i was there 930am but they haven open so i went for breakfast and back by 10am and they were opened.

I will list out the breakdowns of costs for the servicing :

1) Cusco 5w-40 - RM190
2) Oil Filter - RM28
3) Air Filter - RM75
4) ATFSP111 Gear Oil - RM120
5) Michelin Wiper 17" - RM25
6) Michelin Wiper 24" - RM35
7) Alignment - RM 25
8) Balancing - RM5

So i compared the filters which i bought in SG , satu malaysia is much expensive. Oil filter is SGD5 and Aircon abt $25 in SG.
But i must said the wipers are really good , no squeaky sound at all .

CameraMan

Yup, I think the filters are slightly more expensive. Perhaps because of the brand.

When you want to replace your tire, let me know. I'll introduce you to a tire shop in Singapore. Price is reasonable and comes with free rotation and balancing.

crystal_tiong

Yup, I think the filters are slightly more expensive. Perhaps because of the brand.

When you want to replace your tire, let me know. I'll introduce you to a tire shop in Singapore. Price is reasonable and comes with free rotation and balancing.

Ok , thanks .
But that will be 10 mths later coz i usually change tyres at every 40k mileage.
Every month I clock abt 2k mileage.

NoOnEsAwMe

carpark coupon - where to buy?

can any kind bros share abit, where to buy car parking-lot coupons?

i went in just before CNY, to Da Ma Market area, wanted to buy some new year goodies
thought i could just chuck it in an empty parking lot , but quickly and leave
but the moment i got out of the vehicle, i saw 2 policemen 1 from each direction start checking..
sian 1/2, i immediately got back into vehicle and left..

:(

crystal_tiong

Re: carpark coupon - where to buy?

can any kind bros share abit, where to buy car parking-lot coupons?

i went in just before CNY, to Da Ma Market area, wanted to buy some new year goodies
thought i could just chuck it in an empty parking lot , but quickly and leave
but the moment i got out of the vehicle, i saw 2 policemen 1 from each direction start checking..
sian 1/2, i immediately got back into vehicle and left..

:(

the shops along the lots usually sells , if not can buy from 7-11 if u see.
Dun worry abt the summons , no need to pay .
But if traffic police summons , u will need to pay.

All mini market/sundry shop sell coupon. U can also ask the parking warden where to buy coupon.
Summon also no problem immediate settle with few day just RM15.

NoOnEsAwMe

I don't think it's appropriate to reciprocate your host country in this manner.

dont mind him la, to each his own, that's y we r human
human beings got many different way of dealing with situations and issues
for me i just want to try go law by law, until if lan-lan kena a hungry cop then bo bian la.
it's part of the hazard of trying for some cheap makan and enjoyment in JB :p

ty crystaltiong n cestbon bros :smile:

crystal_tiong

I don't think it's appropriate to reciprocate your host country in this manner.

Well, it's their own ppl told me dun bother to pay if Kenna. They also never pay.
Anyway e summon all in Malay. How to see where to pay.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section

Hi Cameraman, thanks for your inputs, please let us know the pricing and brand.

For 4 tyres, Pirelli P6 (made in China) but has warranty against cracks, bulges, etc. Its 1050 RM for me so about $435 SGD in total. Thats the tyre i use currently for all my cars. In fact, i still have a set of 4 Pirelli P6 15" and all just 1 week old as i sold off an older car recently. Roughly about $108 SGD for each tyre. Michellin ones cost even cheaper.

As i have a few cars and all my relatives have cars, please let us know the name and pricing of the shop so that we can compare.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section

Where to find car workshop that offer sound proofing services ?

There are a few, mainly accessories shops that does it. If its just the doors, you can do it cheaply
by going to Daiso and buying the soundproofing tapes they have there. 2-2.5 m and just $2 SGD or
5 RM each. Cheap and good.

Else, you can head out to the Jalan Indah side, there is a 24 hour kopitiam(nice wanton mee there btw)
and an accessories shop. The owner is pretty reasonable and he does audio, day running lights, turbo timers as well.