• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How to get more gals to participate..

One of my biggest failures with the old coffee shop was the gender imbalance of the participants.

50% of Singaporeans are females but hardly any of them come here. Most will go to the "girly" forums with the girly look, feel and colour schemes.

With the vbulletin format, I can solve the "look & feel" part. The girls can use this skin and they'll feel right at home with the surroundings. The bigger problem is how to get them to start posting. I've created a section just for the ladies but I doubt if any of them will bite anytime soon.

All suggestions will be welcome as to how to get at least 20 females of good repute to participate on a regular basis. :p

One of my biggest failures with the old coffee shop was the gender imbalance of the participants.

50% of Singaporeans are females but hardly any of them come here. Most will go to the "girly" forums with the girly look, feel and colour schemes.

With the vbulletin format, I can solve the "look & feel" part. The girls can use this skin and they'll feel right at home with the surroundings. The bigger problem is how to get them to start posting. I've created a section just for the ladies but I doubt if any of them will bite anytime soon.

All suggestions will be welcome as to how to get at least 20 females of good repute to participate on a regular basis. :p

last time we have applei, agent_lex... and perhaps a number of female forumers whom i've mistakenly addressed as bros...

haven't seen them posting in the old Delphi over the last year or so... :(

khunking

I think you need a couple of hunks here to attract the females. Caucasians?

hard, bcos evry1 noes ...

sammyboy = sex

mayb ... change ur domain name ...

hard, bcos evry1 noes ...

sammyboy = sex

mayb ... change ur domain name ...
I think you do have a point. In fact, its one factor that even the males are afraid of entering in the fear that they may be zapped by god knows who.

I do recall in the early years of SBF, after talking to people on many occasions, I could not decide if it was the porn angle or the dissent angle that frightened out "god" fearing singaporeans.

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Take the cue from XiaXue and Dawn. Either stir up a cat fight or invite them over to wash their linen in your pink folder.

kwh79

It's the topics that can be found here. As with all websites and forums, contents are the main thing that draw repeats visits. girls have different interests from guys. You notice that cozycot and flowerpod have a lot more females than males. For sammy, we have more males than females.

To get a gender balance, we'll need a balance of contents that interest females and males. Since male and female brains are programmed differently, we'll have to get females to start some threads with topics of interest to the female gender. Infiltrate the other forums filled with females and participate actively. Post innocent references of this forum in there and they will probably click here and read. If you hold their interests, they will come back.

Easy to say, hard to develop into reality.

ahbengsong

Could you please... I'm too shy to ask. :o

You remind me of the time I try asking a chick out shyly... dare not even look at her.... and after a minute of mumbling... found the cleaning lady looking at me grudgingly with a cigarette in her mouth....

beng

char_jig_kar

Create threads, with topic on

1. romantic relationship

2. korean tv serials, ang moh tv serials such as desperate housewives, etc...

3. religion (lots of female dig that...)

4. fashion

popdod

The word sammyboy had already associated with "sex" theme for sometime.
No matter how you revamp your site..whether with pink colour, makeup tips articles, it will NOT entice female forumers.

Just come up a new forum name....without "sammyboy" in it.
Right now, Cozycot is leading the female forum...flowerpork is dying soon.

Once you achieve that....char bors will register.

:biggrin: :p :biggrin:

popdod

It's the topics that can be found here. As with all websites and forums, contents are the main thing that draw repeats visits. girls have different interests from guys.

You notice that cozycot and flowerpod have a lot more females than males. For sammy, we have more males than females.

The fact is....topics can't attract these female forumers.
When you see heavily political + sex threads in one forum...most women will shun that forum.

Women just want a dominated female version forum.

:o :p :o

char_jig_kar

The fact is....topics can't attract these female forumers.
When you see heavily political + sex threads in one forum...most women will shun that forum.

- u are contradicting yourself. if the political threads and sex threads (this kopitiam have sex threads meh??) are putting off the female forumers, then its the topics that matter.

- put in more topic/ threads which interest the female forumers. that will balance the forum. simple as that.