• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dun like to study, take drugs...guess the race?

From_school_dropout_to_pilot-topImage.jpg

37-year-old Captain Muhamad Aidith, a pilot and instructor with Air Charter International, had no interest in his studies as a boy.

He ended up in a gang when he was just 12.

It wasn't until he struggled to find a job that reality hit him. With only one O-level pass in Malay, no one would hire him.

His journey to flying an aeroplane was anything but smooth.

As a young boy, he did poorly in primary school and his parents sent him to Johor Bahru, hoping the change would do him good.

Instead of studying harder, he ended up dabbling in drugs and joining a gang.

"We asked for money from other students, (and use it to) buy drugs," said Aidith, recalling how they could do "anything" just to get money to buy drugs.

Realising he had fallen into bad company, Aidith's parents brought him back to Singapore.

Without a PSLE certificate, his parents spent a year trying to find a school for him. Eventually, the principal of Fuchun Secondary school allowed Aidith, then 15, to enter Sec 1 after scraping a pass in the entrance test.

However, Aidith soon fell into bad company again.

Describing himself as "easily influenced", Aidith said he just "could not study" when he was younger.

The turning point came when it was time to look for a job. With only one O-level pass in Malay, he was rejected by many employers.

Fortunately for Aidith, he secured a job at the Changi Airport Group, as a baggage handler.

Working day in day out on the airport runway ignited a passion in Aidith for airplanes and flying.

A Korean pilot actually advised Aidith on where to take a pilot course. Aidith spent the next five years working three jobs to fund his flying lessons.

He obtained his commercial flying license in 2004, and has since worked for Singapore Airlines and Boeing. Even though his academic qualifications were not stellar, he passed all the necessary tests on his first attempt.

That's why today, Aidith hopes to be an inspiration to other boys and reach out to wayward youths.

Sometimes, the environment and the people whom you hang around with can have a big influence in shaping your character.

Look at Makiyo. Yakuza Jap dad who wasn't available. Hangs around with hardcore drinkers and thugs.

HorGauGan

at least tis m&d i respect coz he works hard to get wat he want . GOH MENG SENG is worse than a m&d. wat has GOH MENG SEND achieved?????

try to compare and contrast tis m&d and tis GOH MENG SENG???????????????????

1. kudos to him for his determination and courage.
2. honest, anyone regardless race should be given some fair chance to prove himself.

Steady la this abang Mad Aidith no need to go NS, steady la

Agoraphobic

if this person was a chinese i don't think you guys would praise him that much.

The Chinese version would be:

Primary school - teacher's pet, good grades from P1 to P6. Go to RI, 8 A's O levels. Go to JC, straight A's again, school prefect. Wins gahmen scholarship, aces Uni. Gets addicted to gambling soon after work, loses his pants, hounded by Ah Long, wife sues for divorce.

Agoraphobic

KNN, limpei as a boy dreamt to be a pilot when RSAF at that time only had Strikemasters and Hunters. Then came Secondary school and limpei became four eyes. CCB.

Raiders

1. kudos to him for his determination and courage.
2. honest, anyone regardless race should be given some fair chance to prove himself.

I agree with you brother. As long as one is sincere in changing his life and actually makes an effort to change it, we should give them a chance. Everyone has periods in his life that is dark and did their wrongs.

Let's give praise when it is due. In this instance, good job and I admire this guy for making it, despite a lousy envirnoment.

Better than lots of quacks who only know how to KPKB behind a PC!

:smile:

When a malay singaporean fails, you all mock him and say he's malay.

When he succeeds, you all mock him and say he's malay. wtf?

Primary school - teacher's pet, good grades from P1 to P6. Go to RI, 8 A's O levels. Go to JC, straight A's again, school prefect. Wins gahmen scholarship, aces Uni. Gets addicted to gambling soon after work, loses his pants, hounded by Ah Long, wife sues for divorce.

if this m&d fella was a chinese confirm mocked by you ppl.

1. bro, may i add something on to your list?
2. fooling around with some milf sales individual hoh!

if not for the drugs, he would have been spaceship pilot? haha

commercial plane pilot or cargo pilot?

You mean, he will land on the sun, at night?. Steve Jobs used marijuana & took LSD, you are using at least one or two or even all, the products he has marketed.:rolleyes:

exobay

As a pilot myself I have never heard of this person TS wrote and neither was this story in our pilot magazine. TS better put a link to prove it otherwise this is pure bull. Don;t get taken in by such stories especially where there is no source quoted from.