• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

here we are at the crossroad once again, ol'Chummy

we have indeed come a long way, we've based our current success on construction, finance, manufacturing & trade.

it's not a secret on how the multiplier effect from the construction industries would help bring about economic growth. it's not a secret on how the credibility of the finance sector would bring about more investors to our shores.
it's not a secret on how we rely on ST and weapons technology to sustain our need for our defences and to sell them.
it's not a secret on how we ply on the entrepôt trade that was a given with credits to our natural deep harbors.

with much of our land developed, how much can we depend on the MUPs & LUPs to sustain the growth?
in a financial world so intricately linked, how much can we depend on our partners for growth?
with maids carrying our young soldiers' bags, how much can we depend on them in times of war?
with changing landscapes, be it socio-political or geographical, how long can we stay competitive?

we enjoy whatever we have now because our forefathers traded their efforts for it, so it seems we've become complacent about it. 前人种树,后人乘凉。how long would the trees stand? how sturdy are they? are we capable of weathering the storm? this is a time where we make or break it and we are at the crossroad once again, ol'Chummy...

Nice-Gook

Let me put it simply and aptly.In any economy,first it must be self sufficient in feeding itself--agriculture than it must have the capacity to manufacture goods it so need and finally spawn the the service industry that supports both.From the day one Singapore's barren land cannot feed itself;the very reason Singapore was never a mention in any Chinese or Indian annals.

Our area of expertise is identified in service sectors --thereby we serviced the region as the entrepot.All other activities are peripherals.Even in manufacturing we acted as service centers only.That is why we attracted only MNC's with screws and nuts assembly.

The problem started when PAP got into the act.Wanting to punch above it's weight.Otherwise we had a better advantage with Malaysia and Indonesia as our hinterlands.Not to mention the natural attraction for Chinese diaspora--almost 25 millions within our reach.And the proximity of the sub continent.

PAP screwed it all.

Unrepented

But if got bumi policy, how?

Let me put it simply and aptly.In any economy,first it must be self sufficient in feeding itself--agriculture than it must have the capacity to manufacture goods it so need and finally spawn the the service industry that supports both.From the day one Singapore's barren land cannot feed itself;the very reason Singapore was never a mention in any Chinese or Indian annals.

Our area of expertise is identified in service sectors --thereby we serviced the region as the entrepot.All other activities are peripherals.Even in manufacturing we acted as service centers only.That is why we attracted only MNC's with screws and nuts assembly.

The problem started when PAP got into the act.Wanting to punch above it's weight.Otherwise we had a better advantage with Malaysia and Indonesia as our hinterlands.Not to mention the natural attraction for Chinese diaspora--almost 25 millions within our reach.And the proximity of the sub continent.

PAP screwed it all.

But if got bumi policy, how?

much as me abhor protectionism for we can take care of our own selves, me would be more concern about the direction in which we're heading and the kind of seeds that are sown now.

Fook Seng

Agree that it is not business as usual, not because of the loss of popular votes and seats in the last election but because the world has changed.

In the past, when the West had clearcut domination, Singapore's cheap but skillful labour offered an attraction to MNCs to base their operation here. Through the years although we have moved up the technology ladder to stay competitive, we have indeed reach a crossroad as world domination is about to play musical chairs.

In the place of USA and Europe, you will find China and further down the road India. Although they will dominate in terms of absolute size of their economies, on a per capita basis they lag the previous dominant powers and even Singapore itself and the old way of engaging with the West cannot be applied to them. What, then, is needed is a new way of engagement of this market and how we engage the rest of the world.

I see a strong need to attract the consumer side of this market but since Singapore has long neglected the SMEs, despite several calls from the opposition camp as well as some ex-PAP MPs like Mr Chew Heng Ching, selling them luxurious products is not a valid proposition.

On this, I may say, the Japanese and Koreans are ahead of us and to a lesser extent, Taiwan. Singapore's only resort is to sell them the service products e.g. Tourism and God forbid, gambling. That is why I have never talked strongly against the casinos as most bros do in this forum. But we need to find even more winners to survive.

Fook Seng

zhihau said:
was wondering if their success came about with a tiny dose of Nationalism :o:o:o

I think you are correct, the nationalism that comes with being a homogenous society. But my point was they value SMEs more and over time, these have grown into home-grown giants.

... how to grow SMEs? :eek::eek::eek:
sinkie gahmen c local sme's no up 1 ...

there r no talen in sme's or elsewhere outside ah loon's gahmen ... u r a talen oni if u join ah loon n his jin gang n den u wil b paid multi-million $ ...

Fook Seng

po2wq said:
sinkie gahmen c local sme's no up 1 ...

there r no talen in sme's or elsewhere outside ah loon's gahmen ... u r a talen oni if u join ah loon n his jin gang n den u wil b paid multi-million $ ...

That, therefore, sounds the knell for Singapore.

my bad and my sincere apologies :(:(:(
can't help but feel that the herd is lost & the Shepard is no where to be found.

I was also under the same impression until I met an undertaker friend who confirmed it has nothing to do with NTUC.