• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

Khun Ying Pojaman

Pai Seh, need to consult the resident Kopi expert who has MIA for last few days laew.

Resident Kopi Siao busy applying for government grant and registering a new patent. Anything special can always PM me.:wink:

Roasted ground coffee can go stale quickly. A good rule of thumb is simply do not buy more than you can drink in a week. Once ground coffee has been opened and the vacuum has been broken, ground coffee is subject to light and odors. The optimum drinking time for opened ground coffee is five to seven days. After opening the ground coffee, it should then be transferred from the bag or can into a light-proof container that is also airtight. The biggest culprits in storing ground coffee are light, air, moisture, and heat. By storing ground coffee in an opaque container that is airtight, you can avoid these coffee flavor offenders.

Another way to avoid these flavor sucking factors is to store your coffee in the freezer in a double wrapped package. Never, and it can’t be said enough, never store your coffee in the refrigerator. Why? Do you put baking soda in your refrigerator to catch odors? If you don’t, have you seen the commercials extolling the virtues of an open container of baking soda in the refrigerator? Coffee acts just like baking soda in the refrigerator. It traps all the moisture and all the odors and flavors of other foods. The best part of waking up is certainly not coffee that tastes of last nights fish or the leftover garlic chicken that has been sitting in the refrigerator. However, coffee can be stored in it’s original packaging and then placed in a plastic freezer bag and then stored in the freezer. Using a drinking straw to suck out the extra air and form a type of vacuum bag is recommended. Be sure you don’t suck any coffee grounds up through that straw though.

Storing ground, well wrapped coffee in the freezer is only a smart option if you have more coffee than you can use in the next week. For coffee that will be used within a week, the best method of storage is, as mentioned above, an opaque, airtight container. A stone or ceramic cannister is a smart investment for coffee storage. It is recommended that you actually invest in a quality cannister. A cheap cannister is not going to be airtight. Since most people keep their cannisters on the counter, you must have an airtight one unless you like your coffee tasting of anything that is cooked on your stovetop.

Read more: http://www.brewplus.com/coffee/how-...some-obvious-tips-and-pointers/#ixzz1tRpqSaOG

rotikosong

Ok guys, I'm leaving for Las Vegas soon. Its going to be like a 6-7 hrs drive. Because I'm still getting use to driving here I will be doing it very slowly.

Not so bad lah - more like 4.5 hours drive. Maybe 5 hrs if you go slowly but it is highway all the way on the I-15. Highway easier to drive.
It will be an interesting drive if you have never seen a desert before - you will pass through the Mojave Desert on the way there.

Drive safe.

Not so bad lah - more like 4.5 hours drive. Maybe 5 hrs if you go slowly but it is highway all the way on the I-15. Highway easier to drive.
It will be an interesting drive if you have never seen a desert before - you will pass through the Mojave Desert on the way there.

Drive safe.

Now taking a pee break at a MacDonald along I-15. Another 200miles to go I think.

barstow? when you drive into nevada, freeway begins to turn pinkish red. the gelato shop at the bellagio is always my first stop in vegas after a long drive. your wife will love the atrium and the indoor garden. fresh florals for spring. i always stay at the bellagio.

6fe50170.jpg

I made it! Drove probably 5mph above limit. Took us under 5hrs.

Now check-in. Line very long.

8b45391a.jpg

Doubblur

Envy your good life. I haven't been abroad for more than 10 years. The last time was a visit to Chengdu and cruise along Three Gorges before they closed it down the cruises to build the dam. The last I went to Thailand was more than 20 years ago to Hatyai. No Malaysian North-South Highway then. No comfy VIP bus too. 20 hours through Beatles long and winding road. Never been to US before. Never been out of Asia before actually. Hope you enjoy your trip.

Morning guys.

Bought a cheapo coffee machine (not expresso) and had a nice brewed coffee this morning. Thanks ESND and KYP for the coffee storage.

Envy your good life. I haven't been abroad for more than 10 years. The last time was a visit to Chengdu and cruise along Three Gorges before they closed it down the cruises to build the dam. The last I went to Thailand was more than 20 years ago to Hatyai. No Malaysian North-South Highway then. No comfy VIP bus too. 20 hours through Beatles long and winding road. Never been to US before. Never been out of Asia before actually. Hope you enjoy your trip.
Hehehe. Now's it's an hour to Hatyai by TG/Tiger Airways.

Hey Doubblur, I work pretty hard and extreme so I really needed this break. Lucky for me my partners don't mind me taking such long vacations and a few times a year, guess they understand I worked very hard.

Hey, did you put the tip on the waitress's cleavage? :biggrin:

Sorry I not gay, its water la.

So it's late in the evening now? Got go Casino try your luck boh?

Its 1.48am now. Still can't sleep. No la I am finishing up a proposal for my partners. Anyway, Flamingo is a casino hotel and I do pass by the hall on my way out didn't even bother to look cos I never like to gamble. Here just to look at the lights and other sightseeing la.

Hehehehe. Good for you. Me also going for mid afternoon nap liaoz. It's 3:53pm in LOS.