• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Crumbling of Singapore?

ckmpd

PAP manipulated SG's Constitution to deny TCB from the Presidency and reserved it for a Malay. But PAP cant find a suitable Malay candidate and has to get an Indian to masquerade as a Malay. This is hilarious, tragic and insulting to SG Malays that despite given such a hand out, PAP cant find a Malay in the whole of SG worthy of the Office of President

ckmpd

From an ex Singaporean:

"This afternoon I found myself waiting for the lights to cross Pickering St at Malacca St. There squatting on the ground was an elderly Chinese lady holding her walking stick and selling packets of tissue paper. I looked at her, looked away, then looked again..."this could be Mum..." I thought to myself.

Something made me reach into my pocket and hand her a $10 note; she mechanically responded by handing me a bunch of tissue packs. I waved them off, and smiled at her. She responded with the most gold-toothy grin and reached out to shake my hand. No words were spoken, but I could see tears welling up in her eyes which prompted a similar reaction from me.

The audible signal to cross the road came on and as I turned back to look at her, we waved at each other.

It was a random act of kindness, and it absolutely made my day.

What makes me sad is that her generation were the ones who, with dogged determination, fostered the nation-building and strong national values in the first-generation Singaporeans that grew up after Independence on Aug 9, 1965 (one may rightly argue that Malaysia kicked Singapore out; by hindsight the best thing that could have happened). It is their toil and sweat that set the example that has differentiated this rightly proud country.

"Aunty" should not have to resort to selling tissue packs to help make ends meet; she should be able to enjoy a comfortable, retired life. Someone needs to take notice; something needs to be done, now."

ckmpd

From an ex Singaporean:

"Based on my observations from my trip last month, it is even more of a pressing need now. The government has conveniently turned a blind eye to this generation (that of my parents) whose undying efforts built Singapore in the late 60s and 70s.

Shame on you, government of Singapore. Instead of trying to help these folks have a decent retired life, your ministers say such things as "collecting cardboard boxes is good exercise for them".

And you're all caught up in debating things like the "Malayness" of the next possible President, and what is to become of Lee Kuan Yew's residence and the squabble between his children.
Shame on you.

ckmpd

Great analysis from lawyer Lim Tean:

"I never thought I would see the day when the Prime Minister of Singapore would give as banal a speech as he gave tonight.

Our country has so many problems ranging from increasing unemployment , stagnating wages , astronomical costs of living , inadequate income for our elderly , ultra-Low productivity and dismal innovation and entrepreneurship.

The PM chose not to address any of these pressing issues and instead chose to assume the mantle of Chief Doctor of the Nation and spoke about diabetes . Honestly , any doctor can advise his client on this matter . National Health education in schools would be more effective too rather than a speech by the Head of Government.

Even the section on pre-school shows no originality . It is modelled after what Barack Obama tried to achieve in his second term of Office.

And as for the Smart Nation, all Lee Hsien Loong's speech demonstrated was how behind the curve the PAP Government has been in terms of innovation . It shows how despite the fact that Singapore is a supposed First World Nation , we are far behind many other nations in use of technology.

But we should not be surprised . PAP ministers have spent the last 30 years coming with various stratagems of cementing their hold on power instead of coming out with innovative ideas to move our Nation forward . They are still trying to persuade Singaporeans why it is necessary to have one-party rule and why only 30 % of students should go on to University education.

Don't be fooled by the spin my fellow Singaporeans . Behind the PM's words lie a party that is totally bereft of ideas of how to move to the next stage of our development both in terms of national as well as personal development.

Our National Day Rally is akin to the State of the Union address by the President of the United States . Imagine the American President giving a speech like what was delivered tonight . I think Americans will think that their President has absolutely no agenda to improve their lives. Dismal!"

ckmpd

AGC gets go-ahead to start contempt of court proceedings against Li Shengwu on 21 Aug 2017.

The sad saga of Lee Dynasty. LKY's son is charging LKY's grandson in SG Courts.

Will LHL one day charge Lee Suet Fern?

ckmpd

AGC gets go-ahead to start contempt of court proceedings against Li Shengwu on 21 Aug 2017.

The sad saga of Lee Dynasty. LKY's son is charging LKY's grandson in SG Courts.

Will LHL one day charge Lee Suet Fern?

This is the 7th month.

Isnt the prosecution of his grandson by LKY's own son serious enough to warrant LKY to rise up as he had promised?

bobby

PAP manipulated SG's Constitution to deny TCB from the Presidency and reserved it for a Malay. But PAP cant find a suitable Malay candidate and has to get an Indian to masquerade as a Malay. This is hilarious, tragic and insulting to SG Malays that despite given such a hand out, PAP cant find a Malay in the whole of SG worthy of the Office of President

Yes...this is the absolute downfall of Singapore hence forth.

Sad thing is that 69% of Singaporeans endorsed this.

ckmpd

Yes...this is the absolute downfall of Singapore hence forth.

Sad thing is that 69% of Singaporeans endorsed this.

Slowly more Singaporeans are waking up and knowing that PAP has been abusing Singaporeans. More Singaporeans are stepping up to challenge the pap. What is heartening is that Lee family members are also seeing the abuses of LHL and PAP.

As Singaporeans are now willing to take on the pap, LHL and AGC to Court, there is light at the end of this dark tunnel

ckmpd

From Chee Soon Juan's Facebook:

"SOMETHING STRANGE HAPPENED in 1993. Mr Goh Chok Tong, then prime minister, appeared to have caught a bug, mild as it was, that threatened to infect the entire PAP. It was a pathogen of the bacillus democratus strain.

Mr Goh first exhibited symptoms in Parliament when he said: “In introducing [the Elected-President] Bill, the present Government is, in fact, clipping its own wings. Once the constitutional amendment is effected, this Government will have some of its powers checked.”

The PAP had decided to turn the presidency, hitherto a ceremonial position, into an elected post with executive, albeit limited, powers. Its new role requires the president to oversee the country’s reserves, approve the national budget, and ratify key civil service appointments. The caveat was that the candidates have to be approved by the government.

The late Ong Teng Cheong, who was then the deputy prime minister, was pushed forward as the PAP's candidate. His opponent was retired accountant-general Chua Kim Yeow (now also deceased).

The two candidates weren't exactly opponents because to be opponents they had to, at the minimum, have different ideas and approaches to the presidency. Mr Chua's candidacy happened only because he was persuaded to run by former ministers Dr Goh Keng Swee and Dr Richard Hu – it was not nice if the first presidential elections turned out to be a damp squib of a walkover.

As it happened, the two men ran such decorous and polite campaigns that they made Empress Michiko sound like Miley Cyrus. In fact, candidate Chua may hold the record for the most somnolent campaign run ever – not a poster was put up and hardly a hand shaken. His veneration of Mr Ong was so complete that he endorsed his opponent – he really did – as the “far superior candidate”. (The joke that went around after the election was that the accountant-general demanded a recount when he learned that he had won.)

Whatever that infected Mr Goh had obviously spread to Mr Ong. Duly selected, President Ong actually thought that he was going to be a check on the government and proceeded to ask for financial records of the country’s reserves. But he was told that it comprised a list that would take 52 man-years to compile. In other words, literally as well as vernacularly, “You wait long, long.”

But the President fought back: “I know you don't like my interference and busybody checking up and so on. But under the Constitution it is my job to do that.”

Therein lay the problem. The president had committed the ultimate sin in Singaporean politics: he resorted to using logic. “You see, if you ask me to protect the reserves,” he explained, “then you've got to tell me what I'm supposed to protect.”

And why did the government not want to give him the information? “Don't ask me, because I don't have the answer,” Mr Ong said.

But Mr Lee Kuan Yew did. “f you’ve to clip your wings, then you are in trouble, you cannot govern,” the Senior Minister boomed, “I cannot remember [what Goh Chok Tong said] but I would not have used that phrase because the executive powers of the Government should not be clipped.”

So chastised, Mr Ong was dropped as the PAP's candidate for re-election because the truth, according to the government, was that the president was suffering from cancer. But the truth, according to Mr Ong, was that that his cancer was in complete remission and that he had not ruled out running again although he was inclined not to. He later revealed that, “Then the cabinet met and they decided that if I were to stand again, they would not support me.”

So there. Anti-dote administered, crisis averted.

Then came 2011. The candidates this time were PAP-backed Dr Tony Tan versus Dr Tan Cheng Bock, Mr Tan Jee Say, and Mr Tan Kin Lian. The virus had, apparently, not been completely eradicated. In fact, it had come back stronger than ever as the non-PAP candidates asserted their independence and laid out policy positions.

As it turned out, the race ended in a photo-finish: Dr Tony Tan took home 35.2% of the votes, just 0.35% more than runner-up Dr Tan Cheng Bock – a result that extracted more than a few drops of perspiration in the Istana.

This led to Mr Lee Hsien Loong reiterating in 2016 that the “President has no executive, policy-making role”. We spend millions of dollars and expend tons of energy to mobilise the entire country to vote for someone who has no powers. A Smart Nation, here we come.

But close as it was, Dr Tony Tan's win in 2011 bought the PAP another six years which gave the party enough time to come up with Plan B. The task fell to the PM who, in a eureka! moment, came up with the idea to further restrict the qualifications of presidential candidates. This time, only Malays need apply.

And not just any Malay but a Malay who has run a business with a paid-up capital of $500 million (up from $100 million previously).

Either that or if she is the Speaker of Parliament.

Enter Ms Halimah Yacob, Speaker of Parliament.

In July this year when asked if she was running for the office, Ms Halimah teased, “I still need to further do my consultations.” Seven days later, with consultations done, she said yes.

Only there was a not-so-slight problem. Ms Halimah is ethnically not a Malay. Her father is Indian and as such, according to the PAP's book of phylogeny which states that a citizen's race is determined by the father's ethnicity (heads up, AWARE), Ms Halimah doesn't qualify.

But in the PAP's delicious world of exceptions this is only a technicality as Ms Halimah, for all intents and purposes, is someone who is “accepted by the Malay community” as a Malay.

How is the government going to measure “accepted by the community”? By a government-appointed sub-committee, of course.

But isn't this racialisation of politics unhealthy? Of course, it is. But only if non-PAP-thinking citizens bring it up. When a group announced that it was organising a protest at Hong Lim Park to address the PAP's move to racialise the Presidency, the government responded by warning that it is illegal to conduct any activity that may disrupt harmony “between different racial or religious groups in Singapore.”

It gets madder. Questioned about her independence from her political alma mater, Ms Halimah trumpeted: “I have the track record to prove my independence.” That record, as one might imagine, is rather skimpy. She was pointing to an incident where she abstained from voting for (as opposed to voting against) a bill – and only after the party whip was lifted. This in the midst of a 16-year career as an MP with the PAP. Beggars, a wit once pointed out, can't be choosers.

But if Ms Halimah sincerely believes that she is able and willing to independently exercise her powers as president, then there's a bottle of medicine labelled “Remember Ong Teng Cheong. To be taken once every six years” sitting on the table for her.

And so spins the mad, delusional world of PAP's Elected Presidency."

ckmpd

From Dr Ang Yong Guan's Facebook:

"Thinking aloud in New York:

I sense that there is a deep sense of learned helplessness (evident in the frequent sighing and remarking: "What can we do? They dominate the political space and can do what they want!") amongst citizens prevailing in the nation.

It doesn't just affect the 30% to 40% who are the traditional opponents of the current PAP government; many of my friends who were once fencer-sitters or pro-PAP are now disillusioned with a few recent events (e.g. the two younger Lee siblings questioning PM Lee's suitability to be a leader and his abuse of power; taking his nephew to task for making remarks about the judiciary and the coming controversial reserved EP election).

Many are doubting PM Lee's ability in engaging the citizens and clearing their doubts about controversial issues. Instead of addressing these issues openly and objectively, he chose to ignore them; behaving arrogantly like an ostrich burying his head in the sand and believing that as long as he controls the People's Association with 70% of the voters behind him, there is no need to clear the air about these issues as he will always be assured of their support.

Unlike his father who had to fight his way to reach the top and in the process, was able to actively engage the people, PM Lee, who didn't have to fight to reach his present top position, seems to lack this ability of active engagement. The problem is further compounded by him being surrounded by ministers who were similarly parachuted in and who too lack the necessary combating skills to offer contralian views for the building or maintenance of a vibrant nation.

What will learned helplessness lead to in the long run? Anxiety and Depression. To avoid these negative consequences, continue to be aware and to understand these national issues without getting emotionally affected. Contain these negative emotions, be mindful of their presence and continue to lead our usual lives.

We don't want to be an ostrich ourselves. We want to be well informed and ready when the right time arrives."

ckmpd

A post by Ray Man in TR Emeritius on 31 Aug 2017:

"As you all are familiar with the sinkie’s most famous syndrome, everything is “Bo Bian”. The govt had so many changes to CPF and
constitution, almost at will, everything seems to be “Bo Pian”. They pointed to a deer and called it a horse, in the case of Mdm President, an Indian to run for Malay reserved election, this is so freaking blatant. They see sinkies as timid, daft, naive and no up! They know we will adopt the “Bo Bian” response again.

7M white paper pushed down our throat, Dr TCB lost his appeal, 30% water hike and so many lousy policies rammed down our throats, Sinkies will their backs and allow them to ram as they please. In the ancient time, only eunuchs will do this!

This diabetes thing is so freaking obvious; money not enough from milking from our BTO, ERP, COE, Utility, Transport, Rental, Levies, CPF and want to put more new taxes to make even more money. The govt has probably lost a lot in their overseas venture and now turning their fangs to leech on our blood. Thats perfectly ok, we know this from decades ago. The thing is the hypocrisy involved, we cannot stand their hypocrisy at max. Remember, they told you raising water tax is to teach you how to save water. Import foreigners is to create more jobs for locals? And using the media and NDR to tell you they are studying sugar tax to reduce diabetes? What kind of hypocrisy is this? Why don’t they study why Singaporeans are not giving birth or why Singapore PMETs are driving private taxis?

The leader and their cabinet are hypocrites, they always said “With you and for you” but they don’t mean it, they screw you to fill their coffers. And still have bullet proof skin to spin tales to tell you its for your own good.

The last thing is Sinkies appear to accept every single bs from these hypocrites. Sinkies according to Taiwanese Li Ao are daft, stupid and naive to the max, easily manipulated and coerced into submission. All the above confirmed that why FTs continue to overrun this country and be imported as VIPs to replace locals, locals are completely spineless and boneless, they are better offered being replaced and downgraded to be the slaves of this island ruled by hypocrites and foreign VIPs.

Ray Man"

ckmpd

"Thinking aloud in New York:

I sense that there is a deep sense of learned helplessness (evident in the frequent sighing and remarking: "What can we do? They dominate the political space and can do what they want!") amongst citizens prevailing in the nation.

In post 2530, what Dr Ang is saying are:

1. Many fence sitters and pro-pap singaporeans are now disillusioned with the current PAP
2. Many doubt LHL's ability and willingness to engage Singaporeans on controversial issues.
3. LHL chooses to ignore them; behaving arrogantly like an ostrich burying his head in the sand and believing that as long as he controls the People's Association with 70% of the voters behind him, there is no need to clear the air about these issues as he will always be assured of their support.
4. LKY had to fight his way to the top and knew how to engage Singaporeans
5. In contrast, LHL didnt have to fight but was parachuted into the top post.
6. LHL surrounded himself with yes-men ministers. They all lack combating skills and prefer not to combat.
7. Some Singaporeans are in a state of learned helplessness.

I agree with Dr Ang and thank him for his insightful comments. What Singaporeans need to do is not to go into a state of learned helplessness but are willing to speak up against the pap and combat the ministers who dare not come out to fight

ckmpd

"The American dream: to reach the highest level of a citizen's potential, both in the economic and political arenas; as high as his or her talent and aspirations allow. Even a black man could fulfil his dream of becoming America's first black President DEMOCRATICALLY and WITHOUT any extra constitutional assistance. In the economic front, Americans such as Steve Jobs, Bill Gates and Mark Zuckerberg have created products which people use worldwide.

The Singapore dream: in the economic sphere, it is still possible to achieve your fullest potential but it is increasingly getting tougher. In the political area, forget it unless you are linked to the whites. Even then, the chance of a Singaporean, fulfilling his or her dream of becoming a President DEMOCRATICALLY (without any preset and practically unachievable rules) is near zero.

And please don't tell me the Americans have more than 200 years of history and we have only 50.

The world is marching on. The current PAP government is still crawling behind in terms of creating a level-playing political field and keeping the Singapore Dream (in the political arena) alive. Economic success alone, not matched by political maturity, does not make a nation great."

bobby

This year Singapore got reserved President and also got reserved disease "diabetes".

Discrimination comes in many forms in Singapore....including suka suka say no need for minority MP in GRC when the GRC fundamentals in the first place is being multi-racial.

ckmpd

5 Sep 2017 posting by Redbean:

"The failure of the opposition parties to make gains into Parliament GE after GE and by election after by election has led the citizens that were looking forward to change into a state of despair. Nothing is going to change and the people will have to live with the PAP as the ruling govt for the next 50 years. Lee Hsien Loong knew this and that he would remain as PM until he chooses to retire at a time of his own choosing, that is when he is 70. This is only one of the unbearable hard truths that Singaporeans would have to live with and feeling helpless about it. And the helplessness did not stuck with just the political system.

There are many things that Singaporeans felt are very wrong, or not to their likings but, yes, helpless to do anything about it. So they would just have to live with them and make the best out of a bad situation, or a very bad situation.

The influx of foreigners into the island, as job hunters, as PRs and eventually given citizenship, is so huge and so disproportionate to the number of citizens is a big sore point. More than half of the population, including many new citizens, is foreigners, not locally born. Did the Singaporeans agree to it? Were they asked that this is ok? No, but they could not do anything about it. It is a fait accompli dictated by the political party they elected to Parliament, to be their govt.

The problem of the influx of foreigners is not just a number. Singaporeans lost their jobs, high cost of living, inflation, high property prices and rentals, and stress on the infrastructure especially public transport, housing and medical. What can the Singaporeans do about it? Nothing.

Many have been cursing about their life time savings in the CPF that they thought were something to look forward to at retirement, ie 55 years old, only to see their savings slipping away from their fingers. The govt keeps changing the rules to keep them from touching their life savings, at times with ridiculous nonsensical reasons. Some jokers even openly said the savings of the people in the CPF are not their money. What can the Singaporeans do? Nothing. Just as helpless as if the money is really not theirs. And many of the natural aristocrats are grinning at their stupidity and helplessness.

Recently there were many noises about whether the HDB flats they lived in belong to them or the HDB ie the govt. Are they owners or lessees? If they are lessees, why are they made to pay property taxes and for the upkeep and maintenance and repairs of the HDB flats? No matter how much kpkb, nothing happens and the people lan lan continue to pay their property taxes on the lease property, their HDB flats accepting that they are the real owners of their HDB flats.

And now the case of the Elected Presidency. The govt changed the terms and conditions to the Elected Presidency. Only a handful of super rich elites can stand for election as the EP. This is no longer the right any citizen like before. This used to be the right of every citizen but no more. So, what can the people do about it?

The govt also decided that a Parliament appointed president can also count as an elected President despite everyone knowing that the first elected President was Ong Teng Cheong. Tan Cheng Bock went to court but his case was thrown out. The govt has the absolute right to determine what is an elected president and what is not according to the court rulings.

The govt also has the right to decide who is a Malay or who is not a Malay to be eligible to stand for the reserved election for a Malay President. A non Malay or half Malay also can if accepted by the President Election Community. What can the people do? Nothing. Helpless.

What about the case against the WP in the management of Town Council? Were there more serious cases of bigger losses and mismanagement than this case? This time the WP looks so helpless and waiting for the guillotine to slam down on their necks, as sure as the sun will rise. What about the people? They can only look at the case helplessly. There is nothing that the people can do about it to speak out and defend their elected representatives in Parliament.

What about the foreigners taking charge in the job market, recruiting and filling good jobs with more foreigners citing that Singaporeans are daft, no skill, lazy, incompetent etc etc and foreigners are the best fit for top jobs? The helpless Singaporeans only try to help themselves by applying to be taxi drivers or be content with part time jobs or contract jobs. What else can they do?

Helplessness is everywhere, if one bothers to look, in Sin City. Fees, taxes, transportation costs, prices of everything are going up and up. The helpless people just have to live with them.

PS. Actually this picture of helplessness is not true. Many Singaporeans are buying bigger houses and bigger and more expensive cars. The helplessness only happens to the losers, the Singaporeans that are jobless, underemployed or unemployed.
But what about the foreigners? They have never had it so good. It is like landing in paradise, away from their slum filled countries where jobs were hard to come by, to a land where pots of gold are everywhere and fortunes are made. Many went home rich, became landowners and starting their own businesses. Some even retired and no need to work anymore, living as the nouve riche in their original home countries where they were once poor ordinary folks."

ckmpd

This year Singapore got reserved President and also got reserved disease "diabetes".

Discrimination comes in many forms in Singapore....including suka suka say no need for minority MP in GRC when the GRC fundamentals in the first place is being multi-racial.

Agree.

Reserving the Elected Presidency for Malays is another recent nail into SG's coffin.

Discrimination rather than meritocracy is the second second additional nail into SG's coffin.

Favouring foreigners over Singaporeans is the third recent nail into SG's coffin.

ckmpd

Singaporean graduates who are well qualified but are underemployed or unemployed because of bad pap policies.

Sharing by a taxi uncle:

""One day I fetched a well dressed lady with her son in my taxi from MBS to their condo.

The lady told her son "You better study hard and go to University. Or else you will end up driving a taxi like this uncle."

I replied, "Excuse me madam, I actually got a law degree from University of London. But I like to fetch people home."

The boy said "Cool, when I grow up I want to be like uncle."

The lady said "Son, today we took the wrong taxi." - ASS, 6 Sep 2017

househusband

Singaporean graduates who are well qualified but are underemployed or unemployed because of bad pap policies.

Sharing by a taxi uncle:

""One day I fetched a well dressed lady with her son in my taxi from MBS to their condo.

The lady told her son "You better study hard and go to University. Or else you will end up driving a taxi like this uncle."

I replied, "Excuse me madam, I actually got a law degree from University of London. But I like to fetch people home."

The boy said "Cool, when I grow up I want to be like uncle."

The lady said "Son, today we took the wrong taxi." - ASS, 6 Sep 2017

I think this is a sad reality that even the most progressive countries face. It's just unfortunate that it's the citizens who take most of the hit.

Lucas Ng

even in the singapore buddhist lodge, the powers that be also want to silently mind-condition you to conform to the present status quo, otherwise, somehow you'll not be welcome in the lodge. Take my case as an example, because I dared to speak the truth fearlessly in the buddhist lodge, my head was hit and injured last year, requiring immediate medical attention and several stitches in hospital, when some vulgar creature shattered a glass mug behind my head. And guess what, the case was totally downplayed as if it didnt exist, as if "I deserved to be hit", and no police went to the scene to investigate despite my police report, and the assaulter who resorted to this criminal act of violence was allowed to leave the lodge to escape any legal consequences. What kind of justice is this?

Come on, if even a buddhist lodge in a nation can be bleached and whitewashed to such an extent by the powers that be, of course u would see signs of that nation crumbling along with its moral decadence. it's the workings of karma, and also common sense.